Purplebricks
Shirley, Solihull, B90
1.3/5, 249 reviews
9% recommended
42% sales valuation accuracy
25% sales fee satisfaction
38% lettings valuation accuracy
20% lettings fee satisfaction

“Don't use PurpleBricks....”

Share on :
Jun 20,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jeremy Lovelock.'
Jun 20,2018
44 people found
this helpful
Where do I start?!? They trap you straight away, either pay up front (with no refunds whether they sell or not) or pay later but be trapped into using their overpriced solicitor. Property was on the market for two weeks before I noticed the 'estate agent' hadn't set the property up properly so it wasn't coming up in potential buyers searches. The property was on for several weeks and we only had one viewing from a person who was not in a suitable situation to buy our property, we then put our property on with a local estate agent, five viewings in a week and sold at full asking price with the local agent. I think it is unfair I have now had to pay two lots of estate agent fees as PurpleBricks did nothing but have had no response from them when I tried to raise the issue. It's very telling that for an online company it is very hard to find reviews on them (I.e. no google reviews), they obviously know the kind of service they offer. I have spoke to a few people related to the property market since and they have all said to never use PurpleBricks.
Comment on agent fees
The house didn’t sell with PurpleBricks so I paid nearly £900 for nothing.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Robert Allan Boneham
Mar 09, 2019
We put our house on the market with Purple Bricks in September 2018. Quickly found out from the supplied performance report on the app that if Rightmove didn't exist nor would Purplebricks. Supposedly in excess of 50000 advert lstings not one viewing. Paid off Purplebricks and went with a local agent and sold within 10 days. Purplebricks excuses are not really upto much. Brexit uncertainty was the main one. What I wonder are they going to use as an excuse after the end of this month. It might cost more using a local agent but at least something happens.
By: pam
Feb 21, 2019
i was thinking of using purple brick..they advertise on the social media saying they dont take any money until they sell your house....after more research and i phoned them...they want £1400 up front before they even do anything...and no guarantee they can sell house AT GOOD PRICE...no estate agents does that...IM NOT USING THEM
By: Courtney
Jan 16, 2019
Reported to watchdog and trading standards
By: Sarah Lynn
Oct 09, 2018
Additionally Close Brothers are a complete bunch of scanners to. So it's from the frying pan into the fire, sometimes without your property being sold. AVOID
By: Jane Hewes
Jul 03, 2018
I was looking at a property with paddocks advertised. Needed to know acreage as I have horses and needed to know if the paddocks advertised were big enough for 3 horses. Kept emailing purple bricks asking for this info (which is normally given on any property details), all I kept getting back was an automated reply saying I had to arrange a viewing. A viewing would have been a complete waste of time for us and the buyer if the paddocks were not big enough, so I just gave up in the end!! Just needed a simple question answering. Don't know why it was such an issue!
By: Jeremy Lovelock
Jul 02, 2018
To give a update I have still had no further response from PurpleBricks so have sent another email and if it is not resolved I will look to get The Property Ombudsman involved. My biggest issue is that due to the location not being set up on the advert it basically sat stagnant for two weeks as it didn't come up on some search sites (including the PurpleBricks website). This to me is surely a breach of contract as they didn't do what they said they were going to (too busy cashing my cheque I imagine). Luckily I also have proof as I have texts from the PB ‘agent' admiting it was a mistake on his behalf.
By: Helen Fury
Jul 01, 2018
I find myself in the same situation, paid up front as I had total faith in Purple Bricks. 12 weeks and no viewers. I am going to contact a real estate agent.
By: Pete
Jul 01, 2018
Simple comment!!
No one tells you this!! Purple bricks will charge you £999 if your house is sold or not!!

Its as simple as that!!
They will charge you the fees, regardless if your house sells or not!!

Ask your purplebricks agents about this, and watch the silly answer they give you!!

They have also been on BBC
By: Peter
Jul 01, 2018
Simple comment!!
No one tells you this!! Purple bricks will charge you £999 if your house is sold or not!!

