Tucker Gardner
Ely, CB7
1.2/5, 18 reviews
6% recommended
50% sales valuation accuracy
100% sales fee satisfaction
20% lettings valuation accuracy
29% lettings fee satisfaction

...left to get your reviews in for the
2019 Estate & Letting Agent Awards


“Beware (for those who rent). Tucker Gardner will deduct money ......”

Share on :
Feb 15,2011
Minithumbdown
By: 'flinch182'
Feb 15,2011
10 people found
this helpful
Beware (for those who rent). Tucker Gardner will deduct money off your deposit for extra cleaning when you leave even when not required.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: TuckerGardner
Nov 29, 2013
Cleaning is an emotive subject and where there are issues at the end of tenancy all agents will be familiar with the claim 'it's cleaner than when I moved in.' We have very clear end of tenancy guidelines, explaining the final inspection process and recommending the use of a professional cleaning company. If there are still issues then all tenants now have the comfort of being able to refer the matter for free, independent arbitration, whereby we have to demonstrate with the inventory and photos that the property was not actually left clean. As for the £75 end of tenancy charge it is a clear term on all of our documentation and within the tenancy agreement that the tenant would have signed. We benchmark all of our tenant fees and know them to be among the lowest in Cambridge.
By: Species8472
Jul 18, 2012
I agree this has just happened to my son & seems to be standard practice even 18 mths after your initial comment, we spent 2 days cleaning vacated the property 2 weeks before we handed the keys back and they expect us to be responsible for cobwebs and dust in an empty property, the even find ways of extortion with the £75 to stop bills that have already been cancelled by the tenant. Tucker Gardner are a complete joke who ever inspected the property didn't go to the property we had cleaned and must have fabricated a whole a4 page report. I warn everyone DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.




Note: Your comment will not be activated until you click on the link in an email sent to your address as submitted in the form above. By clicking on Submit Comment you agree to receive an activation email from allAgents.


Opening Hours
Address

Tucker Gardner
16-18 Market Place Ely
Ely
Cambridgeshire
CB7 4NT
01353 616130

Performance statistics
Services Valuation Accuracy Fees Satisfaction Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Sales 50% 100% £162,000 £162,000
Lettings 20% 29% £0 £0
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
0 0 0 10 1 0 0 0 0 7
Areas covered
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Members of
Latest Properties

No Properties

“Simply the best...”

Share on :
Aug 29,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Elaine Sindall'
Aug 29,2018
0 people found
this helpful
First time at selling a property and was I glad that Tamsin had been allocated to deal with this. She was very professional friendly and kept me informed of everything that was going on. She would call every week with an update even if there ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
For the service and work that I received I cannot fault the fees it was worth every penny
Was this helpful? Yes

“Nightmare...”

Share on :
Aug 13,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'Kat'
Aug 13,2018
5 people found
this helpful
I rented a property through Tucker Gardner in Ely 6 years ago. The shower in on-suite was leaking from day 1. We reported the problem at least 5 times and nothing ever got done about it! The boiler broke during our last winter at the property and we ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Bad
Was this helpful? Yes

“Avoid agency...”

Share on :
Jun 14,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'Helena'
Jun 14,2018
6 people found
this helpful
As stated before, is a really unprofessional company and takes a long time to communicate with them. Every time you try to contact them they will pass you to a different agent who have no idea about the issues you have been trying to solve. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Extremely poor communication regarding whether our application was successful took ......”

Share on :
Jan 11,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'E'
Jan 11,2018
5 people found
this helpful
Extremely poor communication regarding whether our application was successful took several phone calls to find out what was happening. Did not return our calls....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
High fees
Was this helpful? Yes

“I have been using TG at Ely for well over ......”

Share on :
Sep 13,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Steve'
Sep 13,2017
9 people found
this helpful
I have been using TG at Ely for well over a year to manage a property that we have locally The business relationship has been plagued with issue after issue, all of which can be attributed to poor management practice, resulting in poor customer service. ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
This agents letting fees are certainly on the low side at 6%, but as the old adage says, you get what you pay for.
Was this helpful? Yes

“I am a military member stationed at RAF Mildenhall, and ......”

