• Jenny Boyle
    Jenny Boyle
  • Lisa Royle
    Lisa Royle
  • Michaela Hewson
    Michaela Hewson
  • Catherine Salisbury
    Catherine Salisbury
  • Sarah Lynn
    Sarah Lynn
  • Helen Lee
    Helen Lee
  • claim your profile
    Lynn Hughes
  • upload your photo
    Michael Royle
  • claim your profile
    Michael Royle
  • Caroline Elvidge
    Caroline Elvidge
  • Nichola Wain
    Nichola Wain
  • Geraldine Marsden
    Geraldine Marsden
  • Kris Street
    Kris Street
  • Anna McDonald
    Anna McDonald
  • Richard Boyle
    Richard Boyle
  • Elizabeth Dickinson
    Elizabeth Dickinson
  • upload your photo
    Stephanie Lancaster
  • Rebecca Heselwood
    Rebecca Heselwood
  • Stephanie Hill
    Stephanie Hill
  • Matthew Seville
    Matthew Seville
  • Ian Hill
    Ian Hill
  • Sophie Tonge
    Sophie Tonge
  • Carmel Eveleigh
    Carmel Eveleigh
  • Sarah Plaatsman
    Sarah Plaatsman
  • Rachel Brettell
    Rachel Brettell
Ryder & Dutton offer a first class market leading service offering our clients total commitment and dedication. We believe that in order to sell your house effectively we must be highly motivated Read full description...Ryder & Dutton offer a first class market leading service offering our clients total commitment and dedication. We believe that in order to sell your house effectively we must be highly motivated and maintain exceptional levels of customer care
 