Its as simple as that!!
They will charge you the fees, regardless if your house sells or not!!

Ask your purplebricks agents about this, and watch the silly answer they give you!!

They have also been on BBC
By: Christian Strutt
Jun 26, 2018
These guys are complete scammers please avoid them like the plague. After taking about a week to get my property onto the market, they got practically zero viewings and the service was awful. So I cancelled the deal with them and they said this was fine no problem. What they didn't tell me was that there was small print in a contract they have with a company called Close Brothers, and now apparently I owe Close Brothers money, even though PurpleBricks cancelled the deal and said it was fine, with no mention of fees. This is a blatant scam do not deal with PurpleBricks.com under any circumstances
By: Farhad Poursadr
Jun 20, 2018
They are only interested in taking the money and once they get their money they do not do anything to sell your house why should they? they have their money, I strongly advice anyone not to use them as they are a rip off merchents.

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.




Note: Your comment will not be activated until you click on the link in an email sent to your address as submitted in the form above. By clicking on Submit Comment you agree to receive an activation email from allAgents.


Opening Hours
  • Open: 24/7
Address

Purplebricks
Suite 7 First Floor, Cranmore Place, Cranmore Drive
Shirley,Solihull
West Midlands
B90 4RZ
0800 810 8008

Performance statistics
Services Valuation Accuracy Fees Satisfaction Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Sales 42% 25% £66,000 £3,500,000
Lettings 38% 20% £390 £1,550
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
2 27 0 22 19 119 1 29 0 30
Areas covered
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Members of
Rankings
Latest Properties

No Properties

“Worse than useless...”

Share on :
Nov 12,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'John Castle'
Nov 12,2019
2 people found
this helpful
All their promises are b/s, as soon as we pressed "proceed" we never heard from our "local property expert" again. If you are mad enough to use PB do not defer payment, all their conveyancers are useless with many spurious 5* reviews posted. Pay a ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Absolutely useless. Ran into a few problems w......”

Share on :
Nov 07,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Alan Dunn'
Nov 07,2019
1 people found
this helpful
Absolutely useless. Ran into a few problems with my house sale and Corlyn Edgar my local agent (Belfast) never once lifted the phone to offer advice or support. Once they sign you up they move on and forget about you. Please people go to a ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Appalling-Don't care...”

Share on :
Nov 01,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Michaela Percival'
Nov 01,2019
2 people found
this helpful
Never use. We had to involve the ombudsman. Our complaint was upheld, and they still billed us for there appalling service. There are so many failings. They lost our keys, leaving our property vulnerable, and didn't stay with people during viewings. They take no responsibility ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Please don't use Purple Bricks....”

Share on :
Oct 25,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Charlotte Simpson'
Oct 25,2019
1 people found
this helpful
Please don't use Purple Bricks. If I could give 0 stars I would. I've just paid them over £1000 for 1 viewing and house still not sold after 9m and now a dead dog on Rightmove... plus some frankly poor customer service from my purple bricks “property expert”. 2 ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I would not re commend...”

Share on :
Oct 23,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Helen'
Oct 23,2019
2 people found
this helpful
I decided to put my house on the market. It was valued and we were promised a 5*service. 1 house viewing and no communication from our agent for 5 months, we just sat waiting. I complained and decided they were not providing me the service I was ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Absolute joke! Over last 6 weeks I have used......”

Share on :
Oct 14,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Vincent'
Oct 14,2019
3 people found
this helpful
Absolute joke! Over last 6 weeks I have used their website to book call and nothing. Chat online twice and promised to be contacted again nothing, and 2 more separate phone call's apologising to me, promising contact for appointments and again nothing. So 1 star is too much ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Appalling level of property management suppor......”

Share on :
Oct 14,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Stephen Cosby'
Oct 14,2019
2 people found
this helpful
Appalling level of property management support. Tennant was locked out of the property and PB were unable to locate the keys they held. Locks had to be changed for which they are now charging me. Monthly fee reduction agreed by telephone was then altered by ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Would not recommend. Took months to sell our ......”

