• Staff picture
    Ashleigh
  • Staff picture
    Andrew
  • Staff picture
    Scott
  • Staff picture
    Nikita
We are genuinely committed to guiding you through the process of buying, selling or letting property-no matter what your situation we will be happy to help you. We're a team of property experts dedicated to matching the people of Plymouth to their perfect property. We're told that the secret to our success is our local knowledge combined with a friendly, professional approach. Why don't you get in contact and decide for yourself. We offer a full range of lettings and estate agency services Read full description... depending upon your individual requirements.
Northwood

Hyde Park House, 74 Mutley Plain Plymouth
Devon
PL4 6LF

01752674404
Jan 31,2018
Minithumbup
Ashleigh
Andrew
By: 'ALloyd'
Jan 31,2018
0 people found
this helpful
When we were looking for an agent to rent out our flat, we found Northwood's package met our needs exactly. We had many happy years knowing our flat was being looked after....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 24,2018
Minithumbup
Ashleigh
Andrew
By: 'CarolineNorthey'
Jan 24,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Very good service. property managed well. Payments on time. I have been very satisfied with their service over the years, an excellent property management company....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 12,2018
Minithumbup
Ashleigh
Andrew
By: 'LeiChieng'
Jan 12,2018
0 people found
this helpful
This is the fourth year that my property has been under management by Plymouth Northwood. The team in Plymouth under Ashleigh is doing a good job and I will certainly continue to let them manage my property for many years to come!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew Chapman
Jan 12, 2018
View all comments (1)
Dear Mr LeiChieng, Thank you for taking the time to kindly review the service that you have received to date from the Northwood Plymouth Team. We really do appreciate your business. Thank you. Andrew Chapman. ...
Jan 10,2018
Minithumbup
Ashleigh
Andrew
By: 'CraigRayner'
Jan 10,2018
0 people found
this helpful
We let our house using the guaranteed rent service and it was great! Total peace of mind when we were out of the area, regular updates, polite staff, and our property was better than when we had it! Definitely would use Northwood again!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew Chapman
Jan 12, 2018
View all comments (1)
Dear Mr Rayner, Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave a review of the service that you received from the Northwood Plymouth team. We really appreciate your business. Kind regards, Andrew Chapman. ...
Jan 08,2018
Minithumbup
Ashleigh
Andrew
By: 'CDuke'
Jan 08,2018
0 people found
this helpful
I have never rented a property before, but Northwood made the whole process so easy, from start to collection of keys. The agent who initially showed me the property was very nice, professional and knowledgeable. At the office, Nicola Stoneman was a huge help - ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 05,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Matt.Bradley'
Jan 05,2018
0 people found
this helpful
I am made aware of any issues and the rectification of any internal or external repair work is entirely managed by Northwood. All I have to do is pay the contractor at the end. This is exactly the level of service I require, living so ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 03,2018
Minithumbup
Andrew
By: 'DCannon'
Jan 03,2018
0 people found
this helpful
We have been with Northwood for 8 years now whilst living in Australia. We have never had an issue that hasn't been dealt with professionally and efficiently....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 22,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'AndrewTye'
Dec 22,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I had my house rented and previously sold by Northwood. Everything went well apart from a bit of a slow buyer, who took a while to complete with. Not Northwood's fault. Special thanks to Nicola and Jackie for everything they have done to help ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 18,2017
Minithumbup
Ashleigh
By: 'HLewis'
Dec 18,2017
0 people found
this helpful
First class service. Viewed, referenced and will be moved all in 8 days! It could have been sooner if the removal men had been available!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 13,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'JdaRosa'
Dec 13,2017
0 people found
this helpful
The team at Northwood, Plymouth have always been professional, knowledgeable and helpful. They always know and inform the landlord in ample time when certificates are close to renewal (CP12 for example). If the tenant raises an issue I am informed quickly, a suggestion offered or ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 12,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'LawrenceB'
Dec 12,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Northwood is excellent always very efficient and personal to each customer. Very helping in sorting any problems that might occur with the tenants and house. Very efficient in sending clear and helpful information to the customer and giving feed back and advice....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 30,2017
Minithumbup
Andrew
By: 'AndrewDavis'
Nov 30,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Always professional with all communication. All the staff are easy to speak to, especially Jackie who was excellent start to finish....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew Chapman
