• Simon Bright
    Simon Bright
  • Diane Armstrong
    Diane Armstrong
  • Katrina Johnson
    Katrina Johnson
  • Richard Bicknell
    Richard Bicknell
  • David Whittle
    David Whittle
  • Michael Sharp
    Michael Sharp
  • Erol Dogruel
    Erol Dogruel
  • Andrejs Krutins
    Andrejs Krutins
  • Ravi Fatania
    Ravi Fatania
  • Sharon Sheehy
    Sharon Sheehy
  • Herrine Richards
    Herrine Richards
  • Emilio Ascione
    Emilio Ascione
  • Robert McPeake
    Robert McPeake
  • Jon Chandler-Gray
    Jon Chandler-Gray
  • Louis Byrne
    Louis Byrne
  • Edward Pink
    Edward Pink
  • Joanna Eden
    Joanna Eden
  • James Kamara
    James Kamara
  • Mark Shepherd
    Mark Shepherd
  • Richard Evans
    Richard Evans
  • Rebecca Whitethread
    Rebecca Whitethread
  • Colin Fosu
    Colin Fosu
  • Kellie Harris
    Kellie Harris
  • Joseph Lynch
    Joseph Lynch
  • Charles Nicholls
    Charles Nicholls
At Townends Estate Agents we are in a unique position with prime high street presence covering West and South West London, Surrey, Middlesex and North Hampshire. Our branch locations give us a distinc Read full description...At Townends Estate Agents we are in a unique position with prime high street presence covering West and South West London, Surrey, Middlesex and North Hampshire. Our branch locations give us a distinct advantage when it comes to assisting buyers, sellers, tenants and landlords. Whatever your property needs, we offer all our clients a complete property solution with excellent customer care at the core. Our services include: residential sales, lettings and management, mortgages, conveyancing, surveying and property maintenance.
 
