Red Key Property Services
Newport, NP20
1.5/5, 12 reviews
8% recommended
100% sales valuation accuracy
100% sales fee satisfaction



Property Features

...left to get your reviews in for the
2022 allAgents Estate & Letting Agents Awards


“My husband and I recently had to rent a property ......”

Share on :
Jun 10,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'RED'
Jun 10,2016
2 people found
this helpful
My husband and I recently had to rent a property from Red Key following a home emergency. The process was extremely quick and the service was prompt.

However, as mentioned in a previous post we had to pay further monies to extend the original six month contact. On extending the contract a Red Key agent came to inspect our property and stated he was very happy with the apartment. A few weeks later we received a message that another agent wished to view the property. Once again, he too was happy with the condition.

During our time at the apartment, the oven broke. I contacted Red Key via phone to be informed that next time a problem occurred I should email the relevant site. Maintenance was sent out the next day, he informed he did not know what to do and we would probably need a new oven. He would report back to Red Key, that was the last we heard from him or Red Key. A week later as we were unable to use the oven we called in a company to rectify the matter and paid for the work on the oven to be completed.


A month before out contract was due to end, I contacted Red Key to inform them of our intention to leave the apartment a day earlier than the due date, I immediately received an email stating that I could not claim discount in our rent. I did not consider this a problem and informed Red Key.

Before the planned moving date my husband and I spent three hours cleaning, in addition we cleaned the oven (leaving the product on overnight). We received an email advising us that a check-out clerk would meet us to receive the keys on our last day.

The following day we received an email informing us that we will be charged the following:
£35.00 Light clean throughout.
£25.00 Light clean to oven.
£35.00 Touch up to walls.

Plus the added pleasure of paying £65.00 to the checkout clerk for telling us my cleaning is not good enough.

This total of £160.00 will be deducted from our deposit. Please can you tell me what do the service charges the landlord pays to Red Key supposed to cover?

I have spoken to numerous people who cannot believe these charges. Red Key eventually replied to my message today,offering to deduct £10.00 from my bill and reminding me of:
" Clause 7.23.1 To pay the reasonable cost of a check-out of the Inventory and Schedule of Condition listing all the Fixtures and Fittings in the Premises and the condition of them at the expiry or sooner termination of the tenancy. The cost is currently £65 inc VAT (Sixty five pounds). "
Comment on agent fees
Poor as we had to pay ‚£70.00 to extend our contract for only an extra three months. Plus the ‚£65.00 for the Checking out fee.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Red Key Property Services
Nov 18, 2016
Hello,


I would first like to thank you on your feedback stating we provided quick and prompt service.

When any repairs are required at a property we send a contractor to asses the work and provide a quote if it is unable to be repaired under the assigned spend limit. The quote is then relayed to the landlord and they then need to give authorisation to proceed prior to any further instruction to the contractor. Suitable contact was made to your landlord about this matter but we are sorry for the delay caused. Please can I ask if your ever requested a refund from your landlord for the cost of that repair as I can't see anything on our records?

I have compared the inventory from when you moved into the property to when you moved out and can see that every charge is just, which is also the same opinion from my colleague who completed the deposit process with you. You were sent a copy of the checkout for your own records and agreed these costs. At no point, did you decide to take the matter to the TDS for adjudication and seek a third parties opinion.

In relation to the extension of the tenancy agreement, it is clearly stated in the tenancy agreement you would have signed before moving into the property as follows 7.19.4 Any renewal of this Agreement at a cost of £72.00 inclusive of VAT" This is standard practice for many estate agents. The checkout cost was also in the tenancy agreement you signed before moving into the property, therefore these charges should have come at no surprise. The service charges landlords pay are for communal areas and cover nothing whatsoever internal to the property.

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.




Note: Your comment will not be activated until you click on the link in an email sent to your address as submitted in the form above. By clicking on Submit Comment you agree to receive an activation email from allAgents.


Opening Hours
Address

Red Key Property Services
21 Bridge Street
Newport
Gwent
NP20 4AN
01633 387970

Performance statistics
Services Valuation Accuracy Fees Satisfaction Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Sales 100% 100% £195,000 £195,000
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
0 0 0 10 1 0 0 0 0 1
Areas covered
  • NP20
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Members of
ARLA TPOS Lettings
Latest Properties

No Properties

“Rang to book a viewing and was told I would ......”

Share on :
Feb 25,2022
Minithumbdown
By: 'Paul O'Shea'
Feb 25,2022
0 people found
this helpful
Rang to book a viewing and was told I would be added to the list of people and contacted to firm up the booking. The next call was from the agent a couple of days later telling me I had an appointment booked (I hadn't). ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“The worst agency you can find on the market. ......”

Share on :
Nov 30,2021
Minithumbdown
By: 'Olivia'
Nov 30,2021
0 people found
this helpful
The worst agency you can find on the market. Keep away from it. Very unfriendly stuff, everything is a problem there....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Worst living accommodation of my life. Left w......”

Share on :
Jun 20,2021
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jim gibson'
Jun 20,2021
0 people found
this helpful
Worst living accommodation of my life. Left without a shower for 14days over 2 separate ocassions, outdated water heating system which took two tanks of water to fill the bath that you would need to half fill the bath. Wait an hour for water to heat ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Avoid...”

Share on :
Mar 07,2020
Minithumbdown
By: 'Oliver'
Mar 07,2020
4 people found
this helpful
WILL UPDATED REVIEW ACCORDINGLY TO REDKEYS CORRESPONDENCE AVOID IF YOU WANT TO EVER SEE YOUR DEPOSIT BACK. Absolutely shocking service from start to finish. Every single person I have dealt with at RedKey via email and telephone have been rude, unprofessional and a complete disaster. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Excellent...”

