• upload your photo
    Michael Ferris
  • claim your profile
    Martin Thomas
  • claim your profile
    Kat Simpson
Thomas Property Group are a well known and respected family run Chester estate agent, letting agent and overseas property consultancy.
 
Website not available

Properties for sale
Properties for rent
Nov 22,2016
Minithumbup
By:
Nov 22,2016
0 people found
this helpful
I was really satisfied with attitude of Thomas Property Group agency and in my opinion is it one of the best real estate agency in property market and will certainly use their services in the future again. Special thanks to Kat Simpson and all the best for future. Kind regards...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Agents fees are acceptable.
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 16,2016
Minithumbup
By:
Sep 16,2016
1 people found
this helpful
Very efficient and well organized Very positive experiences . Never let me down despite all the difficulties and the complexity with some of the issues it was dealt with in a professional manor. My property was rented within hours on being Iive on the website . No hassle there's always someone at the end of the line well and Truly recommended ... The staff and the management are worthy of trust ....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Good and reasonable
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 11,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Jul 11,2016
2 people found
this helpful
Poor approach to customer service, thankfully there is a choice of several agents in the area who can probably provide a more professional approach to marketing a property. Previous negative comments and reviews on this website accurately reflect the experience we had....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Rachel Thomas
Aug 25, 2016
View all comments (1)
We are sorry you were outbid on the property you wanted but it is not right to threaten us with writing this review which is not true. We have a legal obligation to let all sellers know of all offers, unfortunately this can lead to great disappointment for people like yourselves in this instance.....
Jun 03,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Jun 03,2016
2 people found
this helpful
Had a tenancy with this company and the property was a managed let. Can't share a positive word about my experience at all. Simple things that I needed fixing were just ignored. Brought it up at the end of my tenancy and all my communications were denied and they got upset and threatening too (rent paid on time / zero effort tenant). No doubt Martin will reply with some nonsense - as he does often but I'd urge that you read the other reviews here and make you own opinions....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Martin Thomas
Jun 13, 2016
View all comments (1)
Although we do not know which property this anonymous review refers to we are obviously disappointed that you feel problems were ignored. We work very hard to ensure properties are maintained to a high standard for both Tenants and Landlords. Your communications would not have been denied. As with any situation I would have looked back at our records to check the flow of information and how quickly it was dealt with, as it is all timestamped. I would then discuss it with the team and yourself ....
May 26,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
May 26,2016
4 people found
this helpful
Shockingly poor. We had a tenancy with them and had the police coming around at all hours for the former tenants , for which they where the agents. Despite being a managed let these guys done absolutely nothing to help. In the end the tenancy was terminated at our lose. They even threatened to sue us should we leave a bad review. Being on super high incomes we thought we best share the experience. Be careful....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Bad
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Martin Thomas
May 27, 2016
View all comments (1)
We have never had a tenant called Mrs Murphy. We have no idea what property this could be referring to. If there is anything genuine about this review please contact me directly to discuss the situation.....
Mar 29,2016
Minithumbup
By:
Mar 29,2016
5 people found
this helpful
They are careless and astonishingly below standards (they were even unable to provide me the correct keys of the apartment). They never did a proper check of the apartment leaving us with a lot of hidden surprises. Even after several months they didn't fix all the problems in the apartment. Unfortunately the lower rating is one star or I'll have rated them even less. I strongly suggest to avoid this agency and specifically yhe apartment they rented us (in a residential area between grosvernor ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
High but in the average with the other agencies.
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 14,2016
Minithumbup
By:
Mar 14,2016
5 people found
this helpful
Thomas Property Group are useless. My sister and I showed a strong interest in a flat to rent, telling Thomas Property Group that we'd sign a contract immediately. Every phonecall that week finished with them saying they just needed to speak to the landlord and that they'd get back to us straight away. Not once did TPG get back to us with more information, it was always me and my sister who had to start the conversations. We even turned up at their branch in the city centre to make enquiries ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Martin Thomas
May 27, 2016
View all comments (1)
We are sorry that you do not feel that we kept you informed. I have looked in to this and believe you were informed that the Landlord did not want 2 individuals sharing but preferred a couple or single occupant.....
Dec 19,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Dec 19,2014
0 people found
this helpful
From the beginning the firm was enthuastic, helpful, and proactive to give ideas of improvement to acheive a sale. the company listened to our needs, and goals on what we would like to achieve in the sale. we had fortnigtly updates on viewing, web hits, and other data. Enough so that they predicted that there were the same viewers doing repeated web hits indicating that they were waiting for a sale of there own before viewing ours. They were wright. Mick and Michael were both very professio...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 21,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Sep 21,2014
2 people found
this helpful
