Clapham High Street, London, SW4
1.7/5, 25 reviews
20% recommended
40% lettings valuation accuracy
20% lettings fee satisfaction

Opening Hours
Address

Dexters
55 Clapham High Street
Clapham,London
Greater London
SW4 7TG
020 7483 6363, 020 7483 6364

Performance statistics
Services Valuation Accuracy Fees Satisfaction Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Lettings 40% 20% £820 £2,500
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
2 3 3 15 0 0 0 0 0 2
Areas covered
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Members of
NAEA ARLA RICS TPOS Lettings
Latest Properties

No Properties

“Not even worth 1 Star...”

Share on :
Sep 04,2020
Minithumbdown
By: 'Isabelle'
Sep 04,2020
1 people found
this helpful
Worst/ most unprofessional service I have ever encountered. I and my Three house mates were looking to find a flat in Clapham to rent for our next year at university, we viewed a flat and were happy to put down an offer. Our estate agent ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I had the displeasure to rent a place via Dexters. ......”

Share on :
Feb 16,2020
Minithumbdown
By: 'nan'
Feb 16,2020
3 people found
this helpful
I had the displeasure to rent a place via Dexters. My "communication" if I can call it that was with Alysha, Sanjay and Gary. It is the worst agency that I ever had to work with. To sum up some of the stuff that went ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very expensive references and fees, and done in unproffesional manner.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Awful awful service. Would give 0 starsHave......”

Share on :
Dec 03,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Louanne'
Dec 03,2019
0 people found
this helpful
Awful awful service. Would give 0 stars Have threatened to charge us for everything and anything throughout the duration of our tenancy, even when the plumbing system stopped working they told us to 'get a friend' to look at it, or pay for a call out ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Terrible service...”

Share on :
Mar 18,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Anon'
Mar 18,2019
1 people found
this helpful
I moved out of a flat over six weeks ago and am yet to receive my deposit share. A good friend took my place on the lease (after paying extortionate and completely arbitrary fees to have her name added), and paid her share of the ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Extortionate.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Very disappointed experience. Everyday worse!!!...”

Share on :
Jan 07,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Cristina'
Jan 07,2019
4 people found
this helpful
Dexters doesn't care of you. Will never care about how the conditions of the property are. Late replies for everything and even calling you for a week in a row they will not be ashamed to tell you that your property manager is out of ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Really bad
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn Plews
Jan 11, 2019
View all comments (1)
Dear Cristina, We are sorry to read your comments regarding your experience with Dexters and would very much like to discuss this with you further. As we are unable to identify your details from your review, if you could contact me at customerrelations@dexters.co.uk with more details I would appreciate it.Kind Regards, Marilyn Plews, Customer Relations Team ...

“Excellent service...”

Share on :
Oct 25,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Jason'
Oct 25,2018
0 people found
this helpful
We have been renting our property out through dexters for the last 5 years. It's worked out very well. They are a good company to rent through. Sanjay has been our property manager for the last 2 years. He's been excellent. Thorough, easy manner, nothing is too ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Completely reasonable.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn Plews
Nov 13, 2018
View all comments (2)
Dear Jason, many thanks for your review and kind comments regarding Sanjay which I will be sure to pass on to him. Feedback is really important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to post this. Kind regards Marilyn Plews ...

“Poor Management and Unprofessional Service...”

Share on :
Jul 30,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'Luke'
Jul 30,2018
10 people found
this helpful
If you have never used Dexters to rent a property, I would strongly consider staying very far away. Dexters is by far the most unprofessional company which also misleads its tenants prior to signing a lease. A number of items were found damaged / not working ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Jul 31, 2018
View all comments (1)
Dear Luke, Thank you for your feedback, however I am very sorry that you have been unhappy with our Clapham High Street office. As I am unable to find your details on our database from your review, if you could please email me at customerrelations@dexters.co.uk, to provide me with further contact details and the property address that your feedback is referring to, I would like to look into this matter on your behalf. In the meantime, I would like to thank you for bringing this to our ...

