• claim your profile
    jonathan welford
  • claim your profile
    helen armstrong
  • claim your profile
    James Sharples
  • claim your profile
    Kirstie Donovan
  • claim your profile
    Port Talbot WEST GLAMORGAN
  • claim your profile
    dan woodbridge
  • claim your profile
    Lora
  • upload your photo
    Caroline Jones
  • upload your photo
    Stacey Wilding
  • upload your photo
    Matthew Jones
  • upload your photo
    Rachel Chatwood-Platt
  • claim your profile
    Laura Simpson
No description available.

58 Beech Road
Chorlton-cum-Hardy,Manchester
Greater Manchester
M21
01618818228

 
Website not available

Properties for sale
Properties for rent
Feb 05,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Feb 05,2016
3 people found
this helpful
Absolutely abysmal service. Having been pre - warned, I should never have gone through this agent, but didn't believe anyone in business could really be so blatant in the manner in which they tried to hold on to my deposit at the end of the tenancy. The Tenancy Deposit Scheme have even mediated, and awarded in my favour, yet cheques issued by Sherlock have a strange habit of escaping the Royal Mail. So much so that I've now been told that the next attempt will have 2 stamps on the envelope! I wa...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Unable to comment as their fees, and their perception of what constitutes their fees, seem to be two different things.
Comment on agent fees
Unable to comment as their fees, and their perception of what constitutes their fees, seem to be two different things.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Feb 29, 2016
View all comments (1)
it is unfortunately that your cheque went astray in the Royal Mail. We note that you are in receipt of the funds for your deposit. Deposits are protected as is legislation. The staff at Sherlock Homes and any other agent who protect tenants deposits have no control over your deposit....
Jan 22,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Jan 22,2016
1 people found
this helpful
Sherlock Homes have been the worst estate agent I have ever used. They are unprofessional and difficult to deal with. When I first moved into the apartment there were a number of issues and when I raised these they took over 4 months to complete - although the work done was terrible. Some jobs were never completed - such as a new post box and I never received a post key. The staff in the branch are rude, and take at least a week to respond. Every time I have contacted them I have to phone back a...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
The fees are standard but with regards to their service - they shouldn't charge anything.
Comment on agent fees
The fees are standard but with regards to their service - they shouldn't charge anything.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Jan 26, 2016
View all comments (1)
Dear Customer, I am sorry that you feel you have had a poor service from our Repairs Department. Please would you email admin@sherlockhomes4u.com and confirm which member of staff failed to address your repairs request so that we may address this issue and likewise please confirm which member of staff you believe was unhelpful. I am informed that the Lettings Manager Laura has more recently liaised between yourself and your landlord concerning charges to your deposit and was able to reach an ag....
Oct 12,2015
Minithumbdown
By:
Oct 12,2015
1 people found
this helpful
Sherlock Holmes is the worst agency I have ever dealt with. They are are so unprofessional. The love collecting rent money that's all they care about. When you call or come to pay rent they are all smiling as soon as it's a repair issue or a request regarding something they do not like to help whatsoever. When I first moved into this property it was dirty and full of dust they did not make an effort to clean the flat. I have been asking for a sofa to get replaced for one full year now. After 8 ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Nov 30, 2015
View all comments (1)
Dear Angeline, Thank you for your comments. All tenants sign an inventory at the commencement of their tenancy agreeing to the condition of the property. This is then compared the Exit Inspection at the end of the tenancy once the tenants have vacated. The result of the report is then sent to the landlord so that they may advise what they wish to charge their tenants for. As agent we are limited on what we can and cannot do. We note your frustration however as agent we cannot spend a landl....
Oct 08,2015
Minithumbup
By:
Oct 08,2015
0 people found
this helpful
I have dealt with Sherlock Homes for some nine years now, in that time I have found the staff to be polite, courteous and extremely professional. I have been through many lettings now and the experience I have had with Sherlock Homes is what one would call seamless. They find a tenant, issue the paperwork, check references, collect the deposit/rent and it arrives in the bank account same time every month. Sherlock Homes relieve the Landlord of the stress and hassle that goes with letting or main...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 30,2015
Minithumbdown
By:
Sep 30,2015
2 people found
this helpful
There is simply nothing positive I can say about sherlock homes, the entire team are unhelpful and at times rude, they are simply money grabbing jobs worths and have no idea how to talk to clients and can clearly not run the company. When my cousin and I first moved into the property it had not been cleaned and was full of damp and mould hiding behind the furnishings, when this as explained to Sherlock Homes and it took them 9 months to even come and assess the situation! When assessed it to...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Far too much needs improving but heres a few Better communication between staff and their tenants Actually providing evidence as to how and why you came to these decisions When tenents provide evidence that they have not done something (holes in the wall) instead of making up some reason why I isnt your staff maybe just fix the issue, considering you find it very diffcult to provide evidence yourselves Give the tenant chance to rectify the problems before they leave the property (although I have proof there wasn't anything to rectify) Instead of lying and saying what the tenant whats to hear i.e once youve sent this in we can send out your cheque, maybe explain there are futher issues that need to be dealt with this reduces the amount of times the tenant has to ring
