• Jackie Marker
    Jackie Marker
  • Joanne Rees
    Joanne Rees
  • Nicola Stoneman
    Nicola Stoneman
  • Ashleigh Evans
    Ashleigh Evans
  • Andrew Chapman
    Andrew Chapman
We are genuinely committed to guiding you through the process of buying, selling or letting property-no matter what your situation we will be happy to help you. We're a team of property experts dedicated to matching the people of Plymouth to their perfect property. We're told that the secret to our success is our local knowledge combined with a friendly, professional approach. Why don't you get in contact and decide for yourself. We offer a full range of lettings and estate agency services Read full description... depending upon your individual requirements.
Northwood

Hyde Park House, 74 Mutley Plain Plymouth
Devon
PL4 6LF

01752674404
Nov 30,2017
Minithumbup
Andrew Chapman
Jackie Marker
By: 'AndrewDavis'
Nov 30,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Always professional with all communication. All the staff are easy to speak to, especially Jackie who was excellent start to finish....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 21,2017
Minithumbup
Jackie Marker
Ashleigh Evans
By: 'Claire & Des Cannon'
Nov 21,2017
0 people found
this helpful
We have had our house rented through Northwood Plymouth for just short of 9 years. We have consistently received excellent customer service and support from the lettings team via a 'long distance' professional relationship as we live in Australia :) Recently we decided to sell our home and this was done through Jackie Marker who is an asset to Northwood Plymouth. She has provided us with an exceptional service. She went out of her way to ensure the house was in an immaculate conditio...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very competitive fees!
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew Chapman
Nov 21, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear Mr and Mrs Cannon, Thank you kindly for your review of our service. We were delighted to serve you over the years with managing your property and eventually selling it for you also. May I take the opportunity to thank you for using us over the years and myself and all of the Northwood team wish you well for the future. Kind regards, Andrew. ...
Nov 21,2017
Minithumbup
Andrew Chapman
Ashleigh Evans
By: 'JazmineR'
Nov 21,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Seamless service and great communication. Can't thank them enough. Made a very stressful situation so much easier - thank you!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 15,2017
Minithumbup
Jackie Marker
Nicola Stoneman
By: 'CCross'
Nov 15,2017
1 people found
this helpful
Excellent, attentive service. Quick response to queries. Very good feedback regarding resolution of issues. A fantastic service overall. I would recommend them....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 10,2017
Minithumbup
Jackie Marker
Nicola Stoneman
By: 'Alexia'
Nov 10,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Really pleased with our experience of Northwood and our house purchase. All communications from beginning to end were picked up and dealt with quickly. Happy to recommend....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 02,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Dan'
Aug 02,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Very dodgey agent, erroneous letting fees, Charing for cleaning on an already professionally cleaned property. Photos sent as proof by company showed pristine condition with the odd fleck of dust in a corner. Beware if considering to rent from this agency or indeed list a rental. Company also charged previous tenants in a similar way but bagged the money with no work carried out. Plymouth is a small place, and we have caught you out Northwood...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Horendous
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew Chapman
Nov 10, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear Sir, I am sorry to hear that you feel that you have not received a good service from Northwood. We pride ourselves on our service and we obviously very disappointed when someone is not happy with us. All our check out procedures are covered via an inventory and check out procedure and we always try to be fair. If for any reason there is any disputes then the normal process is to mange this via the Deposit Protection Service and their independent Alternative Dispute Resolution process. Once ...
Aug 24,2016
Minithumbdown
Andrew Chapman
By: 'Pal21'
Aug 24,2016
1 people found
this helpful
Past landlord who went for guaranteed rent scheme with Northwood in Plymouth. Northwood constantly changed monthly payment amounts due to me from sub tenant. Damage caused by a Northwood sub tenant, money taken by Northwood from deposit scheme not used for repairs at property. No explanation of where money went. Contract not renewed last September 2015 with Northwood, requested my property keys not given to me, staff Hayley and Andrew Chapman rude and arrogant, my wife was asked to leave the...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Over priced, avoid this company cheaper companies in Plymouth area provide a better service.
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 16,2015
Minithumbup
Joanne Rees
By: 'nick_jepson'
Nov 16,2015
0 people found
this helpful
From start to finish the process was well-organised and easy. Having found myself on my own after a long-term relationship collapse, I was stressed, confused and feeling a little delicate, but Vicky and the team at northwood were great! The initial viewings were informative, and Vicky really knew her stuff when answering the many questions put to her. Once I had decided that I wanted to go for the property, the team took less than 24 hours to sort out referencing and credit checks, and I was gi...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very reasonable and up front.
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 09,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Sean'
Sep 09,2015
1 people found
this helpful
