• Staff picture
    Tony
  • upload your photo
    Helen
  • upload your photo
    Hamza
  • Staff picture
    Paul
  • Staff picture
    James
We are a family run business established since the 90's. We have had great success and overcome issues of the past. With a fresh new team and outlook for 2017 we aim to provide great customer service and experience for our clients and welcome them in to the new Sherlock Family.
Sherlock Homes Estate Agents

58 Beech Road
Chorlton-cum-Hardy,Manchester
Greater Manchester
M21 9EG
01618818228

Website not available

Properties for Sale
Properties to Rent

“Great !...”

Nov 14,2018
Minithumbup
James
By: 'Adam'
Nov 14,2018
0 people found
this helpful
James was really great at sorting everything out for our house move. Would recommend him and his team at Sherlock homes....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
James was really great at sorting everything out for our house move. Would recommend!
Was this helpful? Yes

“Excellent service from James...”

Oct 08,2018
Minithumbup
James
By: 'Pauljohn4'
Oct 08,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Worked hard to get us into the property we wanted when we wanted. Stayed late to give us the keys on the agreed day. Very friendly and approachable....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Standard
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Katherine Sparke
Oct 14, 2018
View all comments (1)
We had such a great experience with James!! He was quick to respond and always kept us updated. He made the experience beyond smooth and always went out of his way to explain things. Because of him I will definitely be returning in the future! ...

“Excellent service...”

Oct 02,2018
Minithumbup
James
By: 'Dave Hartley'
Oct 02,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Brilliant service, prompt and professional. Built good rapport and went over and above by staying late to get things signed so we could get the keys early. Fully recommend sherlock homes after this experience....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Similar to market value
Was this helpful? Yes

“Excellent customer service...”

Oct 02,2018
Minithumbup
James
Tony
By: 'Amy'
Oct 02,2018
0 people found
this helpful
James was really friendly and very sympathetic to our stressful situation, we had less than two weeks to find somewhere to live and both James and Tony made the experience as stress free as possible. James answered all of our questions and gave a much ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
expensive
Was this helpful? Yes

“First Rate Service...”

Sep 21,2018
Minithumbup
Tony
James
By: 'Oli'
Sep 21,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Being new this I was relived and equally thrilled to have someone like Tony dealing with my property. From day one he knew how to improve things and gave me so much advice that helped. Friendly, professional and clearly very good at what he does. ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
All very reasonable for the high level of service and professionalism provided
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Tony e'Silva
Oct 02, 2018
View all comments (1)
Hi Oli, Thank you for taking the time to leave this great review! All the best. Regards, Tony ...

“Helpful...”

Sep 05,2018
Minithumbup
James
Hamza
By: 'James C'
Sep 05,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Dealt with James on a recent property rent. Found him to be polite, knowledgeable and quick to communicate with us....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Fees a little steep, but similar to others Agents.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Happy with my new flat...”

Aug 31,2018
Minithumbup
Hamza
James
By: 'Sai M'
Aug 31,2018
0 people found
this helpful
I've had a really positive experience with the agency. Everyone I have spoken with has been really nice, even from the first phone call. I was a little nervous anxious about the whole process of finding a flat since the market moves really quickly. ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
I think the fees were expensive. I don't believe agents should pass the cost of arranging tenancy onto tenants at all...
Was this helpful? Yes

“Excellent service...”

Aug 28,2018
Minithumbup
Tony
By: 'S Hodson'
Aug 28,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Tony was excellent in assisting my move which was quite a complex situation however he was always helpful and willing to assist and made the move very easy. Thanks very much for this great service....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Tony e'Silva
Aug 29, 2018
View all comments (1)
Hi Miss Hodson, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Regards, Sherlock Homes ...

“Fast, Efficient Service....”

May 30,2018
Minithumbup
Hamza
Tony
By: 'Laura M Landlord'
May 30,2018
0 people found
this helpful
I can't recommend these guys highly enough. They were superb to deal with. Great communication throughout. Went above and beyond with little things like giving the keys to tradesmen etc. and they found me fabulous tenants. All the staff at the office are considerate ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
The same rates as most agents, but more for your money
Attachments

Was this helpful? Yes
By: Tony
May 31, 2018
View all comments (1)
Dear Laura, Thank you for you comments, its always good to get good reviews for our hard work. Regards, Sherlock Homes ...

“Review by a landlord...”

May 24,2018
Minithumbup
Tony
Hamza
By: 'Beech Road landlord'
May 24,2018
0 people found
this helpful
I was using a rival Estate Agents to find new tenants but after waiting for viewings to materialise, thought I'd try Sherlock Homes instead. I'm glad I did :) I found Tony to be polite and professional, he arrived at the property and immediately ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Are standard
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Tony e'Silva
May 25, 2018
View all comments (1)
Dear Landlord, Many thank for taking the time to leave this review. This shows the importance in good marketing! We looking forward to any repeat business. Regards, Tony ...

“113A Beech Road...”

Apr 18,2018
Minithumbup
Tony
By: 'Fiona savage'
Apr 18,2018
0 people found
this helpful
I found Tony and the team extremely helpful. They kept me up to date through out the process with telephone calls and email...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Service excellence...”

