• claim your profile
    Helen Armstrong
  • Tony e'Silva
    Tony e'Silva
  • claim your profile
    Rachael Hitchings
  • upload your photo
    Claire Davies
  • upload your photo
    Rachael Hitchings
  • upload your photo
    Hamza Iqbal
  • upload your photo
    David Buckley
  • upload your photo
    Paul Jenkins
We are a family run business established since the 90's. We have had great success and overcome issues of the past. With a fresh new team and outlook for 2017 we aim to provide great customer service and experience for our clients and welcome them in to the new Sherlock Family.

58 Beech Road
Chorlton-cum-Hardy,Manchester
Greater Manchester
M21 9EG
01618818228

 
Website not available Properties for sale
Properties for rent
Nov 17,2017
Minithumbup
Helen Armstrong
By: 'Lauren Hughes'
Nov 17,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Really thrilled with how quickly and painlessly a maintenance request was completed by Helen who explained clearly what the plan of action was to resolve the issue, both myself and the other tenant were very reassured and happy with the service....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Fees were pretty standard within the market
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 18,2017
Minithumbup
Hamza Iqbal
By: 'Lena'
Sep 18,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Hamza was very nice when we went for the flat viewing then he was very professional and very responsive during the whole letting process! We really did appreciate his help!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 06,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'VickiD'
Sep 06,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Avoid, use only if no alternative available. The Repairs department is fine; they react promptly and well. The only annoying thing is that they require a detailed explanation for any broken switch while the switch in question is the cheapest model and designed to break quickly during normal use. The Letting department is something from Engels description of the worst possible capitalism. I forgot to cancel my Standing Order, and they charge £45 for returning what's left of my money - no ot...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
They charge maximum for evreything
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes Properties Limited
Sep 21, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear VickiD We are sorry to hear that you feel disgruntled with the administration charge. Sherlock Homes are transparent with the charges which are included on the website, in the office and on correspondence sent to tenants. We write to tenants acknowledging their notice to quit their tenancy, confirm the amount of rent due to the end of the tenancy and highlighting the importance of cancelling the standing order mandate. We confirm within this correspondence that on failure to cancel the ...
Jun 20,2017
Minithumbup
Rachael Hitchings
By: 'James'
Jun 20,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Rachael Hitchings - Lettings Manager at Sherlock Holmes was super efficient. She did everything she said she would do and more. I would recommend her to others...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Reasonable
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Jul 12, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear James, thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are always glad to hear that you are happy with the service you received and especially happy to hear that you feel we have gone above and beyond expectations, Warmest regards from the team at Sherlock Homes ...
Jun 04,2017
Minithumbup
Hamza Iqbal
By: 'Caroline'
Jun 04,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I found Sherlock Homes professional and easy to deal with. Hamza in particular was really quick to respond and very helpful. The tenant fees were a little steep but they were very upfront and honest and confirmed the total before I had to pay anything, so nothing was hidden. All in all a positive experience....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
A bit steep but nothing hidden
Was this helpful? Yes
May 11,2017
Minithumbup
Helen Armstrong
By: 'Rachel'
May 11,2017
1 people found
this helpful
I have rented through Sherlock Homes for a number of years and always found their service to be very good. When ever I have needed to report a problem within my property their response time has always been prompt and I have been kept up to date with everything and at what stage they were at with it. The moving in process was swift and the renewal process was not complicated unlike some agencies. Would recommend this agency....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Agents fees were reasonable and in line with what other agencies charged.
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 26,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Barros'
Apr 26,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I have always had excellent service from Sherlock Homes they are improving year on year . I am glad that I chose to use them several years ago...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 21,2017
Minithumbup
Helen Armstrong
By: 'Eva'
Mar 21,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I like the way that I always being keep inform about what is happening and when things will be done....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
I have no comment
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 11,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'B'
Mar 11,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Sherlock Homes is a terrible letting agency. While our landlord let her property through them, they held our rent checks numerous times without giving the landlord the rent. They failed to communicate numerous visits in an adequate amount of time. When the landlord terminated her contract with Sherlock Homes, they refused to turn over the deposit to the landlord. We are now going on 7 months without a release to the landlord of our deposit, despite ongoing communications and documented efforts....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes Properties
Mar 30, 2017
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your comments within your review. It is unfortunate that given the matter was dealt with swiftly once you brought it to our attention, you chose to write a review of this nature. The contents of the review are not totally fair and do not reflect the important factors or indeed a true picture. The Deposit was protected at all times. Unfortunately, as you are aware this Deposit transfer to the Landlord was missed and was merely an oversight, which we believe was due to not holding in ...
Dec 12,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Craig'
Dec 12,2016
0 people found
this helpful
I finished with these lot about 18 months ago. Worst experience of my life and totally put me off renting, staff dont give a care in the world about anyone but themselves, money unfairly taken off my deposit and rest of deposit has not been returned 18 months later!!! CON ARTISTS AVOID!!...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Bad
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Dec 20, 2016
View all comments (1)
Dear Craig, The agent does not profit or gain from deductions from your deposit. Any deductions are returned to your landlord for any damages to the property that may have occured during your tenancy or outstanding charges such as rent. Please refer to the terms of your tenancy in order to obtain any balance of your deposit that you believe is due to you. Should you have any questions or queries please kindly contact the Lettings Manager. ...
Feb 05,2016
Minithumbdown
Helen Armstrong
By: 'Penny Less'
Feb 05,2016
3 people found
this helpful
Absolutely abysmal service. Having been pre - warned, I should never have gone through this agent, but didn't believe anyone in business could really be so blatant in the manner in which they tried to hold on to my deposit at the end of the tenancy. The Tenancy Deposit Scheme have even mediated, and awarded in my favour, yet cheques issued by Sherlock have a strange habit of escaping the Royal Mail. So much so that I've now been told that the next attempt will have 2 stamps on the envelope! I wa...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Unable to comment as their fees, and their perception of what constitutes their fees, seem to be two different things.