Share on :
Jun 15,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Myah'
Jun 15,2017
6 people found
this helpful
I am a military member stationed at RAF Mildenhall, and I worked with TuckerGardner for over a month to try to rent a property in Soham. The entire experience was beyond stressful. I am new to both the military and to England's letting services, so ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“The worst agent I have ever come across. No notification ......”

Share on :
Apr 21,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'hipposfriend'
Apr 21,2017
10 people found
this helpful
The worst agent I have ever come across. No notification of the change from Russells to Tucker Gardner. Tucker Gardener staff have been rude on the phone when I can eventually speak to someone. They have been abusive on the phone. If I ever leave ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
These are the highest fees around. And they do nothing for them!
Was this helpful? Yes

“This is by far the worst lettings agents I have ......”

Share on :
Apr 19,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Chie'
Apr 19,2017
8 people found
this helpful
This is by far the worst lettings agents I have ever rented with. The service they offer their tenants is horrific. I'm beyond the point of despair with them and now have had to sent a handwritten letter to my landlord explaining how awful things ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Extortionate, higheSt fees on the market and they charge for contract renewal
Was this helpful? Yes
By: TuckerGardner
Apr 20, 2017
View all comments (1)
Good afternoon We are really sorry to hear of your disappointment with the service you have received. I would like to make sure this is dealt with as soon as possible but am finding it difficult to locate which property your comments relate to as unfortunately I can't see your name or a property address mentioned. Please could I ask that you contact our Lettings Manager directly at georgina.goodjohn@tuckergardnerlettings.com who will be on hand to deal with this matter promptly. Kind ...

“AVOID AT ALL COSTS! Tucker Gardner Ely - formally Russells. ......”

Share on :
Jan 18,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Unhappy Customer'
Jan 18,2017
9 people found
this helpful
AVOID AT ALL COSTS! Tucker Gardner Ely - formally Russells. Horrifically bad customer service in all areas from the very beginning. They do not return phone calls. Emails are very rarely responded too, only usually after sending multiple chasers for any kind of response. No ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
High admin fees to send out documents which had to be corrected every time!
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Anna Logan
Jan 18, 2017
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you have experienced problems and we would like the opportunity to discuss these with you so we can ensure better service in future. Please could you contact your local branch and request a copy of the complaints procedure so we can obtain full details and investigate matters for you. Many thanks. ...

“Is the worst agency I have ever had. I had ......”

Share on :
Nov 27,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Helena'
Nov 27,2016
6 people found
this helpful
Is the worst agency I have ever had. I had a problem with a wall that is making the property in danger and my health. After two weeks they haven't done anything yet. Not the first time they don't solve a problem and give excuses ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Anna Logan
Nov 28, 2016
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your review. I have checked with the team in Ely and I understand that they are in the process of arranging a second opinion, as the first contractor is not sure of the source of the moisture. Unfortunately, this does take time however they will speak to the second contractor again today to ensure he attends as soon as possible. Please do feel free to call the office if you require a further update. ...

“I requested a Saturday viewing appointment and was told that ......”

Share on :
Oct 27,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'SG6989'
Oct 27,2016
5 people found
this helpful
I requested a Saturday viewing appointment and was told that there would be no viewings on that day at all as one of the staff members had an injury. How there is no one else available or more than 1 member of staff on a Saturday ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: TuckerGardner
Oct 28, 2016
View all comments (1)
Good afternoon, we have looked into this and can confirm we have an appointment booked for you. We hope this viewing is successful and the property is of interest to you. If you have any further queries please do not hesitate in contacting our Ely Branch directly on 01353 616130. Kind regards ...

“First off the fee for letting was astronomical, compared to ......”

Share on :
Oct 24,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Holly'
Oct 24,2016
6 people found
this helpful
First off the fee for letting was astronomical, compared to other letting agents, im not sure what I paid for? I asked several times before moving if I could have the mattress removed, and nobody got back to me whatsoever, I had to set up ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Most expensive out of everywhere I looked at, and jog worth it as in my opinion they did nothing, didn't even set up the standing order for rent
Was this helpful? Yes
By: TuckerGardner
Oct 25, 2016
View all comments (1)
Dear Holly, We are sorry you were dissatisfied with the service you received, please feel free to contact the branch to discuss your concerns and we will be happy to assist. It is worth noting that no third party would be able to amend a standing order on your behalf. Additionally all fees are detailed to clients before confirming they are happy to proceed. Kind regards ...

