Established in 1991 from a single branch in Altrincham, today Thornley Groves has 8 offices, employs 80 staff, sells £250m of property per annum, handles over 3,000 lets and manages more than 1,400 properties for landlords across Central Manchester and South Manchester. The business was founded in 1991 in Altrincham by Michael Groves who opened a second office in 1993 in Hale Village. The third office was opened in 1995 when the firm’s Operations Director and joint shareholder, Jason Watkin Read full description..., joined and invested in the company. In the year 2000, the 3 office firm expanded into Manchester’s burgeoning city centre residential property market where it quickly expanded, opening new city centre branches in the various residential quarters of the city centre. The firm now boasts a total of 4 offices in the city centre itself, bringing the firm’s total to 8. Originally the firm handled residential sales only. In 1995 the firm commenced dealing with residential lettings and property management, which now accounts for 50% of our total income. Our state of the art office on John Dalton Street is the most modern and innovative in Manchester with a 12′ high video wall showcasing our services and giving our properties and developments the highest possible profile. Its location, just off Deansgate and close to the Spinningfields Development, has been chosen to take advantage of the increased footfall in this area of Manchester. Despite the business’s expansion, the Company is still very much an independent enterprise managed in a very hands-on way by its two owners, Jason Watkin and Michael Groves.
Thornley Groves

