Dexters
St Margarets, London, TW1
2.6/5, 10 reviews
40% recommended
50% sales valuation accuracy
43% sales fee satisfaction

“They have overpriced my property by 100kNow you have to ......”

Share on :
Jun 19,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Igor Todorinovic'
Jun 19,2019
15 people found
this helpful
They have overpriced my property by 100k
Now you have to be a complete moron to believe in it ( naively I did)
Compete incompetency and joke.
Wasted 5 moths of our time and prime time of the year
Would not touch with a barge pole
Update Jun 2019:
After year or so of raising the complaint managing director Duncan Gibb reply stands that he sees nothing wrong with this practice and endorse it 100%.
According to Dexters this is normal practice of all estate agents to overprice the property to get the sole listing then to reduce it by managing client's expectations. I do not know in what world they live in and what ethic education and upbringing they had but it is not honest and good business practice.
I have contacted Obdusman as per suggestions that being almost single course of complaint procedure with estate agents.
They have made it extremely difficult for clients to file any complaint with agent so I am not sure what is the purpose of organization and who are there to regulate and protect.
Going forward I am never to trust the estate agents again, treat them with no respect as for what they are thieves and dishonest people.
Fair enough there are some agents who maybe honest but yet to be found, so no offence to those.
In summary agents at Dexters in St Margarets are lying thieves governed by lord of lies Duncan Gibbs
Comment on agent fees
Did not have time to reflect on it after experience with it
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Igor Todorinovic
Jun 19, 2019
Jokers continue on, managing director Duncan Gibbs sees nothing wrong and blames me for it.
Appalling , I have uploaded letter for all to read

"Although I am sorry to hear you regret instructing Dexters back in 2016, I believe we
were always open and transparent with you. James Carey, Sales Manager carried out
the Market Appraisal in May 2016. The recommendation he gave on the asking price
was given in good faith and reflected available information about the property and took
into account the market conditions at the time.
I can see that James followed up the meeting with a letter confirming what you
discussed and he suggested an asking price of £749,950. James' advice was
consistent with a comparable property that was sold in the area and I attach a copy of
this for your information. I therefore cannot agree that James deliberately over-inflated
the price to gain the instruction.
It was ultimately your decision to instruct Dexters and agree to marketing at that price.
We advised you at the time that if interest was not forthcoming we would review the
sales strategy and price once we had received some feedback. Further to almost three
weeks' of marketing we discussed reducing the asking price in line with the feedback
we had received, which I understand agreed to do.
The price reduction generated more interest and a further nine viewings, however you
then made the decision to withdraw your property. Despite being in a 12 week Sole
Selling Agency agreement, we accepted your notice and agreed to withdraw your Once again I am sorry that you felt unhappy with our service, but having now reviewed
the matter I believe we were professional and acted in your best in your best interests
at all times. The purpose of a market appraisal is to provide an indication of the price
the property might sell for and what a Seller can hope to achieve, but it does not
confirm or guarantee the same.
Please note this is now our Company's final viewpoint on the matter. Therefore if you
remain unhappy and wish to take the matter further, the next step is for you to raise a
complaint with The Property Ombudsman for independent arbitration. You have 12
months from the date of this letter in which to do so and details of their complaints
procedure can be found on their website, www.tpos.co.uk.
Managing Director
Duncan Gibbs
Dexters
"
Attachments

By: Marilyn
Mar 27, 2018
Dear Igor,

I am sorry to read your review and that you have been unhappy with Dexters and we would very much like to discuss this with you.

I have passed your comments onto the Managing Director of the office who will be reviewing your comments with the team and will be in contact with you.

Kind regards,

Marilyn, Head of Customer Relations
customerrelations@dexters.co.uk

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.




Note: Your comment will not be activated until you click on the link in an email sent to your address as submitted in the form above. By clicking on Submit Comment you agree to receive an activation email from allAgents.


Opening Hours
Address

Dexters
1 Chertsey Road
St Margarets,London
Greater London
TW1 1LR
020 8744 9400, 020 8744 9700

Performance statistics
Services Valuation Accuracy Fees Satisfaction Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Sales 50% 43% £500,000 £1,070,000
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
2 0 0 1 2 1 0 1 0 3
Areas covered
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Members of
NAEA ARLA RICS TPOS Sales
Latest Properties

No Properties

“Nothing but positive feedback for Nancy. She’......”

Share on :
Nov 17,2019
Minithumbup
By: 'Sophia'
Nov 17,2019
1 people found
this helpful
Nothing but positive feedback for Nancy. She’s super professional, smart and knowledgable but at the same time incredibly human in her approach - some thing that is often lacking in property transactions. She cares about her clients position, is sensitive to circumstances and is ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“These guys are the best agents in town....”

Share on :
Sep 25,2019
Minithumbup
By: 'Albert boulton'
Sep 25,2019
1 people found
this helpful
These guys are the best agents in town. Very professional. I have bought, sold and let through Dexters and wouldn't think of anyone else when considering a property-related transaction....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I brought this apartment through Dexters and ......”

