C & R Properties
Hulme Manchester, Manchester, M15
4/5, 66 reviews
79% recommended
95% sales valuation accuracy
96% sales fee satisfaction
89% lettings valuation accuracy
64% lettings fee satisfaction

“Dishonest and unprofessional...”

Share on :
Jan 23,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Pasquale'
Jan 23,2019
1 people found
this helpful
Apologies for the long review but if it helps even one single person staying away from this agency it will be worth the time I've spent writing it. We have been 2 years with C&R and during that time we have mostly been ignored while we highlighted some issues that needed sorting (broken fridge, water pressure and similar). It wasn't up until checkout that they showed their true face. We requested to be present during the checkout as we read in a few reviews that they are not always clear with the procedure. They asked us to pay £60 for a scheduled checkout, despite me telling them that I was ready to come at any point that was suitable for them with just 30 mins notice. They still demanded to be paid, arguing about the meaning of the word "scheduled" and not giving us any other choice. I've decided to ignore the fact that the woman who was replying to my enquiry was the rudest person I've ever had the chance to talk to or that when I showed up in their office they refused to acknowledge my presence for about 5 minutes (the owner kept on eating his crisps and avoiding eye contact) and just paid for it to avoid further trouble. I've gone trough my checkout with the only friendly employee of the agency and come out of the house with a signed piece of paper with a few things that we agreed needed fixing (and an estimate quote of "definitely less then £100"). A week later, despite everything was pretty much agreed, they decided that the house needed a treatment for the smell, as we had a dog in the property (which they were aware of). Despite that the fact wasn't even mentioned at the time of checkout and the house was left spotless and odorless I've waited for a quote, to decide how much was I willing to pay to avoid issues. I received a quote of £130 which included a chair that I've replaced and unpacked on the day. Once I made that clear they told me not to worry, they will take that off the final bill. 3 weeks later I've received an invoice of £180 which included not only my chair, but also a second couch that we never had. While the second couch has been taken off the bill (with a ridiculous excuse and no apology) the chair was left there. At that point they also decided to ask for £50 admin fee for having to call the company on my behalf, despite I've already paid for a scheduled checkout to avoid that instance. On top of that they charged me £60 for scheduled maintenance (fair) and £80 for a few plastic bits missing from a blind with no invoice (during the checkout he told me that parts shouldn't cost more then £20 and the blind itself wasn't worth half that money). In the end I've agreed to everything but refused to pay the admin fee, threatening to dispute everything and go to court. First they pretended to be kind enough to wave half of the cost and then, after my protests and threats they just released my deposit without further communication or answer to my email. On and on it took almost 2 months to get my deposit back, I've paid way more then I was supposed to and I had to fight to get back at least some of it. As someone already said, this agency is incredibly unprofessional, rude, with no customer service and with practices that are only created to rip off their customers. Steer away from them and if you really can't just walk in their office, a quick chat with the owner or their admin will make you realize that you are making a big mistake.
Comment on agent fees
unprofessional and dishonest
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Gurmet Chumber
Mar 19, 2019
Dear Pasquale,
n
nThank you for your review, which we note all the issues you claim to have raised. We remember very clearly the whole application process and the fact that you had a pet dog and was open and honest by giving this information before hand and even graced us with you dog’s presence when you into our offices to sign the tenancy agreement. We have always been very accommodating with your requests and any repairs have been that you have raised had been addressed within an appropriate time line. We had rented the property beforehand and no one ever mentioned issues like water pressure and when tested was fine. Please note that the currents tenants also have not raised any issues with the water pressure.
n
nRegarding the check out, as you may remember we did not want to give you a quote on the day as we couldn’t estimate all the work given that 3rd party contractors are involved. We reluctantly, and albeit mistakenly gave you a very rough estimate on costs – and in no way said it would ‘definitely’ be less than £100.00. My property manager assured you that this was an approximation and should only be taken as a guide.
n
nOn the day of the scheduled checkout the property had been freshly cleaned, some areas were still wet and smelt of cleaning solution (with a large solution spill on the carpet). On top of this most of the windows were open (which the property manager closed as he went around the property). Due to this, my property manager could smell on the day was only the cleaning solution. He was even reasonable enough to help clean minor areas that were missed right in front of you.
n
nWhen one of my colleagues did a viewing on the property, he noted the very pungent smell of dog – and the property was not being let specifically due to this smell. Anything following a checkout can be added and charged to whoever is liable (something the DPS Guidelines include) – if it is reasonable. It was 100% reasonable to get the property de-odourised.
n
nThe cost of this was £135.00 – but we actually charged you less than this on the actual deduction. During this time, the landlord removed the chair and replaced it with a sofa – so the invoice was £180.00. You were not charged for the chair like you say because it wasn’t even in the property, and we reduced the invoice down to £131.50.
n
nThis was not the first time you were told about the £50.00 Admin Fee. You were told at the start of the tenancy, and on the original checkout report that was sent – you decided not to read my email or your tenancy agreement. However, out of good faith we decided to waive this fee completely.
n
nThe repairs on the blind actually cost more than you were charged, again – but this was reduced this down as to be more reasonable in line with DPS guidelines. My Property manager told you numerous times that a physical person has to go and do repairs, and fit items, these people get paid by the hour on top of the cost of the item, they do not work for free – we cannot be held accountable for these costs as we do not make them.
n
nIn the end – not including the unexpected smell and deodorising associated to that, the final cost was £138.28, not far off the estimation given. The deodorising was unavoidable, and made the property un-lettable. In fact, we even offered for you to come back to the property with me and investigate the smell yourself just in case you were doubting it.
n
nI’ve spoken to my colleagues whom you dealt with in the office and you were not kept waiting five-minutes, this is a untrue statement and a huge exaggeration on your part. Were in a small office so you there is no way we would leave you standing for a 5 full minutes without any acknowledgement. The Property Administrator on the front desk dealt with you straight away. I find it disappointing that you have also commented on my manager eating his lunch at his desk, which has nothing to do with the matter at hand.
n
nAll in all – we were wholly reasonable with you throughout the process, and informed you that the Christmas and New Year break would cause a short delay. We feel many of your comments are unfair and missing a lot of information simply to paint us in a poor light.