Share on :
Oct 02,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Amy Harneiss'
Oct 02,2019
5 people found
this helpful
Would not recommend. Took months to sell our property with very little effort from the estate agent. We had to constantly tell him to take new photos of our house- he got the information on the lease hold wrong on the advert- told him 3 times ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Misleading advertising They are the worst per......”

Share on :
Oct 02,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Susan Boggon-Smith'
Oct 02,2019
2 people found
this helpful
Misleading advertising They are the worst performing agent in my area (no house sales according to Zoopla and Right move on line). If I had I have known this I would never have selected them. 2) I was denied my statutory right to cancel as Stage 3 ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Where to even start - and still ongoing, desp......”

Share on :
Sep 30,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Deborah Elgahmi'
Sep 30,2019
3 people found
this helpful
Where to even start - and still ongoing, despite having moved out of one of their rental properties a month ago. Allowed us to move into a filthy house, meaning we had to hand the keys back and find somewhere else to live for a ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We used Purplebricks 2 years ago. The agent w......”

Share on :
Sep 23,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Valerie Taylor'
Sep 23,2019
2 people found
this helpful
We used Purplebricks 2 years ago. The agent was always 'in back to back meetungs' so hard to contact. He was rude in the extreme so much so, I was in tears. I refused to speak to him anymore. Our property was listed in the wrong ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Choosing Purplebricks has to be one of the wo......”

Share on :
Sep 20,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Martin Hale'
Sep 20,2019
4 people found
this helpful
Choosing Purplebricks has to be one of the worst decisions I've taken. All too good to be true at first and then a nightmare. Their representative was poor at following up on their verbal promises. So much so I had to resort to communicating with ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Unprepared, unprofessional, not worth it...”

Share on :
Sep 19,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Ana'
Sep 19,2019
3 people found
this helpful
We sold and bought our houses with PB. I only give 2 stars as we actually did manage to get through the transactions but that was probably the worst 9 months of our lives. PB was simply not prepared for the job they were supposed to do. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Never EVER go with Purple Bricks...”

Share on :
Sep 19,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Abbie Hewitt'
Sep 19,2019
2 people found
this helpful
The worst service I have ever received. Broken utilities for months on end. Misrepresentation of signatures on an incorrect and unfair check out inventory that was obviously geared towards holding back deposit. Complaints that are ignored. We are slowly getting to the point where we ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Extremely poor communication. We've had many ......”

Share on :
Sep 10,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Katy Lacey'
Sep 10,2019
2 people found
this helpful
Extremely poor communication. We've had many problems with them which involved us losing losing a potential tenant meaning that we lost a months rent as we had to advertise the property again. When I met the current tenants in I met their dog which I ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Wowful Customer Service...”

Share on :
Sep 09,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Sam Lewis'
Sep 09,2019
2 people found
this helpful
PurpleBricks wrongly listed the nearest train station for our house as Garforth (2.8miles away), even though we live in Crossgates which has a station 0.1 miles away. PurpleBricks tried to blame 'the data coming from Rightmove', until we pointed out that Rightmove was listing this correctly. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Accept a offer. got finance ready and inform ......”

Share on :
Sep 03,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'man chang'
Sep 03,2019
2 people found
this helpful
Accept a offer. got finance ready and inform solicitor. only to be told house is on offer by bidding !!! wasted my time on transferring my funds , my solicitor cost and my time trying to understand what accepting an offer was!!! thanks Cherrie Stokes of purplebrick ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Misinformed about price, waste of time attending viewing....”

Share on :
Sep 02,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Darren Smith'
Sep 02,2019
2 people found
this helpful
Was looking to rent a property with max budget of £1,300/mo. Visited a property advertised at that, to be told: "well, the landlord actually wants up to £1,500 so you have to bid for what you're willing to pay". I bid £1,300, the letting agent called a ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Brilliant would recommend...”

