“Great house, bad service...”

Aug 31,2018
By: 'Beware of Freebies'
Aug 31,2018
0 people found
this helpful
As a credit to Bill Free Homes, the house they provided us with was absolutely lovely - three stories, five bedrooms, two bathrooms, nice kitchen/living room, absolutely perfect for students. However, their service was absolutely appalling - we paid £500 deposit, £180 of which went to agency fees, and any problems we had were met with downright disrespectful replies. Issues were very slow to be fixed, for example we had no wifi for the first two weeks, the freezer was broken and smelt disgusting for one week, we found a pair of dirty knickers in our sofa, the house was dirty when we found it... And on top of this, they continuously sent threatening and aggressive emails near the end of our tenancy to "warn" us that if we did not pay for a cleaner then we would likely not get our deposit back - very ironic considering the state we found the house in. I assume the only reason they have so many awards is because they basically beg for good reviews by sending an email asking people to write a review only if they have something "good or great" to say, or because they entice people with freebies (to be fair, we loved the Spags voucher & amazon prime stick!).
Comment on agent fees
An absolute scam - for the amount you pay you get absolutely terrible customer service. Agents are aggressive, rude and slow to reply.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Bill Free Homes
Sep 03, 2018
Dear tenant,

We are very sorry that you feel that you were given a bad service by the staff at Bill Free Homes. We are surprised to see your comments as we received positive feedback from all tenants throughout the tenancy.

Having checked our system I have looked into the issues you have outlined and can see that cleaners re-attended your property after you had reported the cleaning issues.

The freezer was replaced in a timely manner in accordance to our repairs policy (reported on the 3rd oct- replaced on the 9th oct).

The knickers was an error on our cleaners part and they were sent a strongly worded email, we apologised and asked you to dispose of them however did not get a response regarding this.

The Wifi was down for 2 weeks, this was due a supplier issue which was out of our hands, however, a full refund was given for any inconvenience caused.

At the end of your tenancy you received your deposit of £320 back in full, the non refundable administration fee of £180 is clearly outlined on our website and in your contract.

The principle reason that the moving out email is sent to all our tenants is to try and help them to receive their full deposit back. The email asks you to collect a moving out pack which contains a checklist as a guide for cleaning standards, we are sorry if you perceived this to be threatening/aggressive but we are only trying to help.

We strive to provide good customer service to all of our tenants, great to hear you enjoyed your free meal and free amazon firestick. We wish you all well in the future.

From all the team at Bill Free Homes

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.

Note: Your comment will not be activated until you click on the link in an email sent to your address as submitted in the form above. By clicking on Submit Comment you agree to receive an activation email from allAgents.

Bill Free Homes

85 New Elvet Durham
County Durham


Opening hours

As Seen On

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home