May 19,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
May 19,2013
5 people found
this helpful
Accomod8 are by far, the most difficult company to deal with. In summer our fire alarm broke and kept going off, when we had to break the safety glass in order to stop the alarm we were charged £30 for it! Despite it being a electrical issue. We had a rat infestation which was due to accomod8 not completing structural work on the outside of the house, which allowed rats in. One tenants bed was damaged PRIOR to moving in, which was identified to us, yet one we left, an £80 bill for a damaged bed was given to us. We questioned this charge and were told "the bed had been used excessively during the year causing more unnecessary and unrepairable damage". Similar situations occurred with the fridge (broken shelves), freezer (broken draws) etc. We left the house in a very very good condition when the contract ended, yet, despite this we were each charged £150 for damages- if there were any ACTUAL damages they wouldn\'t have had the money to repair them! When we complained, they dragged the case on for more than 2 months- beyond the time period which letting agency standards can intervene- again, without telling us. We couldn\'t be updated on the situation because "so many others had also complained". They take advantage of students and basically steal your money. If you are currently a tenant of accomod8\'s- my advice is to get it professionally cleaned yourselves before moving out and get proof of this. Look through the original manifesto they gave out citing damages- make sure there is nothing more. All it takes is a small mark on a wall and they need £500 to repair it. MOST IMPORTANTLY make sure YOU are there when they do the post tenancy check. Refuse to return keys until they carry out this check in your presence. And if they charge you unnecessarily, do not go to accomod8, immediately start a case with the tenancy protection scheme.
What agent could do to change your mind?
Could have been nicer people to deal with. It was very much so a \"me- cat, you- mouse\" set up. Absolutely no tact, never did they leave the house and we say \"that was nice of them\" or anything complimentary. Best complaint of theirs \"your skirting boards are too dusty\". In a student house. Logic defeats the employees of accomod8 and no common sense or helpfulness is used by them. A really awful company. An entire upheaval of the staff and policy change is needed to even tempt me to even think of accomod8 again.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: The accommod8 Team
Jan 03, 2014
Dear 'd8',

We are sorry you have had a less than acceptable experience with accommod8.

We house over 800 tenants each year in our accommodation and the issues you describe certainly do not reflect the experience of the vast majority. These issues will be investigated as far as they can without the specific details of the property and tenancy.

We manage a large portfolio of student property and commit significant resources to ensure the standard of our accommodation and customer service meets expectations. We will examine the issues raised to ensure this informs our ongoing business review.

We endeavour to communicate our policies and procedures both in advance of accommodation being secured by tenants, during the formalities and throughout the tenancy. We are aware some of this important information is not always understood by those it is intended for.

We have an FAQs page on our website which provides a full outline of the tenancy commitment once a deposit is paid and also the more important terms of the tenancy such as rent payments, retainers and deposits. During the tenancy we advise and assist on various topics including how to leave to leave the property to get deposits returned.

Tenancy agreements and application forms are issued to prospective tenants at viewings to ensure they have time to check the terms before they make a commitment and pay a deposit.

To provide our customers with a route to raise problems with us we have a comprehensive complaints procedure which also outlines the steps our customers can take should they feel our response to their complaints has not been satisfactorily addressed.

The FAQs and Complaints Procedure can be found here www.accommod8.biz/faqs.html

accommod8 is licensed and regulated by the Association of Residential Letting Agents (ARLA) and The Property Ombudsman (TPO). We are members of the Tenancy Deposit Scheme (TDS) requiring us to administer deposits following strict rules and procedures.

Our priority for 2014 is to improve our communications and increase the capacity for responding to and carrying out repairs and maintenance.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, we are sorry you were disappointed with our service.

The accommod8 Team
By: The accommod8 Team
Jan 03, 2014
Dear 'd8',

We are sorry you have had a less than acceptable experience with accommod8.

We house over 800 tenants each year in our accommodation and the issues you describe certainly do not reflect the experience of the vast majority. These issues will be investigated as far as they can without the specific details of the property and tenancy.

We manage a large portfolio of student property and commit significant resources to ensure the standard of our accommodation and customer service meets expectations. We will examine the issues raised to ensure this informs our ongoing business review.

We endeavour to communicate our policies and procedures both in advance of accommodation being secured by tenants, during the formalities and throughout the tenancy. We are aware some of this important information is not always understood by those it is intended for.

We have an FAQs page on our website which provides a full outline of the tenancy commitment once a deposit is paid and also the more important terms of the tenancy such as rent payments, retainers and deposits. During the tenancy we advise and assist on various topics including how to leave to leave the property to get deposits returned.

Tenancy agreements and application forms are issued to prospective tenants at viewings to ensure they have time to check the terms before they make a commitment and pay a deposit.

To provide our customers with a route to raise problems with us we have a comprehensive complaints procedure which also outlines the steps our customers can take should they feel our response to their complaints has not been satisfactorily addressed.

The FAQs and Complaints Procedure can be found here www.accommod8.biz/faqs.html

accommod8 is licensed and regulated by the Association of Residential Letting Agents (ARLA) and The Property Ombudsman (TPO). We are members of the Tenancy Deposit Scheme (TDS) requiring us to administer deposits following strict rules and procedures.

Our priority for 2014 is to improve our communications and increase the capacity for responding to and carrying out repairs and maintenance.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, we are sorry you were disappointed with our service.

The accommod8 Team

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review. PLEASE NOTE! This is not the page to leave a new review of Accommod8 Office 1! To leave a new review of Accommod8 Office 1, please click the link below !
Write a review for Accommod8 Office 1

(optional) upload photographs,images,youtube video or .pdf files to support your review



Accommod8

The Basement, 66 Mount Pleasant Liverpool
Merseyside
L3 5SD

0151 703 9355

Opening hours