“I had a viewing at 2 o clock in Ely but ......”

Share on :
Nov 21,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'IriniS'
Nov 21,2015
6 people found
this helpful
I had a viewing at 2 o clock in Ely but I got there 1 hour earlier (I drove all the way from Kent) waiting outside the house. Until 2.15 nobody showed up so I called them at the office and asked them about it. The lady told ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Anna
Nov 23, 2015
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your comments. We do, of course, take our reputation very seriously and work very hard to ensure a positive experience for our customers. In this instance, we do not have a staff member called 'Kate' so I am unable to make enquiries to see what actually happened. If you had indeed booked a viewing with TuckerGardner and were there on time, then I have no doubt that an agent would have been there to meet you. Sometimes external factors (such as traffic) mean that both ourselves and ...

“I have had the misfortune to be a tenant of 2 ......”

Share on :
Aug 25,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Daniel Smith'
Aug 25,2015
8 people found
this helpful
I have had the misfortune to be a tenant of 2 properties managed by Tucker Gardner. The first was managed by the Cambridge office and the second by the Ely office. Common themes have occured with both. At both properties we have had domestic appliance (dishwasher) ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
No comment
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
No comment
Was this helpful? Yes

“Found them incompetent from start to finish and decided not ......”

Share on :
May 08,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'ZoeCoolDude'
May 08,2015
8 people found
this helpful
Found them incompetent from start to finish and decided not to take either house because of the attitude of the two girls I dealt with. One viewing, the girl turned up late and with the wrong set of keys. She tried to make it my ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
The agent could have been polite and respectful. I do not want to hear staff swearing when I am in a professional office with my child. Turning up on time to appointments would at least have been something.
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
When she showed me the fees they were the highest I had seen out of the agents I visited.
Was this helpful? Yes

“The worst agent and staff I have ever had the ......”

Share on :
Apr 20,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'myotherusernameisbetter'
Apr 20,2015
10 people found
this helpful
The worst agent and staff I have ever had the misfortune to meet. Tamasin Hensman the manager is an absolute disgrace. Got annoyed and condescending with me on the phone when I chased for the 6th time in a month for a faulty boiler. I ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Daylight robbery. They did not do half of what they were supposed to do for the fees paid
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Anna
Apr 21, 2015
View all comments (1)
TuckerGardner are well aware of this tenants' perceived grievances and continue to try and negotiate a fair settlement on behalf of all parties. We are, as always, working within best practice guidelines and will, of course, comply fully with any TDS dispute outcome. The nature of the comments above do not reflect our experience of the tenancy or the end of tenancy procedure. ...

“Arranged 2 viewings a week in advance for a move from ......”

Share on :
Jan 09,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'LongDistanceLetDown'
Jan 09,2015
4 people found
this helpful
Arranged 2 viewings a week in advance for a move from the the north east. Agent cancelled both viewings without informing us, in part because they failed to note our details down correctly. Had we not been checking properties online and seen one was de-listed we ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Contacted us in good time to cancel an appointment for a let property Contacted us in good time to cancel an appointment due to conflicts with sitting tenants Attempted to accomodate us at second property with late viewing to fit round tenants needs Taken down accurate contact details as given Not lied about using contact details to leave messages that were never left Attempted to contact other branches of Tuckers to locate other suitable properties for us to view
Attached Filesnbsp;
Was this helpful? Yes

“Beware (for those who rent). Tucker Gardner will deduct money ......”

Share on :
Feb 15,2011
Minithumbdown
By: 'flinch182'
Feb 15,2011
10 people found
this helpful
Beware (for those who rent). Tucker Gardner will deduct money off your deposit for extra cleaning when you leave even when not required....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: TuckerGardner
Nov 29, 2013
View all comments (2)
Cleaning is an emotive subject and where there are issues at the end of tenancy all agents will be familiar with the claim 'it's cleaner than when I moved in.' We have very clear end of tenancy guidelines, explaining the final inspection process and recommending the use of a professional cleaning company. If there are still issues then all tenants now have the comfort of being able to refer the matter for free, independent arbitration, whereby we have to demonstrate with the inventory and photos ...
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure available.

Awards won by Tucker Gardner, Ely CB7 4NT


As Seen On

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home