cmRENT
Chelmsford Branch, Chelmsford, CM1
2.5/5, 6 reviews
33% recommended
33% sales valuation accuracy
33% sales fee satisfaction
100% lettings valuation accuracy
50% lettings fee satisfaction

“Like most people who use CMRent, they were fine when ......”

Share on :
Nov 07,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Chris'
Nov 07,2013
7 people found
this helpful
Like most people who use CMRent, they were fine when moving in, but when anything needed doing within the property they were pretty useless. The staff are completely incompetent. The problem we're having at the moment (STILL) is that we're not getting our deposit back. I have explained to them NUMEROUS times what needs to be done, but they refuse, claiming to get my desposit back I need to get it from the 2 current tenants living in the flat there now (I have moved out now thankfully). They didn't even know how to reclaim the deposit back. They claimed I could "Log into the website and change the owner of the deposit" but when I spoke to the people who hold the deposit, this feature has never been available and I had to work out for myself how to reclaim the deposit. Now, all they need to do is send an email to the company holding the deposit to confirm that we can have it back but they refuse. Even though, before I moved out, an email was sent to a member of staff at CMRent who actually confirmed that I will receive my deposit 5 working days after I moved out. It has now been well over 5 days and they still haven't even bothered to contact me about this. When I tried contacting their Finance department yesterday to tell them they have made no action regarding the deposit, they said they had no action to take that its my job to get this back. When I said otherwise, she said I was incorrect (Coming from the same person who didn't even know how to reclaim my deposit back). So I tried calling back again today after getting confirmation from the deposit agency that all they need to do is send them an email to say "Yes, he may have his deposit back", and what happens? When trying to "Put me through" I was hung up on twice. Clearly intentional as the person has no idea what their job is. I seriously do not recommend this place to anybody. I'm never a stressy person, but this takes the biscuit.

P.S Also, the woman supposedly dealing with my deposit enquiry decided to go on holiday without telling her employees of any of the details regarding my deposit. So until she gets back, nothing can be done! Fantastic.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Chris
Dec 09, 2013
Jesus christ Michael. Reading all these reviews and all your comments back, you never seem to take ANY blame for your own company, rather trying to blame the actual tenants. Its not our job to know all the legal ins and outs of tenancy. Thats YOUR job, and to help it be a smooth transition. How about you just hold your hands up and say "Yes we screwed up, I apologise" rather than pathetically trying to blame me for supposedly changing my tenancy. Which I didn't. We agreed for a year initially, then we got asked if we wanted to extend. Which we agreed (With no problems) to extend for a 6 month period, NOT a 12 month period which you're trying to make out. So what are you blabbering on about? I'm really disappointed at how childish you are acting, and I'm actually very happy using my new estate agent (Who I shall not name, knowing you, you'd find them and give them fake feedback) who are professional and not given us any hassle at all. They're actually a really good company. How you've got so far with your managerial qualities is beyond me.
By: Michael Saville
Dec 09, 2013
Hi Chris, I'm sorry that you felt the need to write your complaint on this website. We do not get notified of any complaints on here, it's just by luck that i saw yours. I'm disappointed you felt the need to write this as we tried to help you in moving out of this shared property early and in truth we should have insisted that you stick to your signed contractual tenancy between April 13 to April 14.

The problem has occurred as it's not an easy process to retrieve half a deposit, half-way through your tenancy, as the other Tenant was to remain in the property. I can see that you vacated on 25/10/13 and the DPS paid your half of the deposit back to you around the 15/11/13. It was a confusing and rare situation to deal with and in future, perhaps we should just stick to the rules and insist you remain in the tenancy as per your signed contract instead of trying to help??

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.




Note: Your comment will not be activated until you click on the link in an email sent to your address as submitted in the form above. By clicking on Submit Comment you agree to receive an activation email from allAgents.


Opening Hours
Address

cmRENT
23 Duke Street
Chelmsford
Essex
CM1 1HS
01245 - 283 283

Performance statistics
Services Valuation Accuracy Fees Satisfaction Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Sales 33% 33% £0 £0
Lettings 100% 50% £625 £1,200
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
1 0 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0
Areas covered
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Members of
Latest Properties

No Properties

“When I decided to look for a place to move t......”

Share on :
Feb 08,2020
Minithumbup
By: 'Emmanuel'
Feb 08,2020
1 people found
this helpful
When I decided to look for a place to move to, I went to most of the estate agents in Chelmsford sadly non of them were interested in helping me. But things changed when I contacted the ladies at CMRENT. The ladies took it upon ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Very knowledgable. Were very helpful and professional and always willing ......”

Share on :
Dec 22,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'Daz'
Dec 22,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Very knowledgable. Were very helpful and professional and always willing to help and are very honest and up front. Not like the other 'typical' estate agents in town (Chelmsford). Thoroughly recommended....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Cheaper than the others in the city
Was this helpful? Yes

“I am glad I read these reviews before I became ......”

Share on :
Sep 20,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'K.'
Sep 20,2014
7 people found
this helpful
I am glad I read these reviews before I became one of their customers. Me and my partner were very interested in renting one of their properties. We visited their branch in Chelmsford a week ago to ask more about the flat we were interested, ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I recently moved into a rented property via the Chelmsford ......”

Share on :
Aug 22,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'vroomvroom'
Aug 22,2014
11 people found
this helpful
I recently moved into a rented property via the Chelmsford branch of CM Lettings. The service extended was below par especially post acceptance of my offer. 1) We had agreed on an additional viewing (after my offer was accepted) but when I turned up at the ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We have expressed an interest in a number of property's ......”

Share on :
Jan 03,2014
Minithumbdown
By: '123'
Jan 03,2014
9 people found
this helpful
We have expressed an interest in a number of property's all of which still need to be confirmed with the tenant baring in mind this is since early December. Have expressed concern with dealing with a particular staff member and the response I got was ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
They could have supplied me with a member of staff who I was happy with and could have taken my enquiries seriously and followed them up
Attached Filesnbsp;
Was this helpful? Yes

“Like most people who use CMRent, they were fine when ......”

Share on :
Nov 07,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Chris'
Nov 07,2013
7 people found
this helpful
Like most people who use CMRent, they were fine when moving in, but when anything needed doing within the property they were pretty useless. The staff are completely incompetent. The problem we're having at the moment (STILL) is that we're not getting our deposit back. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Chris
Dec 09, 2013
View all comments (2)
Jesus christ Michael. Reading all these reviews and all your comments back, you never seem to take ANY blame for your own company, rather trying to blame the actual tenants. Its not our job to know all the legal ins and outs of tenancy. Thats YOUR job, and to help it be a smooth transition. How about you just hold your hands up and say "Yes we screwed up, I apologise" rather than pathetically trying to blame me for supposedly changing my tenancy. Which I didn't. We agreed for a year initially, t ...
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure available.

Awards won by cmRENT, Chelmsford CM1 1HS


As Seen On

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home