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
Unable to comment as their fees, and their perception of what constitutes their fees, seem to be two different things.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Feb 29, 2016
View all comments (1)
it is unfortunately that your cheque went astray in the Royal Mail. We note that you are in receipt of the funds for your deposit. Deposits are protected as is legislation. The staff at Sherlock Homes and any other agent who protect tenants deposits have no control over your deposit ...
Jan 22,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'customer'
Jan 22,2016
1 people found
this helpful
Sherlock Homes have been the worst estate agent I have ever used. They are unprofessional and difficult to deal with. When I first moved into the apartment there were a number of issues and when I raised these they took over 4 months to complete - although the work done was terrible. Some jobs were never completed - such as a new post box and I never received a post key. The staff in the branch are rude, and take at least a week to respond. Every time I have contacted them I have to phone back a...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
The fees are standard but with regards to their service - they shouldn't charge anything.
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
The fees are standard but with regards to their service - they shouldn't charge anything.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Jan 26, 2016
View all comments (1)
Dear Customer, I am sorry that you feel you have had a poor service from our Repairs Department. Please would you email admin@sherlockhomes4u.com and confirm which member of staff failed to address your repairs request so that we may address this issue and likewise please confirm which member of staff you believe was unhelpful. I am informed that the Lettings Manager Laura has more recently liaised between yourself and your landlord concerning charges to your deposit and was able to reach an ag ...
Oct 12,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Angeline'
Oct 12,2015
1 people found
this helpful
Sherlock Holmes is the worst agency I have ever dealt with. They are are so unprofessional. The love collecting rent money that's all they care about. When you call or come to pay rent they are all smiling as soon as it's a repair issue or a request regarding something they do not like to help whatsoever. When I first moved into this property it was dirty and full of dust they did not make an effort to clean the flat. I have been asking for a sofa to get replaced for one full year now. After 8 ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Nov 30, 2015
View all comments (1)
Dear Angeline, Thank you for your comments. All tenants sign an inventory at the commencement of their tenancy agreeing to the condition of the property. This is then compared the Exit Inspection at the end of the tenancy once the tenants have vacated. The result of the report is then sent to the landlord so that they may advise what they wish to charge their tenants for. As agent we are limited on what we can and cannot do. We note your frustration however as agent we cannot spend a landl ...
Oct 08,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Derek Curry'
Oct 08,2015
0 people found
this helpful
I have dealt with Sherlock Homes for some nine years now, in that time I have found the staff to be polite, courteous and extremely professional. I have been through many lettings now and the experience I have had with Sherlock Homes is what one would call seamless. They find a tenant, issue the paperwork, check references, collect the deposit/rent and it arrives in the bank account same time every month. Sherlock Homes relieve the Landlord of the stress and hassle that goes with letting or main...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 30,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jones'
Sep 30,2015
2 people found
this helpful
There is simply nothing positive I can say about sherlock homes, the entire team are unhelpful and at times rude, they are simply money grabbing jobs worths and have no idea how to talk to clients and can clearly not run the company. When my cousin and I first moved into the property it had not been cleaned and was full of damp and mould hiding behind the furnishings, when this as explained to Sherlock Homes and it took them 9 months to even come and assess the situation! When assessed it to...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Far too much needs improving but heres a few Better communication between staff and their tenants Actually providing evidence as to how and why you came to these decisions When tenents provide evidence that they have not done something (holes in the wall) instead of making up some reason why I isnt your staff maybe just fix the issue, considering you find it very diffcult to provide evidence yourselves Give the tenant chance to rectify the problems before they leave the property (although I have proof there wasn't anything to rectify) Instead of lying and saying what the tenant whats to hear i.e once youve sent this in we can send out your cheque, maybe explain there are futher issues that need to be dealt with this reduces the amount of times the tenant has to ring
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
Charged a ridiculous amount for admin fees when first entering the property Charged a further ridiculous amount when leaving the property without providing evidence as to why (toast crumbs on the side does not take ‚£260 pounds to clean!!!!!!)
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Nov 30, 2015
View all comments (2)
Landlords do on occasion allow tenants to return to the property to make good any damage or cleaning. This is dependant on when the tenant requests to return and when any new tenant is due to move into the property. Some landlords do not allow tenants to return particularly where the works are excessive or where the landlord feels the tenants conduct throughout the tenancy has not been satisfactory. Again and more importantly - all tenants have the right to go to the TDS or whoever their depo ...
Aug 03,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'M Whyte'
Aug 03,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Sherlock Homes deliver a very good service to us. We are happy to continue working with Caroline and the team in Chorlton. Good luck with the business for many years to come....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 14,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Pat O'Sullivan'
Jul 14,2015
0 people found
this helpful
As a landlord I have used Sherlock Homes as my letting agents since I bought my property, over 10 years ago. I have nothing but praise for the way they carry out their business. they are extremely professional & courteous. Being a landlord can be very stressful having to handle the problems associated with replacing tenants, looking after repairs & ensuring the property is maintained in a good manner (not to mention the importance of ensuring the maximum rent is received and in a timely ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
very happy with their fee - they certainly earned it
Was this helpful? Yes
Jun 30,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Humiliated'
Jun 30,2015
1 people found
this helpful
When we read these negative reviews, we think it's not going to happen to us. As per my issues when moved in, reported here on 26/10/2014, I now face issues moving out. The same issues reported here by other people when leaving. When you move in, you get the flat in a condition which you think it's the standard. (Ex.:The kitchen ceiling and cupboards had a thick layer of grease which I cleaned) The exit inspection though will be very detailed and thorough. They will try to push every little t...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Inflated, incoherent.