Prompt polite and reliable service. Have recommended Northwood to many contacts. All staff are efficient and friendly. The standards are exactly what one would hope for....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Happy
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 21,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Steph'
Aug 21,2015
1 people found
this helpful
We have been left very disappointed by this agency. 3 weeks ago we viewed a property and decided to proceed with an application. We were told things were looking very positive and that with a guarantor we would be successful. They have taken ages to process the application, with my partner having to chase them up regularly to see how things were going, and finally today they told my partner they have withdrawn our application (apparently it is taking too long for them yet we have done everything...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Northwood
Aug 22, 2015
View all comments (1)
Dear Steph, Thank you for your review. As explained on your partners review below, We have a duty of care to our client, which in this case is the landlord. Therefore, once we present a landlord with references, if they are not happy to proceed then unfortunately their decision is final. We can also confirm that despite already processing your application you have been refunded your administration fee for the inconvenience caused in this matter and to enable you to find a property where the land ...
Aug 21,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Boohoo'
Aug 21,2015
0 people found
this helpful
First of all we were told that our referencing would be done in two days we are now at 3 weeks and now they have told us we cant move in. Paige when i called after two days had not even started the process at all. I felt like from day one I was trying to do all the work chasing the references. The customer service from Hayley was less than abysmal. When Hayley called me to tell me they were not going to let us move in after waiting 3 weeks, she was rude and very artogant towards me. It was almo...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Boohoo
Aug 22, 2015
View all comments (2)
So as you were looking after the client's interest that gives you the right to be rude? When my partner phoned up Hayley, she just did not really want to talk to her and it felt like she just wanted her off the phone. customer service noun the assistance and advice provided by a company to those people who buy or use its products or services. Maybe you should look at this definition of customer service as we paid you money so you were providing us with a service. I am not trying to argue ...
Dec 16,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'rosemary postlethwaite'
Dec 16,2014
2 people found
this helpful
Over 8 years we have had nothing but an excellent service and as landlords living outside the area would highly recommend the plymouth office, it has made letting the property so much easier. The staff have always been helpful and have been very good at letting us know straight away when there was a problem. We have never been without a tenant since 2006. In September 2014 we decided to sell the flat and have had the same excellent service from the sales team. Thank you....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 15,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Mrs rawlings'
Dec 15,2014
2 people found
this helpful
The team are professional and have dealt with repairs promptly as required. Thy processed our application quickly and were helpful with our move in. We have been a Tenant for 3 years and still find them all to be very friendly and helpful....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
We are not so happy with the administration fee to renew the Tenancy each time, we feel that this is an unfair fee.
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 11,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Darren'
Dec 11,2014
3 people found
this helpful
We saw a property that we just loved the look of. Called Northwood and spoke to Hayley. She met us two days later so we could have a viewing. We really liked the place and then proceeded to go for it. Hayley has kept us informed all of the way with regards to how the application was progressing. She has been on the end of the phone when we had any questions. Cant fault her service....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 09,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Joe'
Dec 09,2014
4 people found
this helpful
Hayley maintained an outstanding level and balance of both professionalism and helpfulness throughout the whole tenancy process. From the moment I was shown around my potential new home I felt relaxed and warmth while she described the many features of the new property. I instantly knew this would be the place I wanted and despite many phone calls from myself (due to excitement), Hayley was courteous and responsive to all of my requests. I would highly recommend her and Northwood as THE letting ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Northwood were offering no agency fees if the tenant moved in by a certain date. This was perfect because most other agencies usually charge for credit checks etc and with a not so good credit rating I was nervous about throwing away money. Northwood were happy to refund the holding deposit if I were to fail the credit check but this wasn\'t necessary - this was definitely a pivotal factor in my decision to use Northwood.
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 09,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'House sparrow'
Dec 09,2014
5 people found
this helpful
I use the guaranteed rent scheme for my properties and benefit from the fully managed service for landlords. I cannot fault the team in any way. The staff are always attentive, professional and courteous. Any time that I have raised an issue or a query it has been dealt with swiftly and always with a satisfactory outcome. As a landlady, I feel that my properties are being managed by capable hands and would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Northwood Plymouth to other prospective lan...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 22,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Abbie'