Dec 12, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear Mr Davis, Thank you so kindly for the review of the service that you received from the Northwood Plymouth time. We really appreciate your business. Kind regards, Andrew Chapman. ...
Nov 21,2017
Minithumbup
Ashleigh
By: 'Claire & Des Cannon'
Nov 21,2017
0 people found
this helpful
We have had our house rented through Northwood Plymouth for just short of 9 years. We have consistently received excellent customer service and support from the lettings team via a 'long distance' professional relationship as we live in Australia :) Recently we decided to sell our home ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very competitive fees!
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew Chapman
Nov 21, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear Mr and Mrs Cannon, Thank you kindly for your review of our service. We were delighted to serve you over the years with managing your property and eventually selling it for you also. May I take the opportunity to thank you for using us over the years and myself and all of the Northwood team wish you well for the future. Kind regards, Andrew. ...
Nov 21,2017
Minithumbup
Andrew
Ashleigh
By: 'JazmineR'
Nov 21,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Seamless service and great communication. Can't thank them enough. Made a very stressful situation so much easier - thank you!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 15,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'CCross'
Nov 15,2017
1 people found
this helpful
Excellent, attentive service. Quick response to queries. Very good feedback regarding resolution of issues. A fantastic service overall. I would recommend them....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 10,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Alexia'
Nov 10,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Really pleased with our experience of Northwood and our house purchase. All communications from beginning to end were picked up and dealt with quickly. Happy to recommend....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 02,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Dan'
Aug 02,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Very dodgey agent, erroneous letting fees, Charing for cleaning on an already professionally cleaned property. Photos sent as proof by company showed pristine condition with the odd fleck of dust in a corner. Beware if considering to rent from this agency or indeed list a ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Horendous
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew Chapman
Nov 10, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear Sir, I am sorry to hear that you feel that you have not received a good service from Northwood. We pride ourselves on our service and we obviously very disappointed when someone is not happy with us. All our check out procedures are covered via an inventory and check out procedure and we always try to be fair. If for any reason there is any disputes then the normal process is to mange this via the Deposit Protection Service and their independent Alternative Dispute Resolution process. Once ...
Aug 24,2016
Minithumbdown
Andrew
By: 'Pal21'
Aug 24,2016
1 people found
this helpful
Past landlord who went for guaranteed rent scheme with Northwood in Plymouth. Northwood constantly changed monthly payment amounts due to me from sub tenant. Damage caused by a Northwood sub tenant, money taken by Northwood from deposit scheme not used for repairs at property. No ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Over priced, avoid this company cheaper companies in Plymouth area provide a better service.
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 16,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'nick_jepson'
Nov 16,2015
0 people found
this helpful
From start to finish the process was well-organised and easy. Having found myself on my own after a long-term relationship collapse, I was stressed, confused and feeling a little delicate, but Vicky and the team at northwood were great! The initial viewings were informative, and ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very reasonable and up front.
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 09,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Sean'
Sep 09,2015
1 people found
this helpful
Prompt polite and reliable service. Have recommended Northwood to many contacts. All staff are efficient and friendly. The standards are exactly what one would hope for....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Happy
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 21,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Steph'
Aug 21,2015
1 people found
this helpful
We have been left very disappointed by this agency. 3 weeks ago we viewed a property and decided to proceed with an application. We were told things were looking very positive and that with a guarantor we would be successful. They have taken ages to process ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Northwood
Aug 22, 2015
View all comments (1)
Dear Steph, Thank you for your review. As explained on your partners review below, We have a duty of care to our client, which in this case is the landlord. Therefore, once we present a landlord with references, if they are not happy to proceed then unfortunately their decision is final. We can also confirm that despite already processing your application you have been refunded your administration fee for the inconvenience caused in this matter and to enable you to find a property where the land ...