Share on :
Sep 24,2019
Minithumbup
By: 'Denis Amos'
Sep 24,2019
0 people found
this helpful
I brought this apartment through Dexters and was extremely impressed with how professional they were, they were proactive and I always heard from them with updates and a steer of what I needed to do. When there was a problem, they worked with me to ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“When the going gets tough!...”

Share on :
Sep 05,2019
Minithumbup
By: 'David Bowey'
Sep 05,2019
0 people found
this helpful
Selling a property in the London area is tough at the moment so you need a strong and determined team on your side.We chose Dexter's initially due to their positive and enthusiastic appraisal of our property.As we were in no rush we were ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Hayley Marner
Sep 25, 2019
View all comments (1)
Dear David, Thank you for your review regarding your experience with our St Margarets Office. I am delighted to read that we have achieved our aim of delivering a five star service. I would like to thank you once again for taking time to submit your feedback and wish you all the very best for the future. Kind regards, Hayley Marner Customer Relations Team ...

“They have overpriced my property by 100kNow you have to ......”

Share on :
Jun 19,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Igor Todorinovic'
Jun 19,2019
15 people found
this helpful
They have overpriced my property by 100k Now you have to be a complete moron to believe in it ( naively I did) Compete incompetency and joke. Wasted 5 moths of our time and prime time of the year Would not touch with a barge pole Update ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Did not have time to reflect on it after experience with it
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Igor Todorinovic
Jun 19, 2019
View all comments (2)
Jokers continue on, managing director Duncan Gibbs sees nothing wrong and blames me for it. Appalling , I have uploaded letter for all to read "Although I am sorry to hear you regret instructing Dexters back in 2016, I believe we were always open and transparent with you. James Carey, Sales Manager carried out the Market Appraisal in May 2016. The recommendation he gave on the asking price was given in good faith and reflected available information about the property and took into accoun ...

“it is a very long and complicated complaint which I ......”

Share on :
Dec 11,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Distressed mother'
Dec 11,2015
63 people found
this helpful
it is a very long and complicated complaint which I am quite happy to share with anyone interested but it's safe to say that I think Dexters have not done their job properly with completing checks on their clients resulting in their client not completing ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Dec 11, 2015
View all comments (1)
Hello, I am really sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by our Dexters Twickenham branch, which is part of the Thamesview group. I am head of Customer Services and I wondered if I could be of any further assistance. If you could e-mail further details to me at customerservices@thamesview.co.uk, I can investigate the situation and try and resolve any outstanding issues for you. I look forward to hearing from you. Marilyn ...

“Had to deal with an Inexperienced, unprofessional individual with a ......”

Share on :
Jul 07,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'St Margarets Buyer'
Jul 07,2015
117 people found
this helpful
Had to deal with an Inexperienced, unprofessional individual with a poor level of communication and engagement. This individual needs training to ensure that that understand their legal boundaries rather than trying to be everything that is wrong with the Estate Agents profile when dealing with ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn
Aug 07, 2015
View all comments (1)
Hello, I am really sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by our St Margarets branch. I am head of Customer Services and I wondered if I could be of any further assistance. If you could e-mail further details to me at customerservices@thamesview.co.uk, I can investigate the situation and try and resolve any outstanding issues for you. I look forward to hearing from you. Marilyn ...

“Dexters talk the talk, but the senior staff members (not ......”

Share on :
Sep 24,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Truth teller'
Sep 24,2014
166 people found
this helpful
Dexters talk the talk, but the senior staff members (not all to be fair) are sly and manipulative. I was lied to about marketing which was badly done, numerous errors that repeatedly were corrected. Beware if you terminate a contract with them as I did, ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
might be justified if they knew what they were doing and didn't lie so much, grossly insulting my intelligence. It is disturbing that there is still sharp practise going on out there.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Having submitted an offer on one of the property on ......”

Share on :
Jul 22,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'SP82'
Jul 22,2014
183 people found
this helpful
Having submitted an offer on one of the property on sale not to long ago that was on via the Twickenham branch - I must admit that I am NOT impressed ! The sales agent we submitted the offer to was, though not rude, maintained an ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Marilyn Plews
Aug 04, 2014
View all comments (1)
Hello, I am really sorry to hear that you have been unhappy with the service provided by our TWickenham branch. I am head of Customer Services and I wondered if I could be of any further assistance? If you could e-mail further details to me at customerservices@thamesview.co.uk, I can investigate the situation and try and resolve any outstanding issues for you. I look forward to hearing from you. Marilyn ...

“I read the poor reviews yet went ahead with the ......”

Share on :
Mar 20,2012
Minithumbdown
By: 'unhappyrenter'
Mar 20,2012
93 people found
this helpful
I read the poor reviews yet went ahead with the agreement. HUGE MISTAKE!! I wish I had listened to everyones views! From the start our flat had problems. As soon as they have your money, don't expect to hear from them again! Our flat wasn't ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure available.

Awards won by Dexters, London TW1 1LR


As Seen On

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home