• Simon Bright
    Simon Bright
  • Diane Armstrong
    Diane Armstrong
  • Katrina Johnson
    Katrina Johnson
  • Richard Bicknell
    Richard Bicknell
  • David Whittle
    David Whittle
  • Michael Sharp
    Michael Sharp
  • Erol Dogruel
    Erol Dogruel
  • Andrejs Krutins
    Andrejs Krutins
  • Ravi Fatania
    Ravi Fatania
  • Sharon Sheehy
    Sharon Sheehy
  • Herrine Richards
    Herrine Richards
  • Emilio Ascione
    Emilio Ascione
  • Robert McPeake
    Robert McPeake
  • Jon Chandler-Gray
    Jon Chandler-Gray
  • Louis Byrne
    Louis Byrne
  • Joanna Eden
    Joanna Eden
  • Claire Carpenter
    Claire Carpenter
  • James Kamara
    James Kamara
  • Mark Shepherd
    Mark Shepherd
  • Richard Evans
    Richard Evans
  • Rebecca Whitethread
    Rebecca Whitethread
  • Colin Fosu
    Colin Fosu
  • Morgan Senior
    Morgan Senior
  • Kellie Harris
    Kellie Harris
  • Charles Nicholls
    Charles Nicholls
At Townends Estate Agents we are in a unique position with prime high street presence covering West and South West London, Surrey, Middlesex and North Hampshire. Our branch locations give us a distinc Read full description...At Townends Estate Agents we are in a unique position with prime high street presence covering West and South West London, Surrey, Middlesex and North Hampshire. Our branch locations give us a distinct advantage when it comes to assisting buyers, sellers, tenants and landlords. Whatever your property needs, we offer all our clients a complete property solution with excellent customer care at the core. Our services include: residential sales, lettings and management, mortgages, conveyancing, surveying and property maintenance.
 