84 Tib Street Northern Quarter, Manchester
Greater Manchester
M4 1LG

0161 245 1111
Website not available

Properties for Sale
Properties to Rent

Jan 02,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'Happy in Manchester'
Jan 02,2016
0 people found
this helpful
My partner and I had been given the horrid surprise of having our rent raised by £200 by our previous landlord and needed to find a new property quick. We began our search and were constantly let down by other estate agents. They wouldn't call ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Emily Sparrow
Feb 26, 2016
View all comments (1)
Many Thanks for taking the time to post a review in relation to the great service you have received from Laura! I am really please you are satisfied and we meet your expectations. We are always here to help and we hope everything is going well for you! Kind Regard Emily Sparrow Customer Care team.... ...
Nov 19,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Beth'
Nov 19,2015
0 people found
this helpful
I had a great experience using Thornley Grove - Marc was very supportive throughout the process and did his best to make it as stress free as possible. Thank you for your help and we look forward to moving into our new home!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Emily Sparrow
Feb 26, 2016
View all comments (1)
Many Thanks for taking the time to post a review in relation to the great service you have received from the team here at Thornley Groves. I am really please you are satisfied and we meet your expectations. We are always here to help and we hope everything is going well for you! Kind Regard Emily Sparrow Customer Care team ...
Nov 08,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Carine'
Nov 08,2015
0 people found
this helpful
I went to the agency to find a new flat in Manchester for my partner and I. We had quite some time to find a flat but we knew that nice properties in Manchester could be gone very quickly. Laura sent me all the properties ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
You never want to pay fees, but obviously you have to. Laura wa very clear about everything we would have to pay (the same day to secure the property, and on the move in date).
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Emily Sparrow
Feb 26, 2016
View all comments (1)
Many Thanks for taking the time to post a review in relation to the great service you have received from Laura! I am really please you are satisfied and we meet your expectations. We are always here to help and we hope everything is going well for you! Kind Regard Emily Sparrow Customer Care team ...
Nov 08,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Olivia Maloney'
Nov 08,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Myself and my boyfriend booked some viewings for one bed flats through the Thornley Groves site, whereby we did not recieve any form of confirmation. Dissapointed, we rang up and booked over the phone. Didnt catch the name of the female receiver on the phone, ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 07,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Juan'
Nov 07,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Marc is very helpful in organising the viewings and answering all the questions I have regarding the property. I strongly recommend him and the agency for your choice of new home in the future!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 04,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Jo'
Nov 04,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Marc was very friendly and polite when showing us round a couple of properties, he is great at what he does, we felt very at ease when dealing with him, great smile.*...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Ridiculously overpriced
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 31,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Tenant S'
Oct 31,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Contacted virtually all estate and letting agents in Manchester over 2 month period Autumn 2015 trying to secure an apartment to rent (including those with 4 & 5 star reputation!). Only Thornley Groves gave me regular contact and communications and secured me an apartment. Whereas other estate and letting ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 30,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Stella'
Oct 30,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Abigail was a fantastic agent. I've dealt with so many estate agents in the past, and she stood out as being genuine, honest, and highly competent. It was refreshing to have such a positive experience, and Abigail has left me with an excellent impression of ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 28,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Claire Chetwynd'
Oct 28,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Laura (Murphy!) was super helpful, picked me up for my appointment, was genuinely trying her best to find me and my partner a new apartment. We found the perfect place thanks to Laura, I couldn't be happier with her customer service and invaluable help....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Discount on fee's much appreciated however do find the admins fees quite high!
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 26,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Ryan Beggs'
Oct 26,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Following an earlier enquiry more than a month back, Marc sent regular updates with possible properties. When I enquires again in person in the office he was able to make two appointments for the next day for two properties that suited my needs. As I ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 16,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Neofytos'
Oct 16,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Abigail was there since day one to provide support and detailed information through this process. Always cheerful and ready to help she made the procedures clear and neat. Definitely the best agent i ever had to deal with. 10/10...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 16,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'cdlynham'
Oct 16,2015
0 people found
this helpful
The property in question is a two bed flat on the border of the Northern Quarter in Manchester. It was for my son until he got married earlier this year, so this whole process was new and a little daunting. Oliver came and clearly explained ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
There is a large rental market in Manchester especially with the universities, hence the agents need to be competitive and flexible so I was able to negotiate what I felt was a good deal. Oliver was very relaxed and easy to deal with when it came to discussing the agent fees.
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 16,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'John'
Oct 16,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Integrity and honesty is what you want from an agent and Oliver at Thornley Groves has both. Rented the property within 2 weeks from initial visit and the team have done a nice job with settling in new tenant and have generally exceeded my expectations. Thank ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 12,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'jmsdool'
Oct 12,2015
1 people found
this helpful
An absolutely disgusting service that still hasn't ended. Dates to move in changed with less than 48 hours notice, flat dirty upon arrival, numerous maintenance issues still not resolved. Inventory still not returned, moved in mid June and now its October. Over charged me and failed ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sophie Jones
Oct 13, 2015
View all comments (1)
Hello jmsdool. Thank you for writing your review on AllAgents and mentioned in my email to you on 5th August, you have received apologies from myself, Adam Snape and Rhea Kennedy for the inconvenience you encountered moving into the property. As previously mentioned, as soon as we realised the condition of the property would not be acceptable, we tried to re-arrange the tenancy start date. This was not an option for you so we tried to limit the inconvenience as much as possible. The day that yo ...
Apr 16,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Danielle'
Apr 16,2015
0 people found
this helpful
I originally sent a request through rightmove to view a property, which led to a follow up call from Laura Moar. In recent weeks I've had numerous other calls from letting agents arranging viewings but Laura was the first person to actually sound interested. That's ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 30,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Tony and Jenny Pearce'
Mar 30,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Fantastic team work from Thornley Groves;- Marc at the Northern Quarter branch assisted in re- marketing our property and advised us on an achievable rent which was better than we were thinking originally. Blair Gray a consultant at Southern Gateway Branch managed to find ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Seems reasonable bearing in mind the superb service.!!
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 06,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'JH'
Nov 06,2014
1 people found
this helpful
Very poor communication throughout the application and tenancy. Just to get through to the office takes multiple attempts and they never ring back despite promising to do so. We had multiple issues within our flat from the start and the maintenance team were completely useless ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
More professionalism - don\'t say you\'ll ring back and then don\'t. Customer care - sort issues out promptly and follow up after work has been carried out to ensure things are sorted.
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
Expensive, but better than a lot of other agents.
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 04,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Henry'
Sep 04,2014
2 people found
this helpful
I have rented properties from some pretty bad estate agents before, but I have to say the Thornley Groves are the absolute worst by a mile! I am normally a very reasonable person, but the amount of unnecessary stress that Thronley Groves has put me ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 28,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Simon'
Aug 28,2014
3 people found
this helpful
They really wouldn't know customer service if it slapped them in the face. I have lived in this flat for over 3 years. Most of the time everything is fine...it's a bit noisy and the flat needs a refurb, but rent is cheap enough. Any ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 24,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'mrmatt'
Jul 24,2014
1 people found
this helpful
Currently trying to leave a Thornley Groves managed tenancy to let with a more scrupulous agent. Apparently Thornley Groves are now so bold as to charge £36 for a tenancy reference! A task that literally takes about 2 minutes on the phone and that most other ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
A tenant referencing fee of ‚£36 is outrageous .
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 22,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Lauren'
Jul 22,2014
2 people found
this helpful
Terrible communication, flat found in a disgusting state including vomit on furniture and personal sanitary items across the floor. Took a month for them to send in work men who were terrible at their job e.g stuck a glass table together with silicone. Rarely ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jun 09,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Dan'
Jun 09,2014
1 people found
this helpful
Overall a very poor agent, we started our tenancy happily enough after dealing with a very friendly girl from the Tib street branch, who no longer works there. That is the only positive thing I can think of to say about this particular agent. From ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Respond to issues which would be deemed more important faster, eg Hot water and Electricity. When you replace maintenance managers, let tenants know so they have the relevant number to call. Don\'t ignore issues raised within the first week, and completely leave them for 12 months (or more) Give out the emergency contact details upon the start of the tenancy...
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Dan
Jun 10, 2014
View all comments (1)
I wish I could edit my previous rating to 1, after writing the review and trying to follow correct leaving procedure, I have been ignored for close to a week now, I 'have got to' pay a reference/leaving fee and I am not sure who this needs to be paid to, tried to find out, got the email address of the person, sent them a simple message asking for assistance...5 days later, still no reply. The resonse time from this agent is terrible, when they want something from you, its expected within the ...
Jun 06,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Joe'
Jun 06,2014
2 people found
this helpful
Avoid, Avoid. The WORST letting agency in Manchester. - flat was left SPOTLESS but we were charged £30 for a "general clean" + £35 Tenant servicing fee (fee allocated to the works that were carried out (nonsens) ) - poor customer service ( answering) - Terrible ...
read full review
Attachments