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
Inflated, incoherent.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sherlock Homes
Jul 03, 2015
View all comments (1)
Dear tenant, Please kindly provide confirmation of your name and property so that your complaint may be addressed. You are provided with an inventory at the commencement of your tenancy which confirms the condition of the property. You are then able to update the condition of the property if you disagree with the contents. it is the tenants responsibility to ensure that the property is left in a clean and tidy condition at the end of the tenancy. Should the tenant not leave the property cle ...
May 06,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Vineet'
May 06,2015
1 people found
this helpful
Caroline was most helpful and patient with even the most basic of our queries, and we had a lot of those since we were first time renters in the UK. She accurately answered all our questions, and the agency was flexible enough to suit our needs. We moved in on the same day the previous tenants moved out, and it was all arranged and executed without a hitch. Caroline has been specially helpful in arranging to sort out a couple of niggles in the flat, and is really responsive and has a positive c...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 15,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'MiJKa'
Nov 15,2014
0 people found
this helpful
In the market for accommodation, I was shown a flat in the course of an arranged viewing. This flat, while to my liking turned out, through a miscommunication to have been already let. The estate agent who had shown me the flat in question went out of his way to find and show me another flat (at the time vacant but still in the process of being made fit and available for occupation). Upon verification of my interest in it, both he and the rest of the (office) staff at the Beech Road Sherlock Hom...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 31,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'nke'
Oct 31,2014
2 people found
this helpful
I was looking to let my house out and I had a few of the local agents round but caroline from Sherlock homes was by far the most helpful and knowledgeable def recommend to friends...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 26,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Humiliated'
Oct 26,2014
1 people found
this helpful
The only good thing I can say is staff responsiveness. Although I had to wait 50 minutes after the agreed time for viewing. I have an excellent credit history, permanent job in IT but still had to provide guarantor. Had to pay 6 months in advance because I didn't have one. Maintenance wasn't done in time and what was agreed to be done seemed rather a favour not an obligation. I hope they see this and will know who I am straight away....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 28,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'RH'
Sep 28,2014
0 people found
this helpful
Incredibly helpful and supportive throughout the process of helping us identify the right let and gaining the references. We needed to be able to move in quickly, and Stacey did everything she could to get the right information collated and then submitted in time. And the whole team in the office feel as though they work together to help the customer...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
The fees seemed very reasonable bearing in mind the quality of support we received organising the letting and the quality of the information pack about the property.
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 01,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Sri Sarma'
Jul 01,2014
0 people found
this helpful
The apartment I rented from Sherlock homes developed an unsuable en-suite due to water leakage that went bad. On reporting this to the agents, they followed it up with the landlord. However, the property is managed by a debt management company and they had to forward the issue to their insurers. The whole issue took 6 months to resolve. At every stage, Lora provided timely updates. If it wasn't for Lora's commitment and dedication along with Sherlock homes's patience, I wouldn't have continu...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jun 22,2014
Minithumbup
Helen Armstrong
By: 'Jason'
Jun 22,2014
0 people found
this helpful
I have been renting a property from Sherlock Homes for around 7 years now and I really cannot fault their willingness to help out and put things right if needed. Whenever I have had to call them they have been very quick at getting back in touch with me to either gather more information or to let me know that it will be sorted out. To give you an example.... This morning I noticed one of the pipes were leaking in the bathroom to the extent that I had to turn off the water. I sent an em...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 19,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Chris'
May 19,2014
4 people found
this helpful
Caroline advised me on 12th May that my tenant was leaving at the end of May. To her credit, she had a tenant organised by 16th May to take up residence from the start of June. This is the most efficient service I have received as a landlord since 2003. Well done Caroline!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 12,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'JD'
May 12,2014
1 people found
this helpful
The service that I have received from Sherlock Homes 4U over the past couple of years has been excellent. In the past I have found estate agents to be difficult, unhelpful and bad at communication, but dealing with the staff at Sherlock Homes has been a breath of fresh air and a pleasure. If I need something fixed for example, their response is very fast both in terms of response to emails and also having the work carried out. I cannot fault them on anything. Caroline, Emma, Lora and Adam have ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 12,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Damian'
May 12,2014
0 people found
this helpful
When I first moved into the property, there were issues in the bedrooms regarding damp resulting from a leak in the roof. I have been in the property for almost 2 years and the problem has only just been fully resolved. The people I initially dealt with were not very helpful and only made any effort to get the problem sorted when I went into the office in person and showed pictures (January 2013). However, in the past few months I have dealt with Helen Armstrong (I hadn\'t previously) and th...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 05,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Ray Gannon'
May 05,2014
5 people found
this helpful
I have been dealing with Sherlock Homes for more than eight years now. They let and manage a number of apartments which I have in Manchester. I have always found the team at Sherlock Homes to be very helpful and always replied quickly to any queries I might have had about my properties. I consistently received the monthly statement on time at the end of every month and the rent collected was always lodged into my bank account at the time the statements were issued. I found the staff would alwa...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 02,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'TC'
May 02,2014
5 people found
this helpful
The staff at Sherlock Homes were by far the friendliest and most professional of all the estate agents we met when searching for our rental home. They were never pushy and never pressured us to take a property. Instead, they recommended we take our time and look at a number of properties before making any offers or applications. We worked with 4 different agents from this company, and they were all very helpful providing us with sound advice when considering each property we viewed. When the tim...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Areas covered
  • M21
  • M15
  • M16
  • Altrincham
  • M20
  • South Manchester
  • M19
  • M32
  • M45
  • M33
  • M28
  • M14
  • SK8

