• Simon Bright
    Simon Bright
  • Diane Armstrong
    Diane Armstrong
  • Katrina Johnson
    Katrina Johnson
  • Richard Bicknell
    Richard Bicknell
  • David Whittle
    David Whittle
  • Michael Sharp
    Michael Sharp
  • Erol Dogruel
    Erol Dogruel
  • Andrejs Krutins
    Andrejs Krutins
  • Ravi Fatania
    Ravi Fatania
  • Sharon Sheehy
    Sharon Sheehy
  • Herrine Richards
    Herrine Richards
  • Emilio Ascione
    Emilio Ascione
  • Robert McPeake
    Robert McPeake
  • Jon Chandler-Gray
    Jon Chandler-Gray
  • Louis Byrne
    Louis Byrne
  • Edward Pink
    Edward Pink
  • Joanna Eden
    Joanna Eden
  • James Kamara
    James Kamara
  • Mark Shepherd
    Mark Shepherd
  • Richard Evans
    Richard Evans
  • Rebecca Whitethread
    Rebecca Whitethread
  • Colin Fosu
    Colin Fosu
  • Kellie Harris
    Kellie Harris
  • Joseph Lynch
    Joseph Lynch
  • Charles Nicholls
    Charles Nicholls
At Townends Estate Agents we are in a unique position with prime high street presence covering West and South West London, Surrey, Middlesex and North Hampshire. Our branch locations give us a distinc Read full description...At Townends Estate Agents we are in a unique position with prime high street presence covering West and South West London, Surrey, Middlesex and North Hampshire. Our branch locations give us a distinct advantage when it comes to assisting buyers, sellers, tenants and landlords. Whatever your property needs, we offer all our clients a complete property solution with excellent customer care at the core. Our services include: residential sales, lettings and management, mortgages, conveyancing, surveying and property maintenance.
 
