Hastings, TN34
4.6/5, 458 reviews
95% recommended
93% lettings valuation accuracy
87% lettings fee satisfaction
Oakfield | Letting Agent  Estate Agent Block Management

“We bought a block of 10 flats from Auction 15th March 2011, ......”

Share on :
Mar 30,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Clark'
Mar 30,2013
5 people found
this helpful
We bought a block of 10 flats from Auction 15th March 2011, as Oakfield we manage it , we continued to use them and signed 2 years management contract. It became a nightmare !

1. When I called 999 July 2012 regarding empty flat 4, front door had been smashed , I was only been told by 999 police contact centre it had been reported the day before by flat above and the OAKFIELD WAS informed 11am the very same day , but Oakfield had not bother to call us at all .( the email was then arrived after I had called Oakfield and questioned if they knew it more than 24 hours before I found out )

Similar things had also happened February 2012 , three windows and a door had been smashed , police were called during office hours , OAKFIELD only send an EMAIL around 10:30am to let us know , by the time we open email was 6-7 pm , the next day builder went to office to pick up keys - guess what ??? Oakfield couldn't find it , builder had to calming through the BROKEN window to open the door ! ( extra charge !!!!! thanks to Oakfield couldn't find the key ! On purpose?)



2. Flat 7 Antony T disappeared between August - October 2012 , as they never inspect the building , I had to keep an
eye on the building -his door was damaged and locker had beed changed twice ( I did send photos to Oakfield ) despite his three month in arrears , Oakfield couldn't careless to check if he was still there or contact him !
, when I asked Oakfield to find out if anyone and who is using the flat Oakfield answer : We called his girlfriend ( who????) SHE said Antony is still there ! I had to call locksmith to break in and clearly showed there was no resident, no cloth , no bed , our fridge had been taken , oven been kicked and without electric plug , bathroom door smashed ....

3. We are not happy for references checking before tenants move in - and once they move in you don't care if they pay the rent or not because they just simply take the money from other tenants rent !

Flat 4, Hannah P moved in 2011 , with violent history with police ..nonpayment habit , what did Oakfield do to get money from her ? Nothing

Flat 7. Antoni T History of challenge behaviour / mental issues / autism ... nonpayment ( Spring / Summer 2012) , again Oakfield decided to call a "stranger "who is not on the tenancy agreement - this silly call just to confirm that Oakfield has the RIGHT to falsely charge me the " management " FEE ( from other tenants payment - easy was that ! )

Flat 6. Charlie P police issue .. Nonpayment ( Summer 2012 ) what did Oakfield do to get rent from him ? sending him a open note - Charlie please contact Oakfield on a post card in the public area !

Flat 1 Disappeared Summer 2012 , I had to break in to her flat to get proof Oakfield that she had gone !!!! to stop Oakfiel continue CHARGE me the " management fee " ( which was never any management )

It was such a easy way to make money out of our flats , as long as Oakfield get money , it doesn't matter half of them were in arrears / (never paid . )or disappeared / vacant their flat because Oakfield took money in advance from other tenants , why bother ? !

4. Keys - where do I start?

Last November Southern Water need to do investigation , I went to office to SIGN my name to get key of flat 1, and went back to the building , it was WRONG key , I then called Oakfield to send keys by a taxi and I will pay for Taxi even it was YOUR fault , Oakfield refused because the key has to be signed , I was standing in the rain(with Southern Water needed to go for next appointment ) and tell Penny that I already "Signed "10 minutes ago , it was your fault given me the wrong key , Penny said there is nobody in the office with car so couldn't help , I replied I will get my solicitor .....

Since December 2012 , I have been asking Oakfield where are the 3 Front Door registered keys from ex tenants ,- you are still looking as 27-03-13 Hannah told me. ( I wonder If it is fun to threw away the keys and give the landlord the bill ! )


There are so many unprofessional / non existing service from Oakfield. Above is just out of my head without even looking my records .