Apr 16,2018
Minithumbup
Tony
By: 'S Bolton'
Apr 16,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Excellent service and many thanks to Tony and his team for the support and quick response in letting my property....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Good
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Tony
Apr 18, 2018
View all comments (1)
Thank you Mrs Bolton, happy to help as always. ...
Feb 27,2018
Minithumbup
Hamza
By: 'Mo'
Feb 27,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Fairly better than other staff. Helpful in responding to my queries, but was unable to respond to all the queries for example where in the property the communal TV system is located....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Bad (too much)
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 07,2018
Minithumbdown
Tony
By: 'Chorlton Tenant'
Feb 07,2018
2 people found
this helpful
Antonio e'Silva is a Highly manipulative and dishonest individual. You can see this yourself by the fact that he has applied all his fake reviews from a previous firm in London to the firm of Sherlock Homes in Manchester, where within 7 Days of taking ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
no comment
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Tony
Feb 13, 2018
View all comments (1)
Dear sir, Firstly, this is a national review site - naturally if I change company or location it will change on this site. Secondly, as stated before, your rent had increased twice in the last 12 years, once in August 2016 and now for the second time in Feb 2018, I can see why you'd be disappointed as you have been used to lower rents for so long. The decision to increase your rent did not come from me, rather your landlord, I invite you into my office to see proof if you so wish. I ...
Nov 17,2017
Minithumbup
Helen
By: 'Lauren Hughes'
Nov 17,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Really thrilled with how quickly and painlessly a maintenance request was completed by Helen who explained clearly what the plan of action was to resolve the issue, both myself and the other tenant were very reassured and happy with the service....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Fees were pretty standard within the market
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 18,2017
Minithumbup
Hamza
By: 'Lena'
Sep 18,2017
1 people found
this helpful
Hamza was very nice when we went for the flat viewing then he was very professional and very responsive during the whole letting process! We really did appreciate his help!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 06,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'VickiD'
Sep 06,2017
1 people found
this helpful
Avoid, use only if no alternative available. The Repairs department is fine; they react promptly and well. The only annoying thing is that they require a detailed explanation for any broken switch while the switch in question is the cheapest model and designed to break ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
They charge maximum for evreything
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes Properties Limited
Sep 21, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear VickiD We are sorry to hear that you feel disgruntled with the administration charge. Sherlock Homes are transparent with the charges which are included on the website, in the office and on correspondence sent to tenants. We write to tenants acknowledging their notice to quit their tenancy, confirm the amount of rent due to the end of the tenancy and highlighting the importance of cancelling the standing order mandate. We confirm within this correspondence that on failure to cancel the ...
Jun 20,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'James'
Jun 20,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Rachael Hitchings - Lettings Manager at Sherlock Holmes was super efficient. She did everything she said she would do and more. I would recommend her to others...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Reasonable
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Jul 12, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear James, thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are always glad to hear that you are happy with the service you received and especially happy to hear that you feel we have gone above and beyond expectations, Warmest regards from the team at Sherlock Homes ...
Jun 04,2017
Minithumbup
Hamza
By: 'Caroline'
Jun 04,2017
1 people found
this helpful
I found Sherlock Homes professional and easy to deal with. Hamza in particular was really quick to respond and very helpful. The tenant fees were a little steep but they were very upfront and honest and confirmed the total before I had to pay anything, ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
A bit steep but nothing hidden
Was this helpful? Yes
May 11,2017
Minithumbup
Helen
By: 'Rachel'
May 11,2017
1 people found
this helpful
I have rented through Sherlock Homes for a number of years and always found their service to be very good. When ever I have needed to report a problem within my property their response time has always been prompt and I have been kept up ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Agents fees were reasonable and in line with what other agencies charged.
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 26,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Barros'
Apr 26,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I have always had excellent service from Sherlock Homes they are improving year on year . I am glad that I chose to use them several years ago...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 21,2017
Minithumbup
Helen
By: 'Eva'
Mar 21,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I like the way that I always being keep inform about what is happening and when things will be done....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
I have no comment
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 11,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'B'
Mar 11,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Sherlock Homes is a terrible letting agency. While our landlord let her property through them, they held our rent checks numerous times without giving the landlord the rent. They failed to communicate numerous visits in an adequate amount of time. When the landlord terminated her ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes Properties
Mar 30, 2017
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your comments within your review. It is unfortunate that given the matter was dealt with swiftly once you brought it to our attention, you chose to write a review of this nature. The contents of the review are not totally fair and do not reflect the important factors or indeed a true picture. The Deposit was protected at all times. Unfortunately, as you are aware this Deposit transfer to the Landlord was missed and was merely an oversight, which we believe was due to not holding in ...
Dec 12,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Craig'
Dec 12,2016
0 people found
this helpful