I had 3 estate agents value my home I decided on Thomas as they were the most enthusiastic about the sale of my home. Customer service throughout was exceptional and Debbie went above and beyond to deliver fantastic communication to both myself and the buyer. Selling your home can at times be very stressful however Thomas really did help to relieve any additional stress and were always available, friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble. A huge Thankyou to everyone at Thomas I will def...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 20,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Sep 20,2014
2 people found
this helpful
Thomas Property Group was recommended to me by a friend and I am pleased to confirm they are as good as reported.Mick and the team kept me informed through the whole sales process,answering any enquiries I had with efficiency and speed. I would not hesitate to recommend Thomas Property Group to any one looking to sell their property, they really live up to their reputation and even surpass it . Thanks guys...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 19,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Sep 19,2014
3 people found
this helpful
We have dealt with Thomas' Property Group over several years both for letting & buying/selling & found their service to be of a very high standard. All the staff are friendly & effecient, especially Michael, Rachel & Paul & they always keep you up todate with any new developments. We would never have any hesitation whatsoever in recommending Thomas' Property Group....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
These are excellent compared to most Estate Agents.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Rachel Thomas
Sep 19, 2014
View all comments (1)
Thank you so much Gaynor. We all appreciate your comments and have always thoroughly enjoyed our communication with you. Thank you for using us continually over the years for both sales and lettings. You have been and still are a very much loved and welcomed client. Your brother is also very lovely and we appreciate your recommendation to him.....
Sep 19,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Sep 19,2014
3 people found
this helpful
We were selling the property from a distance which therefore meant we were unable to be there personally for a number of times when entry to the house was required. Michael arranged times, entry and supervision for these occasions on top of all viewings. We also recieved prompt feedback on all the viewings that took place. During a difficult time for us Michael handled the property sale in a professional and sympathetic way. The sale has now completed and we thank him for all his help....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Michael Fletcher
Sep 19, 2014
View all comments (1)
Thank you very much Mrs. Bryne. It is lovely to hear such nice comments and it means a lot to me and the company. Please contact me anytime in the future. Thank you for using Thomas Property Group, we all appreciate it very much.....
Sep 17,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Sep 17,2014
5 people found
this helpful
Using Thomas for a number of years it is clear to see that the staff are constantly changing.. I cant blame them, after being with the company i can see that both Martin and Paul pass the buck onto who ever is standing closest too them, when viewing the property Paul promised several things would be done to improve it, when the keys were handed over and we went to the property it was clear that none of the work had been done, i phoned the management team straight away and it was clear that they ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
AVOID PAUL ALLEN - other staff seem to be more helpful and don\'t ignore your calls / never call you back.
Comment on agent fees
FEES = We were charged every 6 months (‚£106 renewal fee) Moving out fee ‚£200 Reference Fee ‚£80
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Paul Allen
Sep 18, 2014
View all comments (2)
Hello, Thank you for your time to write this review. I am disappointed with your comments and I totally disagree with what you have said. We have an extremely high retention % and the fact we have let the most properties in Chester over the last 3 years is down to recommendations off other landlord's, Happy tenants and sheer hard work. I would also like to point out that the fees you have quoted are actually incorrect. I would like to discuss this personally with you as I don't know wh....
Sep 17,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Sep 17,2014
2 people found
this helpful
I just wanted to thank the Lettings Team but specifically Martin Thomas and Shauna. At a time when things were most difficult for me with ill health and my divorce, the two of you helped me find a cozy new home to reside in and give me the time I needed to get back onto my feet, literally may I add!. Your guidance and help was greatly appreciated. Your service was not to a fault, thank you for your patience with the many issues I had with my divorce settlement and funding, I couldn't have manage...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Due to issues with my health and divorce funding, Thomas\'s were very understanding with the fees and helped me when I needed it the most. The fee was money well spent.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Stuart Thomas
Sep 18, 2014
View all comments (1)
We wanted to say a big thank you for your review. It is not often people take the time to write positive reviews compared to negative ones in any aspect of business or industry. It means very much to us, especially as a family run business and our team and ourselves always appreciate the thank you cards we receive. We would like to also thank you for the wonderful flowers, they really brightened up our office.....
Aug 14,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Aug 14,2014
3 people found
this helpful
Unprofessional, did not return calls was told many times "will take details", one or two of them did not seem to understand basics of their jobs (new but still..). Even solicitors commented on what a poor "service" they were providing. I can't put one agent's name because we were switched from one to another four times and I lost track. If you are the kind of person who likes to know what is going on and wants good communication and will be anxious without it think about this...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Rachel Thomas
Sep 18, 2014
View all comments (1)
It has come to our attention that you are working for another Chester agent. We are disgusted by this unprofessional underhandedness. We do not carry out our business this way.....
Jul 24,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Jul 24,2014
7 people found
this helpful