Properties for sale
Properties for rent
Jun 23,2017
Minithumbdown
By:
Jun 23,2017
0 people found
this helpful
The gave me the keys late. And refused to give any comoensation for it. They also ignored any complains and said they never happened....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Not worth the service given.
Was this helpful? Yes
May 15,2017
Minithumbdown
Sana Qadeer
By:
May 15,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Under no circumstances let Towenends manage your property. They are by far the worst I've ever worked with. Absolutely terrible communication – you can never get of anyone when you need them and end up dealing with the situation yourself (so what exactly is the management fee for?). When you eventually get hold of someone they are rude and unhelpful. I'll be very pleased when I can move the management of my property elsewhere....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 12,2017
Minithumbdown
By:
May 12,2017
1 people found
this helpful
Townends is not a Company you want to RENT from or Let them Manage your property, the Company is built lies. The lack of communication is horrific, unethical bunch *They lied to us about the House being Professionally Cleaned. Which it was not. **They admitted are requesting for proof it was cleaned, it was never professionally cleaned. They have been dishonest with the Landlord. Potential Renters do not use Townends or Regents When Sales Staff are questioned they get very defensive and ar...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
What a rip off. Fee £ 750.00 and they do nothing. Other Agents charge £ 350.00 including VAT Another SCAM - I asked why the fee is so her answer was then go elsewhere - Very Rude answer
Was this helpful? Yes
May 09,2017
Minithumbdown
Elle Lawrance
Elle Lawrance
By:
May 09,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Elle, has been extremely helpful , polite and professional in the whole process. She is very prompt to respond to emails, queries and clarifications. It's been great working with her over the last few weeks....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Good
Was this helpful? Yes
May 06,2017
Minithumbdown
Katie D'Imperio
By:
May 06,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Katie was very helpful throughout the whole moving stage. She gave us usefull, helpful and relevant information, and responded to any questions or queries we both had regarding the property. She has a great personality and you can tell she enjoys her job. We had no problems with her or any of the staff team from Townends in Sunbury....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
It was a bit more expensive than other agencies. A breakdown of the costs of the fees would be beneficial.
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 17,2017
Minithumbdown
By:
Mar 17,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Townends have managed my property for the last 3 and a half years and I couldn't be happier to finally be getting rid of them. Firstly the few positives: - Their Guildford office staff were always polite, helpful and usually got back to me fairly promptly (aside from the time they denied there was flooding in Guildford - I was in Australia and it made the news there) - One particular member of staff in Head Office, Emily did everything she could to rectify my problems, but unfortunately can...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
The actual fees from Townends seemed fairly standard, but the quotes their maintenance company provided were expensive.
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 08,2017
Minithumbdown
Katie D'Imperio
Amie Squire
By:
Mar 08,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Both Katie and Amie have been very professional throughout the process of finding my new tenants. Kept me informed and updated during the viewing process and gave professional advice when needed. Would recommend both Katie and Amie if you are looking for a local agent....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 25,2017
Minithumbdown
Robert McPeake
Zuzanna Pilarczyk
By:
Feb 25,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I am a portfolio landlord and used Townends Ealing branch for the first time, following a disappointment from another local agent. Robert and Zuzanna were relentless in finding a suitable tenant and ensuring a successful completion, supported by an efficient admin all within a week! Having been a landlord for 25 years all I can say is that this team is one of the best I have experienced....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Robert is approachable and competitive. The fees were as agreed with no shocks and surprises.
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 18,2017
Minithumbdown
Ravi Fatania
By:
Feb 18,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Failed to answer 5 emails or return calls .Did not arrange viewing of my rental property as discussed .Appalling service and dishonest in his intentions...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 06,2017
Minithumbdown
By:
Jan 06,2017
1 people found
this helpful
These guys are lovely until the point where hard work and perseverance is needed, then they will lie through their teeth and string you along for months and months without actually doing any real work. We purchased a property through these guys in early 2016 and in each of maybe 30 phonecalls, we were told that the paperwork is being sent over "right now", "this morning", or "first thing tomorrow", which it very rarely was. They are great at talking, but not a lot e...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: allAgents
Jan 09, 2017
View all comments (1)
Note from allAgents : +++++++++++++++++ Hello 'Richard and Kate' With reference to your mention of Agents Featured reviews. These featured items allow the agents to showcase reviews that normally explain in more detail the reason why the client has given the agent the star rating for their particular experience and can go some way to indicate or validate why the individual branch and the company as a whole, is rated as the are. The 'Featured Reviews' are a included feature of a support pa ...
Dec 08,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Dec 08,2016
0 people found
this helpful
This agency is a one big joke. We paid huge fees for the service that we don't get. All they do, they find you a landlord - that's it. I just rang them, because we already living in our property for 2 months and we still haven't received a contract. I contacted them to find out where is my contract and I've been informed that the landlord supposed to give it to us, and landlord is saying that she doesn't know anything about that. ONE BIG MESS. They are completely unorganised !...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 07,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Dec 07,2016
0 people found
this helpful
I was unhappy with the overall handling of my sale. There were some complications with the initial sale which were not communicated to me until 8 weeks after I accepted the offer. They property did sell quickly again after this however, I was not happy with the management of my chain or the communication from staff. The fees whilst competitive are still high and I didn't think that I received what I paid for....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Competitive / Non-Negotiable
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 24,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Nov 24,2016
1 people found
this helpful
Disgusted with the service provided. Still awaiting problems to be resolved 8 months into the letting. Mould on walls, tiles falling off, cracks in ceiling. It's been a nightmare dealing with the staff to resolve anything,very rude. I hate living here now and won't be using Townsend to rent though again...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Extortion
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 15,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Nov 15,2016
1 people found
this helpful
A disaster. Not recomendable at all. Avoid totally. They cheat a lot of people. Bunch of liars. Don't go...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 12,2016
Minithumbdown
Robert McPeake
By:
Aug 12,2016
0 people found
this helpful
We were almost left on the street. I would recommend avoiding this agency that has an amount of liars working within the company, however most of London estate agents are the same. Me and 3 of my friends were about to rent their property. We had put an offer on the property which was accepted. They were dealing with us for about a week and a half and everything was going smoothly, we also signed a pre-contract. We passed the referencing and were instructed on how much we had to pay to move in. ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
They were overpriced.
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 20,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Jul 20,2016
1 people found
this helpful
I'm about to leave renting with Townends and I will never have anything to do with them again. As has been mentioned in other reviews they are great to get you into the property, after that when you need to deal with the head office they are abysmal. They are rude, incompetent, pass false information to the Landlord, are riddled with hidden charges and genuinely don't give a ** about customer satisfaction. *** When it came to renewal they forgot to ask us whether or not we were moving out, to...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Awful. Extortionate, unclear and unwilling to discuss.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Townends Team
Jul 25, 2016
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your feedback. So we can investigate this further, please can you email info@townends.co.uk with full details. Many thanks. ...
Jun 10,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Jun 10,2016
3 people found
this helpful