5. The unnecessary boilers service charge - we gave Oakfield 9 out of 10 flats Boiler certificates , 3 month later they ordered plumber to do it again and only informed us by email one day before , by the time we read email , it was too late - Oakfield took £600 from our account !
6. When do Oakfield inspect the building as they charge us 10% manangement fee ? Oakfield : as necessary
When ?? All the tenants said : Never

Oakfield couldn't careless if tenant pays or not , as long as 2 out of 10 flats pays , they are covered as they take money in advance for 10 of them . Sometimes there is hardly any money for me with 10 flats all occupied !
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Samantha Hensher
Apr 02, 2013
Dear Mrs Clark,

Firstly, thank you for leaving us feedback. Your comments are important to us.

As discussed with you I am currently in the process of investigating each of the points you have raised and endeavour to resolve any issues as soon as possible.

I am sorry that you have not received a satisfactory service from Oakfield. Our aim is to deliver excellent customer service at all times.

Kind regards


Samantha Hensher MARLA MIRPM
Financial Director
For and on behalf of Oakfield

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.




Note: Your comment will not be activated until you click on the link in an email sent to your address as submitted in the form above. By clicking on Submit Comment you agree to receive an activation email from allAgents.


Opening Hours
Address

Oakfield
Haig House, Station Road
Hastings
East Sussex
TN34 1NH
01424 446644

Performance statistics
Services Valuation Accuracy Fees Satisfaction Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Lettings 93% 87% £300 £1,100
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
89 3 243 17 41 0 32 0 28 5
Areas covered
  • TN34
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Members of
NAEA ARLA ARMA TPOS Sales TPOS Lettings TPOS DPS TDS SAGEagent
Latest Properties
Images & Videos

“Oakfield have adopted excellent staff from Sm......”

Share on :
Feb 18,2020
Minithumbup
Danielle
Georgia
By: 'Shelton Botha'
Feb 18,2020
0 people found
this helpful
Oakfield have adopted excellent staff from Smart Property and their team will be strengthened hugely by their new members. You guys are amazing....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Nothing but mistakes from Oakfield. Never tak......”

Share on :
Nov 06,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Mrs Taylor'
Nov 06,2019
2 people found
this helpful
Nothing but mistakes from Oakfield. Never takes responsibility for anything. Horrible experience and do not listen to the tenant. All they want is money. If you are a tenant beware of deposit claims. STAY AWAY!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Glenn Taylor
Nov 06, 2019
View all comments (1)
Dear Mrs Taylor, Thank you for your feedback. Please could you give me a call on 01424 446644 so we can discuss this further. Many Thanks, Glenn. ...

“I would just like to thank all the staff at O......”

Share on :
Aug 29,2019
Minithumbup
By: 'Bev'
Aug 29,2019
0 people found
this helpful
I would just like to thank all the staff at Oakfield as they were brilliant polite and professional. I have not rented with Oakfield Hastings before and was a bit nervous but they made me feel at ease. within two weeks I had found viewed ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I've been an Oakfield tenant for a while and ......”

Share on :
Aug 19,2019
Minithumbup
Glenn
By: 'Luke caister'
Aug 19,2019
0 people found
this helpful
I've been an Oakfield tenant for a while and called to discuss potentially moving. I spoke with Glenn who was very eager to help. He was able to explain everything from moving out to finding a new property. Will definitely use Oakfield if I do ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Outstanding service ,very happy tenant ,thank you all at Oakfield ,Hastings...”

Share on :
Aug 16,2019
Minithumbup
Katie
Hannah
By: 'Emily'
Aug 16,2019
0 people found
this helpful
Fantastic service from Katie and Hannah to help the move go really smoothly for my mother. Polite ,helpful and confidently dealt with all our questions and our anxieties thoroughly and sensitively. Very happy mum and daughter!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Hannah Namvar
Aug 22, 2019
View all comments (1)
Hi Emily, Thank you so much for your kind review, it was an absolute pleasure helping you and your Mum with finding a new property. We do hope your Mum will be very happy in the property and we wish you both all the best. Best Wishes Hannah ...