“The WORST EXPERIENCE!!!...”

Share on :
Jun 20,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jodi'
Jun 20,2018
10 people found
this helpful
I have NEVER experienced poor service like this in my life and the fact that we have just signed a 24 month lease AND to find out that Dexters is the property management scares me! From the get go, the letting agent was unprofessional, incompetent and ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Jul 03, 2018
View all comments (1)
Dear Jodi, Thank you for your feedback, however I am very sorry to read that you have been unhappy regarding your experience with our Clapham High Street office. I understand that you have now been in contact with the Lettings Board Director, Adam, who has advised me that this has been looked into. However if you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact me at customerrelations@dexters.co.uk. Once again, I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. ...

“Appalling service for landlords...”

Share on :
Apr 13,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'None'
Apr 13,2018
10 people found
this helpful
I see from other reviewers on this site this agency is a problem. My issues with them began right at the beginning of our working relationship, when they undervalued the rental potential of my property by 33%. Fortunately I did my own research and was able ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Extremely poor value in light of the total lack of service.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Apr 13, 2018
View all comments (1)
Dear Sir/Madam, We are sorry to read your comments regarding your experience with Dexters and would very much like to discuss this with you further. As we are unable to identify your details from your review, if you could contact me at the following email address with the details I would appreciate it. marilynplews@dexters.co.uk Whilst I thank you for your review and hope we have the opportunity to look into this further for you, if I can refer you to Google review site which is the m ...

“Made moving out of my property a very stressful experience ......”

Share on :
Mar 08,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jennifer'
Mar 08,2018
16 people found
this helpful
Made moving out of my property a very stressful experience with a lack of transparency and updates on finding new tenants. A large number of hidden fees with no scope for negotiation or clear explanation of what the fees are for. Complete imbalance of power ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very high, not transparent and unnecessary.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Mar 15, 2018
View all comments (1)
Dear Jennifer, I am very concerned to read your review and we would value the opportunity to discuss this with you. If you could contact me at customerrelations@dexters.co.uk and provide me with more details regarding the areas of our service that you have been unhappy with, I would like to look into this matter on your behalf. Marilyn Head of Customer Relations ...

“Emmanuel the handyman that works for Dexters has been great ......”

Share on :
Nov 10,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Elena'
Nov 10,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Emmanuel the handyman that works for Dexters has been great at his job. He fixed all the things in the house perfectly and he has very polite and professional. After not having a great experience with the agent that was a positive change with renting ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Nice, professional, helpful.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Dec 07, 2017
View all comments (2)
Dear Elena, Thank you for your review regarding your experience with our Clapham High Street Office. I am delighted to read that we have achieved our aim of delivering a five star service. I would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best for the future. Kind regards, Marilyn Head of Customer Relations ...

“Charlotte was a very pleasant person to deal with and ......”

Share on :
Nov 08,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Rob'
Nov 08,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Charlotte was a very pleasant person to deal with and always resolved our issues as quickly as she could. Would recommend her!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Dec 07, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear Rob, We are delighted to read that our Clapham High Street Office achieved our aim of delivering a five star service. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We wish you all the best for the future. Kind regards, Marilyn Head of Customer Relations ...

“I rented a flat for 14 months through dexters, it was ......”

Share on :
Aug 30,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Anon.'
Aug 30,2017
46 people found
this helpful
I rented a flat for 14 months through dexters, it was the worst experience I've ever had. The agency didn't speak to each other and we were all told different things, we then were made to pay extra rent at the end of our tenancy due ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Not worth paying as they didn't do anything for us apart from make us pay more money for their mistakes.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Sep 04, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear Sir/Madam, I am concerned to read your review and we would value the opportunity to discuss this with you. If you could contact me at customerrelations@dexters.co.uk and provide me with more details regarding the areas of our service that you have been unhappy with, I would like to look into this matter on your behalf. Kind regards, Marilyn Head of Customer Relations ...