Was this helpful? Yes
May 21,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Andy'
May 21,2014
1 people found
this helpful
Desperately trying to renew a tenancy agreement, I've even found the new flatmate. I've been calling for 2 weeks continuously put through to voicemails which are never responded to. When asking to speak to AN ACTUAL PERSON, I was rudely spoken to and informed that I ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Thornley Groves Customer Care Manager
May 22, 2014
View all comments (1)
Dear Andy, Firstly, thank you for writing this review on AllAgents. Whilst I am naturally disappointed that the review is not a positive one, you have given me the chance to rectify your complaint. I believe we have already emailed each other (21st May) and the matter is under resolution. Once we have confirmation from the Landlord that you can renew the tenancy, we will let you know. I would like to give you my assurances that the relevant staff are dealing with the matter and I am also k ...
Mar 13,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Simon'
Mar 13,2014
2 people found
this helpful
I have had a leak in my kitchen for almost 3 weeks. It took 10 days of my nagging to get a plumber who came for 5 minutes and said he didn\'t know. No further updates...in fact no updates ever. I have called them about 8 times ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
have an incident management system with SLAs. if i report a problem - i expect a resolution quickly. i expect you to chase for it and me to not have to chase you. an online reporting and tracking system would be useful. and for a leak coming through the ceiling...a 48 hour SLA to get it totally fixed!
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Thornley Groves Estate Agents
Mar 14, 2014
View all comments (1)
Thanks for posting Simon, I've investigated the matter that you posted this morning on all agents, it does appear it has received our full attention and we have been doing everything we can to help resolve the matter. As you know the source of the leak is not within your property or any property we manage so we are relying on the actions of others to have this fixed. i understand that it is not an emergency repair and that the leak is not constant and there is no risk of flooding, if that is ...
Jan 09,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'antbonc'
Jan 09,2014
2 people found
this helpful
Absolute incompetence from start to finish. - Mould issues covered up by paint only to reoccur numerous times - never able to contact landlord when we had issues but miraculously he was always available when it came to getting more money out of us - ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 13,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Huw'
Sep 13,2013
3 people found
this helpful
Shocking. 4 months without hot water. Now they have charged us £164 on leaving the property because the floor was \'dusty\'. £35 charge to arrange getting the floor cleaned. Basically they are robbing people and getting more money for their landlords...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 03,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Nadia Mahmood'
Sep 03,2013
4 people found
this helpful
Horrible service from Thornley Grove. They had no idea what was included with the property when we initially moved. Left the house in an incredibly dirty state (absolutely filthy), therefore forcing us to clean the entire flat when we initially moved in. Also left us ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Ensure that they have information about the flat they are letting out, not lie about what is and isn\'t available, ensure that the property is clean before letting it, ensure that broken furniture is sorted before tenants move in. Then don\'t inappropraitely take money out of tenants deposits for cleaning especially when you left the flat in such a state beforehand. They dealt with any issues with no credibility or honesty.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 02,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Ross'
Aug 02,2013
3 people found
this helpful
Absolutely awful agent that time and time again cost us a lot of money by not fixing repairs. They did not fix the water heater in our flat which was continuously flushing water out of the system, causing us to both have annual water bills ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 13,2012
Minithumbdown
By: 'RippedOffInManchester'
Nov 13,2012
1 people found
this helpful
Many times we were told issue would be taken are of and they never were. We asked for a few things in the flat to be replaced as they were broken when we moved in. The carpets and bathroom, when inspected properly, had mould and ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Not charge me and my flatmate for things we had complained about. Took our complaints seriously.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
Areas covered
Advertise on
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Valuation and Fee Performance
76% customers were satisfied with fees 79% accuracy of agent's valuations
Price range of properties reviewed
Sales No data
Letting
  • Min: £0
  • Max: £0



Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
3 0 13 14 0 0 0 0 0 0

Fees

No fees set.
Last updated at 3:59 PM 01/12/2016 by Hannah Marsh

Complaints Procedure

No procedure set.
Last updated at 3:59 PM 01/12/2016 by Hannah Marsh

Awards won by Thornley Groves, Manchester M4 1LG

Branch rankings


Overall

Estate Agents Rankings

Letting Agents Rankings

Opening hours


Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home