We rented with Townends for two years. They were non responsive to emails and phone calls and expected us to live in disgraceful conditions due to their need to spend as little money as possible in maintaining the property. Upon leaving, as expected, we lost most of our deposit for 'cleaning'. This particular branch of Townends is far too focussed on money saving rather than tenant satisfaction. As a lecturer at several of the colleges in Guildford I hear horror stories from students who have al...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 20,2016
Minithumbdown
Michael Sharp
Nicola Elson
By:
May 20,2016
0 people found
this helpful
We were initially reluctant to use a larger estate agent chain such as Townends as we feared than being one of many many clients we would not get the attention that a smaller agent could offer. However we should not have worried as the service we received from Michael, Nicola & Harry was second to none. We would therefore not hesitate to recommend Townends to anyone wishing to sell their home....
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Fee were reasonable.
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
Fee were reasonable.
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 18,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Apr 18,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Distinctly average. Have successfully found me a client for the last few years but too many different contacts for different matters and the recent handover has not gone well due to a matter of cleaning. Of which, so far, I out of pocket. I will be looking at the full market upon my renewal....
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
I find the additional sales items that Townends offer always to be way above market value. Insurance I got at half their price elsewhere. The cleaning for a studio flat was twice the price it should have been. The monthly fee is okay, only has I negotiated hard.
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
I find the additional sales items that Townends offer always to be way above market value. Insurance I got at half their price elsewhere. The cleaning for a studio flat was twice the price it should have been. The monthly fee is okay, only has I negotiated hard.
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 08,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Apr 08,2016
2 people found
this helpful
I experienced an absence of professionalism and integrity. Turned up for a second viewing with my frail, 85-year-old mother only to be told by the owner that she had taken it off the market. I had not been contacted by anyone from the office (despite Sukina claiming that she had emailed and phoned me). The whole thing left a bad taste in my mouth, upset my mother and wasted my family's time....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 01,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Apr 01,2016
2 people found
this helpful
This must be the least professional letting agency I have ever dealt with. It's a constant battle with the agents and their head office. Everything started when my flatmates and I were looking to rent a property. Roderick Allan was our agent and he took us to see the property. We couldn't go all together, so I had to go another day. Of course when I made an appointment with him to see the property, he was late for a good 20 minutes. I let it slip, as my friends were really impressed with the p...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 29,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Mar 29,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Please save yourself stress and money by avoiding this estate agent - The Croydon bunch are OK - the Head office (the people who you talk to after signing) are rubbish. Having signed my contract in November - Townends have gone from a good estate agency to one which is rates amongst the worst I've ever dealt with. The landlord on my property lives in India and it would appear that Townends have given this person a carte blanche as long as I pay rent. In every interaction requiring this pe...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Shocking - charging ‚£250 for adding a name to a contract
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 25,2016
Minithumbdown
Kellie Harris
By:
Mar 25,2016
0 people found
this helpful
The property was damaged after the viewing. The day before the check in I was contacted several times from the agency to make sure I had paid everything and at no point anybody mentioned the issue. The inventory was not update with the damage. I was only told about the damage at the moment of checking in, when the agent said they would send somebody to fix it but when I chased it after a couple of days they said it was no longer their responsibilities and to contact the head office. Unprofession...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 01,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Mar 01,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Spoke to around 7 - 8 different people from Townends. No one passed on information to each other or to us throughout the process. Complete failure to return our calls in the first few months. This lengthened the process (Took around 8 - 9 months from offer acceptance to completion) This could have been made shorter and far less stressful. To be fair as the process went on, things got better, but overall this could have been managed better from the start....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
N/A
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 19,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Feb 19,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Alex didn't need to do much as the property sold its self and it's what I picked that's why I bought it . Alex is a pleasant chap but didn't have much to do with it ,if I needed to see the house he would make the appointment then someone else would sort of turn up after I called the office to say I'm here . I was told I would have someone chase the deal threw I had 2 emails and did the rest myself ,not saying you are a bad agent but I'm not sure why I have to recommend you, your company is...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
No fees paid
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 04,2016
Minithumbdown
Katie D'Imperio
Katie D'Imperio
By:
Feb 04,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Katie was incredibly efficient and listened to exactly what requirements we had. She was knowledgeable of the local area and gave us a good tour of 2x properties. I liked her style and her cheerful attitude and would rate her highly....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 21,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Jan 21,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Paul was terrible. Shortly after our offer on a property was accepted, the vendors pulled out - Paul didn't tell us this and continued to tell me that they were actively looking for properties to buy for a couple of months following. I was concerned that perhaps they had decided not to sell but Paul reassured me that everything was going ahead. I became very worried when Paul suddenly stopped answering calls or replying to messages from myself or my partner so I went to the property myself to fi...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 14,2015
Minithumbdown
By:
Dec 14,2015
0 people found
this helpful
the viewing went well! We had mentioned that we really liked the place and if needed would be prepared to Pay a little more than asking price to sway in our direction... As far as I am aware this wasn't upped slightly it went up quite a bit with no mention as to if it was because we were happy to pay a little more! It then took weeks and weeks and a lot of changes before we were able to sign the final papers and so on! And then when I called to say I had lost my job and we didn't think we would ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Better Communication Faster response to maintenance issues Better comminication with the landlords
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
We paid over ‚£4000 deducting 1750 for deposit and 900 for the reduce in rent per month leave over 1500 approximately of letting fee's for 2 people
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 27,2015
Minithumbdown
By:
Nov 27,2015
2 people found
this helpful
This is the worst experience I have ever had from a viewing. The estate agent turned up twenty minutes late, I was shown to a shed at the end of a garden littered with rubbish. Inside the property, there were light fittings missing, with exposed wires, dirt and rubbish and old furniture. There was no heating and no oven. THE PROPERTY WAS NOT EVEN THE SAME PROPERTY ADVERTISED. The property was in an appalling state. When the agent turned up, I complained and said I had been mislead. She apologise...
read full review
Attachments
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 30,2015
Minithumbdown
By:
Oct 30,2015
0 people found
this helpful
I had an offer accepted to buy a property in Earlsfield and only after my offer was accepted did they tell me the property had knotweed. This materially affected the value of the property yet, when they sent me the knotweed report to read, they attempted to provide their own analysis of it to downplay the issue (presumably thinking I wouldn't bother reading it and would be none the wiser that the knotweed was at Stage 4!!!!) It then became apparent that mortgage lenders won't lend on stage 4 kno...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Be transparent about problems with the property and stop lying and misrepresenting the facts.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Townends
Nov 02, 2015
View all comments (1)
We are sorry for your experience. We take all feedback very seriously and would like to do all we can to investigate the issues raised. In order to do this, please can we ask that you email info@townends.co.uk with your full name, and the full details of the issue, so that this can be investigates? Your feedback is very important to us. Many thanks. ...

