Feb 17,2012
By: 'Tashastark'
Feb 17,2012
4 people found
this helpful
I was a buyer keen to buy a property and had everything in place along with a 25% deposit and an agreed mortgage. I wanted to move my initial viewing and asked it to be at 12 instead of 5. I was at work and very keen for this to happen which was conveyed as being "pushy".
I made a good offer which was rejected and then a higher offer which was also rejected. It was only 5k below the asking so I asked what the problem was and if they wanted to sell their house. When I called not only did Damien inform me he was "on his lunch"(!!!!) but he didn't call back for an hour and a half and then sent me an email informing me they didn't want to sell me their house or go forward with any further negotiations. Why? At this point the only information they had was through Damien (who had never met me!!). I had never even met Damien and for him to convey incorrect information to the vendor and to do himself out of a sale like this is utterly unforgivable. I am a very personable and trustworthy individual in an extremely strong buying position. I lost my perfect home and am completely gutted.
Please don't allow yourself to be treated the same way and steer clear of this agent. I will be making a formal complaint.
What agent could do to change your mind?
He has the petty mindedness of David Brent from The Office and the social grace of a toad and without even meeting me has discussed me with a vendor conveying me in a completely unrealistic and misleading light. I am heartbroken that the flat of my dreams has been taken away from me and can't say enough how unprofessional this man is. He should not be working in any capacity.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Damien M. Ellison
Feb 21, 2012
Dear Miss Stark,

We have attempted to help you with your ‘complaints’ using fully transparent protocol set in place to deal with such issues as this and these procedures have been explained to you in order to facilitate an agreeable solution to your particular problem. We are keen to help you with this matter but unfortunately it seems to us that, so far, you are not as prepared as we are to seek an amicable conclusion to it.

We do not wish to publically battle with you, but feel the points that you have raised and published in the Public domain on this web site must be addressed and will be if you are prepared to follow it through correctly and politely in a manner accepted by all professional Agents and therefore provide a much clearer picture to members of the Public reading your review and thus ensuring that the correct facts pertaining to your version of events are available to them.

As already discussed with you, we do have a complaints procedure if you wish to raise an official complaint. You can contact Claire Kingsford, our Franchise Field Manager for Ellis and Co on 07738 648 584 or claire.kingsford@xperience.co.uk.

In response to the accusations that have made and for the benefit of the public who have read your comments, we would like to clarify a few points;

• Your initial appointment that was booked 5pm could not be changed to 11/11.30am as requested due to the extremely short notice that you gave. As explained to you, my client has two young children that we need to work around. The sellers request that they have several hours notice in order to present their property immaculately for viewings. While a viewing takes place, they take the children out to allow us to do our job. When this was explained to you, you showed no understanding of my clients position and circumstances, and had even questioned if they were serious in selling. When my colleague explained that you still had your 5pm appointment on the telephone, you hung up on him. It was only explained approximately 1hour later that you were with your employer and had to hang up. With not actually knowing if you intended to view this property or not, we spoke to our client and explained what had happened. He then decided to cancel the appointment as he did not want to disrupt his young children if we could not be sure if you were attending. After a telephone conversation a few hours later, you were booked in to see the property the following day.

• Your first offer of £325,000 was rejected by my client. Not only was this offer not high enough, my client questioned your reliability as a buyer because you had already displayed, what our Client considered, were unreliable characteristics before you had even seen the property. He doubted your performance if a sale had been agreed. Yes, you did submit an offer of £335,000, which was made directly to our client when you presented yourself at his property in the evening, unannounced, trying to make him change his mind regarding you as a buyer. He explained to you that he wasn’t interested in dealing with you directly and that you had to contact via ourselves in the usual accepted manner. This office has not received any formal offer of £335,000. This office was contacted, by whom we can only presume was your father, offering a sum above the asking price, £355,000. Although our clients had already confirmed in writing that they were not to be contacted and informed of any offer made by you or anyone on your behalf, we had a very detailed telephone conversation with them confirming your good position as a buyer and that you had agreed to move as quickly/slowly as they may have wanted in an attempt to secure some form of acceptance and agreement from them. Unfortunately, their views regarding your reliability still remained the same and the offer of £355,000 was rejected.

• As you have mentioned, when you called our office at approximately 14:20 on 16th February 2012 the member of staff dealing with this issue was away from his desk having lunch and it was confirmed to you that he would call you back. We are not entirely sure what relevance this has regarding any complaint being made where a member of staff has a break and indeed something to eat?? You were emailed at 15:45 that day apologising for the delay in replying to you and the situation was fully explained in that same email. We would add that at this time all communications between yourself and our office were by email so that all communications were correctly documented.

• You were perfectly correct, when your appointment was cancelled by our Client you had not met the staff member dealing with this issue, however, all opinions regarding your suitability as a buyer were based on your attitude, behaviour and communications with our office during this time. We would like to point out that we work for our Client and our Client only who instructed us to provide a thorough, professional sales service. We do not work for buyers or represent them in any way that is outside of Industry or professional standards or indeed bound by Acts of Parliament.

Yours Sincerely,

Damien M. Ellison
Sales Manager

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.

Ellis & Co

29 Walm Lane Willesden Green, London
Greater London

020 8451 7272

Opening hours

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home