Comment on agent fees
Charged a ridiculous amount for admin fees when first entering the property Charged a further ridiculous amount when leaving the property without providing evidence as to why (toast crumbs on the side does not take ‚£260 pounds to clean!!!!!!)
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Nov 30, 2015
View all comments (2)
Landlords do on occasion allow tenants to return to the property to make good any damage or cleaning. This is dependant on when the tenant requests to return and when any new tenant is due to move into the property. Some landlords do not allow tenants to return particularly where the works are excessive or where the landlord feels the tenants conduct throughout the tenancy has not been satisfactory. Again and more importantly - all tenants have the right to go to the TDS or whoever their depo....
Aug 03,2015
Minithumbup
By:
Aug 03,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Sherlock Homes deliver a very good service to us. We are happy to continue working with Caroline and the team in Chorlton. Good luck with the business for many years to come....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 14,2015
Minithumbup
By:
Jul 14,2015
0 people found
this helpful
As a landlord I have used Sherlock Homes as my letting agents since I bought my property, over 10 years ago. I have nothing but praise for the way they carry out their business. they are extremely professional & courteous. Being a landlord can be very stressful having to handle the problems associated with replacing tenants, looking after repairs & ensuring the property is maintained in a good manner (not to mention the importance of ensuring the maximum rent is received and in a timely ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
very happy with their fee - they certainly earned it
Was this helpful? Yes
Jun 30,2015
Minithumbdown
By:
Jun 30,2015
1 people found
this helpful
When we read these negative reviews, we think it's not going to happen to us. As per my issues when moved in, reported here on 26/10/2014, I now face issues moving out. The same issues reported here by other people when leaving. When you move in, you get the flat in a condition which you think it's the standard. (Ex.:The kitchen ceiling and cupboards had a thick layer of grease which I cleaned) The exit inspection though will be very detailed and thorough. They will try to push every little t...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Inflated, incoherent.
Comment on agent fees
Inflated, incoherent.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Jul 03, 2015
View all comments (1)
Dear tenant, Please kindly provide confirmation of your name and property so that your complaint may be addressed. You are provided with an inventory at the commencement of your tenancy which confirms the condition of the property. You are then able to update the condition of the property if you disagree with the contents. it is the tenants responsibility to ensure that the property is left in a clean and tidy condition at the end of the tenancy. Should the tenant not leave the property cle....
May 06,2015
Minithumbup
By:
May 06,2015
1 people found
this helpful
Caroline was most helpful and patient with even the most basic of our queries, and we had a lot of those since we were first time renters in the UK. She accurately answered all our questions, and the agency was flexible enough to suit our needs. We moved in on the same day the previous tenants moved out, and it was all arranged and executed without a hitch. Caroline has been specially helpful in arranging to sort out a couple of niggles in the flat, and is really responsive and has a positive c...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 15,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Nov 15,2014
0 people found
this helpful
In the market for accommodation, I was shown a flat in the course of an arranged viewing. This flat, while to my liking turned out, through a miscommunication to have been already let. The estate agent who had shown me the flat in question went out of his way to find and show me another flat (at the time vacant but still in the process of being made fit and available for occupation). Upon verification of my interest in it, both he and the rest of the (office) staff at the Beech Road Sherlock Hom...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 31,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Oct 31,2014
2 people found
this helpful
I was looking to let my house out and I had a few of the local agents round but caroline from Sherlock homes was by far the most helpful and knowledgeable def recommend to friends...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 26,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Oct 26,2014
1 people found
this helpful
The only good thing I can say is staff responsiveness. Although I had to wait 50 minutes after the agreed time for viewing. I have an excellent credit history, permanent job in IT but still had to provide guarantor. Had to pay 6 months in advance because I didn't have one. Maintenance wasn't done in time and what was agreed to be done seemed rather a favour not an obligation. I hope they see this and will know who I am straight away....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 28,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Sep 28,2014
0 people found
this helpful
Incredibly helpful and supportive throughout the process of helping us identify the right let and gaining the references. We needed to be able to move in quickly, and Stacey did everything she could to get the right information collated and then submitted in time. And the whole team in the office feel as though they work together to help the customer...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
The fees seemed very reasonable bearing in mind the quality of support we received organising the letting and the quality of the information pack about the property.
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 01,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Jul 01,2014
0 people found
this helpful