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.




Note: Your comment will not be activated until you click on the link in an email sent to your address as submitted in the form above. By clicking on Submit Comment you agree to receive an activation email from allAgents.


Opening Hours
Address

C & R Properties
54 Stretford Road, Meridian Square
Hulme,Manchester
Greater Manchester
M15 5JH
0161 227 9990

Performance statistics
Services Valuation Accuracy Fees Satisfaction Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Sales 95% 96% £90,000 £315,000
Lettings 89% 64% £500 £850
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
15 0 7 13 23 1 7 0 0 0
Areas covered
  • M1
  • M3
  • M4
  • M5
  • M8
  • M11
  • M12
  • M14
  • M15
  • M16
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Members of
RICS TPOS Sales TPOS Lettings TPOS DPS
Latest Properties

No Properties

“The worst renting experience I have ever had ......”

Share on :
Jan 05,2021
Minithumbdown
By: 'Tremaine'
Jan 05,2021
1 people found
this helpful
The worst renting experience I have ever had the misfortune of experiencing. Overall the staff are completely unhelpful, the maintenance team unresponsive, and good luck getting your deposit back! We had numerous problems right from the beginning. We were lied to about the heating being ...
read full review
Attachments

Review file
Was this helpful? Yes

“All they are good for is stealing your money!...”

Share on :
Sep 12,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'N/a'
Sep 12,2019
2 people found
this helpful
I can't express enough to stay away from C & R properties. If there was a 0 rating I would use it. Not only were they rude & manipulative, they also ignored countless emails regarding maintenance which later they used against us to take our deposit, they sent ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Avoid like the plague! Their staff don't resp......”

Share on :
Sep 06,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'George'
Sep 06,2019
0 people found
this helpful
Avoid like the plague! Their staff don't respect being asked to give proper notice, had one just try and let themselves in. They got angry when I turned them away! Horrible Horrible agents!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Market leaders for a reason...”

Share on :
Jun 01,2019
Minithumbup
By: 'Abul'
Jun 01,2019
0 people found
this helpful
Recently completed the purchase of a house in the Hulme area. We decided to view some properties listed under C&R Properties as they are easily the market leaders. It's hard to miss the sheer number of properties that they either let out or sell ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
No fees for buyers
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Amanda
Feb 19, 2020
View all comments (1)
Gurmet and the team were fantastic all the way through the sales process. Great communication, very friendly. Would definitely recommend. ...

“House Sale...”

Share on :
May 08,2019
Minithumbup
By: 'Anu'
May 08,2019
0 people found
this helpful
C&R did a good professional job through the whole sale process. They kept me informed of progress and worked hard to achieve an agreed sale and followed the process through to completion. I also use C&R for property rental and they are very ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Fees are fairly priced for the services provided
Was this helpful? Yes

“Fantastic...”

Share on :
Apr 11,2019
Minithumbup
By: 'Mrs'
Apr 11,2019
0 people found
this helpful
We were remotely selling a property and C&R did everything for us. House clearance, decorating, repair works were all taken care of by the C&R team. The work was to an immaculately high standard, and exceptionally affordable. Communication was excellent throughout. Within 1week ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Out of 4 quotes, C&R was the lowest.
Was this helpful? Yes

“property sales...”