Share on :
Aug 31,2019
Minithumbup
By: 'Maz'
Aug 31,2019
1 people found
this helpful
Brilliant company! Managed to sell one of our houses within 24 hours! Saved us thousands on fees with no commission!! Conveyancer is a tiny bit more expensive to one not affiliated with the company, but well worth the money. You can defer paying for 10 months interest ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Had to involve the Ombudsman....”

Share on :
Aug 30,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'John Baxter'
Aug 30,2019
1 people found
this helpful
Had to involve the Ombudsman. It's taken 18months since the sale of my house to resolve some of the issues, not all because the thought of wasting more of my life with them is just too much. Please use anyone else, their customer care is ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Awful!...”

Share on :
Aug 29,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Dale Swallow'
Aug 29,2019
1 people found
this helpful
Purple bricks put myself and my family in actual danger. Ive been renting a house through them for the past 3 years and a few months back a hole started to show in the kitchen ceiling i reported it nothing got done and after time its ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Phoned the office for a property enquiry and ......”

Share on :
Aug 19,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Daksha'
Aug 19,2019
2 people found
this helpful
Phoned the office for a property enquiry and was given mobile number to call Elizabeth. Tried calling and got answering machine so left message to return call. Did not get any call so called a few hours later. Asked if she got my message and ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Want to be paid for doing nothing...”

Share on :
Aug 13,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Emma Proctor'
Aug 13,2019
4 people found
this helpful
Over 7 months on the market with only 1 viewing - which conveniently came after the first time we complained. Very little communication from them, despite now dealing with a manager. We're having to weekly change around our photos on the listing, which they're supposed to do. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“A valuer with Purple Bricks called yesterday,......”

Share on :
Aug 04,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Lynda'
Aug 04,2019
5 people found
this helpful
A valuer with Purple Bricks called yesterday, the hour (stated by then) was 20 minutes we sat in the living room and a very quick look round my home, did not visit a building in the garden! I did not feel that this was professional, just ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“There is a problem with PurpleBricks ......”

Share on :
Jul 22,2019
Minithumbup
By: 'robin stacpoole'
Jul 22,2019
1 people found
this helpful
There is a problem with PurpleBricks [PB]. If you are trying to work out should you use them, the reviews are either very bad or very good. Allagents has 200+ reviews with a 1.2* average. Trustpiliot is 89% excellent, while compareonlineagents concludes that “a local agent makes all ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Purple Bricks were excellent...”

Share on :
Jul 18,2019
Minithumbup
By: 'gary young'
Jul 18,2019
0 people found
this helpful
Purple bricks were excellent, our local rep 'Ian Taylor' was always contactable, helpful and on the ball. Saved a fortune as well , as the other local agents were 4 times the price. Their Conveyancers 'Premier property lawyers' were amazing as well, again always contactable & helpful and ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“A Buyers View...”

Share on :
Jul 17,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jack'
Jul 17,2019
9 people found
this helpful
This review is from the buyers perspective. As anyone selling their home though the site will need buyers like me I believe its pertinent. I have dealt with Purplebricks to see three properties in my local town. The first was a calamity. I booked a ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Not known.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Terrible experience...”

Share on :
Jul 11,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Rachel Kelly'
Jul 11,2019
5 people found
this helpful
Buyer did not have mortgage offer as i was assured they did by Purple Bricks - cost me thousands - horrendous experience financially abd emotionally...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Poor service...”

Share on :
Jul 11,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Ivan arena'
Jul 11,2019
4 people found
this helpful
Agent who came to valuate my flat had not clue about the price market and the area. Im still waiting for an email and details he supposed share with me. Poor service...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We went through months of calls and emails wi......”

Share on :
Jul 11,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Mrs Frances Flynn'
Jul 11,2019
4 people found
this helpful
We went through months of calls and emails with customer service and management due to being insulted in our own home by the supposed "expert" estate agent Richard, whom also put in my advert we were located by a certain park which is 3 miles away! ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure set.
Last updated at 1:49 PM 13/12/2017 by allAgents

Awards won by Purplebricks, Solihull B90 4RZ


As Seen On

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home