townends.co.uk Properties for sale
Properties for rent
Aug 20,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Raki'
Aug 20,2017
0 people found
this helpful
In one line,an awefull service for exhuberant fee. Recently came from abroad and they showed me a property managed by landlord.Until the contracts were signed they were very nice, after that they showed their true color, very arrogant and unfriendly staff. They initially messed up inventory timings and they didnt even have basic professionalism to notify me. When reached at the property on agreed time and called then they didnt even have basic courtesy to appologies and after waiting for some ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Its a rip off, fee 750£ for 1 bed flat renting doing literally nothing.
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 10,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jessica Browne'
Jul 10,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Upon viewing what we expected to be our dream home in Oct we have since had a 10 month nightmare. The property was mis-advertised. The negotiator made up conversations between herself and the landlord to keep us happy before the contracts were finalised. No checks were carried out prior to us moving in. We have been used as a storage unit by our landlord and apparently Townends have no responsibility over this. Since signing the pre tenancy agreement there has been nothing but lies. All actions ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very high fees. You do not get more for your money as the customer service is extremely poor.
Was this helpful? Yes
Jun 23,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Daniel'
Jun 23,2017
0 people found
this helpful
The gave me the keys late. And refused to give any comoensation for it. They also ignored any complains and said they never happened....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Not worth the service given.
Was this helpful? Yes
May 15,2017
Minithumbdown
Sana Qadeer
By: 'SCS'
May 15,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Under no circumstances let Towenends manage your property. They are by far the worst I've ever worked with. Absolutely terrible communication âΓ‚β‚¬Γ‚β€œ you can never get of anyone when you need them and end up dealing with the situation yourself (so what exactly is the management fee for?). When you eventually get hold of someone they are rude and unhelpful. I'll be very pleased when I can move the management of my property elsewhere....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 12,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'OutOfhere'
May 12,2017
2 people found
this helpful
Townends is not a Company you want to RENT from or Let them Manage your property, the Company is built lies. The lack of communication is horrific, unethical bunch *They lied to us about the House being Professionally Cleaned. Which it was not. **They admitted are requesting for proof it was cleaned, it was never professionally cleaned. They have been dishonest with the Landlord. Potential Renters do not use Townends or Regents When Sales Staff are questioned they get very defensive and ar...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
What a rip off. Fee £ 750.00 and they do nothing. Other Agents charge £ 350.00 including VAT Another SCAM - I asked why the fee is so her answer was then go elsewhere - Very Rude answer
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 17,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Ilona'
Mar 17,2017
1 people found
this helpful
Townends have managed my property for the last 3 and a half years and I couldn't be happier to finally be getting rid of them. Firstly the few positives: - Their Guildford office staff were always polite, helpful and usually got back to me fairly promptly (aside from the time they denied there was flooding in Guildford - I was in Australia and it made the news there) - One particular member of staff in Head Office, Emily did everything she could to rectify my problems, but unfortunately can...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
The actual fees from Townends seemed fairly standard, but the quotes their maintenance company provided were expensive.
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 18,2017
Minithumbdown
Ravi Fatania
By: 'Ilija'
Feb 18,2017
1 people found
this helpful
Failed to answer 5 emails or return calls .Did not arrange viewing of my rental property as discussed .Appalling service and dishonest in his intentions...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 06,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Richard and Kate'
Jan 06,2017
3 people found
this helpful
These guys are lovely until the point where hard work and perseverance is needed, then they will lie through their teeth and string you along for months and months without actually doing any real work. We purchased a property through these guys in early 2016 and in each of maybe 30 phonecalls, we were told that the paperwork is being sent over "right now", "this morning", or "first thing tomorrow", which it very rarely was. They are great at talking, but not a lot e...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: allAgents
Jan 09, 2017
View all comments (1)
Note from allAgents : +++++++++++++++++ Hello 'Richard and Kate' With reference to your mention of Agents Featured reviews. These featured items allow the agents to showcase reviews that normally explain in more detail the reason why the client has given the agent the star rating for their particular experience and can go some way to indicate or validate why the individual branch and the company as a whole, is rated as the are. The 'Featured Reviews' are a included feature of a support pa ...
Dec 08,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Unorganised company'
Dec 08,2016
2 people found
this helpful
This agency is a one big joke. We paid huge fees for the service that we don't get. All they do, they find you a landlord - that's it. I just rang them, because we already living in our property for 2 months and we still haven't received a contract. I contacted them to find out where is my contract and I've been informed that the landlord supposed to give it to us, and landlord is saying that she doesn't know anything about that. ONE BIG MESS. They are completely unorganised !...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 24,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'George'
Nov 24,2016
1 people found
this helpful
Disgusted with the service provided. Still awaiting problems to be resolved 8 months into the letting. Mould on walls, tiles falling off, cracks in ceiling. It's been a nightmare dealing with the staff to resolve anything,very rude. I hate living here now and won't be using Townsend to rent though again...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Extortion
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 15,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Courtney'
Nov 15,2016
1 people found
this helpful
A disaster. Not recomendable at all. Avoid totally. They cheat a lot of people. Bunch of liars. Don't go...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 12,2016
Minithumbdown
Robert McPeake
By: 'Janek'
Aug 12,2016
0 people found
this helpful
We were almost left on the street. I would recommend avoiding this agency that has an amount of liars working within the company, however most of London estate agents are the same. Me and 3 of my friends were about to rent their property. We had put an offer on the property which was accepted. They were dealing with us for about a week and a half and everything was going smoothly, we also signed a pre-contract. We passed the referencing and were instructed on how much we had to pay to move in. ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
They were overpriced.
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 11,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'Unhappy Customer'
