Romans
Warfield Bracknell, Bracknell, RG12
4.3/5, 147 reviews
90% recommended
33% sales valuation accuracy
75% sales fee satisfaction
0% lettings valuation accuracy
10% lettings fee satisfaction

“I chose Romans and Oliver after speaking to him a ......”

Share on :
Apr 06,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Mr W'
Apr 06,2015
8 people found
this helpful
I chose Romans and Oliver after speaking to him a two of his competitors. The brief was to let out my 3 bedroom property which I have recently finished renovating to a very high standard. On our initial and subsequent meetings and conversations until I signed Oliver was very bouncy and positive. His initial strategy to market my property was to run an open house. Oliver was also very bullish about the level of rent he could achieve, higher than his competitors. The charges at Romans are significantly highe than their competitors and I chose Romans because I genuinely thought that they would provide a higher quality service and find a better quality tenant.

I signed (in my naivety) a 14 week exclusive contract with Romans just before Christmas. This is when things started to go wrong. Less than a week after I signed Oliver wrote to me explaining that the market had dropped off very quickly in the run up to Christmas and that the people most suited toy property were holding off until after Christmas.

The service deteriorated from this point on. Contact was only at my instigation and the proposed open house was not implemented. The only strategy Oliver proposed when I initialed contact was to reduce the rental asking price. Feedback and reporting from Oliver was very haphazard and a requested weekly report detailing what efforts he was making to let my property rarely appeared After 7 week of the exclusive contract when it became clear to all that it was not working Oliver decided that it was in both his and the customers best interest to hold the customer to the full term of the exclusive period. Only one offer was received on the property during nearly 4 months of marketing. This offer was well below market value from a tenant who did not meet the rent/income ratio and came with pets.

Finally after 14 weeks I was able to dispense with Romans and Oliver's services and I took my business to Prospect. I signed a 4 week exclusive deal. Six days later I had an offer at full market value from a recently retired couple with a healthy pension income and savings they met the income/rental ratio, had no pets, and wanted to move in almost immediately

In short my advice to any prospective landlord is to avoid Romans and Oliver at all costs
What agent could do to change your mind?
Uncompetitive for the service they provide
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
Uncompetitive for the service they provide
Was this helpful? Yes

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.




Note: Your comment will not be activated until you click on the link in an email sent to your address as submitted in the form above. By clicking on Submit Comment you agree to receive an activation email from allAgents.


Opening Hours
Address

Romans
Roman House118 The Broadway
Warfield,Bracknell
Berkshire
RG12 1AR
01344 400 100

Performance statistics
Services Valuation Accuracy Fees Satisfaction Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Sales 33% 75% £375,000 £415,000
Lettings 0% 10% £700 £2,000
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
47 4 55 7 14 2 9 1 7 1
Areas covered
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Members of
ARLA TPOS Sales TPOS Lettings TPOS
Latest Properties

No Properties

“Excellent estate agents, professional, not pushy...”

Share on :
Jun 27,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Karyn Fowle'
Jun 27,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Rohan was particularly outstanding, courteous, knowledgeable, good ideas for improvements, instead of just showing us around, he actually 'sold' the property. We had lots of return visits before we committed and nothing was too much trouble. Jonathan was also excellent, would highly recommend...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Good. Up for negotiations
Was this helpful? Yes

“Sarah was fantastic from start to finish of finding us ......”

Share on :
Mar 07,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Maxine and Andrew'
Mar 07,2018
0 people found
this helpful
Sarah was fantastic from start to finish of finding us what we wanted , explained what we wanted and the first house she showed us we rented, she was always available when we needed any questions answered and sent a lovely email after we moved in ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
As this is our first rental I didn't have any others to compare to
Was this helpful? Yes

“Nightmare from start to finish. They seem to have a ......”

Share on :
Nov 07,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Unhappy customer'
Nov 07,2017
8 people found
this helpful
Nightmare from start to finish. They seem to have a new property manager every few months which goes to show they can't keep a steady position at that place and you get fobbed off to someone new who don't know what they are doing or ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
No good comments to say.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Awful. Avoid like the plague! I was in my property ......”

Share on :
Sep 15,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'UnhappyCustomer'
Sep 15,2017
10 people found
this helpful
Awful. Avoid like the plague! I was in my property for 5 years, rent was always on time and I had inspections every 12 weeks through the whole time so they were aware the house was always spotless. I moved out on Friday and the landlord agreed ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Extortionate.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Complete rogues, I would never use Romans again for selling. ......”

Share on :
Mar 21,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Superfrank'
Mar 21,2017
9 people found
this helpful
Complete rogues, I would never use Romans again for selling. They will give you the highest valuation so that you obviously sign up with them, then a week later call you to say that you need to drop the price - surely that amounts to ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Wright
Mar 24, 2017
View all comments (1)
Further to your review, comments regarding our service whether negative or positive are extremely important to us and I am sorry in this instance we have not met your expectations. I would very much like to discuss your review with you in person and therefore, would invite you to contact me on my email or direct dial listed below. Kind Regards Mark Wright Regional Director, Residential Sales 01344 404705 mwright@romans.co.uk ...