Share on :
Feb 19,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Homi'
Feb 19,2019
0 people found
this helpful
Absolute nightmare to deal with and never give you an update on my sale ,ongoing sale for 5 months and I have incurred large legal fees . Many failed viewings causing headache for my tenant. They never call you back or respond to your email Avoid this ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Bad for the service they provide
Was this helpful? Yes

“Dishonest and unprofessional...”

Share on :
Jan 23,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Pasquale'
Jan 23,2019
1 people found
this helpful
Apologies for the long review but if it helps even one single person staying away from this agency it will be worth the time I've spent writing it. We have been 2 years with C&R and during that time we have mostly been ignored while ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
unprofessional and dishonest
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Gurmet Chumber
Mar 19, 2019
View all comments (1)
Dear Pasquale, n nThank you for your review, which we note all the issues you claim to have raised. We remember very clearly the whole application process and the fact that you had a pet dog and was open and honest by giving this information before hand and even graced us with you dog’s presence when you into our offices to sign the tenancy agreement. We have always been very accommodating with your requests and any repairs have been that you have raised had been addressed within an appropriat ...

“I dont reccomend this agency, especially if you're a student....”

Share on :
Dec 20,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'Customer'
Dec 20,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Everything started the very first day when we went to sign the tenancy agreement. Before signing the agreement we were ment to look around the house for the last time to make sure everything is fine, but got told to sign the agreement first and ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“BRILLIANT...”

Share on :
Dec 20,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Marc'
Dec 20,2018
0 people found
this helpful
I have been a tenant of C and R properties for approximately 5 years and I have to say that on all the occasions that I have had to contact their Hulme office all of the staff have been very helpful. All maintenance issues are dealt ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
N/A
Was this helpful? Yes

“I appreciated the short notice viewing on a property we ......”

Share on :
Oct 11,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'sanj'
Oct 11,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I appreciated the short notice viewing on a property we loved. Put an offer in straight away. Referencing was done pretty quickly and we moved in as planned. I've read some of the reviews but they are no different to other agents. Been renting for ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Agents were average but maintenance staff and admin team were great
Was this helpful? Yes

“If I could these 0 stars I would. Never in my ......”

Share on :
Aug 03,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'HANNAH'
Aug 03,2017
6 people found
this helpful
If I could these 0 stars I would. Never in my life will I go with C&R properties again! Moved out of our flat in June and now it's August and still no deposit received - chased and chased and they're very reluctant to sort ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
AWFUL - you are ridiculous and very unreasonable
Was this helpful? Yes

“We received great customer service, the agents were very responsive ......”

Share on :
Jul 17,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Steven'
Jul 17,2017
0 people found
this helpful
We received great customer service, the agents were very responsive and always quick to get back to us. C&R provided some excellent advice that allowed us to secure a sale. I was extremely happy with their services....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Competitive - very reasonable.
Was this helpful? Yes

“I have Recently rented a property through c&r properties ......”

Share on :
Jun 28,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Natalie'
Jun 28,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I have Recently rented a property through c&r properties and the whole process has been nothing but stress free. I would highly recommend using these agents as I found they would go above and beyond to help you in any way they can....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Good
Was this helpful? Yes

“Excellent estate agents cannot thank Dale Madden enough for all ......”

Share on :
Jun 28,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Leigh'
Jun 28,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Excellent estate agents cannot thank Dale Madden enough for all his help and hard work. Would definitely recommend these agents....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Excellent
Was this helpful? Yes

“Excellent agents!!!I sold my property through C & R Properties ......”

Share on :
May 06,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Babak'
May 06,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Excellent agents!!! I sold my property through C & R Properties and the whole process was stress-free, as everything was taken care of by the agents. Very efficient, hardworking and courteous people and I highly recommend them....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Great.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Rented my house through C & R properties for the last ......”

Share on :
Apr 27,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Tommy'
Apr 27,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Rented my house through C & R properties for the last year and from start to finish they really looked after me and my place Looked around to compare with other letting agent and decided to rent my house out again through C&R again, I ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Ok
Was this helpful? Yes

“I have a problem with returning deposit, it's quite very ......”

Share on :
Feb 23,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Thunyaporn'
Feb 23,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I have a problem with returning deposit, it's quite very late. But, after I got the response from them, I have received my deposit within 1 week. However, they deducted my deposit almost a half at first time because they did not see the email that ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“C&R dealt with the advertising and arranging viewings for ......”

