City Centre York, York, YO30
3.6/5, 31 reviews
68% recommended
100% sales valuation accuracy
100% sales fee satisfaction
100% lettings valuation accuracy
75% lettings fee satisfaction
Established in 1985 Churchills have established themselves as York’s leading independent Estate Agent. We have three local branches which offer an unbeatable coverage on York and the surrounding Villages. Our team are experienced, enthusiastic and friendly, we deal in the sale and rental of properties in and around York. Our ... show more Established in 1985 Churchills have established themselves as York’s leading independent Estate Agent. We have three local branches which offer an unbeatable coverage on York and the surrounding Villages.

Our team are experienced, enthusiastic and friendly, we deal in the sale and rental of properties in and around York. Our aim is to provide a professional, yet approachable service offering informed advice from experienced property professionals through pro-active marketing techniques at competitive fees.

We are the York member for the ‘Guild of Property Professionals’ this provides our clients the confidence they are dealing with a professional agent adhering to a strict code of conduct. We are also able to offer access to the lucrative national and international markets with marketing through the Guild's London Park Lane office with access to buyers for bespoke and investment properties.
Churchills Estate Agents | Homes for Sale | Homes to Rent | York

Opening Hours
Address

Churchills Estate Agents (York)
2 GillygateCity Centre
York
North Yorkshire
YO30 7EQ
01904 646622

Performance statistics
Services Valuation Accuracy Fees Satisfaction Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Sales 100% 100% £187,500 £317,500
Lettings 100% 75% £450 £1,300
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
5 1 7 7 3 0 5 0 1 2
Areas covered
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Members of
Latest Properties

No Properties

“Unprofessional and a complete waste of time....”

Share on :
Dec 14,2020
Minithumbdown
By: 'Danielle'
Dec 14,2020
0 people found
this helpful
Very unprofessional experience. We've recently sold our house and are looking for a 6 month rental until Covid has settled so that we can travel to view properties. We informed them we'd pay the full 6 months upfront as well as the deposit. We were told that ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I have just purchased a flat, through Churchi......”

Share on :
Mar 16,2020
Minithumbup
By: 'Amanda'
Mar 16,2020
0 people found
this helpful
I have just purchased a flat, through Churchills Estate Agents York. I found them to be really helpful, they took time to explain the process to me, and did everything possible to push things along quickly. A personal Thank you to Paula from the Gillygate ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Very friendly and efficient...”

Share on :
Jun 11,2019
Minithumbup
By: 'Emilys'
Jun 11,2019
0 people found
this helpful
The overall process with the letting process has been very straight forward and stress free. All staff have been friendly and helpful. Connor was very polite and pleasant on the desk in the office...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
No fees, so good
Was this helpful? Yes

“The worst estate agent.Awful....”

Share on :
May 07,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'JB'
May 07,2019
1 people found
this helpful
Ignore emails and repairs issues.Requested repairs on number of occasions, pointed out the problem, they just ignore it.On check out they won't return the deposit and try to charge for the repairs issues they ignored!Useless, avoid!Don't rent from them!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“well done Sarah...”

Share on :
Apr 27,2019
Minithumbup
By: 'Christine'
Apr 27,2019
0 people found
this helpful
I would just like to thank Sarah in the lettings department of Churchill's Estate Agents for the excellent work she did for us when checking the tenants out of our apartment. I can highly recommend her, she is not only very good at her job ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
quite good
Was this helpful? Yes

“An excellent experience...”

Share on :
Apr 04,2019
Minithumbup
By: 'Claire'
Apr 04,2019
0 people found
this helpful
Callum provided an excellent service enabling me to move into a rented property promptly and meeting the timescales linked to my own house sale completion, very supportive and responsive throughout. Would highly recommend....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Fees are very reasonable and explained clearly upfront
Was this helpful? Yes

“Excellent lettings service...”

Share on :
Jan 07,2019
Minithumbup
By: 'Claire'
Jan 07,2019
0 people found
this helpful
Sarah took over the letting of a house which had been let by Churchills for many years. She soon became familiar with all the details regarding the house. She was highly efficient and dealt with maintenance and other matters very speedily. Nothing was too much ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Reasonable fees - a percentage of the month's rental.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Professional, friendly and efficiant...”

Share on :
Dec 21,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Mrs'
Dec 21,2018
0 people found
this helpful
I can not recommend Churchill's Lettings department enough! My husband and I have just bought our first buy to let and they made the whole experience easy for us. They found a tenant before we had even completed on the house sale so he moved ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Good
Was this helpful? Yes

“Terrible...”

Share on :
Dec 11,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'Graham'
Dec 11,2018
1 people found
this helpful
Was made to jump through hoops to submit an application for a tenancy, and then when this had been done we were told the landlord had already accepted an application. Time wasters!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Quick moveing day...”