townends.co.uk Properties for sale
Properties for rent
Jul 04,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Paul'
Jul 04,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Extremely excessive fees with no real justification. To charge £25 just to confirm payments were made on time in a reference is exorbitant, and there is then a payment fee added on to this....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 07,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Larry'
Dec 07,2016
0 people found
this helpful
I was unhappy with the overall handling of my sale. There were some complications with the initial sale which were not communicated to me until 8 weeks after I accepted the offer. They property did sell quickly again after this however, I was not happy with the management of my chain or the communication from staff. The fees whilst competitive are still high and I didn't think that I received what I paid for....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Competitive / Non-Negotiable
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 19,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Woodland'
Feb 19,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Alex didn't need to do much as the property sold its self and it's what I picked that's why I bought it . Alex is a pleasant chap but didn't have much to do with it ,if I needed to see the house he would make the appointment then someone else would sort of turn up after I called the office to say I'm here . I was told I would have someone chase the deal threw I had 2 emails and did the rest myself ,not saying you are a bad agent but I'm not sure why I have to recommend you, your company is...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
No fees paid
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 18,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'MB'
Nov 18,2015
0 people found
this helpful
hello, I left score "poor" just because branch manager was informed that washing machine was broken even before we moved in to property and he promised to sort that out , but now it's almost a moth that we keep calling and trying to get someone at least to look at it.... it's really poor customer service , we are paying for that , and its really annoying keep remaining to branch and not getting anything from them .... i send email , i will see how its gonna go ,but docent look promisi...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 29,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Mike Hutchins'
Oct 29,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Paul was very helpful in setting up the sale, but he managed to sell the flat above ours for £8,000 more than our sale. There was an accepted offer where the buyer dropped out and with the final offer that we accepted, the whole thing dragged on for months & we were forever ringing Townends to find out progress. They usually didn't know & had to phone the buyer....
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
A more proactive approach
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 22,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Anonymous'
Oct 22,2015
1 people found
this helpful
Darren worked with me to find a flat that I eventually put an offer on. He is very friendly and professional. I am now going through the process of purchasing the flat and now Shelley is involved in the process. I am finding Shelley really hard to work with as I find her rude and condescending. I was quite shocked at the way she has responded to my emails, especially as everyone I've encountered in Townends Croydon so far has been so lovely. I think she needs to be retrained on how to deal wit...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Shelley is rude and condescending and I would prefer to have nothing to do with her. Darren is professional and friendly
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Townends
Oct 29, 2015
View all comments (2)
Hi, have just spoken to Shelley, and I believe she has been in contact with you. I hope this has all been resolved. We hope this has not deterred you from using our services. We appreciate your feedback once again. Many thanks. ...
Aug 25,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Vipul'
Aug 25,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Very Bad Service. For solve any issue at least taking 10days. Nobody is going to listen if tenant has any problem in house. Taking too much fees. Even In the initial form its mention that the admin fee cost includes the VAT but they will charge separately once the tenet will finalise the house....
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Admin fees it was mentioned in the form it includes the VAT, but after finalise the house they charged the VAT separately.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Townends
Sep 21, 2015
View all comments (1)
Sorry to hear this. Please email info@townends.co.uk with your full name and contact details, and any further information that may help (branch etc), and we'll look into this for you. Many thanks. ...
Aug 21,2015
Minithumbdown
Joanna Eden
By: 'Bbbbbbbbbbb'
Aug 21,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Alex and Joanna were great they helped me find a great property. Had it not been for their head office team the review would have been good. The contract was completely wrong the first time around and had to be voided due to the landlords rules not being recorded the guarantor was down as a resident. It was all a farce. Be prepared send emails and get on the telephone. The contract feels very much fill in the blanks and it was still wrong. I was unsure whether I was able to move in until the ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Absolutely extortionate for the reasons above. My previous agency were amazing with speed of responses and their fees were โ€š£250 and I felt they worked harder than townends did for their rip off โ€š£700. And because of this I'll never use them again. Had there fees been lower I would have overlooked the mistakes in the contract and the lack of personal touch. When they're asking for a larger sum than other agents fees! You expect your going to get a premium service tailored to you. But you'll not, it will most likely be either the same or sadly in my case worst. Just more expensive.
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
Absolutely extortionate for the reasons above. My previous agency were amazing with speed of responses and their fees were โ€š£250 and I felt they worked harder than townends did for their rip off โ€š£700. And because of this I'll never use them again. Had there fees been lower I would have overlooked the mistakes in the contract and the lack of personal touch. When they're asking for a larger sum than other agents fees! You expect your going to get a premium service tailored to you. But you'll not, it will most likely be either the same or sadly in my case worst. Just more expensive.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Townends