www.ryder-dutton.co.uk Properties for sale
Properties for rent
Aug 31,2017
Minithumbdown
Caroline Shaw
By: 'Dave'
Aug 31,2017
0 people found
this helpful
It is with great regret that I am having to give a very negative review, but unfortunately have no option. Selling your house is a very expensive thing to do and I wish I had cut my costs and used one of their online, cheaper, competitors. I mistakenly thought I would get support from Ryder & Dutton whilst selling my house, unfortunately this was not the case. There was very little interaction between myself and Ryder & Dutton throughout the whole sale process other than tweaking the...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
An extreme amount of money for doing very VERY little
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Michael Hodson
Sep 01, 2017
View all comments (1)
Hi David, Thank You for your feedback we do appreciate both positive and negative feedback with which we can improve our future service. We are sorry your experience has not been fully as you expected and can only apologise for this. On a more positive note and I believe down to Caroline's negotiations we did manage to achieve the asking price for you in the sale which I believe a cheaper online agent would not have been able to do. That said, I am very sorry your experience with us wa ...
Jun 08,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Disgrunteled'
Jun 08,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I recently rented a property via this office and can only describe it as extremely poor. Things started bad when the initial viewing was delayed as the agent was 10 mins late to the appointment. From there the situation deteriorated as I received no information as to the progress of my application , this was despite making several calls a day. I was promised I would be called back but heard nothing time after time and spent hour on the phone being passed from pillar to post....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
I am unsure what the fees were for and certainly cant see them being justified. I feel they have just mad money for doing nothing and have no washed their hands of it all.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Wendy Robertson
Jun 13, 2017
View all comments (1)
Good Afternoon I am really sorry that you were unhappy with our service as we do pride ourselves in trying to provide customer satisfaction. When arranging accompanied viewings we do try and keep to the appointed times but on occasions we can unfortunately be delayed. As you are aware prior to offering a tenancy we apply for credit checks and references and now have to undertake a right to rent check. On checking the application process it seems that there were a couple of issues that caused ...
May 24,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'thomas walker'
May 24,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I am struggling to decide whether *'s behaviour is dishonest or just utter ineptitude. The flat I exchanged on had unknown to myself had a water leak on the toilet which I was only told about on the day of completion. On inspecting the flat I noticed there was still a problem with the overflow on the toilet and there had been water damage to the plaster board boxing underneath. * advised me he would instruct a contractor to repair the toilet as it obviously had not been fixed properly the first ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Alex Fitton
May 30, 2017
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your review. Naturally we are disappointed that you feel that your initial complaint has not been dealt with efficiently. At Ryder & Dutton we pride ourselves on our customer service and it is always frustrating to hear that someone is not happy with us for any reason. I understand your complaint was passed to our contractor who has been in touch with you last week to resolve the issue. If you need to discuss this further please get in touch. ...
May 20,2017
Minithumbdown
Caroline ODea
By: 'Scarlett & Glenn'
May 20,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I am truly digusted in Ryder and duttons shocking customer service and lack of acknowledgment, service and maintanenence firstly they failed to contact me regarding the property I had applied for and paid 200 admin fees for them to follow up and keep in touch with me wich they failed to do so on many occasion after me taking time out to ring them continuously to try and find out what was going on regarding my property I finnally was told I had been accepted we then move in to the house and they ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Caroline O Dea
May 24, 2017
View all comments (1)
Good afternoon Scarlett and Glenn May I firstly express my sincere apologies that you feel this way , I pride myself on the customer service I provide and therefore was surprised to see this review. Whilst we try and assist all our tenants when moving into a property unfortunately we are unable to familiarize ourselves with the appliances in all our the properties under our management. However I am more than happy to address any problems you have and I have tried to contact you both this a ...
Feb 07,2017
Minithumbdown
Caroline ODea
By: 'P'
Feb 07,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I am a Landlord that gave this company notice that I was going to stop using them via a letter. They are denying receiving the letter and are trying to get another 3 months management fees from me. Having used this company for over 2 years they have shown little loyalty towards me. AVOID AT ALL COSTS....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Expensive, I have to chase them to carry out inspections on my property. Hence I am running it myself from now on.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Caroline O Dea
Feb 08, 2017
View all comments (1)
Good Morning I believe that my manager has been in touch with you and that this has now been discussed and resolved. ...
Aug 26,2015
Minithumbdown
Geraldine Marsden
By: 'Mr Chauhan'
Aug 26,2015
1 people found
this helpful
There is a valid reason why we have reviewed this service as terrible and we really do hope it gets published so others can see what level of service or lack of service Ryder and Dutton provide. The early stages of the purchase was fine but as the process started to enter the final stages, this is where the headache, stress and pressure was piled on to us by Ryder and Dutton. We received a call one morning from Ryder and Dutton and their first words were "The completion date is set to 1st S...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
The Agent could have been much more considerable and caring. We are currently living in a Premier Inn for 10 days with no contributions from Ryder and Dutton. Our contents has gone into a storage container for 10 days with no contributions from Ryder and Dutton. Throughout the process we have been expected to be the only ones being flexible, whilst the rest of the chain remain with their own roofs over their heads. Ryder and Dutton have bent over backwards from the chain above though as they have even gone to extents of asking us to move in on a Saturday regardless of completing on a Friday. We have been pushed to make sacrifice after sacrifice with no care considered at all.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 28,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Matthew Lopez'
Jul 28,2015
0 people found
this helpful