ARLA TPOS My deposits scheme


Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
713 22 951 82 486 13 387 7 97 27

Job vacancies

Please see a list of jobs available

Agent Fees

No fees set.
Last updated at 1:28 PM 08/06/2016 by allAgents

Complaints Procedure

No procedure set.
Last updated at 1:28 PM 08/06/2016 by allAgents

Awards won by Townends

Individual Branch Awards

Aldershot, GU11 1JX

Egham, TW20 9EJ

Englefield Green, TW20 0BY

Guildford, GU1 3JT

Staines, TW18 4AH

Sunbury-on-Thames, TW16 6SB

Twickenham, TW1 3SX

Whitton, TW2 6HT

Croydon, CR0 1QF

London, SE25 6EZ

London, SW15 1RT

London, SW16 1EQ

London, W13 9SB

London, W14 0HJ

London, W4 5TT

London, W5 2NP

Mitcham, CR4 2JD

Thornton Heath, CR7 8RY

London, SW18 4ES

Woking, GU21 6ET

London, SW19 6NW


Aldershot
130 Victoria Road, Aldershot GU11 1JX
(104)
Brook Green
240 Blythe Road, London W14 0HJ
(61)
Chiswick
440 Chiswick High Road, London W4 5TT
(164)
show all branches (21)
Croydon
83-85 High Street, Croydon CR0 1QF
(262)
Ealing
41 The Broadway, London W5 2NP
(158)
Earlsfield
364 Garratt Lane, London SW18 4ES
(65)
Egham
179 High Street, Egham TW20 9EJ
(162)
Englefield Green
19 St Judes Road, Englefield Green TW20 0BY
(91)
Guildford
3-5 Epsom Road, Guildford GU1 3JT
(241)
Mitcham
201 London Road, Mitcham CR4 2JD
(39)
Northfields
140 - 142 Northfields Avenue, London W13 9SB
(171)
Putney
167 Putney High Street, London SW15 1RT
(137)
South Norwood
11 High Street, London SE25 6EZ
(130)
Southfields
255 - 257 Wimbledon Park Road, London SW19 6NW
(37)
Staines
142-144 High Street, Staines TW18 4AH
(108)
Streatham
5-7 Streatleigh Parade, Streatham High Road, London SW16 1EQ
(86)
Sunbury on Thames
15a Station Road, Sunbury-on-Thames TW16 6SB
(291)
Thornton Heath
95 High Street, Thornton Heath CR7 8RY
(37)
Twickenham
25 London Road, Twickenham TW1 3SX
(155)
Whitton
127-129 Percy Road, Whitton TW2 6HT
(55)
Woking
4 Commercial Way, Woking GU21 6ET
(150)

Make an Enquiry