Caxtons
Canterbury, CT1
2.7/5, 18 reviews
44% recommended
73% sales valuation accuracy
64% sales fee satisfaction
100% lettings valuation accuracy
64% lettings fee satisfaction

...left to get your reviews in for the
2019 Estate & Letting Agent Awards


“As a parent of a student we found Caxton's to ......”

Share on :
Jul 31,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Marion Dawkins'
Jul 31,2015
1 people found
this helpful
As a parent of a student we found Caxton's to be very helpful and with good cooperative landlords any issues were sorted very promptly. We feel the landlord was especially fair in dealing with any issues. Monies were dealt with promptly as well. Special thanks again to Hannah Pout for going the extra in the beginning to help our son find a property. Well done!
Was this helpful? Yes

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.




Note: Your comment will not be activated until you click on the link in an email sent to your address as submitted in the form above. By clicking on Submit Comment you agree to receive an activation email from allAgents.


Opening Hours
Address

Caxtons
1 Castle Street
Canterbury
Kent
CT1 2QF
01227 788088

Performance statistics
Services Valuation Accuracy Fees Satisfaction Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Sales 73% 64% No Data No Data
Lettings 100% 64% £0 £0
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
1 0 7 10 0 0 0 0 0 0
Areas covered
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Members of
NAEA ARLA RICS ARMA DPS TDS
Latest Properties

No Properties

“Disgusting...”

Share on :
Nov 16,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'Ex-Student'
Nov 16,2018
2 people found
this helpful
Disgusting! They have humiliated us, told us we'll be made homeless by them, lied about us not giving back the keys and renting the property after the end of tenancy took over a grand of our deposit for nothing! The staff is incredibly rude and ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
They'll drain 100 times the money you'll pay on agents fees throughout the year
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Caxtons Chartered Surveyors
Feb 28, 2019
View all comments (2)
We were very disappointed to read your review. Although Caxtons was not the managing agent (this was undertaken by the landlord) we did endeavour to help you during your tenancy including, amongst other things, advising you that you were at risk of losing some of your deposit because of the condition of the property and giving you the opportunity to put things right. Regrettably, those warnings were not heeded and when you referred the matter to the TDS Resolution Service they found in Caxtons' ...

“Fantastic Caxtons...”

Share on :
Apr 17,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Edward'
Apr 17,2018
1 people found
this helpful
Caxtons helped my group and I find a lovely 4 bedroom house in the City were we lived in the property for 2 years. For the last year Dan was our house manager. I have recommended Caxtons to all of my friends....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Good
Was this helpful? Yes

“I have been using Caxton's for four years now they ......”

Share on :
Feb 28,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Clare Lloyd'
Feb 28,2018
1 people found
this helpful
I have been using Caxton's for four years now they are extremely professional. Any queries I have they help me with. I would fully recommend them if you are considering renting out your property as mine has always been let with excellent tenants. Thank you ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Good
Was this helpful? Yes

“We had a viewing with Dan a few weeks back, ......”

Share on :
Dec 12,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Alice Brent'
Dec 12,2017
1 people found
this helpful
We had a viewing with Dan a few weeks back, he showed us a number of different student properties in Canterbury, he even drove us around in his car as it was raining. He gave us all the information we needed and we took a ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“As a parent of a student we found Caxton's to ......”

Share on :
Jul 31,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Marion Dawkins'
Jul 31,2015
1 people found
this helpful
As a parent of a student we found Caxton's to be very helpful and with good cooperative landlords any issues were sorted very promptly. We feel the landlord was especially fair in dealing with any issues. Monies were dealt with promptly as well. Special thanks ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Great Service, Best agents for Student lettings in Canterbury! I ......”

Share on :
Jan 22,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Jenny'
Jan 22,2015
1 people found
this helpful
Great Service, Best agents for Student lettings in Canterbury! I hope to use you again for the term of 2016-2017....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
‚£200 WITH VAT! one of the cheapest around
Was this helpful? Yes

“Never replied to any of our emails, even when they ......”

Share on :
Dec 08,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Elizabeth'
Dec 08,2014
5 people found
this helpful
Never replied to any of our emails, even when they were a direct reply less than an hour after recieving an email Charged us our deposit money for problems that the previous tenants had caused that were not fixed prior to us moving in Left ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Literally they would have to have changed their whole practise because they were absolutely horrific, incredibly unprofessional and I would not recommend them to anyone!!!!!!
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
Not worth the money Especially as they have been no help, have not fixed anything and have tried to take advantage and get as much money out of us possible giving little or nothing in return
Was this helpful? Yes

“Without a doubt the worst letting agents I have ever ......”

Share on :
Sep 26,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Unacceptable010'
Sep 26,2014
4 people found
this helpful
Without a doubt the worst letting agents I have ever had the displeasure to use in Canterbury in the six years I have lived here. The staff were incompetent at all stages, making vital administrative mistakes time after time. This including taking 2 months to replace ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Talking to one another, improving their competency across the board. Customer service skills - they have none.
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
Unnesscesarily high although this isn't indicative of Caxtons - referencing does not cost ‚£100+ it costs ‚£40
Was this helpful? Yes

“Mrs Bronwyn was so kind to wait for me and ......”

Share on :
Aug 21,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Maria Ioannidou'
Aug 21,2014
0 people found
this helpful
Mrs Bronwyn was so kind to wait for me and my daughter who is a Law student at KENT Canterbury University at 0430 in the morning to hand over the keys for us. We have a delayed of 25 hours coming from Cyprus to Gatwick and i ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very reasonable
Was this helpful? Yes

“Caxtons were terrible landlords. They failed to fix dangerous problems ......”