I persistently attempted to contact Holmfirth. First through Rightmove connection, then direct. I finally spoke to someone who advised me they were having trouble evicting the tenants even though a court and judge had given them a final date to be out. She also advised me that she had spoken to the landlord and had cleared the way to allow my 2 small yorkies to move with me. I was promised as soon as the property became free, I would be contacted to view it first. I received an email from a diff...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Extremely high. Changed from phone call to phonecall/agent to agent. ‚£50 pets disclaimer changed to ‚£100 extra on the deposit and then became both the disclaimer on top of the extra deposit. Final call was no pets allowed yet again!!! I give up!!!
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
Extremely high. Changed from phone call to phonecall/agent to agent. ‚£50 pets disclaimer changed to ‚£100 extra on the deposit and then became both the disclaimer on top of the extra deposit. Final call was no pets allowed yet again!!! I give up!!!
Was this helpful? Yes
Jun 10,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Brian'
Jun 10,2015
0 people found
this helpful
I was unimpressed. Commission fee was 5% of sale price - unheard of. Service extremely poor and took over 11 months to sell this property - that's staggering. Even in London the highest commission I've ever paid was 2.5% to Foxtons, and at least they did a good job. Most times I felt the agent thought they were working for the buyer, not me. This was especially true when it came to the buyer taking so much time to complete. The staggering 5% commission was not value for money and will certainly ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
as above
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: J Fielding
Jun 10, 2015
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your recent review. The market which we experience locally is very different to that of London, including the prices achieved and length of time it can take to achieve a sale, therefore fees can also be different to those charged by London agents. At a price of £50000, most local agents have a set minimum fee and the length of time it took to achieve a sale in this case is not unusual for this particular area of Oldham, given the recent levels of supply of and demand for simi ...
Apr 06,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Shirley'
Apr 06,2015
0 people found
this helpful
We had our house on the market with them for 4 years we found them to be not very helpful in advising us on the best way to sell our house. We have decided to try a different agent and notified Ryder and Dutton of this. We asked for the sale board to be removed ASAP, which they did by sending a Guy with a large crowbar to jimmy it off the wall taking a lot of the brick pointing with it!!!!! Phoned to complain and was informed it was not them that's to blame, but the sign company they use. I...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
When we reported the damage to their office they should have sorted the problem not passed the buck
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Jonathan Fielding
Apr 07, 2015
View all comments (1)
We are sorry that we have not been able to achieve the sale price that you had been hoping for. Market conditions have been challenging in recent times as you no doubt experienced with your previous agent. Offers were received but not at the level you required. You did increase your price despite the property not being sold at the original price. Our for sale boards are the responsibility of our board contractors and they were asked to contact you without delay in order to resolve your compl ...
Dec 28,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Lorna Grennan'
Dec 28,2014
0 people found
this helpful
The agent was not transparent at all, was more on the side of the buyer, tried to claim money that I had not signed for!! Contacted my mother in law post selling to complain!! Pure poor service, never felt that they were working for me, I did all the hard work. Would never use them or recommend to anyone that I know!!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 20,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'ksr'
Nov 20,2014
0 people found
this helpful
I wasnt given the full info when i moved into my house.communication between staff themselves is appalling. Was left without facilities that are essential.., would never use again overall service. Was disgusting.....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 07,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'David'
Jul 07,2014
0 people found
this helpful
1. Very slow to make contact with person buying our property. Did not use all means all contacting the buyer, email, text just left voicemails unless we pushed. 2. Did not try to get the best price for our property, looked for an easy sale to a cash buyer. I would not sell to a cash buyer again. 3. Do not check after initial proof of funds that cash buyer still had the funds in place nearer to completion 4. Did not show anyone around and once they thought a deal was agreed with a cash buyer d...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very high for what they did for us in this sale, 3 viewings unaccompanied, lots of chasing and a lot of emotional distress towards our move date. I viewed houses for sale with companies like House Network that charge a flat fee and they are incredibly efficient in terms of contacting buyers, making offers and using technology to reach people quickly. Given that the only place most people look at property is Right Move and given the slow house price inflation in this area I am amazed that Ryder and Dutton can still think that their services can be worth 1.5%.
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 24,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'steve'
Jan 24,2014
0 people found
this helpful
DO NOT SELL YOUR HOUSE WITH THESE COWBOYS. The dealings I had with Ryder &Dutton at best can be described as shoddy. There was never any communication, i had to phone them or visit their office constantly to get any updates. they were more concerned with keeping the buyer of my property who was a property developer happy so he would use them again.These people are possibly the worst estate agents in the north west stay well clear....
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
contacted me when i left messages, better all round communication told me about agreeing to ‚£200.00 compensation deal with buyeer which i knew nothing about.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Richard Powell
Jan 24, 2014
View all comments (1)
I guess this at least proves the site is legitimate.....if you wish to contact me on 0161 925 3232 to discuss the aspects of our performance with which you were not satisfied please do so. Richard Powell Director. ...
Nov 13,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'katie'
Nov 13,2013
0 people found
this helpful
I have had many problems with Ryder and Dutton Halifax office through out my six month stint with them but most recent since I left the property. I had an email from Stephanie informing me of the work required to do on the property before my bond can be released. I returned to the property to carry out the work I could do my self manly cleaning. When I called in at the office I was given the wrong key to the property by kirsty which resulted in two trips to the property on the second trip the...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Richard Powell
Nov 21, 2013
View all comments (1)
We are very sorry that you have experienced these difficulties. We would be happy to discuss your concerns in more detail. We understand that a property checkout is a subjective matter about which agent and tenant do not always agree but we do also understand that the return of a bond promptly is very important and we are sorry if this process has been too lengthy. If you wish to discuss this matter further with the Director in charge of our Property Management team please call our Head Office o ...