Nov 22,2014
5 people found
this helpful
Hayley is really friendly which make people feel comfortable to talk to her. She also response my emails quickly to answer my requirement and keep me up to date....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 31,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Andy'
May 31,2014
3 people found
this helpful
We rented our property with Northwoods for 2 years, we decided to sell the property and informed the tenants that we were selling. We offer the tenants to go on a rolling monthly contract, in which we would have to give them 2 months notice when the house was sold and they could give us 1 months notice to leave. This was emailed back to us as agreed. All was good for 5 weeks until we got an email asking us where we wanted the keys to be send as the tenants have now left.. We had no correspondenc...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 12,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Stewart Hood'
Jan 12,2014
3 people found
this helpful
Difficult to describe succinctly how poor the service we received from Northwoods was. In a nutshell, we would have been better going it alone as a landlord. Every whim of their tenants was pandered to, we appeared to have no rights at all and were just asked to sign a blank cheque to replace EVERY white good in the house/central heating/plumbing/gas fire/door handles - you name it, they needed it replacing or repairing despite everything being in perfect working order before they moved in. I...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Endeavoured to resolve issues other than asking for money. And at least admitted that their tenants were unreasonable
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 08,2012
Minithumbdown
By: 'g'
Aug 08,2012
8 people found
this helpful
As a professional family with 3 children living in the house as tenants for a number of years we had the most terrible experience with this letting agent. The staff were rude and unpersonable (the staff turnover was quite frequent I may add) always very slow to deal with any matters and totally unreasonable and defensive. It was an awful situation to be in as you are at the mercy of the agent for all things as there were never any details of the property owner on hand. to list everything on her...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: GogglesOff
Sep 13, 2012
View all comments (1)
At least Northwood are consistent - they provide a rubbish service for both landlords and tenants alike! Let out properties yourself people, this will still be FAR LESS HASSLE than using Northwood. They will only cost you money, time and frustration. ...
Apr 01,2012
Minithumbdown
By: 'Kathryn'
Apr 01,2012
6 people found
this helpful
The worst service I have ever received from a company in my whole life! Within 3 days of moving in we had issues with downstairs who was bullying me and my family and causing it hell to live there, we had police and environmental health visiting regularly as our neighbour had called them to complain about what turned out to be nothing. Northwood never did a thing. When the boiler was query leaking they asked us to use the shower only until they notified us....which they forgot to do and so our w...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Been polite and helpful, not rude and disrespectful. Offer professional and fair advice. Deal with problems as the arise not just when we leave and they have to be so the property can be relet There are a hundred other things I could say but after this experience I would never change my mind about Northwood!
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: g
Aug 08, 2012
View all comments (1)
I totally agree with you. As a tenant we had a dreadful time and they even managed to con us out of a third of our deposit even though we disputed it with DPS. Awful office, absolutely no people skills whatsoever. ...
Feb 02,2012
Minithumbup
By: 'Prashil'
Feb 02,2012
3 people found
this helpful
I found this letting agents extremely helpful. I have had my property advertised with other agents in Plymouth and this is by far the best. The staff are very helpful and professional at all times. I used their contractors for cleaning and maintenance and I have to say it was all sorted out without any hassel.Thus far I am very impressed with the service I have received and would definately recommend them....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 14,2011
Minithumbdown
By: 'Neighbour from Hell'
Dec 14,2011
4 people found
this helpful
Having just escaped from a 6 month tenancy with Northwood I feel others should know that this company has very little customer service. They do not inform you of anything negative about the let (in my case that the neighbour from hell lived downstairs) Dog Barking and shouting all of the day and night, and that the previous tenant left for the same reason. They offer very little assistance in getting things done, On giving notice,( for 2 reasons) 1. neighbour from hell, 2. A my way or no way...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Told me the truth about the neighbour which they knew but did not tell me in case I refused to let.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 01,2010
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jimmy'
Sep 01,2010
4 people found
this helpful
Easily the worst rental agency I've ever dealt with. They take ages authorising any repairs, they never do anything unless you constantly chase them up. They charge you through the nose. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Areas covered
  • St.Judes
  • Plymouth
  • Devonport
  • Plympton
  • City Centre and Waterfront
  • Plymstock
  • Derriford
  • Ivybridge
  • Beacon PArk
  • Mannamead
  • Higher Compton
  • Hartley
  • Lower Compton
  • Stoke
  • Peverell
  • Crownhill
  • Southway
  • Eggbucklnad
  • Keyham
  • Mutley
Advertise on
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Valuation and Fee Performance
72% customers were satisfied with fees 82% accuracy of agent's valuations
Price range of properties reviewed
Sales
  • Min: Β£268,000
  • Max: Β£268,000