The apartment I rented from Sherlock homes developed an unsuable en-suite due to water leakage that went bad. On reporting this to the agents, they followed it up with the landlord. However, the property is managed by a debt management company and they had to forward the issue to their insurers. The whole issue took 6 months to resolve. At every stage, Lora provided timely updates. If it wasn't for Lora's commitment and dedication along with Sherlock homes's patience, I wouldn't have continu...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jun 22,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Jun 22,2014
0 people found
this helpful
I have been renting a property from Sherlock Homes for around 7 years now and I really cannot fault their willingness to help out and put things right if needed. Whenever I have had to call them they have been very quick at getting back in touch with me to either gather more information or to let me know that it will be sorted out. To give you an example.... This morning I noticed one of the pipes were leaking in the bathroom to the extent that I had to turn off the water. I sent an em...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 19,2014
Minithumbup
By:
May 19,2014
4 people found
this helpful
Caroline advised me on 12th May that my tenant was leaving at the end of May. To her credit, she had a tenant organised by 16th May to take up residence from the start of June. This is the most efficient service I have received as a landlord since 2003. Well done Caroline!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 12,2014
Minithumbup
By:
May 12,2014
1 people found
this helpful
The service that I have received from Sherlock Homes 4U over the past couple of years has been excellent. In the past I have found estate agents to be difficult, unhelpful and bad at communication, but dealing with the staff at Sherlock Homes has been a breath of fresh air and a pleasure. If I need something fixed for example, their response is very fast both in terms of response to emails and also having the work carried out. I cannot fault them on anything. Caroline, Emma, Lora and Adam have ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 12,2014
Minithumbup
By:
May 12,2014
0 people found
this helpful
When I first moved into the property, there were issues in the bedrooms regarding damp resulting from a leak in the roof. I have been in the property for almost 2 years and the problem has only just been fully resolved. The people I initially dealt with were not very helpful and only made any effort to get the problem sorted when I went into the office in person and showed pictures (January 2013). However, in the past few months I have dealt with Helen Armstrong (I hadn\'t previously) and th...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 05,2014
Minithumbup
By:
May 05,2014
5 people found
this helpful
I have been dealing with Sherlock Homes for more than eight years now. They let and manage a number of apartments which I have in Manchester. I have always found the team at Sherlock Homes to be very helpful and always replied quickly to any queries I might have had about my properties. I consistently received the monthly statement on time at the end of every month and the rent collected was always lodged into my bank account at the time the statements were issued. I found the staff would alwa...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 02,2014
Minithumbup
By:
May 02,2014
5 people found
this helpful
The staff at Sherlock Homes were by far the friendliest and most professional of all the estate agents we met when searching for our rental home. They were never pushy and never pressured us to take a property. Instead, they recommended we take our time and look at a number of properties before making any offers or applications. We worked with 4 different agents from this company, and they were all very helpful providing us with sound advice when considering each property we viewed. When the tim...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 01,2014
Minithumbup
By:
May 01,2014
7 people found
this helpful
Used Sherlock Homes to look at several properties in the area we required - as their office is in the middle of the area. From the outset the whole team were relaxed and friendly. Caroline was the agent who has shown us 3 properties and myself and my partner found her to be proffessional but also straight talking, honest and, important for us, made the viewings fun. Kind of changed my view of Estate Agents if I\'m being honest. A pleasure to deal with. Certainly will recommend to friends....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 30,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Apr 30,2014
4 people found
this helpful
I have been a tenant with Sherlock Homes for 5 years. I have always had a speedy response to any repairs required. Last year I had a difficult time with the property management which Helen of Sherlock Homes helped me with. Helen was always extremly professional while remaining friendly. Helen was very understanding of my personal circumstances and at no point made me feel like \'just another tenant\'. Most importantly Helen and the team at Shelock manage to get the situation resolved with littl...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 01,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Apr 01,2014
3 people found
this helpful
The property I\'m living in is a fairly large one bedroom flat and for the last year it\'s been a decent place to live in with no major issues. Sherlock Homes (the estate agent) have always been very quick to respond to repair any minor faults that have occurred in the property I\'m living in. But soon after the new year, I began to have a few major and serious problems with the entrance such as the front door not closing securely and worse, the ceiling had collapsed due to due a leak in the...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 26,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Mar 26,2014
4 people found
this helpful
The very worst customer service experience that I have ever had. This company will actively try and keep your deposit from you. Not only that but when we handed in our leaving notice, they lost it and wrote to us claiming we owed them rent. We physically handed it to them and they denied we received it. While we were living in the flat we rented, they told us the landlord wanted to visit in an hour. We told them it wasn\'t convenient and it required 24 hours notice. They then made up a lie...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: angrybird