So angry with how they treated my daughter, had her hanging on for weeks on the promise that she was top of the list for a particular house and now have suddenly said that students aren't allowed. She's not a typical student, she's got a permanent job working 20+ hours a week and would be a perfect tenant!, as her employers/teachers or anyone you wanted could attest to. As is her boyfriend. Why treat people like that? Just mess them about for no reason, they've known all along she is studying fo...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Rachel Thomas
Sep 18, 2014
View all comments (1)
We are very sorry this happened to your daughter. Unfortunately landlords can change their minds at the last minute and this is what happened here. We did advise that your daughter was working but the landlord had a last minute change of mind. I can understand this would be upsetting for her and we wish it had been a different outcome.....
Jul 10,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Jul 10,2014
7 people found
this helpful
Thomas is the worst, most unprofessional company I have ever dealt with. They charge extortionate fees at every opportunity--£90 minimum for lease renewals, £100 for moving out--and have absolutely no customer service. They see tenants as walking cash registers, and little else. Their internal organisation is byzantine, so you can never accuse them of lying outright, but you are perpetually told one thing by one person, and another by someone else, because apparently nobody in the of...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Some awareness that tenants actually live in a property, rather than existing for the sole purpose of generating fees for the agent and rent for the landlord, would be nice. If that is too much to ask for, then at the very least some transparency about lines of communication would have helped.
Was this helpful? Yes
Jun 26,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Jun 26,2014
1 people found
this helpful
What a fantastic company! As first time buyers, we needed our hands held right the way through the process and Thomas Property didn't dissapoint. Michael, our contact was so patient and took our cals no matter what he was doing (Even if it was just a quick bit of jargon busting) When our solicitors wern't doing their jobs properly, he helped us compose emails with the wording to get them moving. Overall, I cannot reccomend them enough. Thanks Guys!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Michael Fletcher
Sep 18, 2014
View all comments (1)
Thank you Chris. It was always a pleasure dealing with you and thank you very much for your comments. I have worked at Thomas Property Group for 4 years now and you have been one of my favorite clients to date. You were a pleasure throughout, please contact me anytime you need us again in the future.....
Dec 10,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Dec 10,2013
11 people found
this helpful
Very poor and very one sided service. We used this letting agent and will not do so again. They visited the house for reviews every 2 months, We had a leak in the bathroom upstairs and 4 months after it is still unresolved,. Very poor communication and clear lack of professionalism. Very disappointed that these practices are allowed in this day and age. A clear throw back to when letting agents had no rules to follow. I would recommend that you use another letting agent as there is much bette...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
An honest fair and professional relationship was all that was needed. Unfortunately they were unable to provide these basics.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Amanda Frost
Feb 20, 2014
View all comments (1)
I am very disappointed that my name is still showing here. Please refer to my email and remove my name from this review. As previously stated, the problem was on the part of an un co-operative landlord who would not carry out the repairs. Please remove my name from this review, I did my utmost to get the works done for this tenant. How come they can remain anonymous but I as an innocent part am named?....
May 22,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
May 22,2013
13 people found
this helpful
I can honestly say, in my 10 years of renting properties across the country, I have never come across a letting agent who are so unprofessional in their work. Not only do they attempt to rip of tenants at every given opportunity, they also don\'t know about their own industry regulations, rules, or how to stick to their own contract agreements. I hope this review is read by at least one potential landlord, or tenant, to warm them off. There are many decent letting agents across Chester who wi...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 22,2012
Minithumbdown
By:
Sep 22,2012
11 people found
this helpful
I had to find a property in Chester urgently as my landlord is selling my current house. Unfortunately the timing is such that this has happened while my partner is fighting in Afghanistan. I work long hours in a high pressured job and am unable to spend all day trawling the Internet and calling agents to try to find a place to live. While most letting agents have been helpful and understanding to my situation, Thomas property group could not have been worse. I registered with them by phone 3 ti...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 02,2012
Minithumbdown
By:
Jul 02,2012
9 people found
this helpful
We applied for a property letting via Thomas Property Group. The customer service was all so friendly and high standard before the application fees changed hands. Once they had take the £300 fee however (for both me and my girlfriend) contact dropped. They had then put on the website that the property had been let (not under application, which I thought was strange). I decided to try and contact Marie, the agent that was dealing with our application. After 4 phone calls being told each tim...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Rachel Thomas
Sep 18, 2014
View all comments (1)
Unfortunately your background checks did fail, we have no reason to lie about this and are surprised/saddened at the suggestion especially as we provided you with proof. We have had a couple of staff changes like any business but can confirm we have a very strong team throughout lettings and sales. Paul has now been with us 8 years managing Lettings, we have let the most property throughout the Chester Agents. I can assure you that Marie-Anne now works for Reeds Rains in Chester.....



Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
1 0 4 7 5 1 1 1 0 2

Job vacancies

Please see a list of jobs available

Agent Fees

No fees set.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure available.

Awards won by Thomas Property Group

Individual Branch Awards

Firm rankings



Office 1
18 Grosvenor Street, Chester CH1 2DD
(16)
Office 2
20 Eggbridge Lane , Chester CH3 7PE
(6)

Find the Best Agent to
Buy, Sell or Rent Property




.