Share on :
Apr 30,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Mac'
Apr 30,2018
1 people found
this helpful
Staff were very welcoming and postitive.There new there properties well and there very quick to get you moved to the new place. If anyone is wanting to move i recomend this place. The person who helped me was called tom and he was really ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very reasonable price and fees.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Fab customer servise...”

Share on :
Mar 19,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'M'
Mar 19,2018
1 people found
this helpful
A friendly team that solves house-related problems fast and can be done a significant communication between landlord and tenant....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
They have the best letting service in York and Agent's fee is an adequate price
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sarah Wood
Mar 19, 2018
View all comments (1)
Many thanks for your feedback. it has been a pleasure working with you. ...

“Nathan was punctual, important as we travelled from Scarborough, professional ......”

Share on :
Oct 26,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Thorpe'
Oct 26,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Nathan was punctual, important as we travelled from Scarborough, professional and personable! We were efficiently shown around a couple of houses and our queries answered informatively. Nathan took great pride in being as helpful as he could creating an excellent impression of the service offered ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Our agent was very helpful , always in contact whenever we ......”

Share on :
Oct 20,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'RStubbs'
Oct 20,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Our agent was very helpful , always in contact whenever we had questions and worked around both of our work sceduals keeping in touch either by email or phone and when one of the houses we were looking at fell through he quickly found us a ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I would like to thank Thomas for making the whole ......”

Share on :
Oct 20,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Bethany'
Oct 20,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I would like to thank Thomas for making the whole process as smooth as possible for us. Me and my partner found a lovely apartment that we are now renting thanks to Tom. He showed us around the flat and from the viewing and throughout ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very fair priced fee
Was this helpful? Yes

“Awful in every way. The fact we have rented with ......”

Share on :
Jul 06,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Lixxi'
Jul 06,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Awful in every way. The fact we have rented with them for a very long time obviously means nothing. Furthermore, there are multiple outstanding maintenence issues (some caused by the contractors they sent). Avoid....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Average
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Kevin Webb MD
Sep 20, 2017
View all comments (1)
I am not sure which property you are currently renting through us. You can contact me directly if you have a complaint at kevin@churchillsyork.com and I will try to look into the matter further for you ...

“I am very happy with the level of service I ......”

Share on :
May 04,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Claire'
May 04,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I am very happy with the level of service I received when buying my house. I viewed a number of properties with Jake before finding my dream house. Amelia contacted me regularly with updates on progress. Would recommend Churchills to anyone buying in York...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
N/A Buyer only
Was this helpful? Yes

“Extremely professional Letting Agency who made my life so much ......”

Share on :
May 04,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Mr'
May 04,2017
1 people found
this helpful
Extremely professional Letting Agency who made my life so much easier. Customer service and efficiency was to the greatest standard. I have recommended two friends and family to use their services with the upmost confidence....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
All agent fees were fair
Was this helpful? Yes

“Worst experience for a first time tenant. No communication. I ......”

Share on :
May 03,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Frustrated'
May 03,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Worst experience for a first time tenant. No communication. I had people show up in my flat for a viewing with no warning while I was sleeping and then never told I had a. Ew landlord until it came time for renewal. At the end ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Kevin Webb
May 05, 2017
View all comments (1)
I'm sorry you feel you have had a lack of communication, but I would note we have recorded notes of both phone messages and emails to advise of the few viewings we had on the apartment. You were advised in writing of the new landlord and advised the new landlord was managing the flat herself, indeed you changed the payments into the new landlords account at the end of 2016. As we did not manage the flat your dealings towards the end of the tenancy were directly with the landlord. I can understan ...

“From the day that Kevin valued the property to completion ......”

Share on :
Feb 14,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Linda'
Feb 14,2017
0 people found
this helpful
From the day that Kevin valued the property to completion the service has been outstanding. The property was owned by my mum and sadly she died before completion. At all times Churchills have b even understanding and efficient particularly Paula who has been my main ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Competitive with others
Was this helpful? Yes

“Having recently exchanged on a house purchase through Churchills estate ......”

Share on :
Feb 03,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Karen'
Feb 03,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Having recently exchanged on a house purchase through Churchills estate agents i am writing to say how impressed i have been with their integrity, communication, administration and friendly service. I have had several moves over the years and this has been the most professional i ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
n/a
Was this helpful? Yes

“Avoid at all costs I am a tenant ( not by ......”