Aug 11,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Beware and read the reviews on facebook looks like they have been filtered on here. My mother has been through a year of hell with Townends, a long list of things wrong with the property, constantly reporting and having nothing done. They convinced the landlord to end her tenancy because of the amount of complaints she had to make, and now they are trying to withhold deposit moneys on things that had been reported as not working and that the landlord himself had agreed to replace!! Trying to con...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Worse fees in the market, Will charge you for everything.
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 20,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Bob'
Jul 20,2016
2 people found
this helpful
I'm about to leave renting with Townends and I will never have anything to do with them again. As has been mentioned in other reviews they are great to get you into the property, after that when you need to deal with the head office they are abysmal. They are rude, incompetent, pass false information to the Landlord, are riddled with hidden charges and genuinely don't give a ** about customer satisfaction. *** When it came to renewal they forgot to ask us whether or not we were moving out, to...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Awful. Extortionate, unclear and unwilling to discuss.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Townends Team
Jul 25, 2016
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your feedback. So we can investigate this further, please can you email info@townends.co.uk with full details. Many thanks. ...
Jun 10,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Imogen'
Jun 10,2016
3 people found
this helpful
We rented with Townends for two years. They were non responsive to emails and phone calls and expected us to live in disgraceful conditions due to their need to spend as little money as possible in maintaining the property. Upon leaving, as expected, we lost most of our deposit for 'cleaning'. This particular branch of Townends is far too focussed on money saving rather than tenant satisfaction. As a lecturer at several of the colleges in Guildford I hear horror stories from students who have al...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 08,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Rotimi'
Apr 08,2016
2 people found
this helpful
I experienced an absence of professionalism and integrity. Turned up for a second viewing with my frail, 85-year-old mother only to be told by the owner that she had taken it off the market. I had not been contacted by anyone from the office (despite Sukina claiming that she had emailed and phoned me). The whole thing left a bad taste in my mouth, upset my mother and wasted my family's time....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 01,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'MBK'
Apr 01,2016
2 people found
this helpful
This must be the least professional letting agency I have ever dealt with. It's a constant battle with the agents and their head office. Everything started when my flatmates and I were looking to rent a property. Roderick Allan was our agent and he took us to see the property. We couldn't go all together, so I had to go another day. Of course when I made an appointment with him to see the property, he was late for a good 20 minutes. I let it slip, as my friends were really impressed with the p...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 29,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'anonymous'
Mar 29,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Please save yourself stress and money by avoiding this estate agent - The Croydon bunch are OK - the Head office (the people who you talk to after signing) are rubbish. Having signed my contract in November - Townends have gone from a good estate agency to one which is rates amongst the worst I've ever dealt with. The landlord on my property lives in India and it would appear that Townends have given this person a carte blanche as long as I pay rent. In every interaction requiring this pe...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Shocking - charging β€š£250 for adding a name to a contract
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 25,2016
Minithumbdown
Kellie Harris
By: 'M'
Mar 25,2016
0 people found
this helpful
The property was damaged after the viewing. The day before the check in I was contacted several times from the agency to make sure I had paid everything and at no point anybody mentioned the issue. The inventory was not update with the damage. I was only told about the damage at the moment of checking in, when the agent said they would send somebody to fix it but when I chased it after a couple of days they said it was no longer their responsibilities and to contact the head office. Unprofession...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 01,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'MJH'
Mar 01,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Spoke to around 7 - 8 different people from Townends. No one passed on information to each other or to us throughout the process. Complete failure to return our calls in the first few months. This lengthened the process (Took around 8 - 9 months from offer acceptance to completion) This could have been made shorter and far less stressful. To be fair as the process went on, things got better, but overall this could have been managed better from the start....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
N/A
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 21,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'RJ'
Jan 21,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Paul was terrible. Shortly after our offer on a property was accepted, the vendors pulled out - Paul didn't tell us this and continued to tell me that they were actively looking for properties to buy for a couple of months following. I was concerned that perhaps they had decided not to sell but Paul reassured me that everything was going ahead. I became very worried when Paul suddenly stopped answering calls or replying to messages from myself or my partner so I went to the property myself to fi...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 27,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Chrissy'
Nov 27,2015
2 people found
this helpful
This is the worst experience I have ever had from a viewing. The estate agent turned up twenty minutes late, I was shown to a shed at the end of a garden littered with rubbish. Inside the property, there were light fittings missing, with exposed wires, dirt and rubbish and old furniture. There was no heating and no oven. THE PROPERTY WAS NOT EVEN THE SAME PROPERTY ADVERTISED. The property was in an appalling state. When the agent turned up, I complained and said I had been mislead. She apologise...
read full review
Attachments
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 30,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'anon365365'
Oct 30,2015
0 people found
this helpful
I had an offer accepted to buy a property in Earlsfield and only after my offer was accepted did they tell me the property had knotweed. This materially affected the value of the property yet, when they sent me the knotweed report to read, they attempted to provide their own analysis of it to downplay the issue (presumably thinking I wouldn't bother reading it and would be none the wiser that the knotweed was at Stage 4!!!!) It then became apparent that mortgage lenders won't lend on stage 4 kno...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Be transparent about problems with the property and stop lying and misrepresenting the facts.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Townends
Nov 02, 2015
View all comments (1)
We are sorry for your experience. We take all feedback very seriously and would like to do all we can to investigate the issues raised. In order to do this, please can we ask that you email info@townends.co.uk with your full name, and the full details of the issue, so that this can be investigates? Your feedback is very important to us. Many thanks. ...
Oct 28,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Venky'
Oct 28,2015
3 people found
this helpful
