• claim your profile
    Gemma Marks
  • upload your photo
    Kirk Morris
  • claim your profile
    Olivia Austin
  • claim your profile
    Hannah Pout
  • claim your profile
    Matthew Lewis
  • claim your profile
    Bronwyn Fleetwood
  • claim your profile
    Samantha Collins
No description available.
Caxtons

1 Castle Street Canterbury
Kent
CT1 2QF

01227 788088

Jul 31,2015
Minithumbup
By:
Jul 31,2015
0 people found
this helpful
As a parent of a student we found Caxton's to be very helpful and with good cooperative landlords any issues were sorted very promptly. We feel the landlord was especially fair in dealing with any issues. Monies were dealt with promptly as well. Special thanks again to Hannah Pout for going the extra in the beginning to help our son find a property. Well done!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 22,2015
Minithumbup
By:
Jan 22,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Great Service, Best agents for Student lettings in Canterbury! I hope to use you again for the term of 2016-2017....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
‚£200 WITH VAT! one of the cheapest around
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 08,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Dec 08,2014
2 people found
this helpful
Never replied to any of our emails, even when they were a direct reply less than an hour after recieving an email Charged us our deposit money for problems that the previous tenants had caused that were not fixed prior to us moving in Left mould, marks on the walls, burns in the carpet, a broken fridge, a broken front and back door, an oven that is not suitable as it is at least 20 years old, a scolding hot shower with no temperature valve and everything was left in an awful state, which we w...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Literally they would have to have changed their whole practise because they were absolutely horrific, incredibly unprofessional and I would not recommend them to anyone!!!!!!
Comment on agent fees
Not worth the money Especially as they have been no help, have not fixed anything and have tried to take advantage and get as much money out of us possible giving little or nothing in return
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 26,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Sep 26,2014
2 people found
this helpful
Without a doubt the worst letting agents I have ever had the displeasure to use in Canterbury in the six years I have lived here. The staff were incompetent at all stages, making vital administrative mistakes time after time. This including taking 2 months to replace a completely broken fridge in the middle of summer, sending threatening letters regarding late payments when the payments had been prompt and finally giving us no information on check out. When prompted for information we were told ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Talking to one another, improving their competency across the board. Customer service skills - they have none.
Comment on agent fees
Unnesscesarily high although this isn\'t indicative of Caxtons - referencing does not cost ‚£100+ it costs ‚£40
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 21,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Aug 21,2014
0 people found
this helpful
Mrs Bronwyn was so kind to wait for me and my daughter who is a Law student at KENT Canterbury University at 0430 in the morning to hand over the keys for us. We have a delayed of 25 hours coming from Cyprus to Gatwick and i had no where to stay and i have called her and explained to her the situation. Without hesitation she said" don't worry i will give you my address and come to my house and will give you the keys". She woke up at 0430 am to give us the key. Please bear in mind th...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very reasonable
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 17,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Aug 17,2014
2 people found
this helpful
Caxtons were terrible landlords. They failed to fix dangerous problems with the property, were rude and unhelpful and do not behave in a professional manner even within the confines of their own offices. You will have a battle trying to get any deposits back even though when you move in it is highly likely that the property will be disgusting. So any charges for fabricated 'cleaners' at the end of your tenancy probably go straight to their pockets. They act like a bunch of children in the offic...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Nothing could change my mind about this company.
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 08,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Aug 08,2014
1 people found
this helpful
I think we are an inconvenience to Gemma Marks, conversely, Hannah Pout is just an awesome person, very respectful. I remember the day I went to sign-up for accommodation, Gemma was just unhelpful and seemed distracted, playful with her other colleagues who seemed embarrassed. It was 4 of us and you had think she had behave appropriately and be helpful, instead she was rude and ended up in arguments where she was not supposed to be concerned. I wonder if the higher tiers of managerial positions ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Please stop faking deposit returns just to please your clients (landlords), it goes two way. This shouldnt be like a serfdom
Comment on agent fees
I had like to know why they don\'t practice their deposit stipulations and other stuff written in the contract
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Caxtons
Aug 08, 2014
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your feedback, and apologies that you have not had a positive experience with Caxtons. Please get in touch with us directly with regards to the property and the issues you have had so that we can help resolve these as swiftly as possible for you. We take customer service and staff training very seriously. As Gemma has since left the company, please feel free to contact Hannah. With regards to deposit returns, we work within the guidelines set out by the TDS, who are always th....
Jun 20,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Jun 20,2014
3 people found
this helpful
They are awful and not only operated with no regard to basic customer service, but they also had little regard for the law! Our deposit was used to pay a bill, which we were not informed of when we signed the contract, this is illegal and a deposit cannot be used in this way. They also emailed us after our check out asking if we had used professional cleaners as the house was so clean. We responded saying we hadn't, they then sent us a cleaning bill as "we hadn't left it clean enough"...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 07,2014