Share on :
Dec 19,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'Jan'
Dec 19,2016
0 people found
this helpful
C&R dealt with the advertising and arranging viewings for the sale of my property and only praise them for the brilliant service I received. Gurmet and Charlotte always kept me up to date with what was happening and if needed they offered additional assistance. ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Excellent, completely affordable
Was this helpful? Yes

“C&R recently acted as selling agents for my property. ......”

Share on :
Oct 21,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'Janet'
Oct 21,2016
0 people found
this helpful
C&R recently acted as selling agents for my property. A buyer was found quickly without even the need for a sales board! All my queries were answered promptly and in a friendly manner. The sale went through so easily from my standpoint because all ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Fees were reasonable and VAT was waived.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Had a great service off Charlie very professional and couldn't ......”

Share on :
Sep 29,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'Rupert'
Sep 29,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Had a great service off Charlie very professional and couldn't help me enough! Viewed the property and transaction was carried out very smoothly!...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very reasonable
Was this helpful? Yes

“I can highly recommend the professional services provided by C & ......”

Share on :
Sep 28,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'ray'
Sep 28,2016
0 people found
this helpful
I can highly recommend the professional services provided by C & R Property. Gurmet Chumber was prompt in answering queries and assured I received the price I needed....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Good
Was this helpful? Yes

“Throughout our tenancy we have been very disappointed with C&......”

Share on :
Sep 20,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Anon'
Sep 20,2016
3 people found
this helpful
Throughout our tenancy we have been very disappointed with C&R Properties in the various ways that they've conducted themselves. The majority of the furniture was damaged and unusable, thankfully we were permitted to throw this junk. However some of the essentials weren't in a ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Gurmet Chumber
Sep 20, 2016
View all comments (1)
Dear Anon, We sorry that you feel the way you do. However without a property address we cannot look into the issues. I don't recall anybody being without heating for a whole month and regarding deposits, we always advise that we will contact you with our finding within 10 working days. Please feel free to contact me direct on gurmetc@candrproperties.co.uk or on 01612279990. ...

“Could not have been a better choice to sell my ......”

Share on :
Aug 15,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'Pranab'
Aug 15,2016
1 people found
this helpful
Could not have been a better choice to sell my property in Hulme. I was bombarded by the big players with marketing bells and whistles, yet went with Gurmet's personal professional approach. Property was sold even before formally being listed on Rightmove and at a ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Good fee structure. VAT was waived as part of the deal.
Was this helpful? Yes

“I only use Gurmet for my property rentals and sales. ......”

Share on :
Jul 19,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'Muns'
Jul 19,2016
0 people found
this helpful
I only use Gurmet for my property rentals and sales. He gives me unbeatable rates and top quality service. Muns...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I have used this agent and they have been absolutely ......”

Share on :
Apr 13,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'Lucas'
Apr 13,2016
0 people found
this helpful
I have used this agent and they have been absolutely great. They listened to our requirements, were able to advise on the asking price and assisted with all property sale challenges we have had. A real local specialist with excellent understanding of the market....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very good.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Excellent helpful service, got a prompt sale at a good ......”

Share on :
Apr 08,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'Andrew'
Apr 08,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Excellent helpful service, got a prompt sale at a good price, an easy transaction and very reasonable charges, Gurmet was so nice in dealing with us, as were his staff....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
very good
Was this helpful? Yes

“From the first point of contact to the last day ......”

Share on :
Mar 16,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'Gurmet'
Mar 16,2016
0 people found
this helpful
From the first point of contact to the last day of completion I received a very professional service from Gurmet. The fees charged were very reasonable . He managed to sell my property within two weeks even though my old agents had it on for approximately ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Good
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Gurmet Chumber
Mar 21, 2016
View all comments (2)
Thanks Zahid. ...

“I used the services of C & R properties for the ......”

Share on :
Feb 19,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'GURMET'
Feb 19,2016
0 people found
this helpful
I used the services of C & R properties for the sale of a property in Hulme, Manchester. I can confirm that I received a competent and professional service from day 1. The property sold extremely quickly and for the asking price. i would not hesitate to ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
GOOD
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Gurmet Chumber
Feb 19, 2016
View all comments (1)
Hi Wajid, Don't know what has happened with your name not being noted as a reviewer but thank you for your kind words. ...

“As the buyer of my first property all of my ......”

Share on :
Feb 01,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'Jono'
Feb 01,2016
0 people found
this helpful
As the buyer of my first property all of my interactions with C&R went smoothly and Charlotte was very proactive in trying to chase up both the solicitors throughout the process....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
N/A
Was this helpful? Yes
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure set.
Last updated at 7:59 AM 04/05/2015 by Gurmet Chumber

Awards won by C & R Properties, Manchester M15 5JH


As Seen On

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home