NAEA NALS TDS


Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
8 0 16 19 1 0 1 0 0 1

Job vacancies

Please see a list of jobs available

Agent Fees

No fees set.
Last updated at 11:08 AM 24/07/2017 by David Buckley

Complaints Procedure

No procedure set.
Last updated at 11:08 AM 24/07/2017 by David Buckley

Awards won by Sherlock Homes Estate Agents

Individual Branch Awards

Manchester, M21 9EG

Helen Armstrong - upload your photo Helen Armstrong
7 reviews

About Helen No description set View full profile
Tony e'Silva Tony e'Silva
Area Valuations Manager
35 reviews

About Tony No description set View full profile
Rachael Hitchings - upload your photo Rachael Hitchings
0 reviews

About Rachael No description set View full profile
Claire Davies - no image available Claire Davies
0 reviews

About Claire No description set View full profile
Rachael Hitchings - no image available Rachael Hitchings
1 reviews

About Rachael No description set View full profile
Hamza Iqbal - no image available Hamza Iqbal
2 reviews

About Hamza No description set View full profile
David Buckley - no image available David Buckley
1 reviews

About David No description set View full profile
Paul Jenkins - no image available Paul Jenkins
0 reviews

About Paul No description set View full profile

Firm Widgets

My widgets

Opening hours




.

Find the Best Agent to
Buy, Sell or Rent Property