“Very helpfully...”

Share on :
Jun 13,2019
Minithumbup
Emma
By: 'M ali'
Jun 13,2019
0 people found
this helpful
Emma was very friendly she was trying her best to do I I'm very happy with the service thank you Emma...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
No think bad all good every think about I I’m more then happy with the way Emma was dealing with me thank you
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Hannah Namvar
Jun 13, 2019
View all comments (1)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback is important to us and I will ensure that your kind comments are passed onto Emma. We wish you all the best in your new home. Best Wishes Hannah Branch Partner ...

“Great if you are rich...”

Share on :
May 20,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Nota Hapiguy'
May 20,2019
1 people found
this helpful
Horrid company that is only after ringing out your wallet faster than a casino, they despise people with low funds or on benefits despite trying to pretend they do not, they will not even talk with you unless you earn almost 18k a year in ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
You must earn almost 18k before they will even talk to you.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Very unhappy with treatment at this branch. Treated like a 2nd class citizen because I'm self-employed. Have had a successful business for 40 years....”

Share on :
Apr 10,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Eve Peacock'
Apr 10,2019
1 people found
this helpful
Felt very unhappy at treatment. Not considered as a prospective tenant as self-employed even though showed adequate earnings. Was asked for very personal details of bank statements which employed clients dont have to. I have has a business for 40 years and owned many properties. Felt ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Give my wrong information during my renting...”

Share on :
Mar 06,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Dr Amr Elyasaky'
Mar 06,2019
2 people found
this helpful
Firstly, this is my first time in Uk. I went to rent a flat from oakfield from 01/02/2019 *. I asked her if the property is good and ready to move in and she answered yes. I asked her again again please check all kitchen electronics and ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very bad they took 400£ for nothing
Was this helpful? Yes

“Not professional at all !!...”

Share on :
Dec 31,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'Daisy'
Dec 31,2018
1 people found
this helpful
Not impressed with the company policies at all . After viewing and offering the full asking price I was told that the property would sell to the highest bidder. Why put a price on a property and then sell it as you would in an auction. ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Don't know. Didn't get chance to find out.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Very professional & we were kept informed every step of the way....”

Share on :
May 31,2018
Minithumbup
Hannah
By: 'Caivan Namvar'
May 31,2018
0 people found
this helpful
We listed our apartment with the Hastings branch of Oakfield and had viewings booked in almost immediately. The main things that stood out to us were Callum's efforts in trying to find the best suited clients in relation to the type of property and the ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
The fees were very reasonable!
Was this helpful? Yes

“First time move to Hastings stress free...”

Share on :
May 16,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Jim'
May 16,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Very helpful. Always quick to reply and help with any additional information requested. Friendly face to face meetings. Infanct all staff at Oakfield were very friendly. Moving to a new area is always stressful but Kevin made it as care free as possible. Recommended...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Fees are never a good thing but their part of the process and Oakfields were not the most expensive compared to other agencies
Was this helpful? Yes

“Easy communication and very helpful...”

Share on :
Apr 26,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'AmiWoods'
Apr 26,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Kevin was very professional yet easy to communicate with. He was extremely helpful in helping get everything together and completed within a very reasonable amount of time. He was friendly, informative and well mannered....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very good!
Was this helpful? Yes

“Helpfulness...”

Share on :
Apr 12,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Patricia Ede'
Apr 12,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Amy was extremely helpful and answered all our question. Amy went out of her way to ensure we had a hassel free time when signing papers and that all our queries were answered and if she needed advice, she came back in a timely fashion....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Reasonable
Was this helpful? Yes

“Excellent service...”

Share on :
Apr 07,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Hollie'
Apr 07,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Thank you so much Kevin for your quick and efficient work with me letting my new flat. You made the whole experience very easy and straightforward and it was a pleasure to use oakfield....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Great service...”

