Jun 18,2013
Michael Kennedy
Laura West
By: 'melody'
Jun 18,2013
6 people found
this helpful
1.Completely no after service. The agent have totally not responded to our email regarding maintenance, sometimes(very occasional) they spent like 7 days for replying us but with completely no help!!! After we paid the rent (which is very expensive and deserves a much much better service) and the deposits;

2. The maintenance team is completely rubbish. We think the property have some kind of electric voltage problems that caused us to spend lots of money on just buying new light bulbs and one of the original bulb has exploded in the bedroom!!! We have changed almost all the bulbs in the property, some of them even more than once. The important thing is when we report this to the maintenance team they do not think that is a problem at all and told us just replace the bulbs. After we have chasing them like 6 month they promised to send an engineer to check the voltage but never showed up!!!

3.The agent has cheated us on the bills we will have when we see the property. We spend 2500 pounds on the utilities during 9 month. They told us the bills will be 100 pounds per month but look what we paid!! We seriously doubt that we have shared the bill with the restaurant downstairs and when we came up with the agent about this they said they have announced the utility providers to separate the pipes but have no respond. I don\'t think that will be the responsibility of ours.

4.The maintenance team have played us with the extractor in the kitchen. In fact it just the socket behind the extractor that is not working but they said we broke the extractor and we have to pay for the new one which is 250 pounds plus VAT. How can a well-trained maintenance team not able to detect what the real problem is but to cheat us for money!! At christmas, the boiler in the house has broken down. We have called the maintenance team and they said they will send an emergency engineer to look at this rightaway. After few hours, the maintenance called off the engineer just because the landlord and his parents said they are coming by for a look of the property that arranged earlier. In the end as you can see, the landlord did not solve the problem while his \'little sightseeing in the property with parents\' and we have suffered 3 days of no heating and hot water until the christmas bank holiday is over. In this point I think the agent is trying to avoid the emergency call out fee of the engineer and has blow us off with some nonsense reasons.

In conclusion, the maintenance team just awful and the attitude is really unbearable. We are overseas students and this is the first time we rent a property in UK. This agent, Edmund Cude, thought that they can play tricks on us and make some benefit themselves and they think we are soft and don\'t know how this works in here so they can do whatever they want. We spent whole a lot of money on this property because of their in-expertise. Please for you own good do not trust Edmund Cude and do not rent a property through them. It will be the worst experience in your life.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Edmund Cude
Jun 20, 2013
Dear Melody Wong,
We are disappointed to read your review and we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your tenancy. I would like to address the points raised:
The property you lived in was newly refurbished throughout and the electrics installation is new. The house has a full NICEIC certificate signed off by a qualified electrician. As per the agreement, it was your responsibility to change the spotlights in the property. When we did visit the property with a contractor to look at the lights, we found no issues with the electrical installation.

In terms of the bills, it is difficult to estimate usage amounts and the flat does have separate meters for the electrics and gas, which are not linked to the shop below in anyway. The water is the only resource shared and that was made clear at the start of the tenancy.

In terms of the extractor issue, this was a repair carried out yourselves after the casing was snapped. However, the landlord felt necessary to deduct the monies as it did not work when you moved out. The deposit is protected by the TDS and no money will be deducted unless you agree to it, or TD award it to you, making it impossible to cheat money out of you.

In terms of the electrics cutting out on Boxing Day, this was addressed as quickly and efficiently as possible by the landlord, ourselves and engineer.

Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your tenancy with us and we hope we have addressed your concerns satisfactorily.

The Edmund Cude Team

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.


3 Parkway Camden Town, London
Greater London

020 7482 1060

Opening hours

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home