“The worst estate agent I have ever come across in 10 ......”

Share on :
Aug 03,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Sam'
Aug 03,2017
45 people found
this helpful
The worst estate agent I have ever come across in 10 years of renting in London. Staff are rude and extremely unhelpful! So many hidden fees. Avoid at all costs! I would rate no stars but can not!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Aug 07, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear Sam, I am very concerned to read your review and we would value the opportunity to discuss this with you. If you could contact me at customerrelations@dexters.co.uk and provide me with more details regarding the areas of our service that you have been unhappy with, I would like to look into this matter on your behalf. Kind regards, Marilyn Head of Customer Relations ...

“Sanjay Katiyar is an asset to Dexters, he is very ......”

Share on :
May 18,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Christine'
May 18,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Sanjay Katiyar is an asset to Dexters, he is very courteous and efficient, he promptly sorted out our problems very quickly and is always available with the correct information for us to deal with our property. Thank you Sanjay for your help. Christine, landlord...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
May 19, 2017
View all comments (2)
Dear Christine, thank you so much for the 5 stars you have awarded to Sanjay. He will be really pleased to read your comments I know. It is so encouraging when customers take the time to acknowledge the great service they receive from us. All the very best Kind regards, Marilyn ...

“Have moved into our flat on Clapham High street but ......”

Share on :
Apr 13,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Alastair'
Apr 13,2017
31 people found
this helpful
Have moved into our flat on Clapham High street but had to deal with Levi over the phone. Probably the worst experience I've had with an estate agent with his rude attitude over the phone. Will not be dealing with Dexters in future and will ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Absolutely terrible estate agents. They currently look after the property ......”

Share on :
Mar 08,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'F*OffDexters'
Mar 08,2017
33 people found
this helpful
Absolutely terrible estate agents. They currently look after the property which I am a tenant for. Not only do they not give 24 hours notice for call outs, they hire contractors who are shoddy at best. We are still waiting for things in the property to ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Excessively high.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Mar 09, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear Sir/Madam, I am very concerned to read your review and keen to discuss this with you. If you could contact me at customerrelations@dexters.co.uk and provide me with further details, I would like to look into this matter on your behalf. Kind regards, Marilyn Plews Head of Customer Relations ...

“Worst service ever: lessons learned from renting with DextersLesson 1: Verbal ......”

Share on :
Nov 14,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'NEC1985'
Nov 14,2016
37 people found
this helpful
Worst service ever: lessons learned from renting with Dexters Lesson 1: Verbal assurances on the phone do not mean anything – get everything in writing. There was a high degree of misinformation regarding what the flat would have installed and what it would not. We learned that ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Nov 30, 2016
View all comments (1)
Dear NEC1985, We acknowledge your comments and review on allAgents. I am aware your concerns have been raised with our property management team, who are looking into this for you. Should you have any further queries please contact me on customerrelations@dexters.co.uk Kind regards, Marilyn Head of Customer Relations. ...

“POOR. Be warned *. I am a landlord who is warning ......”

Share on :
Apr 25,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'P'
Apr 25,2016
61 people found
this helpful
POOR. Be warned *. I am a landlord who is warning not to sign 2 year contracts. They are well versed with this and will demand for 2 year contracts from both landlords and tenants even though i don't demand this. I have now had 3 sets of tenants ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Extortionately expensive.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Jun 24, 2016
View all comments (1)
Hello, Thank you for you feedback, I am of course very sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by our Clapham North Office. I am Head of Customer Relations and I wondered if I could be of any further assistance. If you could e-mail further details to me at customerrelations@dexters.co.uk, I can investigate the situation and try and resolve any outstanding issues for you. I look forward to hearing from you. Marilyn ...

“1 Month ago and half my friend and me had to ......”