Sep 21, 2015
View all comments (1)
Sorry to hear this. Please email info@townends.co.uk with your name and contact details & any other information that may be of help, and we'll do our utmost to help. Your feedback is appreciated - Thank you. ...
Jul 05,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Dringy'
Jul 05,2015
0 people found
this helpful
They did not give me any of the details I asked. We only received one set of keys and we have yet to be refunded for the other set. We were promised a garage but any attempt to find the location of the garage has been ignored. We were not told any information about our utility suppliers. We were told we could pay rent on the 27th but it has to be 3 days early for no sensible reason....
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Please be more helpful and prompt (as in actually get back to customers) when dealing with them.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Townends
Jul 15, 2015
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your comments. Your feedback is important to Townends so that we can improve our service. Please email us your contact details to info@townends.co.uk so that we can investigate and resolve this matter. Thank you. ...
Apr 03,2015
Minithumbup
Emilio Ascione
By: 'simon'
Apr 03,2015
2 people found
this helpful
Electricity and water meter readings missed, despite confirming the locations, and paying for a fully managed service. I had to liaise with the checkin company to resolve, and will obviously pay for the tenants utilised in the interim. Introduced tenants not us initially advised....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Expensive compared to some competition
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 14,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'LC'
Apr 14,2014
1 people found
this helpful
Sold my house through Townends. The staff turnover is incredible, must have dealt with 7 different agents in the time I sold my house as they all left! No continuity of service. I believed they would be working for me to get me the best deal for my house - how wrong I was. It felt like they were working only for my buyer and consequently I felt I got a poor deal. Very poor service, would not use them again or recommend them....
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Worked for me selling my house, not for someone looking to buy my house.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 13,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'DomF'
Mar 13,2014
0 people found
this helpful
I contacted Townends to enquire about purchasing a property which was on the market for sale for a short period of time but no longer for sale. The member of staff took my details in any case and I told him I was looking for a 4 bed property and didn\'t have my property on the market officially yet as there wasn\'t much about. I was contacted a few days later and asked whether my property was on the market yet and told there was someone potentially interested in buying it. I agreed to do a one o...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Turn up to appointments that have been arranged, stop using stereotypical crappy sales tactics which there is no need for.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 03,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'E Lee'
Dec 03,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Mr Sturgess informed me the buyer wants to complete the sales by mid October, but failed to communicate properly with buyer\'s solicitor. I informed my solicitor to speed up conveyancing and get contact with buyer\'s solicitor to making sure buyer\'s wish can met. Buyer\'s solicitor told us that he does not aware of the time constraint, few phone calls between Townends and buyer\'s solicitor all sorted but causing serious embarrassment. On 23rd October Mr Sturgess email me to ask ยขรขโ€šยฌร...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 29,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'tenant4'
Apr 29,2013
1 people found
this helpful
Unfortunately my partner and I didn\'t have a good experience with Townends as I felt it was a long process that could have been done quicker. They made many mistakes within my contract and were not very efficient. I felt I was being passed around the company and not knowing who I was talking to half the time. I was the one constantly chasing for information when it should really be the other way round with them keeping me informed with any developments. They added unnessary charges and made it ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Developed more of a relationship with us. Be more efficient.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Townends Estate Agents
Apr 29, 2013
View all comments (1)
Dear Tenant4, I am really sorry to read this comment you have posted on this site and would very much appreciate the opportunity of being able to fully investigate matters with a view of resolving the concerns. In order to do this, there is additional information such as your name and the address of the property that I require, therefore please feel free to contact me personally by email lmcneal@townends.co.uk or call 01932 736553. Kind Regards Luticha McNeal Director of Property Ma ...
Apr 29,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'tenant4'
Apr 29,2013
1 people found
this helpful
Unfortunately my partner and I didn\'t have a good experience with Townends as I felt it was a long process that could have been done quicker. They made many mistakes within my contract and were not very efficient. I felt I was being passed around the company and not knowing who I was talking to half the time. I was the one constantly chasing for information when it should really be the other way round with them keeping me informed with any developments. They added unnessary charges and made it ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Developed more of a relationship with us. Be more efficient.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Townends Estate Agents
Apr 29, 2013
View all comments (1)
Dear Tenant4, I am really sorry to read this comment you have posted on this site and would very much appreciate the opportunity of being able to fully investigate matters with a view of resolving the concerns. In order to do this, there is additional information such as your name and the address of the property that I require, therefore please feel free to contact me personally by email lmcneal@townends.co.uk or call 01932 736553. Kind Regards Luticha McNeal Director of Property Ma ...
Nov 22,2012
Minithumbdown
By: 'loulou'
Nov 22,2012
0 people found
this helpful
I would highly recommend Clint Amfo of the Streatham branch of Townends. I rented a property through him earlier this year, and was impressed with his excellent service level and personable manner. Sadly however in my opinion he\'s a rare diamond, as I wouldn't recommend Townends to anyone! Considering they charge one of the highest rental agreement rates in the area, you would be mistaken for thinking that their service level would reflect this - it doesn\'t (unless it's directly with Clint)...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Townends Estate Agents