“As a long-term landlord I can say that Romans are ......”

Share on :
Jan 20,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Upset landlord'
Jan 20,2017
7 people found
this helpful
As a long-term landlord I can say that Romans are the worst I have every experienced. They do not care about the landlord or the tenants and only seem to look after themselves (and charge for everything and hold on to your money whilst sorting ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
For the "service" offered - outrageous
Was this helpful? Yes

“The worst estate agent you can imagine!!!After dealing with ......”

Share on :
Nov 21,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Tenants'
Nov 21,2016
7 people found
this helpful
The worst estate agent you can imagine!!! After dealing with sales and lettings department I can't describe the frustration and stress they have caused. Agents are misleading about sales and are unable to answer simple letting questions. Unfortunately our estate agent was bought by Romans ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
BAD!!!
Was this helpful? Yes

“I am a Landlord with two properties, until May of 2016 ......”

Share on :
Sep 19,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'ian Clarke'
Sep 19,2016
5 people found
this helpful
I am a Landlord with two properties, until May of 2016 they were manged by Leaders who were merged with Romans who took over the management. They are dire. One potentially useful feature is online statements and other details, this is good except that when I ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Outrageously high for example to renew a tenancy with no changes £70 + VAT.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Every customer would expect polite professional behaviour. When dealing with ......”

Share on :
Jun 24,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'lynda'
Jun 24,2016
6 people found
this helpful
Every customer would expect polite professional behaviour. When dealing with the Bracknell Romans Sales Team one receives rude, condescending and dismissive behaviour. Contradicting content/feedback on queries depending with whom you are speaking with. There is a clear drop of customer focus once a 'deal' ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Would give 0 rating if an option. Utterly uncaring and incompetent. ......”

Share on :
Jun 21,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Landlord'
Jun 21,2016
5 people found
this helpful
Would give 0 rating if an option. Utterly uncaring and incompetent. Gushingly helpful until you sign up and then spent time since not even doing their basic job with me constantly having to chase them up. Tried to squeeze money out of me and my tenant ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Huge monthly charge for doing nothing nut raise my blood pressure at their lack of competence and lack of care.
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
Huge monthly charge for doing nothing nut raise my blood pressure at their lack of competence and lack of care.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Recently used Romans Bracknell branch as I sold my house ......”

Share on :
Jun 21,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'Sue'
Jun 21,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Recently used Romans Bracknell branch as I sold my house in Bracknell to move on to new adventures. I found them to be very professional and on the very final day could not have moved without the help from Josh Aylott who deserves as special ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Market average
Was this helpful? Yes

“I started the process of placing my property on the ......”

Share on :
Oct 11,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Romans-unprofessional'
Oct 11,2015
6 people found
this helpful
I started the process of placing my property on the market and arranged viewings with a few agents, one of which was Romans. On the morning of the viewing with Romans, we found out we had lost a baby. My partner had called Romans asap ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I chose Romans and Oliver after speaking to him a ......”

Share on :
Apr 06,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Mr W'
Apr 06,2015
8 people found
this helpful
I chose Romans and Oliver after speaking to him a two of his competitors. The brief was to let out my 3 bedroom property which I have recently finished renovating to a very high standard. On our initial and subsequent meetings and conversations until I signed ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Uncompetitive for the service they provide
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
Uncompetitive for the service they provide
Was this helpful? Yes

“I would never use Romans through choice again. I Received ......”

Share on :
Jan 08,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Christie'
Jan 08,2015
4 people found
this helpful
I would never use Romans through choice again. I Received a phone call 4 hours before i was due to visit a property informing me this now wasnt possible as they couldnt get the keys. When we eventually picked a property Charlotte spelt my name wrong ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Checked names were spelt correctly on emails. Apologised for mistake and answer calls afterwards. Checked bank account before demanding to know when deposit had been paid
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
Paid alot of money for mistakes to be made
Was this helpful? Yes

“When I first rented my property (managed by Romans) in ......”

Share on :
Nov 02,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'JoanneChelsea'
Nov 02,2014
6 people found
this helpful
When I first rented my property (managed by Romans) in August 2013 with the help of Charlotte, I couldn't praise her more. She was very helpful, polite and more importantly replied to me quickly. Sadly this service was not backed up by their property management team. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“EveningI am currently coming to the end of a 12 month ......”

Share on :
May 16,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'turiccki2000'
May 16,2014
10 people found
this helpful
Evening I am currently coming to the end of a 12 month tenancy (originally managed by JM lettings, but taken over by ROMANS), and the Landlord has decided not to renew the tenancy as he plans to sell the property. I only managed to find this ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: JSumner
May 20, 2014
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your feedback and I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the service that you have received. I understand that you are speaking with the manager at the Bracknell Office, Richard Chambers and you will be meeting with him shortly to discuss these issues as per our complaints procedure. We do take complaints very seriously and I look forward to hearing of a resolution once yo have met with Richard. Kind regards, John Sumner Regional Lettings Director ...

