May 16,2012
Anthony Kyriakou
By: 'Rita'
May 16,2012
5 people found
this helpful
Anthony Kyriakou lied about the price of the property and pushed me to put down a deposit for the property all the same. When he informed me I had secured the flat I naturally withdrew my other offers and cancelled the viewings I had arranged. A day later, he informed me that ... the landlord had changed his mind and decided to increase the asking price. I didn\'t like this but he re-assured me there no other flats of similar specifications in the same location, while at the same time - on the same date - he started advertising - with his personal details on Gumtree - another property, same price much better quality. When I realised at first the property was being advertised by the same agent, I thought it was my lucky day so I contacted him to arrange a viewing for the second property that came up before I decide what to do and whether to give in to the extortion... and then I tried contacting him again and again and again. I tried all ways, emails, voicemails, texts, calls... nothing .. he disappeared until he came back to me 2 days later to let me know the property I had seen had been let (probably just before he decided to get back to me) and he even dared to ask me - in a casual manner - if I had made my mind up regards the other flat... cause it was UNFAIR (yes, he dared use this word too!) to other prospective tenants. I decided to meet him and when I asked him why he didn\'t get back to me and what was the reason behind this? It had become clear to me that not only he didn\'t want to give me any options but he also wanted to make sure I have none so I take what I was given at a higher than advertised price! His response was among these lines: Why would he show me another flat when he was so close to persuading me to close the first deal, even though he knew exactly how I felt about the \'sudden change of heart\' that allegedly the landlord had. I contacted other agents and found out the flat was offered from the beginning at a higher rate which proves that the agent had been lying from the start. And moreover it is proven that this malpractice and abuse of their position is a common practice for them and fully supported by their branch manager, Frank Xavier. Finally, just to mention that they do not have a complaints procedure as I have asked for a copy and they couldn\'t provide. I suggest they sit down and write one because from what I have seen online, they definitely need it. Of course this incident has left me with unsavory taste but in the end I think I saved myself from a lot of future trouble and grief. Imagine having them to act as my agents for 1 year...!
What agent could do to change your mind?
They could have shown me both properties. They could have returned my calls, emails and arranged a viewing for my preferred property which I would definitely take. They could also be better people, rather than condescending liars.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Branch Manager
Jul 04, 2012
Dear 'Ela' or 'Rita'
We have discussed this issue with you at length and feel that we did everything we could to rectify the situation. I am sorry that you have still found it necessary to write on this platform.
The landlady for the property you took issue with has many properties with us and unfortunately she mis-quoted the price that the property was to be marketed at to us. We showed you the email she had sent us confirming it has her mistake
When we discovered her mistake we informed you immediately, and offered you your full deposit back or the option to increase you offer by just £5 per week. Understandably, you did not want to increase and we do not hold cheque book in the office. We BACS transferred the full deposit money the same day, which reached your account within 72hours. Unfortunately, as you are aware, you provided us with the incorrect bank details, which delayed the process by 24 hours.
We are sorry that you were not happy with this and hope that you have now found a great property, that you are enjoying living in.
Urban Spaces - Lettings

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.

Urban Spaces

70 Clerkenwell Road Islington, London
Greater London

020 7251 4000

Opening hours

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home