Share on :
Jul 26,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'SICK'
Jul 26,2016
1 people found
this helpful
Avoid at all costs I am a tenant ( not by choice they took over the management ) We have had them turn up for inspections unannounced, We have had letters stating a date and they haven't turned up !! We have had their handy man turn up ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
N/A
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Kevin Webb
Aug 25, 2016
View all comments (1)
Always very disappointing when we hear one of our tenants is not happy. As an ARLA member we strive to provide a high level of service for both landlords and tenants. We always notify before attending visits or sending a tradesman for repairs. I'm not sure which property you are at, but I wonder whether we need an update of your contact details from the ones we have received from your previous agent. Please emails these to our lettings team at lettings@churchillsyork.com ...

“We put an offer on a property 10 days ago that ......”

Share on :
Jul 08,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'Annoyed'
Jul 08,2016
0 people found
this helpful
We put an offer on a property 10 days ago that was accepted. We received written confirmation and they even informed our solicitor of this; well I say they did, they have them the wrong figure! They were informed that our house had just gone on ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
No idea, but I wouldn't pay them a penny as a vendor if I knew how bad they were.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Kevin Webb
Jul 10, 2016
View all comments (1)
we are disappointed with your comments. We keep file notes of each telephone conversation. On making your offer you advised you did not have to sell your house. Having seen your property go up for sale we spoke to you in two occasions. Eventually asking you to confirm in writing you did not need to sell your house to proceed. You advised you wanted 'a few weeks' to try and sell your house. The vendors decision was to remarket the home and you were advised accordingly. The owner has never been ad ...

“We would like to thank you for your professionalism and ......”

Share on :
Aug 28,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Sue'
Aug 28,2015
0 people found
this helpful
We would like to thank you for your professionalism and discretion throughout the rental process. You were approachable and reachable at all times and acted swiftly and correctly. We will certainly consider using your letting services again in the near future. With our very best ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Recently sold a house through Churchills and cant rate them ......”

Share on :
Aug 04,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Jon'
Aug 04,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Recently sold a house through Churchills and cant rate them highly enough, Very competitive fee for a very comprehensive service. Abbi in particular was great to deal with, always dealt with my queries promptly and professionally and I always felt she really was working hard ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I needed to rent out a property but with as ......”

Share on :
Jun 23,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Graham'
Jun 23,2015
0 people found
this helpful
I needed to rent out a property but with as little hassle as possible - I achieved that with Churchills. If anything needed doing, I was given an estimate and could make an informed decision; when we took the property off the rental market it ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Excellent customer service from Abbi from day one through to ......”

Share on :
Jun 03,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Trudi'
Jun 03,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Excellent customer service from Abbi from day one through to collecting the keys, keeping us informed at all times what was happening with all parties concerned....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“If you thinking of buying a property with this estate ......”

Share on :
Jul 09,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Sarah'
Jul 09,2013
5 people found
this helpful
If you thinking of buying a property with this estate agents don't touch them with a barge poll. Managing Directors manner was extremely condescending and unhelpful. Every time I tried to explain and make a point he would not let me finish my sentence to ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Give accurate information and be customer focused. Management also need to get the poker out of their backside and a personality transplant
Attached Filesnbsp;
Was this helpful? Yes
By: ChurchillMD
Jun 12, 2014
View all comments (1)
With regards to this review as with many surveys on older properties the report this client had was an in depth report that brought up a problem that could not be seen from an initial inspection. We do not carry out surveys on properties before marketing. The client was distressed when they spoke to us after initially receiving the report and we apologise if they thought our response was not professional. During the week after the report we tried to organise a satisfactory outcome with both ...

“The handyman never fixes anything. He turns up and says ......”

Share on :
Jun 25,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'frustratedtenant'
Jun 25,2013
3 people found
this helpful
The handyman never fixes anything. He turns up and says he will, but doesn't. It's been over 6 weeks now and nothing has been done so have given up and are having to resort to doing repairs ourselves (which we will no doubt be charged for ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Appalling. Illegal. Unhelpful. Patronising. Lax with the truth. Evasive. Obtuse. ......”

Share on :
Jan 18,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Therese'
Jan 18,2013
4 people found
this helpful
Appalling. Illegal. Unhelpful. Patronising. Lax with the truth. Evasive. Obtuse. Offensive. If I could give Churchills Lettings no stars I would. I have never come across such offensive and horrible letting agents and I have been a tenant for 15 years across the country. They lied ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sarah Metcalfe
Jul 08, 2013
View all comments (4)
I believe you Therese I have just had much dealings with Kevin. He is extremely offensive and ony concerned about profit and ripping people off. Email me on sm546@york.ac.uk. We with others will go to trading standards and the relevant bodies because it's about time rouge agents like this were stopped. Good luck Therese I hope you manage to get a better landlord next time and Kevin I don't know how you sleep at night. ...
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure available.

Awards won by Churchills Estate Agents (York), York YO30 7EQ


As Seen On

Get in touch with

Churchills Estate Agents (York)

Branch - City Centre York, York, YO30