“Terrible experience, do not deliver a service to warrant the 1.8% +......”

Share on :
Aug 27,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Unhappy Kar'
Aug 27,2013
5 people found
this helpful
Terrible experience, do not deliver a service to warrant the 1.8% +VAT charge. Poor communication. Did not follow my instructions. I had a friend ring up as I was concerned with the service I was getting to ask about my property that I was selling. They ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Provide a better service to warrant 18 service or reduce fees better communication not lied to me or potential new client provide better training or recruit staff that can handle difficult customers
Attached Filesnbsp;
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Wright
Feb 14, 2014
View all comments (3)
Hello, I would appreciate the opportunity of discussing your thoughts and comments regarding Romans and our staff, to see how your views and opinions can help us improve. If you would like to contact me directly, my details are below. I look forward to hearing from you. Mark Wright 01344 404705 mwright@romans.co.uk Regional Manager, Residential Sales ...

“Paula is very good at keeping in contact with me ......”

Share on :
Apr 23,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Heather Chalmers'
Apr 23,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Paula is very good at keeping in contact with me and expiditing repairs that are needed on the property. She always informs me in a timely manner if there will be an inspection and also if there is anything that has not happened she will ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Mrs. Reid does take care, informs me about all necessary ......”

Share on :
Apr 08,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'C. Gruner'
Apr 08,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Mrs. Reid does take care, informs me about all necessary objectives as quichly as possible. Confusing is the contact to her via the old e-mail adress of Mrs. Rosemary Preece. Further irritation is by the Romans policy as described by Mrs. Reid not to work ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“The property provided is brand new and with highest quality ......”

Share on :
Apr 08,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'DM'
Apr 08,2013
0 people found
this helpful
The property provided is brand new and with highest quality standards. Moreover, I liked the fact that the property was fully equipped and nicely decorated. Great support from the agent during tenancy....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“On a month to month basis the service is pretty ......”

Share on :
Apr 08,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Leon'
Apr 08,2013
0 people found
this helpful
On a month to month basis the service is pretty good. It is fully managed and the turnaround time and organising of contractors to attend to any issues is usually OK - the administration is also good. on the flip-side, there have been a few ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Throughout the leasing process we found Romans to be very ......”

Share on :
Feb 27,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Mr B Green'
Feb 27,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Throughout the leasing process we found Romans to be very efficient, supportive and proffessional, in particular Sally was extremely efficient in responding to our needs and and providing answers to any queries that we may have....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I found the whole of the Romans Team at Bracknell ......”

Share on :
Feb 20,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Sarah'
Feb 20,2013
0 people found
this helpful
I found the whole of the Romans Team at Bracknell very helpful and friendly during the time that my property was for sale with them. I would recommend using Romans to whomever may need their services....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I have always found Paula extremely helpful and incredibly quick ......”

Share on :
Feb 11,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Val Leath'
Feb 11,2013
0 people found
this helpful
I have always found Paula extremely helpful and incredibly quick to react to any issue. I would recommend her to anyone who is looking for a reliable and conscientious letting agent....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I have been lucky enough to have Sylvia Reid managing ......”

Share on :
Feb 08,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Keith Woodall'
Feb 08,2013
0 people found
this helpful
I have been lucky enough to have Sylvia Reid managing my property for many years. Sylvia has the experience and contacts to ensure that I don't have to worry about my property. Sylvia has quickly dealt with major problems (broken hot water heater, failed gas ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Charlotte was very helpful throughout the whole move. Any questions ......”

Share on :
Feb 06,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Dean'
Feb 06,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Charlotte was very helpful throughout the whole move. Any questions or queries I had were answered effectively & efficiently. I hope the next time I move the agent is as good again....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Charlotte showed me round the propery, she was good and ......”

Share on :
Jan 31,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'steven wells'
Jan 31,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Charlotte showed me round the propery, she was good and went into great deatil, I viewed property's with other letting agencys who could wait to get you in and out the propertys, I was able to take my time with charlotte and she answered all ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Very professional service from PaulaAlways responded to my emailsPolite and ......”

Share on :
Jan 31,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Ros'
Jan 31,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Very professional service from Paula Always responded to my emails Polite and courteous sometimes difficult to get hold of by phone...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Excellent service from start to finish, all staff at Romans ......”

Share on :
Jan 30,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Douglas Coull'
Jan 30,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Excellent service from start to finish, all staff at Romans seem to really know their stuff and exactly how to help a client through the process....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Sally has completed the administion of our letting process with ......”

Share on :
Jan 28,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Graham'
Jan 28,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Sally has completed the administion of our letting process with professional, accuracy and care. She helped us through the each detailed step,answering all our questions and responding to our calls. A truly quality service....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure available.

Awards won by Romans, Bracknell RG12 1AR


As Seen On

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home