Nov 22, 2012
View all comments (1)
Dear 'Loulou' I am genuinely disappointed to read your comment and would very much appreciate the opportunity of being able to fully investigate the difficulties you have experienced with Townends. In order for me to do this, there is additional information that I will need and I would ask that you contact me at your earliest convenience by email to lmcneal@townends.co.uk. Kind Regards Luticha McNeal Head of Property Management ...
Oct 15,2012
Minithumbdown
By: 'disappointed'
Oct 15,2012
3 people found
this helpful
We made our decision to make an offer for the property based on the fees explained to us in the branch, and shown on the PPR. However Townends increased the fees when we finally received the Tenant Offer Letter. I was disappointed never to receive a reply to my initial letter of complaint, which I personally posted through the branch letterbox. My follow up letter did get a response, but we have reached the end of their complaints process without reaching a satisfactory resolution. The in-...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 28,2012
Minithumbdown
By: 'Anon'
Aug 28,2012
0 people found
this helpful
The initial experience from the agents in the office was average. The experience once we were handed off to the property management office in a separate location was poor. High costs are always delivered for works on the property. An example of which as a repair to the bathroom; price quoted was £780, actual price once I had to intervene was £150. Another example was the annual Gas boiler inspection; price quoted was around £75 after discount. Alternate arrangements found a pri...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Townends Estate Agents
Aug 31, 2012
View all comments (1)
Dear Anon Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience with Townends. From the information you have provided, I have been unable to identify the specific property that you are referring to. If you would like to email me directly with more information, I am more than happy to investigate this fully for you and provide a thorough response to each of the points you have raised. In answer to your more general point, Townends work with a small number of profess ...
Aug 25,2012
Minithumbdown
By: 'John Jacobs'
Aug 25,2012
1 people found
this helpful
Our first contact was with Carrie Mooney, a delightful, confidence inspiring young lady. Following her visit we decided to use Townends. Unfortunately Ms Mooney moved to another branch soon after that and following her move the various people from the Englefield Green branch were hugely disapointing. Early on, one young man strongly told me only 4 bullet points about the property could be used on material about the property until his associate corrected him. The house sold quickly (prior to bein...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Apologise and refund monies paid. If you have problems staffing a branch, ensure that your clients are catered for in the manner expected.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Townends Estate Agents
Aug 28, 2012
View all comments (1)
Dear John I am genuinely disappointed to read your comment and would very much appreciate the opportunity of being able to fully investigate the difficulties you have experienced with Townends in Englefield Green. In order for me to do this, there is additional information such as the address of the property that I will need and I would ask that you contact me at your earliest convenience by email to rhoward@townends.co.uk. Kind Regards Ros Howard PA to Sales Director ...
Apr 15,2012
Minithumbdown
By: 'Putney lady'
Apr 15,2012
2 people found
this helpful
I had an unfortunate encounter with one of the agent at Putney branch while looking for a flat to buy. After my offer on a house he showed me was accepted, they all started calling me up to 7/8 times a day during my working hour being very rude, shouting and pushing me to call my solicitor to hurry up because they wanted to close the deal in 4 weeks. They even started calling my solicitor themselves to tell her to hurry up!! After I paid a quote to my lawyer and to the surveyor they told me t...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 28,2011
Minithumbdown
By: 'Hayley'
Nov 28,2011
3 people found
this helpful
Townends are in my opinion, just awful. Helpful as ever when trying to find us somewhere to rent but after that they just didnt want to know. For example, the light fitting in the bathroom which didnt work for 8 months (still broken upon vacating the premises), even though my flatmates partner is an electrian and gave the full diagnosis of what needed to be fixed with the light , this information was passed onto Townends but no, nothing. A washing machine broken for 6 weeks and when I called...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 24,2010
Minithumbdown
By: 'tenant611'
Nov 24,2010
0 people found
this helpful
I have found Townends to be a mixture of, variously, overpriced (by some way), incompetent, unknowing and uncaring. They are courteous enough on the phone but they seem to have little clue about how things actually work. Avoid them....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 09,2010
Minithumbdown
By: 'KD'
Jul 09,2010
4 people found
this helpful
In 8 weeks on the market, they have been able to get me a grand total of 3 viewings. With every phone call that I made to them, either they were not able to answer, or the staff member I spoke to had already left. Often I would have to leave several messages before anyone bothers to get back in touch. When I told them just now that I wanted to take my house off the market, there was no civility, or questions why. The rude manager just said that I had to give them 2 weeks notice and then hung up....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 10,2008
Minithumbdown
By: 'Gettinglikemymother'
May 10,2008
1 people found
this helpful
Among other things too tedious to mention, the negotiator made a habit of trying to bully me over the phone, including trying to bully and frighten me into accepting a totally unjustified reduction just before exchange. This was Townends Putney - other branches may be better, but I don't intend to find out. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 09,2006
Minithumbdown
By: 'dokwp'
Apr 09,2006
0 people found
this helpful
They helped me to fid a nice flat but after I decided to live there, their helpfulness disappeared. They checked all my references twice - sure there is no need to do that! I told them I was getting married and my wife would move in with me a couple of months later. They said it's not a problem. Then they wanted another ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