Aug 21,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Boohoo'
Aug 21,2015
0 people found
this helpful
First of all we were told that our referencing would be done in two days we are now at 3 weeks and now they have told us we cant move in. Paige when i called after two days had not even started the process at all. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Boohoo
Aug 22, 2015
View all comments (2)
So as you were looking after the client's interest that gives you the right to be rude? When my partner phoned up Hayley, she just did not really want to talk to her and it felt like she just wanted her off the phone. customer service noun the assistance and advice provided by a company to those people who buy or use its products or services. Maybe you should look at this definition of customer service as we paid you money so you were providing us with a service. I am not trying to argue ...
Dec 16,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'rosemary postlethwaite'
Dec 16,2014
2 people found
this helpful
Over 8 years we have had nothing but an excellent service and as landlords living outside the area would highly recommend the plymouth office, it has made letting the property so much easier. The staff have always been helpful and have been very good at letting ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 15,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Mrs rawlings'
Dec 15,2014
2 people found
this helpful
The team are professional and have dealt with repairs promptly as required. Thy processed our application quickly and were helpful with our move in. We have been a Tenant for 3 years and still find them all to be very friendly and helpful....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
We are not so happy with the administration fee to renew the Tenancy each time, we feel that this is an unfair fee.
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 11,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Darren'
Dec 11,2014
3 people found
this helpful
We saw a property that we just loved the look of. Called Northwood and spoke to Hayley. She met us two days later so we could have a viewing. We really liked the place and then proceeded to go for it. Hayley has kept us ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 09,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Joe'
Dec 09,2014
4 people found
this helpful
Hayley maintained an outstanding level and balance of both professionalism and helpfulness throughout the whole tenancy process. From the moment I was shown around my potential new home I felt relaxed and warmth while she described the many features of the new property. I instantly ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Northwood were offering no agency fees if the tenant moved in by a certain date. This was perfect because most other agencies usually charge for credit checks etc and with a not so good credit rating I was nervous about throwing away money. Northwood were happy to refund the holding deposit if I were to fail the credit check but this wasn\'t necessary - this was definitely a pivotal factor in my decision to use Northwood.
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 09,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'House sparrow'
Dec 09,2014
5 people found
this helpful
I use the guaranteed rent scheme for my properties and benefit from the fully managed service for landlords. I cannot fault the team in any way. The staff are always attentive, professional and courteous. Any time that I have raised an issue or a query ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 22,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Abbie'
Nov 22,2014
5 people found
this helpful
Hayley is really friendly which make people feel comfortable to talk to her. She also response my emails quickly to answer my requirement and keep me up to date....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 31,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Andy'
May 31,2014
3 people found
this helpful
We rented our property with Northwoods for 2 years, we decided to sell the property and informed the tenants that we were selling. We offer the tenants to go on a rolling monthly contract, in which we would have to give them 2 months notice when the ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 12,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Stewart Hood'
Jan 12,2014
3 people found
this helpful
Difficult to describe succinctly how poor the service we received from Northwoods was. In a nutshell, we would have been better going it alone as a landlord. Every whim of their tenants was pandered to, we appeared to have no rights at all and were ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Endeavoured to resolve issues other than asking for money. And at least admitted that their tenants were unreasonable
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
Areas covered
  • St.Judes
  • Plymouth
  • Devonport
  • Plympton
  • City Centre and Waterfront
  • Plymstock
  • Derriford
  • Ivybridge
  • Beacon PArk
  • Mannamead
  • Higher Compton
  • Hartley
  • Lower Compton
  • Stoke
  • Peverell
  • Crownhill
  • Southway
  • Eggbucklnad
  • Keyham
  • Mutley
Advertise on
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Valuation and Fee Performance
83% customers were satisfied with fees 89% accuracy of agent's valuations
Price range of properties reviewed
Sales
  • Min: £268,000
  • Max: £268,000