Minithumbup
By:
May 07,2014
0 people found
this helpful
Matthew was extremely helpful in helping us resolve a broken washing machine complaint. From the first phone call to him, the same day he came to check the broken machine, and the following day a workman came to have a look at the machine. With a combination of Matthews help, and an extremely quick and efficient response from our landlord who provided us with a brand new washing machine, the complaint was resolved within 48 hours. On this occasion, we are very impressed with everyone\'s hel...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 09,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Apr 09,2014
0 people found
this helpful
I have nothing but praise for the way Hannah handled our situation. I am a parent of one of the two students who needed accommodation for 2014/2015. Not not only did she stay late to accommodate them seeing more than the usual number of properties as they were travelling some distance to do so but further delayed leaving by taking them back to the Caxton's office to finalise the paperwork as they were returning home again afterwards. Hannah had also been more than happy to answer my many questio...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 18,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Feb 18,2014
3 people found
this helpful
Please do not use this agent!! They completely take advantage of student and non student tenants. AVOID AT ALL COSTS. All the staff I ever dealt with were rude and unhelpful, they made NO effort to make my rental experience a good one... I was glad to escape at first possible opportunity. My property was disgusting when I first moved in... in fact I couldn\'t I was told to spend the night elsewhere! This lack of organisation and respect was a continual theme throughout my tenancy and then I lost...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: CaxtonsAreCrap
Aug 08, 2014
View all comments (2)
100% agree. Awful company. Wish I had read these reviews before signing up to them!!! AVOID at all costs if you are reading now and thinking of using their services.....
Sep 09,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Sep 09,2013
5 people found
this helpful
What an awful service! Absolute nightmare trying to get deposit back (even after 3 months of moving out), staff are unhelpful, very rude and don\'t take responsibility. Didn\'t bother to do an inventory prior to the start of tenancy so check-out report was fabricated; landlord is trying to rinse us of the deposit money despite having no evidence. Worst members of staff are Kirk Morris and Olivia Austin as they provide a shameful service- do not be fooled by the fact that this firm is ARLA regist...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
- Provide a fair service for the return of deposit i.e. ensure that all claims are heavily backed up - Provide a friendly & helpful service -Be transparent and honest throughout the tenancy
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Caxtons
Sep 11, 2013
View all comments (3)
We are sorry you are unhappy with the length of time that finalising your deposit return is taking. However, whilst we are committed to providing the best possible service to our clients - both landlords and tenants - issues in dispute do take longer to resolve in order to achieve a mutually amicable conclusion. We will endeavour to settle the issue as soon as possible.....
Jul 25,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Jul 25,2013
13 people found
this helpful
i also rented with caxtons and it was terrible. i would recommend that anyone considering renting with them thinks twice before getting involved. stay well away. seriously. i am also yet to receive my deposit back and doubt it will be the full amount of money i originally paid. they even tried to charge me for leaving a new toilet roll in the toilet! absolute jokers....
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
i also rented with caxtons and it was terrible. i would recommend that anyone considering renting with them thinks twice before getting involved. stay well away. seriously. i am also yet to receive my deposit back and doubt it will be the full amount of money i originally paid. they even tried to charge me for leaving a new toilet roll in the toilet! absolute jokers.
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 24,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Jul 24,2013
16 people found
this helpful
I rented a student property with Caxtons for one year. It was a year of absolute hell. The staff are rude and nasty. They tell lies and rip off students. We drove 4 hours to find our property was not ready on the day we were due to move in, even though we checked the day before, over the phone. The property was in a mess when we finally got to move in, and had to demand that it was cleaned professionally to remove the complete grime that covered the house. Caxtons staff dealt with this by swea...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: CaxtonsAreCrap
Aug 08, 2014
View all comments (5)
Totally agree with all your responses and review. Caxtons are a DREADFUL company - surprised they are still in business, most likely due to the fact they have a monopoly over most of the student housing in Canterbury and can get away with swindling students.....
Areas covered
Advertise on
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Valuation and Fee Performance
100% customers were satisfied with fees 75% accuracy of agent's valuations
Price range of properties reviewed
Sales No data
Letting
  • Min: £0
  • Max: £0



Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
0 0 5 9 0 0 0 0 0 0
Gemma Marks - upload your photo Gemma Marks
1 reviews

About Gemma No description set View full profile
Kirk Morris - no image available Kirk Morris
Lettings
1 reviews

About Kirk No description set View full profile
Olivia  Austin - upload your photo Olivia Austin
1 reviews

About Olivia No description set View full profile
Hannah Pout - upload your photo Hannah Pout
2 reviews

About Hannah No description set View full profile
Matthew Lewis - upload your photo Matthew Lewis
1 reviews

About Matthew No description set View full profile
Bronwyn Fleetwood - upload your photo Bronwyn Fleetwood
0 reviews

About Bronwyn No description set View full profile
Samantha Collins - upload your photo Samantha Collins
1 reviews

About Samantha No description set View full profile

Job vacancies

Please see a list of jobs available

Fees

No fees set.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure available.

Awards won by Caxtons, Canterbury CT1 2QF

Branch rankings


Overall

Estate Agents Rankings

Letting Agents Rankings

Opening hours


Find the Best Agent to
Buy, Sell or Rent Property