Jul 09,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'susan burke'
Jul 09,2013
0 people found
this helpful
I rang the estate agents for a valuation, it was done within a week and the house went on the market with very good photo\'s. The house sold in less than 2weeks and anytime I rang for an update I I got the info I needed or I was rang back with the answer very quickly. A very good service and value for money...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: R&D
Jul 09, 2013
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your recent review, it is always nice to hear positive comments about our offices. If there is anyway we can change your score from 1 star to 5 stars though please let us know. ...
Sep 14,2012
Minithumbup
Helen Lee
By: 'Jason Cook'
Sep 14,2012
0 people found
this helpful
Excellent service by Helen and her team. Would recommend anybody to use there services. Can wait to move in to the house. Very helpful and on hand to answer any questions i had..Thank you. Jason Cook...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 17,2012
Minithumbup
By: 'Adam McCabe'
Apr 17,2012
0 people found
this helpful
From the initial valuation of 13 hillside avenue i could tell i was in good hands. debbie and the team (dominique and kris) handled every detail of the sale with a good lively professional approach, keeping me posted all the way through. i can not fault the service i recieved from ryder and duttons shaw, i will 100% use them again as i have just booked another valuation with deb and team. a big thanks to the team, keep up the good work Adam McCabe...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 08,2012
Minithumbup
Michaela Barton
By: 'Damien Heneghan'
Apr 08,2012
0 people found
this helpful
Debbie and Michaela were professional and very helpful. They were approachable and effecient. They kept me informed at all times and helped to make the sale quick and easy to complete....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 16,2012
Minithumbdown
By: 'Annoyed'
Feb 16,2012
0 people found
this helpful
Terrible service, poor communication and tells lies to try to appease the situation. Do not use, they will leave your house empty and pretned they have viewings when they do not and will not proactively promote your property. This is the epitamy of bad customer service. I am switching to another estate agent after messing with these jokers for a month....
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Tell the truth, don't make things up, don't pretend to phone people, follow simple requests to be kept in the loop.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sam
Jul 30, 2012
View all comments (1)
Me and my husband recently viewed a property through them. We were given application forms and then told that the reference check were £90 each. (which is a joke and waste of money) We did all the necessary paper work and went to the office on that same day and handed in the forms and paid the money in cash. A day later the agency called us and told us that the landlady had chosen another applicant over us. I was quite upset as they did not mention this other applicant and I did say at the ti ...
Oct 23,2011
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jen'
Oct 23,2011
1 people found
this helpful
Appauling company - will never rent with Ryder and Dutton again. Reported problems with the house and when I left over a year later most of the problems had not even been addressed. At one point the drainage pipe outside the house was leaking raw sewage into the garden - I had to complain about 7 times over two weeks and threaten to get the council to the property for a safety inspection before they fixed the problem. When I moved in the washing machiene on the inventory was broken - ryder and d...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: jen
Oct 27, 2011
View all comments (2)
And as for the 900 pounds im still waiting for? Also forgot to add when I put notice in on the house I was inundated with phone calls from ryder and dutton asking me to show perspective new tennants around the house I explained on three occasions to three different agents I was working full time at the time, was in the middle of moving and 7 months pregnant and didn't have time to show people around - not to mention why should i? Theyre paid to do that and was asked to take a day off or do it in ...
Jun 29,2011
Minithumbdown
By: '2loula'
Jun 29,2011
0 people found
this helpful
I picked them based on their online presence and the fact my parents had sold theirs thru them albeit another office. The guy who came round and I dealt with initially disappeared completely once the contract was signed and the property was for sale. I then had to deal with a guy who constantly spoke to me like I\\\'d never bought or sold a house before and didnt know anything about the area! Even my solicitor commented on this fact, apparently he spoke to her in exactly the same way. It ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 15,2011
Minithumbdown
By: 'kel'
May 15,2011
2 people found
this helpful
Terrible service, rude staff, always had to chase them up, I will never deal with them again, absolute joke. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 05,2011
Minithumbdown
By: 'buyer'
Apr 05,2011
1 people found
this helpful
I bought a property through this agent and I have to say DO NOT deal with the lady on Reception. She is one hell of a rude, argumentative woman who seems to think that negotiating is only her job and not the buyers. She was very difficult to deal with. On getting my keys for my property she rudely handed them to me and just sat back down at her desk and said nothing and let me walk out with nothing to say to me. Disgusting service and am sorry that I have had to deal with this woman. I am sure ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 26,2011
Minithumbdown
By: 'Bells'
Mar 26,2011
0 people found
this helpful
Bought my house through them, the service was disgusting. The lady on reception is so rude, she thinks she is a headmistress. After lots of arguments because they did not do their job the sale did go through but it was very stressful. I would not go near them again. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 07,2010
Minithumbdown
By: 'JI'
May 07,2010
0 people found
this helpful
Very unprofessional, made my tenants wait weeks for small jobs to be done on the properties I have, when I had given the go ahead to fix the jobs straight away. Staff are very unhelpfully and talk down to you. I got phone calls from different members of staff about the same issues, the left-hand does not know what the right-hand is doing. There is no communication in their office. When I complained the manager was not bothered and not interested in keeping my business. Their attitude is you need...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 26,2009
Minithumbdown
By: 'MASSRI'
Jan 26,2009
0 people found
this helpful
Unprofessional!!! Appalling service...no returned calls, the rudest receptionist ever, lied to about advert going online (it didn't exist), board arrived after we had withdrawn property, told the advert was "live" but when questioned they admitted no one had been out to take photos, they lost the keys...we were told they were at another branch but were eventually found in the safe!!! Don't use these agents unless you have time to waste and money to burn!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