Letting
  • Min: Β£0
  • Max: Β£0

TPOS DPS








Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
5 3 7 5 0 0 2 0 0 2
Jackie Marker Jackie Marker
Branch Manager
4 reviews

About Jackie Jackie is a Member of the National Association of Estate Agents. She returned to the UK from Queensland to be closer to her family having spent 20 years in both Australia and New Zealand. She has 13 y View full profile
Joanne Rees Joanne Rees
Sales and Lettings Negotiator
1 reviews

About Joanne Jo states that she ?loves the diversity and challenges that my role brings on a daily basis. Every day is different and rewarding, I am lucky enough to visit and meet a variety of people within their View full profile
Nicola Stoneman Nicola Stoneman
Sales and Lettings Negotiator
2 reviews

About Nicola Nicola joined the company from a customer service background and her passion is helping people with the process of moving whether that is renting or buying. She really enjoys the variety of the role, View full profile
Ashleigh Evans Ashleigh Evans
Property Manager
2 reviews

About Ashleigh Ashleigh joined Northwood after completing an NVQ in Customer Service. Since then, she has continued to learn new skills every day. Ashleigh has qualifications from the National Federation of Property View full profile
Andrew Chapman Andrew Chapman
Director
3 reviews

About Andrew Andrew has a huge passion for Plymouth, his business and the property sector. AndrewÒ€ℒs main duties are setting the vision and objectives for the company while ensuring the Plymouth team have wh View full profile

Job vacancies

Please see a list of jobs available

Fees

ESTATE AGENCY FEES

Our standard rate for Sole Agency residential sales is 0.85% inclusive of VAT on a no sale, no fee basis.

LANDLORD FEES
All our fees are shown inclusive of VAT where applicable.

Guaranteed Rent
If you are renting your property to us on the Guaranteed Rent Service, we will not charge you any fees at all. We will need to conduct a market appraisal of the property in order to establish if the property meets our criteria. If the property meets the criteria for this service then a fixed and guaranteed monthly rent will be offered for a minimum period of one year and terms and conditions apply.

Charges will apply for our other services, please see the table below for details of these.

Set Up Fee for Fully Managed and Rent Collection
When you first instruct us on either of these schemes you will have to pay a Set Up Fee. This fee covers all the cost of advertising, finding a tenant, compiling the inventory and drawing up agreements etc. The Set Up Fee is payable each time you instruct us to find a new tenant for your property.

Commission for Fully Managed and Rent Collection
We charge a monthly commission for the ongoing management of your property, which will depend on the level of service you require.

Tenant Find Charges
If you simply want us to find a tenant for your property, we will charge you a one off fee. This fee covers all the cost of advertising, finding a tenant, compiling the inventory and drawing up agreements etc.

Our Fees (inclusive of VAT where applicable)
Standard Set Up Fee - Fully Managed Β£480.00
Standard Monthly Commission – Fully Managed 12.00%
Standard Set Up Fee – Rent Collection Β£480.00
Standard Monthly Commission – Rent Collection 7.2%
Standard Tenant Find Commission Β£480.00
Any percentage fees shown are calculated based on the monthly rent

TENANT FEES

Once your offer is accepted, we ask you to pay an administration charge to cover the costs of referencing and initial checks, and a contribution towards the preparation of the tenancy agreement and inventory.

Our charges are:

I. Single person: Β£240.00 inc. VAT
II. Couples: Β£360.00 inc. VAT
III. Additional applicant: Β£120.00 inc. VAT

* This is a non-refundable payment, should you not proceed with the tenancy we reserve the right to retain your reservation fee to meet any reasonable costs or loss of rent whilst the property was withdrawn from the market. This may apply whether you withdraw from the tenancy or are unable to proceed due to adverse references.

Other charges

Depending on your personal circumstances and the progression of your tenancy, we may also ask you to pay other fees and charges. If we do, we will explain these to you at the time.

Guarantor

If you are a student, are unemployed or on a low income, you will need a guarantor. We will charge a fee of Β£120.00 inc. VAT for carrying out reference checks on the guarantor.

The guarantor will be asked to read your tenancy agreement and sign a guarantor agreement before the tenancy starts.

Inventory fee
Β£60 inclusive of VAT, payable prior to moving in.
Last updated at 11:13 AM 13/11/2017 by allAgents

Complaints Procedure

Northwood aims to run a high calibre lettings and estate agency business. Whilst we do our best to operate in a professional way and to the highest standards, it is possible that you may be unhappy about how we have dealt with a particular situation.

We have a standard procedure for handling complaints which is as follows:

1. Making an initial complaint

Each office is independently owned and operated and has a local Director who will be, in part or in whole, an owner of the branch. In the first instance your complaint should be directed in writing to the local Director. He or she has an honest and sincere desire to resolve your complaint as soon as possible and should respond within ten working days.

2. Making a formal complaint

If for whatever reason you remain dissatisfied then you should write or email The Property Ombudsman. Please provide full written details of your complaint and copies of any supporting evidence. The Property Ombudsman will provide an independent review of the complaint.

Write to :

The Property Ombudsman
Milford House
43-55 Milford Street
Salisbury
Wiltshire
SP1 2BP
Last updated at 11:13 AM 13/11/2017 by allAgents

Awards won by Northwood, Plymouth PL4 6LF

Branch rankings


Overall

Estate Agents Rankings

Letting Agents Rankings

Opening hours



.

Make an Enquiry