Petersfield, GU32
2.9/5, 15 reviews
47% recommended
0% lettings valuation accuracy
55% lettings fee satisfaction



Property Features

...left to get your reviews in for the
2022 allAgents Estate & Letting Agents Awards


“For the owner (John Richard Mitham) to remain out of ......”

Share on :
Aug 25,2015
Minithumbdown
John Richard
By: 'Tenant'
Aug 25,2015
7 people found
this helpful
For the owner (John Richard Mitham) to remain out of the day to day business and allow his staff to run the company. Also for the company to use the referencing company how it should be used. They are not authorised to hold client data and ask for very personal information to be transmitted over email which is not secure. The agency that they use have their own portal which is secure for tenants to upload their details. Also their referencing costs of £425 is just out of this world. Avoid at all costs if you don%27t want to be taken for a ride. See other reviews on other sites for a full explanation.
What agent could do to change your mind?
Be more friendly. Sue the office manager is very friendly and seems to be put on by the owner. He is very vague on the phone and quoted "we only select tenants that we want". Which when paying ‚£425 of referencing fees, leaves you feeling fairly uncomfortable. Not an agent that I would deal with. Stick with the agents that are signed up to the relevant associations that protect tenants. These cowboys don't appear to be.
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
Too expensive. More than any other agent in the area!
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Selina Mitham (Legal Advisor)
Oct 07, 2015
We work very hard in our office to ensure that both landlords and tenants receive a good service. We have been established in Petersfield for over 26 years and are lucky enough to have many long-term landlords and tenants. We are members of The Property Ombudsman and are trained bi-annually to ensure we are always up to date with the law and what is happening within the industry. It is always a shame to read negative comments and we would appreciate it if you could be in touch directly with our office to discuss your experience in person (although please do not ask for Sue as nobody by that name works here). Please feel free to email me at [email protected] so that we can endeavour to improve your experience with ourselves. We always strive to improve our service to our clients to give them the best experience possible.

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.




Note: Your comment will not be activated until you click on the link in an email sent to your address as submitted in the form above. By clicking on Submit Comment you agree to receive an activation email from allAgents.


Opening Hours
Address

Richard Mitham Associates
Lavant House, 39 Lavant Street
Petersfield
Hampshire
GU32 3EL
01730 266 657

Performance statistics
Services Valuation Accuracy Fees Satisfaction Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Lettings 0% 55% £520 £1,150
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
0 0 6 5 1 0 0 0 0 3
Areas covered
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Members of
Latest Properties

No Properties

Images & Videos

“5 star...”

Share on :
Mar 16,2022
Minithumbup
By: 'Felix'
Mar 16,2022
0 people found
this helpful
5 star, never had a problem. Been with richard mithams associates for nearly 6 years. 3 years in my studio flat before moving to a house im in now. They have been really supportive, and quick to get back to me if i had a problem. Unfortunately i ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Selina Mitham
Mar 16, 2022
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your kind comments. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us and we are sorry to lose you as a tenant. We wish you all the best in the future! ...

“Richard Mitcham and the tem...”

Share on :
Jul 07,2020
Minithumbup
By: 'Sheila'
Jul 07,2020
0 people found
this helpful
Great service and support by Richard Mitcham and the team in Petersfield. Amazing service, professional staff, always pleasure to deal with. Julie was helpful throughout our tenancy....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Selina Mitham
Jul 08, 2020
View all comments (1)
Thank you! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time as a tenant with us and if we are ever able to be of assistance, please do not hesitate to be in touch - we would be delighted to help! ...

“Don't rent from himThe property we rented fr......”

Share on :
Aug 16,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Debbie'
Aug 16,2019
2 people found
this helpful
Don't rent from him The property we rented from him was in a terrible state. We were advised after 11 years of renting one of his properties that we would not be out of pocket. We added secondary double glazing, a new bathroom and loads more ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Selina Mitham
Aug 16, 2019
View all comments (1)
We are sorry you feel this way, however we have tried to discuss the issues with yourselves many times. We advised on several occasions that the property was not suitable for yourselves for reasons you are aware of. We were not informed about the issue with the soak away until shortly before you moved out. Painting is not the same as cleaning and we have photos of the property from when you moved out in February. You chose to carry out works on the property yourselves and to leave the goods in ...