Share on :
Mar 11,2019
Minithumbup
By: 'Allboutme'
Mar 11,2019
0 people found
this helpful
The team at Red key are outstanding and go above and beyond to get your house sold and for a good price. Will be recommending them!...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Fair fees
Was this helpful? Yes

“Unhappy client...”

Share on :
Jul 09,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'Unhappy'
Jul 09,2018
1 people found
this helpful
Verry bad choice to meet them. They promise to call you back when you have a problem but never happend. Take lots of money because you left the house durty even you painted the walls, you wash the carpets, you stay hours to clean the ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Bad
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Samantha Thomas
Jul 10, 2018
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your comments. Rest assured, if you are in dispute with your landlord regarding your deposit, Red Key will do our very best to oversee the matter and meet a resolution. If an agreement cannot be made between yourself and the landlord, then the matter will be referred to the TDS for adjudication. Please be assured that this is not indicative of the usual high standard of service provided and we would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. ...

“I thought our current agency wasn't very good , but this ......”

Share on :
Aug 14,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'unhappy'
Aug 14,2017
1 people found
this helpful
I thought our current agency wasn't very good , but this one its just ridiculous . Lied about the property being let , when we wanted to put holding fee , then 2 days later property is back on the market even cheaper and still saying its been let , while ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
checkout fee before moving in ??? don't think so
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Reda
Aug 21, 2017
View all comments (2)
We did meet affordability requirements and I do earn more than it should be to be accepted for a property . Required was 21000 and I get 25000 all together without my partners wages which is 16000 extra on top of that . Clear reason why you didn't wanted to rent that exact property was because we needed more time to think before placing a holding fee , and we didn't put money in your bank straight away before 2 pm that day . Anyway, we already found a property and will be avoiding your l ...

“Money orientated. No concern for how happy clients. Wont admit ......”

Share on :
Oct 14,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Mrsnothappy'
Oct 14,2016
2 people found
this helpful
Money orientated. No concern for how happy clients. Wont admit when they are wrong. Left to live in damp. Mouldy conditions. Couldn't wallpaper as the walls was too damp for wallpaper to stick. Do not rent of these! As soon as we moved out the ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“My husband and I recently had to rent a property ......”

Share on :
Jun 10,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'RED'
Jun 10,2016
2 people found
this helpful
My husband and I recently had to rent a property from Red Key following a home emergency. The process was extremely quick and the service was prompt. However, as mentioned in a previous post we had to pay further monies to extend the original six ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Poor as we had to pay ‚£70.00 to extend our contract for only an extra three months. Plus the ‚£65.00 for the Checking out fee.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Red Key Property Services
Nov 18, 2016
View all comments (1)
Hello, I would first like to thank you on your feedback stating we provided quick and prompt service. When any repairs are required at a property we send a contractor to asses the work and provide a quote if it is unable to be repaired under the assigned spend limit. The quote is then relayed to the landlord and they then need to give authorisation to proceed prior to any further instruction to the contractor. Suitable contact was made to your landlord about this matter but we are sorr ...

“You won't get your full deposit refunded no matter what ......”

Share on :
Apr 04,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Never'
Apr 04,2016
1 people found
this helpful
You won't get your full deposit refunded no matter what you do. Broken doors went unfixed until they needed to put it back on renting market and because there is no water meter, illegally, I paid twice the amount that I now pay at a ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Astronomical. Moved in to a grubby flat.
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
Astronomical. Moved in to a grubby flat.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sally Jones
Jul 15, 2016
View all comments (1)
Fantastic from the start! No issues with fees as everything is made very clear in my agreement. Great team of people working in a local office who are always happy to help :-) ...

“Poor service from the start, the house was dirty when ......”

Share on :
Feb 04,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Mrs'
Feb 04,2014
1 people found
this helpful
Poor service from the start, the house was dirty when I was assured that it would be cleaned and freshly painted before I moved in. The house smelled of stale smoke, all floors were sticky including carpets, and the work surfaces caked in grease. Filthy ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Keep your promises, if you say you will make a property fit for moving into then do so! No excuses for a dirty house. If you promise a call back then do so, it's poor customer service. You are quick enough to take payment for "charges" pay back what you owe promptly. Take each tenant as an individual, my circumstances could not be avoided yet I was punished for leaving the contract early due to my illness by having to pay ‚£300. Train staff properly, I called for a detailed explanation on the check out fee and the lady could not explain it to me, apart from it's now gone up in price.
Attached Filesnbsp;
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Red Key
Mar 04, 2014
View all comments (1)
I am sorry that you have had cause to post your experience and that it appears to have fallen below the high service level standards we aim to achieve. We take all customer service very seriously and therefore please contact us on 01633 387970 to discuss the service you have received. ...

“We have "suffered" in this property for some months now ......”

Share on :
Jan 21,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Poor'
Jan 21,2014
1 people found
this helpful
We have "suffered" in this property for some months now for the following reasons Eucharist were not dealt with until the time we had to make the decision of leaving the property... 1 - Damp which was not dealt with 2 - mould in all rooms - ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Helped to rectify all the issues we tried to get dealt with for 8 months
Attached Filesnbsp;
Was this helpful? Yes
By: RedKey
Jan 28, 2014
View all comments (1)
I am sorry to hear that you have had a poor customer service. We take customer service very seriously and therefore please contact us to discuss the issues you have raised in more detail. ...
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure set.
Last updated at 9:21 AM 17/10/2016 by Sam

Awards won by Red Key Property Services, Newport NP20 4AN


As Seen On

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home