Share on :
Apr 06,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Corinna Clamp'
Apr 06,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Great service from Kevin & Amy. Kevin has been very helpful with my move-in and arranging everything goes smoothly. Overall very friendly, high quality and very professional. I would definitely recommend!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Professionalism!!...”

Share on :
Apr 05,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Ash.'
Apr 05,2018
3 people found
this helpful
Being new to the rental market I knew nothing of the detail or process involved. I was taken through this task in a very courteous and efficient manner indeed by Amy Williams with occasional assistance from Kevin Andrews. My circumstances were quite complex but nothing ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Jim Elston
Apr 05, 2018
View all comments (1)
Me and my Partner were looking for a flat when we saw one we liked we rang oakfield and spoke and then met up with Amy who was very helpful and very pleasant i spoke to Amy a few times after that and met her at oakfield offices in hastings Amy has always been very helpful friendly and professional and always said that if i needed any help i could contact her i know she is busy but Amy always found time for you ...

“Brilliant...”

Share on :
Mar 23,2018
Minithumbup
Hannah
By: 'Enza'
Mar 23,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Really helpful and efficient, no complaints. Emails were answered very quickly and aftercare too! Would highly recommend to a friend...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Reasonable
Was this helpful? Yes

“I first contacted Amy on Wednesday 31st Feb asking if ......”

Share on :
Feb 05,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Trevor S'
Feb 05,2018
0 people found
this helpful
I first contacted Amy on Wednesday 31st Feb asking if it was possible to move into a flat by the weekend (tall order I know and a massive challenge) but Amy was very prompt at her replies to emails. I have to say that by ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
The fees, were reduced by Amy's manager, and the fees were in line with other agents, but the overall experience far outweighed the cost of the fees.
Was this helpful? Yes

“I am pleased to be able to give a very ......”

Share on :
Feb 05,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Chris S'
Feb 05,2018
0 people found
this helpful
I am pleased to be able to give a very positive review of the help and service provided by Patrick Woolgar regarding my recent rental of a flat via Oakfield Hastings. I formerly worked in banking for 10 years and subsequently had my own business, so ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
In line with current levels and legislation.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Absolutely fantastic estate agency in particular our agent Amy Williams ......”

Share on :
Jan 26,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Ammar & Talulah'
Jan 26,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Absolutely fantastic estate agency in particular our agent Amy Williams who made the entire process of moving for us so effortlessly easy and enjoyable and made us feel like her highest priority. Would highly recommend anybody to choose this agency and if you're lucky enough ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very good!
Was this helpful? Yes

“Amy was brilliant throughout the whole process, she acted quickly ......”

Share on :
Dec 21,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Lucy'
Dec 21,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Amy was brilliant throughout the whole process, she acted quickly when a few mistakes where made with viewing times and took time out of her day to show us round the flat. Her commication skills where brilliant we where kept in the loop with everything. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Excellent service provide by Amy. As a first time renter, ......”

Share on :
Dec 21,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Paul & Alice'
Dec 21,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Excellent service provide by Amy. As a first time renter, she kept us in the loop and stay late in the office for the us when we couldn't make it before 5pm. Very professional and a pleasure to deal with....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Thanks to Katie and Adam for organising the repair needed ......”

Share on :
Oct 05,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'adamfs'
Oct 05,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Thanks to Katie and Adam for organising the repair needed here . The contractors RB maintenance were prompt , well equipped and efficient about their work , noticeably the expert finishing. And importantly, careful and tidy .They made the job straightforward . So I recommend the team . Thanks again ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“From our first meeting I was sure Amy was a ......”