Apr 09, 2015
View all comments (7)
Paul D i believe everything you have stated as we have been through the same.....
Mar 04,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Mar 04,2014
2 people found
this helpful
you rent a property for 6 months - the property is not in an excellent state - its just ok. On leaving the property after 6 months (in a better state than I received it) yes, you guessed it they found some dirt and some marks on the walls. They made a deduction for this from my deposit monies. Now try to get your deposit back - well - here we go. You phone Lora, the manager, she wont speak to you, you phone again, she wont speak to you. I eventually speak to a guy who is equally disgusted with ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: sherlock homes
Mar 18, 2014
View all comments (1)
Dear Andy, We are sorry that you feel you have had cause to complain. We note your comments on this website but you have made no reference to which property you are referring to. Please would you kindly contact us at homes@sherlockhomes4u.com and confirm your full name and to which address you are referring to so that we may look into this matter further. Clearly as agent we do not benefit or profit from the tenants deposit. Any deductions from a tenants deposit are transferred to the landl....
Feb 20,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Feb 20,2014
2 people found
this helpful
I have just completed a property sale through Sherlock homes and it was a stress free operation. They kept me informed every step of the way and their customer service was second to none. Prior to this, I let the property through them and never had a problem. I have found them obliging in every respect and would not hesitate in recommending them....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 07,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Feb 07,2014
1 people found
this helpful
''They charged me 'for' pre-existing damage to the property. They don\'t listen or care about their customers. Their dealing with me on exit was unhelpful, rude and disrespectful. Keep away....
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
By being honest and learning the basics on communicating and dealing with customers
Was this helpful? Yes
By: sherlock homes
Mar 18, 2014
View all comments (1)
Dear Tenant, We are sorry to hear your complaint. Please kindly email homes@sherlockhomes4u.com with your name and the property you are referring to so that we may look into this matter further. Tenants are given inventories at the commencement of the tenancy for them to check and sign in agreement with the contents They do have at this time the opportunity to make any amendments to the inventory to highlight anything they believe the inventory clerk may have missed. A copy of the inventory ....
Sep 10,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Sep 10,2013
6 people found
this helpful
Second-worst letting agent I\'ve ever dealt with. My wife and I are already sick of dealing with them, and we\'ve only been here a month. Emailing them is worthless - you won\'t get a meaningful reply - though obviously they insist you do it so they have a written copy of your correspondence. They asked for endless documentation before renting, vastly more than any other landlord I\'ve ever known, and when they wanted more, they didn\'t bother to tell us. When we contacted them, we received f...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
At this point, there is nothing they could do to change my mind. Once a company has proven itself untrustworthy - a company, not simply a single agent - what reason does a customer have to trust them again? And the number of people we have dealt with at SherlockHomes4U who have demonstrated a complete absence of both professionalism and even basic competence suggests that apathy regarding tenants\' concerns is endemic.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: DLS
Sep 27, 2013
View all comments (1)
Update: Sherlock Homes demanded a huge increase to the rent to fit the boiler which we were told, initially, was fitted in the property. Furthermore: We now have written evidence that our Deposit wasn't placed into a Tenancy Deposit Scheme (as they had previously claimed, repeatedly and in writing) until six weeks after the start of the tenancy. If you are stupid enough to go to this company, make sure you demand your Tenancy Code (repeatedly, and citing Section 213 of the Housing Act 2004) a....
Sep 08,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Sep 08,2013
2 people found
this helpful
This agency lacks any sort of professionalism and/or competence. Starting off with poor communication, no replies to emails, but all smiles and yes-yes when you go there directly, however, nothing ever happens. First, they ask for endless documents, and a UK guarantor, if one fails to provide one (as it is my case), you are asked to pay the 6 or 12 months in advance, and not just the first time, but every single time you renew! Three months ago, I first reported a plumbing problem, a mont...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Simply, they should take care of their customers, and not view them as solely a source of money
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 19,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Aug 19,2013
2 people found
this helpful
Terrible customer service. Will definitely not be viewing properties with this agency again. Arranged a viewing with agency. They failed to show up despite another couple also coming to the viewing. The other prospective customers phoned up to find out where the agent was and were told that the property has been sold. This is fair enough but why did they not bother to inform us. When they were questioned about this on the phone, instead of apologising, they put the phone down. I woul...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: sherlock homes
Mar 04, 2016
View all comments (1)
please confirm the property you were to view so that we may see which viewing agent was responsible for not arriving to your appointment. We apologise for any inconvenience suffered.....
Areas covered



Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
6 0 11 16 1 0 1 0 0 1

Job vacancies

Please see a list of jobs available

Agent Fees

No fees set.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure available.
jonathan welford - upload your photo jonathan welford
2 reviews

About jonathan No description set View full profile
helen armstrong - upload your photo helen armstrong
4 reviews

About helen No description set View full profile
James Sharples - upload your photo James Sharples
1 reviews

About James No description set View full profile
Kirstie Donovan - upload your photo Kirstie Donovan
1 reviews

About Kirstie No description set View full profile
Port Talbot WEST GLAMORGAN - upload your photo Port Talbot WEST GLAMORGAN
1 reviews

About Port Talbot No description set View full profile
dan woodbridge - upload your photo dan woodbridge
1 reviews

About dan No description set View full profile
Lora  - upload your photo Lora
6 reviews

About Lora No description set View full profile
Caroline Jones - no image available Caroline Jones
Sales negotiator
11 reviews

About Caroline No description set View full profile
Stacey Wilding - no image available Stacey Wilding
Negotiator
1 reviews

About Stacey No comment View full profile
Matthew Jones - no image available Matthew Jones
Negotiator
0 reviews

About Matthew No Comment View full profile
Rachel Chatwood-Platt - no image available Rachel Chatwood-Platt
Administrator
0 reviews

About Rachel No description set View full profile
Laura Simpson - upload your photo Laura Simpson
3 reviews

About Laura No description set View full profile

Opening hours



Find the Best Agent to
Buy, Sell or Rent Property