It was night mare to working with townends, it is more than 3 weeks deposits not returned after so much follow ups ,they said they want to reduce 1 day rent, such stupid and worst service during our tenancy, i wouldnt recommend to go with this agent even it is a good property to rent....
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Poor communication method, Never respond to emails or calls.
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
We paid our agent fees also rent on time
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Townends
Oct 29, 2015
View all comments (1)
We are sorry to hear about your experience. We take all feedback seriously and will make contact with the affected parties shortly to resolve the matter asap. However, in order to do this, please can you email info@townends.co.uk with your full name and any further information re the issue (so that we can investigate). Many thanks. ...
Oct 14,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'A Tenant in Mitcham'
Oct 14,2015
1 people found
this helpful
They provided me let only service, but didn't throughly check the tenants. It then later turned out that in month 3 the tenants submitted my property to vulnerable adults from the outset, they never lived in my property. Townends wiped their hands of the situation, and told me i couldn't get my finders fee back! Thanks!...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
They have no compassion, and they found me bad tenants, after which they took my money and didn't offer any sort of compensation!
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 25,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Lee'
Aug 25,2015
1 people found
this helpful
I can't find anything positive to write about my experience with Townends. From the very first time that I engaged with them to assist me with finding a suitable property, through to completion and picking up the keys from their Aldershot-based office they lacked basic communication, they were unhelpful and only got in touch when requesting payment for their (incredibly exorbitant) fees - and even that only consisted of sending an email and forwarding it until I had acknowledged it. I would ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
As mentioned above. No value for money.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Townends
Sep 21, 2015
View all comments (1)
Sorry to hear this. Please email info@townends.co.uk with your full name and contact details, and any further information that may help, and we'll investigate this. Your feedback is very important to us as we are always looking at ways to improve our service. Many thanks. ...
Jun 30,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Disappointed customer'
Jun 30,2015
2 people found
this helpful
Awful experience, appalling service & shocking costs Ζ’Γ‚Β’Β’Γ’β‚¬Ε‘Γ‚Β¬Β’Γ’β€šΒ¬Γ…β€œ never dealing with Townends again! Long list of unpleasant encounters but I will try to share in less words. Lied about moving in date, verbally promised we could move in 1-2 weeks earlier but as soon we paid the deposit agent was unreachable & never returned calls. Poor service: no locks on 2 toilets/bathrooms & 3 bedrooms, requested but never got fitted in 19 months of tenancy (too busy?)....
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Expensive and we had to work/push them to get things done.
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
Expensive and we had to work/push them to get things done.
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 29,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Kulan'
Apr 29,2015
2 people found
this helpful
1) I rented through the address mentioned above for more than two years and end my tenancy agreement on 16th of March. Before the Ester break I tried to contact Stuart Shubrook but no success, I left voice message but never had a single call from him until now. I contact him via email to talk about final payment. But I didn't realise that I have to cancel my direct debt. Now two months' rent has been gone to Townends account, this is simply ignored by Townends till I checked my account myself....
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
1) I rented through the address mentioned above for more than two years and end my tenancy agreement on 16th of March. Before the Ester break I tried to contact Β’Γ’β€šΒ¬Γ…β€œStuart ShubrookΒ’Γ’β€šΒ¬Γ‚Β but no success, I left voice message but never had a single call from him until now. I contact him via email to talk about final payment. But I didnΒ’Γ’β€šΒ¬Γ’β€žΒ’t realise that I have to cancel my direct debt. Now two monthsΒ’Γ’β€šΒ¬Γ’β€žΒ’ rent has been gone to Townends account, this is simply ignored by Townends till I checked my account myself. Now I have to wait for 3 to five working days to get refunded and my account is overdrawn. 2) I called Stuart on yesterday. Stuart donΒ’Γ’β€šΒ¬Γ’β€žΒ’t care about existing customers money. He simple told me that I should have cancelled the direct debt. 3) My deposit since now. I contacted Townends and they told me that I have contact myself to get the deposit back from the owner. But in Stuart email it clearly mentioned if he dont hear from both party within 10 working days the case will be close. I met few people who rented flat or house from townends and they told me that I paid high admin fee. There is no fix price. Stuart (from Head office) Amaleo and Tracy (from Egham Branch) change their rules as they wish. Note: These feedbacks will be spread throughout Royal Holloway University and local people in Egham and Englefield green
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Kulan
May 08, 2015
View all comments (3)
what the purpose of contacting info@townends.co.uk ? Simply you will request me to remove the feedback. It would be great if you could investigate in your site first Specially the people i mentioned in my comments, They are fully aware of my case and then you can come to me. Also you can get my contact number. ...
Apr 22,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Staines1987'
Apr 22,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Emily in head office literally doesn't do anything. They charge β€š£100 for a contract renewal just to change a couple of dates on a contract. She does't respond to emails, she doesn't check or respond to her voicemails - no idea what she actually does do. She's the worst of a pretty useless bunch. The only time anything ever seems to get done is if I tweet them @townends and it seems to spark them into action. How on earth they have so many positive reviews on here, I will never understan...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Could have actually been good at communicating with us and provided us with a service that warrants a β€š£100 fee.
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
Ridiculously expensive for what they do.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Monne
Apr 27, 2015
View all comments (1)
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with Townends. Your feedback is really important to us. and we take all the comments we receive seriously. Please email us your details to info@townends.co.uk so that we can get in touch and improve our service to you. ...
Apr 13,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Ray Mcnair'
Apr 13,2015
2 people found
this helpful
I originally spoke with Nigel in Sales regards a valuation of an investment property I bought for refurbishment last October. All was good with his polished pitch and promises of calling me in the new year (2015) nearer to the completion of the renovation. I was happy with the service thus far. Unfortunately I didn't hear from him nor anyone from the branch regards marketing the property in January. So I called no less than 3 times and remember speaking to Darren who assured me Nigel would ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Returned my calls? Basic customer service!!!
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Shelley
Apr 14, 2015
View all comments (1)
We are so sorry to hear that you have encountered this experience and would very much welcome being able to speak with you on this matter. Please let us know when it would be convenient for us to call you and the best number to do so by emailing sbaker@townends.co.uk ...