NAEA ARLA RICS NALS Relocation Agent Network


Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
535 8 457 11 1363 23 1112 21 445 7

Job vacancies

Please see a list of jobs available

Agent Fees

No fees set.
Last updated at 12:22 PM 28/11/2017 by allAgents

Complaints Procedure

No procedure set.
Last updated at 12:22 PM 28/11/2017 by allAgents

Awards won by Ryder & Dutton

Individual Branch Awards

Oldham, OL1 1HA

Oldham, OL9 8DN

Ashton-under-Lyne, OL6 6BX

Saddleworth, OL3 6AP

Oldham, OL5 0PF

Oldham, OL2 8NR

Oldham, OL2 6HT

Rochdale, OL16 1LD

Rossendale, OL13 8EX

Heywood, OL10 4NL

Manchester, M24 1AB

Halifax, HX1 1HS

Huddersfield, HD8 9DA

Holmfirth, HD9 3AZ

Huddersfield, HD1 2PT

Huddersfield, HD3 3DU

Rossendale, BB4 8EG

Oldham, OL2 6QJ

Glossop, SK13 8BH


Ashton
20 Market Street, Ashton-under-Lyne OL6 6BX
(455)
Bacup
1 Market Street, Rossendale OL13 8EX
(69)
Chadderton
635 Broadway, Oldham OL9 8DN
(271)
show all branches (20)
Colne Valley
828 Manchester Road, Huddersfield HD7 5QS
(7)
Edge View House Royton
Edge View House Salmon Fields Business Village, Oldham OL2 6HT
(131)
Glossop
30 High Street West, Glossop SK13 8BH
(85)
Halifax
8 Silver Street, Halifax HX1 1HS
(132)
Heywood
22 Market Place, Heywood OL10 4NL
(170)
Holmfirth
71 Huddersfield Road, Holmfirth HD9 3AZ
(125)
Huddersfield
8 Cross Church Street, Huddersfield HD1 2PT
(152)
Lindley
2 Acre Street, Huddersfield HD3 3DU
(65)
Middleton
33 Middleton Gardens, Manchester M24 1AB
(524)
Mossley
4 Lees Road, Oldham OL5 0PF
(281)
Oldham
7 Union Street, Oldham OL1 1HA
(386)
Rawtenstall
68 Bank Street, Rossendale BB4 8EG
(168)
Rochdale
132 Yorkshire Street, Rochdale OL16 1LD
(375)
Royton
30-32 Rochdale Road, Oldham OL2 6QJ
(75)
Saddleworth
79 High Street, Saddleworth OL3 6AP
(181)
Shaw
29 Market Street, Oldham OL2 8NR
(257)
Skelmanthorpe
53 Commercial Road, Huddersfield HD8 9DA
(48)


Make an Enquiry