Letting
  • Min: £0
  • Max: £0

NAEA ARLA TPOS DPS






Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
12 3 8 5 2 0 3 0 0 2
Staff picture Ashleigh
(8)

Staff picture Andrew
(9)

Staff picture Scott
(0)

Staff picture Nikita
(0)

Fees

ESTATE AGENCY FEES

Our standard rate for Sole Agency residential sales is 1.8% inclusive of VAT on a no sale, no fee basis.

LANDLORD FEES
All our fees are shown inclusive of VAT where applicable.

Guaranteed Rent
If you are renting your property to us on the Guaranteed Rent Service, we will not charge you any fees at all. We will need to conduct a market appraisal of the property in order to establish if the property meets our criteria. If the property meets the criteria for this service then a fixed and guaranteed monthly rent will be offered for a minimum period of one year and terms and conditions apply.

Charges will apply for our other services, please see the table below for details of these.

Set Up Fee for Fully Managed and Rent Collection
When you first instruct us on either of these schemes you will have to pay a Set Up Fee. This fee covers all the cost of advertising, finding a tenant, compiling the inventory and drawing up agreements etc. The Set Up Fee is payable each time you instruct us to find a new tenant for your property.

Commission for Fully Managed and Rent Collection
We charge a monthly commission for the ongoing management of your property, which will depend on the level of service you require.

Tenant Find Charges
If you simply want us to find a tenant for your property, we will charge you a one off fee. This fee covers all the cost of advertising, finding a tenant, compiling the inventory and drawing up agreements etc.

Our Fees (inclusive of VAT where applicable)
Standard Set Up Fee - Fully Managed £360.00
Standard Monthly Commission – Fully Managed 12.00%
Standard Set Up Fee – Rent Collection £360.00
Standard Monthly Commission – Rent Collection 7.2%
Standard Tenant Find Commission £360.00
Any percentage fees shown are calculated based on the monthly rent
There is also an additional charge of £120 to cover the cost of a professional inventory at the start of each tenancy.

TENANT FEES

Once your offer is accepted, we ask you to pay an administration charge to cover the costs of referencing and initial checks, and a contribution towards the preparation of the tenancy agreement and inventory.

Our charges are:

I. Single person: £240.00 inc. VAT
II. Couples: £360.00 inc. VAT
III. Additional applicant: £120.00 inc. VAT

* This is a non-refundable payment, should you not proceed with the tenancy we reserve the right to retain your reservation fee to meet any reasonable costs or loss of rent whilst the property was withdrawn from the market. This may apply whether you withdraw from the tenancy or are unable to proceed due to adverse references.

Other charges

Depending on your personal circumstances and the progression of your tenancy, we may also ask you to pay other fees and charges. If we do, we will explain these to you at the time.

Guarantor

If you are a student, are unemployed or on a low income, you will need a guarantor. We will charge a fee of £120.00 inc. VAT for carrying out reference checks on the guarantor.

The guarantor will be asked to read your tenancy agreement and sign a guarantor agreement before the tenancy starts.
Last updated at 13/11/2017, 11:13 AM by allAgents

Complaints Procedure

Northwood aims to run a high calibre lettings and estate agency business. Whilst we do our best to operate in a professional way and to the highest standards, it is possible that you may be unhappy about how we have dealt with a particular situation.

We have a standard procedure for handling complaints which is as follows:

1. Making an initial complaint

Each office is independently owned and operated and has a local Director who will be, in part or in whole, an owner of the branch. In the first instance your complaint should be directed in writing to the local Director. He or she has an honest and sincere desire to resolve your complaint as soon as possible and should respond within ten working days.

2. Making a formal complaint

If for whatever reason you remain dissatisfied then you should write or email The Property Ombudsman. Please provide full written details of your complaint and copies of any supporting evidence. The Property Ombudsman will provide an independent review of the complaint.

Write to :

The Property Ombudsman
Milford House
43-55 Milford Street
Salisbury
Wiltshire
SP1 2BP
Last updated at 11:13 AM 13/11/2017 by allAgents

Awards won by Northwood, Plymouth PL4 6LF


Opening hours



Book FREE Valuation

Branch - Plymouth, PL4

Branch logo