Share on :
Mar 18,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'tiloucia'
Mar 18,2016
47 people found
this helpful
1 Month ago and half my friend and me had to find a flat through Dexter Clapham High Street, Ruby Caparn was the agent. Such a rude and insolent person. So we find a place available only end of March so we paid an holding deposit ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Bad and dishonest people.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Apr 01, 2016
View all comments (1)
Hello. I am sorry to read your review regarding your tenancy with our Dexters Clapham North Branch. I understand that the Branch have been in touch with you in order to resolve this matter. If you are still unhappy with our service, please do contact me at customerservices@thamesview.co.uk Kind regards Marilyn ...

“Absolutely shocking, these guys are literally crooks. Was told my ......”

Share on :
Sep 17,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Edward'
Sep 17,2015
86 people found
this helpful
Absolutely shocking, these guys are literally crooks. Was told my offer had been accepted, they then told me over the phone that they were unable to take my holding deposit due to card processing issues (i feel this was a lie) and that we would ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Oct 23, 2015
View all comments (1)
Hello, I am really sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by our Dexters Clapham branch, which is a trading name of Thamesview Estate Agents Ltd. I am head of Customer Services and I wondered if I could be of any further assistance. If you could e-mail further details to me at customerservices@thamesview.co.uk, I can investigate the situation and try and resolve any outstanding issues for you. I look forward to hearing from you. Marilyn ...

“Worst ever. they are in connection with Thamesview management which ......”

Share on :
Jul 30,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Smith'
Jul 30,2015
111 people found
this helpful
Worst ever. they are in connection with Thamesview management which is just... shxt. they are unprofessional, do not listen to you AT ALL, makes all the excuses not to spend any money on the property. took 6 months to fix a small issue. There is one ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Aug 07, 2015
View all comments (1)
Hello, I am really sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by our Clapham branch. I am head of Customer Services and I wondered if I could be of any further assistance. If you could e-mail further details to me at customerservices@thamesview.co.uk, I can investigate the situation and try and resolve any outstanding issues for you. I look forward to hearing from you. Marilyn ...

“Useless - waited almost a month for my holding deposit ......”

Share on :
Aug 16,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Angryman'
Aug 16,2014
164 people found
this helpful
Useless - waited almost a month for my holding deposit back for no reason. There is no time frame in the contract, so be warned...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Disappointing and they can't seem or want to return calls
Attached Filesnbsp;
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Aug 18, 2014
View all comments (1)
Hello, I am really sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by our Clapham branch. I am head of Customer Services and I wondered if I could be of any further assistance. If you could e-mail further details to me at customerservices@thamesview.co.uk, I can investigate the situation and try and resolve any outstanding issues for you. I look forward to hearing from you. Marilyn ...

“Infuriating from start to finish. We initially were told by ......”

Share on :
Dec 11,2012
Minithumbdown
By: 'Infuriating'
Dec 11,2012
66 people found
this helpful
Infuriating from start to finish. We initially were told by Dexters that our offer on a rental property had been accepted and taken off the market, only to be called up the next day saying a better offer had come in and that the landlord ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Forced into "rent collection" service I did not want or ......”

Share on :
Jun 10,2012
Minithumbdown
By: 'waiting'
Jun 10,2012
93 people found
this helpful
Forced into "rent collection" service I did not want or need for rental income and 2 weeks after tenants moving in Dexters still have not released first month's rent to me. This is despite several phone calls and being promised this is being looked into. Wonder ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
would be nice to receive the rent my tenants paid me to live in my property. they cannot be giving out keys to strangers!
Attached Filesnbsp;
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Louise
Jul 03, 2012
View all comments (1)
Hello, I am really sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by Dexters. I am head of Customer Services here at Dexters and I wondered if I could be of any further assistance. If you could e-mail me further details to md@dexters.co.uk, we can discuss the situation directly and try and resolve any outstanding issues for you. I will look forward to hearing from you. Louise ...
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure available.

Awards won by Dexters, London SW4 7TG


As Seen On

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home