Share on :
Aug 17,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Disappointing'
Aug 17,2014
4 people found
this helpful
Caxtons were terrible landlords. They failed to fix dangerous problems with the property, were rude and unhelpful and do not behave in a professional manner even within the confines of their own offices. You will have a battle trying to get any deposits back even ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Nothing could change my mind about this company.
Attached Filesnbsp;
Was this helpful? Yes

“I think we are an inconvenience to Gemma Marks, conversely, ......”

Share on :
Aug 08,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'James Doessn'
Aug 08,2014
1 people found
this helpful
I think we are an inconvenience to Gemma Marks, conversely, Hannah Pout is just an awesome person, very respectful. I remember the day I went to sign-up for accommodation, Gemma was just unhelpful and seemed distracted, playful with her other colleagues who seemed embarrassed. It ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Please stop faking deposit returns just to please your clients (landlords), it goes two way. This shouldnt be like a serfdom
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
I had like to know why they don't practice their deposit stipulations and other stuff written in the contract
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Caxtons
Aug 08, 2014
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your feedback, and apologies that you have not had a positive experience with Caxtons. Please get in touch with us directly with regards to the property and the issues you have had so that we can help resolve these as swiftly as possible for you. We take customer service and staff training very seriously. As Gemma has since left the company, please feel free to contact Hannah. With regards to deposit returns, we work within the guidelines set out by the TDS, who are always th ...

“They are awful and not only operated with no regard ......”

Share on :
Jun 20,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Nic W'
Jun 20,2014
4 people found
this helpful
They are awful and not only operated with no regard to basic customer service, but they also had little regard for the law! Our deposit was used to pay a bill, which we were not informed of when we signed the contract, this is illegal ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Matthew was extremely helpful in helping us resolve a broken ......”

Share on :
May 07,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'sarah'
May 07,2014
0 people found
this helpful
Matthew was extremely helpful in helping us resolve a broken washing machine complaint. From the first phone call to him, the same day he came to check the broken machine, and the following day a workman came to have a look at the machine. With ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I have nothing but praise for the way Hannah handled ......”

Share on :
Apr 09,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Marion Dawkins'
Apr 09,2014
0 people found
this helpful
I have nothing but praise for the way Hannah handled our situation. I am a parent of one of the two students who needed accommodation for 2014/2015. Not not only did she stay late to accommodate them seeing more than the usual number of properties as ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Please do not use this agent!! They completely take advantage ......”

Share on :
Feb 18,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'lucylou122'
Feb 18,2014
4 people found
this helpful
Please do not use this agent!! They completely take advantage of student and non student tenants. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. All the staff I ever dealt with were rude and unhelpful, they made NO effort to make my rental experience a good one... I was ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: CaxtonsAreCrap
Aug 08, 2014
View all comments (2)
100% agree. Awful company. Wish I had read these reviews before signing up to them!!! AVOID at all costs if you are reading now and thinking of using their services. ...

“What an awful service! Absolute nightmare trying to get deposit ......”

Share on :
Sep 09,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'chomp09'
Sep 09,2013
6 people found
this helpful
What an awful service! Absolute nightmare trying to get deposit back (even after 3 months of moving out), staff are unhelpful, very rude and don't take responsibility. Didn't bother to do an inventory prior to the start of tenancy so check-out report was fabricated; landlord is ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
- Provide a fair service for the return of deposit i.e. ensure that all claims are heavily backed up - Provide a friendly & helpful service -Be transparent and honest throughout the tenancy
Attached Filesnbsp;
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Caxtons
Sep 11, 2013
View all comments (3)
We are sorry you are unhappy with the length of time that finalising your deposit return is taking. However, whilst we are committed to providing the best possible service to our clients - both landlords and tenants - issues in dispute do take longer to resolve in order to achieve a mutually amicable conclusion. We will endeavour to settle the issue as soon as possible. ...

“i also rented with caxtons and it was terrible. i ......”

Share on :
Jul 25,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Notapplicable'
Jul 25,2013
14 people found
this helpful
i also rented with caxtons and it was terrible. i would recommend that anyone considering renting with them thinks twice before getting involved. stay well away. seriously. i am also yet to receive my deposit back and doubt it will be the full amount of ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
i also rented with caxtons and it was terrible. i would recommend that anyone considering renting with them thinks twice before getting involved. stay well away. seriously. i am also yet to receive my deposit back and doubt it will be the full amount of money i originally paid. they even tried to charge me for leaving a new toilet roll in the toilet! absolute jokers.
Attached Filesnbsp;
Was this helpful? Yes

“I rented a student property with Caxtons for one year. ......”

Share on :
Jul 24,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Canterbunny'
Jul 24,2013
16 people found
this helpful
I rented a student property with Caxtons for one year. It was a year of absolute hell. The staff are rude and nasty. They tell lies and rip off students. We drove 4 hours to find our property was not ready on the day we were ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: CaxtonsAreCrap
Aug 08, 2014
View all comments (5)
Totally agree with all your responses and review. Caxtons are a DREADFUL company - surprised they are still in business, most likely due to the fact they have a monopoly over most of the student housing in Canterbury and can get away with swindling students. ...
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

deley@caxtons.com
Last updated at 1:54 PM 09/05/2018 by Daniel Eley

Awards won by Caxtons, Canterbury CT1 2QF


As Seen On

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home