ARLA TPOS My deposits scheme


Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
719 23 969 88 501 14 390 7 97 27

Job vacancies

Please see a list of jobs available

Agent Fees

No fees set.
Last updated at 2:25 PM 21/11/2017 by allAgents

Complaints Procedure

No procedure set.
Last updated at 2:25 PM 21/11/2017 by allAgents

Awards won by Townends

Individual Branch Awards

London, W13 9SB

Englefield Green, TW20 0BY

Egham, TW20 9EJ

Sunbury-on-Thames, TW16 6SB

London, SE25 6EZ

Guildford, GU1 3JT

Aldershot, GU11 1JX

Staines, TW18 4AH

Twickenham, TW1 3SX

Whitton, TW2 6HT

Croydon, CR0 1QF

London, SW15 1RT

London, SW16 1EQ

London, W14 0HJ

London, W4 5TT

London, W5 2NP

Mitcham, CR4 2JD

Thornton Heath, CR7 8RY

London, SW18 4ES

Woking, GU21 6ET


Aldershot
130 Victoria Road, Aldershot GU11 1JX
(110)
Brook Green
240 Blythe Road, London W14 0HJ
(64)
Chiswick
440 Chiswick High Road, London W4 5TT
(164)
show all branches (20)
Croydon
83-85 High Street, Croydon CR0 1QF
(262)
Ealing
41 The Broadway, London W5 2NP
(168)
Earlsfield
364 Garratt Lane, London SW18 4ES
(65)
Egham
179 High Street, Egham TW20 9EJ
(163)
Englefield Green
19 St Judes Road, Englefield Green TW20 0BY
(101)
Guildford
3-5 Epsom Road, Guildford GU1 3JT
(242)
Mitcham
201 London Road, Mitcham CR4 2JD
(43)
Northfields
140 - 142 Northfields Avenue, London W13 9SB
(173)
Putney
167 Putney High Street, London SW15 1RT
(138)
South Norwood
11 High Street, London SE25 6EZ
(134)
Staines
142-144 High Street, Staines TW18 4AH
(111)
Streatham
5-7 Streatleigh Parade, Streatham High Road, London SW16 1EQ
(88)
Sunbury on Thames
15a Station Road, Sunbury-on-Thames TW16 6SB
(293)
Thornton Heath
95 High Street, Thornton Heath CR7 8RY
(37)
Twickenham
25 London Road, Twickenham TW1 3SX
(156)
Whitton
127-129 Percy Road, Whitton TW2 6HT
(55)
Woking
4 Commercial Way, Woking GU21 6ET
(150)


Make an Enquiry