ARLA TPOS My deposits scheme


Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
720 22 966 86 500 14 391 7 97 27

Job vacancies

Please see a list of jobs available

Agent Fees

No fees set.
Last updated at 1:28 PM 08/06/2016 by allAgents

Complaints Procedure

No procedure set.
Last updated at 1:28 PM 08/06/2016 by allAgents

Awards won by Townends

Individual Branch Awards

Aldershot, GU11 1JX

Egham, TW20 9EJ

Englefield Green, TW20 0BY

Guildford, GU1 3JT

Staines, TW18 4AH

Sunbury-on-Thames, TW16 6SB

Twickenham, TW1 3SX

Whitton, TW2 6HT

Croydon, CR0 1QF

London, SE25 6EZ

London, SW15 1RT

London, SW16 1EQ

London, W13 9SB

London, W14 0HJ

London, W4 5TT

London, W5 2NP

Mitcham, CR4 2JD

Thornton Heath, CR7 8RY

London, SW18 4ES

Woking, GU21 6ET

London, SW19 6NW


Aldershot
130 Victoria Road, Aldershot GU11 1JX
(108)
Brook Green
240 Blythe Road, London W14 0HJ
(63)
Chiswick
440 Chiswick High Road, London W4 5TT
(164)
show all branches (21)
Croydon
83-85 High Street, Croydon CR0 1QF
(262)
Ealing
41 The Broadway, London W5 2NP
(168)
Earlsfield
364 Garratt Lane, London SW18 4ES
(65)
Egham
179 High Street, Egham TW20 9EJ
(163)
Englefield Green
19 St Judes Road, Englefield Green TW20 0BY
(101)
Guildford
3-5 Epsom Road, Guildford GU1 3JT
(242)
Mitcham
201 London Road, Mitcham CR4 2JD
(42)
Northfields
140 - 142 Northfields Avenue, London W13 9SB
(173)
Putney
167 Putney High Street, London SW15 1RT
(138)
South Norwood
11 High Street, London SE25 6EZ
(133)
Southfields
255 - 257 Wimbledon Park Road, London SW19 6NW
(37)
Staines
142-144 High Street, Staines TW18 4AH
(110)
Streatham
5-7 Streatleigh Parade, Streatham High Road, London SW16 1EQ
(88)
Sunbury on Thames
15a Station Road, Sunbury-on-Thames TW16 6SB
(294)
Thornton Heath
95 High Street, Thornton Heath CR7 8RY
(37)
Twickenham
25 London Road, Twickenham TW1 3SX
(156)
Whitton
127-129 Percy Road, Whitton TW2 6HT
(55)
Woking
4 Commercial Way, Woking GU21 6ET
(150)


Make an Enquiry