Share on :
Sep 05,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Sam F Taylor'
Sep 05,2017
0 people found
this helpful
From our first meeting I was sure Amy was a kind and consumate professional. She listened to what I had to say in regards to what kind of property I wanted and responded immediatly, even arranging a viewing of a house three weeks before the ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very reasonable, worth every penny.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Amy Williams
Sep 05, 2017
View all comments (1)
Thank you very much Sam. I hope you are all settled and happy in your new home ...
Staff picture Emma
(3)
Staff picture Vic
(1)
Staff picture Katie
(1)
Staff picture Glenn
(1)
Staff picture Danielle
(1)
Staff picture Georgia
Staff picture Ronnie
(0)
Staff picture Glen
(0)
Staff picture Lauren
(0)
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

ComplaintsOakfield has a formal complaints procedure, which is explained below;As an Oakfield customer you would expect a first class service from us, and we aim to provide it. We have high standards, but if you believe we have made a mistake, please get in touch with us as soon as possible and we willdo everything we can to put it right.We are also subject to the rules of The Property Ombudsman. In general terms this gives customers who are unable to resolve a complaint against us the right to have this reviewed by an independent person –the Ombudsman.We hope that our complaints procedure will resolve any complaint without the need for you to contact TheProperty Ombudsman. Please note that the Ombudsman will not investigate your complaint before you havecompleted our complaints procedure, and received a letter from us giving our final response.This document shows the steps in our complaints procedure. At every stage we promise to listen and doeverything we can to resolve your problem, and to make sure you're happy with the way we do it.Our Complaints Procedure1. If you have a problem relating to Oakfield, please discuss this with one of our branch staff. Our aim is to dealwith your problem sympathetically, fairly and quickly.2. If you feel that the matter is not being resolved to your satisfaction, please ask to speak to the Manager of the Branch dealing with your enquiry. The Manager will try to resolve the matter on the day you raise your complaint, although whether this is possible will, of course, depend on the nature of the complaint.3. If the response by our Branch Manager does not resolve the matter to your satisfaction, you can ask theManager to refer the complaint to our Financial Director, alternatively you can write to her at the followingaddress:Miss Samantha Hensher, Oakfield, Haig House, Station Road, Hastings, East Sussex, TN34 1NHWe request that all correspondence adheres to the details and that all complaints are put in a numerical order to help us respond to the complaints with a clear and concise structure.A letter of acknowledgement will be sent to you within 3 working days. It will also set out our understanding of your complaint, and state when we will be able to reply in greater detail.You may also be asked for additional information if this is required to assist resolving the matter.A formal written outcome of this investigation will be sent to you within 15 working days.4. If your problem has still not been resolved by the Director, please write to her again. Your letter should statewhy you are still dissatisfied and what further action you wish Oakfield to take to fully resolve yourcomplaint. The Financial Director will then give a final response by letter within 7 working days. This will beaccompaniedby The Property Ombudsman Consumer Guide.5. If you are still not satisfied with the steps taken by Oakfield, you can write to:The Property Ombudsman Ltd, 4 Bridge Street, Salisbury, Wiltshire, SP1 2LX(Telephone: (01722) 333306 or e-mail: admin@tpo.co.uk).6. The Property Ombudsman will consider your complaint, taking in to account any points made by you andOakfield. The Ombudsman may, however, refuse to investigate a complaint where your issue refers to somethingthat happened more than 12 months before you complained in writing to the Member Agency, or you referredyour complaint to the Ombudsman more than six months after you received the Member Agency’s final offer ofsettlement or answer.7. The Ombudsman’s Office may try to settle the dispute by agreement between you and Oakfield. If this isunsuccessful, the Ombudsman will consider all the relevant factors and make a decision according to what hebelievesto be fair in all the circumstances.8. The Ombudsman will send his decision to you and Oakfield. You can accept or reject his decision. If you rejectthe Ombudsman's decision, it will lapse and you are free to do as you wish. If you wish to take legal action, youcan do so. Your legal rights will not have been affected by the Ombudsman's decision.
Last updated at 9:13 AM 13/04/2017 by allAgents

As Seen On

Get in touch with

Oakfield

Branch - Hastings, TN34