I finished with these lot about 18 months ago. Worst experience of my life and totally put me off renting, staff dont give a care in the world about anyone but themselves, money unfairly taken off my deposit and rest of deposit has not been returned 18 ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Bad
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Dec 20, 2016
View all comments (1)
Dear Craig, The agent does not profit or gain from deductions from your deposit. Any deductions are returned to your landlord for any damages to the property that may have occured during your tenancy or outstanding charges such as rent. Please refer to the terms of your tenancy in order to obtain any balance of your deposit that you believe is due to you. Should you have any questions or queries please kindly contact the Lettings Manager. ...
Feb 05,2016
Minithumbdown
Helen
By: 'Penny Less'
Feb 05,2016
3 people found
this helpful
Absolutely abysmal service. Having been pre - warned, I should never have gone through this agent, but didn't believe anyone in business could really be so blatant in the manner in which they tried to hold on to my deposit at the end of the ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Unable to comment as their fees, and their perception of what constitutes their fees, seem to be two different things.
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
Unable to comment as their fees, and their perception of what constitutes their fees, seem to be two different things.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Feb 29, 2016
View all comments (1)
it is unfortunately that your cheque went astray in the Royal Mail. We note that you are in receipt of the funds for your deposit. Deposits are protected as is legislation. The staff at Sherlock Homes and any other agent who protect tenants deposits have no control over your deposit ...
Jan 22,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'customer'
Jan 22,2016
1 people found
this helpful
Sherlock Homes have been the worst estate agent I have ever used. They are unprofessional and difficult to deal with. When I first moved into the apartment there were a number of issues and when I raised these they took over 4 months to complete - ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
The fees are standard but with regards to their service - they shouldn't charge anything.
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
The fees are standard but with regards to their service - they shouldn't charge anything.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Jan 26, 2016
View all comments (1)
Dear Customer, I am sorry that you feel you have had a poor service from our Repairs Department. Please would you email admin@sherlockhomes4u.com and confirm which member of staff failed to address your repairs request so that we may address this issue and likewise please confirm which member of staff you believe was unhelpful. I am informed that the Lettings Manager Laura has more recently liaised between yourself and your landlord concerning charges to your deposit and was able to reach an ag ...
Oct 12,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Angeline'
Oct 12,2015
1 people found
this helpful
Sherlock Holmes is the worst agency I have ever dealt with. They are are so unprofessional. The love collecting rent money that's all they care about. When you call or come to pay rent they are all smiling as soon as it's a repair issue ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Nov 30, 2015
View all comments (1)
Dear Angeline, Thank you for your comments. All tenants sign an inventory at the commencement of their tenancy agreeing to the condition of the property. This is then compared the Exit Inspection at the end of the tenancy once the tenants have vacated. The result of the report is then sent to the landlord so that they may advise what they wish to charge their tenants for. As agent we are limited on what we can and cannot do. We note your frustration however as agent we cannot spend a landl ...
Oct 08,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Derek Curry'
Oct 08,2015
0 people found
this helpful
I have dealt with Sherlock Homes for some nine years now, in that time I have found the staff to be polite, courteous and extremely professional. I have been through many lettings now and the experience I have had with Sherlock Homes is what one ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 30,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jones'
Sep 30,2015
2 people found
this helpful
There is simply nothing positive I can say about sherlock homes, the entire team are unhelpful and at times rude, they are simply money grabbing jobs worths and have no idea how to talk to clients and can clearly not run the company. When my ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Far too much needs improving but heres a few Better communication between staff and their tenants Actually providing evidence as to how and why you came to these decisions When tenents provide evidence that they have not done something (holes in the wall) instead of making up some reason why I isnt your staff maybe just fix the issue, considering you find it very diffcult to provide evidence yourselves Give the tenant chance to rectify the problems before they leave the property (although I have proof there wasn't anything to rectify) Instead of lying and saying what the tenant whats to hear i.e once youve sent this in we can send out your cheque, maybe explain there are futher issues that need to be dealt with this reduces the amount of times the tenant has to ring
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
Charged a ridiculous amount for admin fees when first entering the property Charged a further ridiculous amount when leaving the property without providing evidence as to why (toast crumbs on the side does not take ‚£260 pounds to clean!!!!!!)
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Nov 30, 2015
View all comments (2)
Landlords do on occasion allow tenants to return to the property to make good any damage or cleaning. This is dependant on when the tenant requests to return and when any new tenant is due to move into the property. Some landlords do not allow tenants to return particularly where the works are excessive or where the landlord feels the tenants conduct throughout the tenancy has not been satisfactory. Again and more importantly - all tenants have the right to go to the TDS or whoever their depo ...
Aug 03,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'M Whyte'
Aug 03,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Sherlock Homes deliver a very good service to us. We are happy to continue working with Caroline and the team in Chorlton. Good luck with the business for many years to come....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Areas covered
  • M21
  • M15
  • M16
  • Altrincham
  • M20
  • South Manchester
  • M19
  • M32
  • M45
  • M33
  • M28
  • M14
  • SK8

NAEA NALS TDS


Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
13 0 24 20 1 0 1 0 0 1

Fees

No fees set.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure set.
Last updated at 11:08 AM 24/07/2017 by David Buckley
Staff picture Tony
(43)

No image available Helen
(7)

No image available Hamza
(7)

Staff picture Paul
(0)

Staff picture James
(7)

Opening hours





.
As Seen On

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home