“Deposit...”

Share on :
May 04,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'Mr'
May 04,2018
4 people found
this helpful
Charged for professional clean after property had been cleaned but allegedly not good enough to pass the required standard. Would never use again and would never recommend....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I considered to sell my flat through RMA, but would ......”

Share on :
Oct 11,2016
Minithumbdown
Richard
By: 'tacchan14'
Oct 11,2016
2 people found
this helpful
I considered to sell my flat through RMA, but would echo the rest of the comments to advise steering well clear. An identical studio flat GU32 was found to have been advertised for almost one year, without successful completion. The advertisement itself was under-representing the ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
No comment on this
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Selina
Nov 22, 2016
View all comments (1)
As you have only ever telephoned our office for free advice and have never been a client of ours, we do not know how you can comment on our work. The client you mention has been a client of ours for 25 years so is clearly very happy with our service. ...

“I found Richard Mitham Associates to be an absolute shambles. ......”

Share on :
Dec 17,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'RDawkins'
Dec 17,2015
8 people found
this helpful
I found Richard Mitham Associates to be an absolute shambles. They let themselves in whilst myself and my partner were at work on several occasions with no prior notice. When completing a viewing near the end of our tenancy, Mr Mitham smashed a plant pot ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Selina Mitham (Legal Advisor)
Dec 18, 2015
View all comments (1)
RDawkins, we are sorry to hear that you feel you did not have a good experience with ourselves. It would, of course, be more helpful to ourselves if you could have discussed these points directly with us. You were allowed to go periodic as you refused to sign another fixed term and we have, therefore, been left with a property vacant during one of the worst times of the year, something we always try to avoid to protect our landlord's interests. The (one) occasion when access was gained was to co ...

“For the owner (John Richard Mitham) to remain out of ......”

Share on :
Aug 25,2015
Minithumbdown
John Richard
By: 'Tenant'
Aug 25,2015
7 people found
this helpful
For the owner (John Richard Mitham) to remain out of the day to day business and allow his staff to run the company. Also for the company to use the referencing company how it should be used. They are not authorised to hold client data ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Be more friendly. Sue the office manager is very friendly and seems to be put on by the owner. He is very vague on the phone and quoted "we only select tenants that we want". Which when paying ‚£425 of referencing fees, leaves you feeling fairly uncomfortable. Not an agent that I would deal with. Stick with the agents that are signed up to the relevant associations that protect tenants. These cowboys don't appear to be.
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
Too expensive. More than any other agent in the area!
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Selina Mitham (Legal Advisor)
Oct 07, 2015
View all comments (1)
We work very hard in our office to ensure that both landlords and tenants receive a good service. We have been established in Petersfield for over 26 years and are lucky enough to have many long-term landlords and tenants. We are members of The Property Ombudsman and are trained bi-annually to ensure we are always up to date with the law and what is happening within the industry. It is always a shame to read negative comments and we would appreciate it if you could be in touch directly with our ...

“These people are AWFUL to deal with!! Do NOT ever ......”

Share on :
Mar 31,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'BT'
Mar 31,2015
7 people found
this helpful
These people are AWFUL to deal with!! Do NOT ever go to these people, they are absolutely appalling and rude, like sales people. OK before you're sold, then the nasties come out. They will be your absolute nightmare. Do not waste any of your hard ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Most expensive fees in the area
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Selina Mitham (Legal Advisor)
Oct 07, 2015
View all comments (1)
Please contact us directly on [email protected] to discuss your issues further so that we can work towards resolving them. ...

“Please dont deal with this letting agent. The man is ......”

Share on :
Aug 19,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'disappointedtennant'
Aug 19,2014
5 people found
this helpful
Please dont deal with this letting agent. The man is rude and as previously stated way past retirement. Customer service is zero and approach appaling. We are great reliable tennants with 7 years renting history. He asked for 6 months deposit which we agreed too and sourced, ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
A complete personality change would be good. His staff are lovely but he is appalling.
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
Total scam artist
Was this helpful? Yes
By: None
Mar 31, 2015
View all comments (1)
Absolutely agree RMA are appalling. I would stay away far far away from these people ...

“Awful guy to deal with. Rude, very childish and should ......”

Share on :
Dec 02,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Adam'
Dec 02,2013
11 people found
this helpful
Awful guy to deal with. Rude, very childish and should think about retiring as past his sell by date to deal today's business world....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Very pleased with the service RMA provided and continue to ......”

Share on :
Oct 27,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Very'
Oct 27,2015
2 people found
this helpful
Very pleased with the service RMA provided and continue to provide for me, I have been a tenant in various properties for the last 12 years and have dealt with lots of company's but RMA really outshone from my first viewing. All the staff are incredibly ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Fees were very fair, they also offer a free service that sets you up with all the utilities and council etc, making moving in a very smooth process.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Selina Mitham (Legal Advisor)
Nov 24, 2015
View all comments (1)
It is always good to hear that all our hard work pays off and we end up with a happy client! As ever we will continue to strive to improve our standards. ...

“Although Mitham Associates are not well known for handling House ......”

Share on :
Jan 24,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'GRB'
Jan 24,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Although Mitham Associates are not well known for handling House Sales we decided to use Richard Mitham Associates to act as Agents for the Sale of our House in Slindon, West Sussex as opposed to one of the bigger multinational Agents. We found Mr Mitham ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Mitham associates fees were up to 50% LESS then their competitors!
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Selina Mitham (Legal Advisor)
Jan 25, 2017
View all comments (1)
Thank you very much for your kind review. We always try to make the process, whether it be selling or letting, go as smoothly and easily as possible for our clients and we are pleased to hear that the process worked so well for yourself. ...

“Outstanding personal care...”

Share on :
Mar 20,2019
Minithumbup
Carly
By: 'Carly'
Mar 20,2019
0 people found
this helpful
I have been a tennant if Mr Mitham for nearly 4 years. In that time I have had many changes in personal circumstances (people moving in and out, the addition of my kittens etc) and the team at RMA have always bent over backwards to accommodate ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very very reasonable, having just received the fees for my new house from a different agent which are nearly three times as much I am very grateful that I have been with RMA for as long as I have.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Selina Mitham
Mar 20, 2019
View all comments (1)
Thank you very much for your lovely message! We work hard to try and make renting your home as stress-free as possible so it is always good to hear that we made your experience a positive one. ...

“Richard Mitcham...”

Share on :
Oct 10,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Leezle'
Oct 10,2018
0 people found
this helpful
I would like to thank Richard Mitcham in Petersfield for the amazing personal service I received from your branch. Professional staff assisted in finding us the best property suited to our needs. It is so nice to deal with a company who returns calls and ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
I would like to thank Richard Mitcham in Petersfield for the amazing personal service I received from your branch. Professional staff assisted in finding us the best property suited to our needs. It is so nice to deal with a company who returns calls and emails in a fast efficient manner. Julie was helpful throughout our tenancy. So many agencies are happy to take your money and then are not interested in the tenant after that. Julie guided us through the process, assisting us all the way. Well done team! Thank you for your support.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Selina Mitham
Oct 10, 2018
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your kind comments. We try our best to provide a high standard of service to our clients and it is always good to hear that we have succeeded. If we can ever be of assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to be in touch. ...

“My Review...”

Share on :
Apr 04,2019
Minithumbup
julie
By: 'Richard'
Apr 04,2019
0 people found
this helpful
my experience with Richard Mitham Associates has been a very positive one. They have been extremely helpful and friendly. They are always accessible and respond in an efficient and effective way to any issues arising, which have been minimal. I have found them to be ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
good
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Selina Mitham
Apr 04, 2019
View all comments (1)
Thank you very much for your comments. We always try to help and it is good to hear that you feel we have succeeded. If we can be of any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to be in touch. ...
No image available Carly
(1)
No image available julie
(1)
No image available Richard
(1)
No image available John Richard
(1)
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure set.
Last updated at 3:07 PM 01/11/2017 by allAgents

Awards won by Richard Mitham Associates, Petersfield GU32 3EL


As Seen On

Get in touch with

Richard Mitham Associates

Branch - Petersfield, GU32