Maxine Lester Residential Lettings
St Ives, PE27
2.4/5, 18 reviews
33% recommended
33% lettings valuation accuracy
53% lettings fee satisfaction

“The most horrible letting egancy ever. On the first day ......”

Share on :
Mar 19,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Dino'
Mar 19,2015
44 people found
this helpful
The most horrible letting egancy ever. On the first day walked in dirty home. In the house there were various things wrong. Phoned them up to complain was told to contact landlord. Went to citizens advice Beuro after many phone calls, emails massages and recorded post asking to make it right. no apology from them or nothing was done to make up for the mistakes that they had done. I've accidentally came up to this site and oh boy I thought I am the only one . Turns out I am not . They need to stop abusing their tenants just because we rent from them. We are not their toys to play around and do what they feel like.

Not recommended to anyone. i do not know why landlords give houses for these people to manage when they could not even manage their selves.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Maxine lester
Mar 20, 2015
Dear Dino
Thank you very very much for you feed back even though it is for what we have not done. However I would appreciate it if you would give me your contact details and the property you live / lived in as we have no records of your name ( I understand this may be a nick name) . Given the severity of your feelings I am concerned that your issue is not one that the team or myself are awre of . My direct email is Maxine.lester@maxinelester.co.uk
Kind regards
Maxine Lester

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.




Note: Your comment will not be activated until you click on the link in an email sent to your address as submitted in the form above. By clicking on Submit Comment you agree to receive an activation email from allAgents.


Opening Hours
Address

Maxine Lester Residential Lettings
12 Station Road
St Ives
Cambridgeshire
PE27 5BH
01480494939

Performance statistics
Services Valuation Accuracy Fees Satisfaction Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Lettings 33% 53% £625 £1,200
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
3 0 3 12 0 0 0 0 0 0
Areas covered
  • PE27
  • PE29
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Members of
ARLA TPOS Lettings TPOS TDS SAGEagent
Latest Properties

No Properties

“I would strongly urge every prospective tenan......”

Share on :
Mar 30,2020
Minithumbdown
By: 'Val Dunster'
Mar 30,2020
0 people found
this helpful
I would strongly urge every prospective tenant to carefully read through the contract before signing. Their verbal explanation of the contract is not always the same as the written contract. Maxine Lester work very well for the landlord, but not as well for the tenant....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Val Dunster
Apr 01, 2020
View all comments (2)
I feel very strongly that as a letting agency you do not give this advice to every prospective tenant. I think your contract should be worded so that the get out clause is highlighted and verbally told to everyone. It can easily be overlooked. I also found very little communication from your staff. All in all, I was vey disappointed in the service from a letting agency which advertises itself as Award Winning. ...

“When we were finacially in trouble because of......”

Share on :
Mar 26,2020
Minithumbdown
By: 'Kimberlee gretton'
Mar 26,2020
0 people found
this helpful
When we were finacially in trouble because of the coronavirus, there was literally no help from the staff at maxine lester estate agents. Infact they were opposite, very rude, patronising, sarcastic and unprofessional. Even though they was holding the deposit which was more money than ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Maxine Lester
Mar 27, 2020
View all comments (1)
I am so sorry that you feel aggrieved, however for the record I need to reply. As you have been told on many occasions you are in a legally binding contract until 5th May 2020. You decided to leave the property well before the situation with the virus was established. Therefore we struggle to understand how you claim this has all happened because of the virus. I am very happy to talk though the situation again. As I have previously explained your actions have put your Landlord into financial dif ...

“Not recommended...”

Share on :
Feb 13,2020
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jess'
Feb 13,2020
0 people found
this helpful
They will try there best to keep your deposit, making up things to make you look like you were a bad tenant. Take pictures, keep your paperwork and fight it. Guaranteed win. Otherwise they WILL keep your money....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Matthew Lester
Feb 14, 2020
View all comments (1)
Thanks Jess. I am so sorry you are still not happy since you first gave a review for this issue in 2018. As before, we’d be happy to have a conversation to see how to make things right for you. We remain puzzled at your reviews as you clearly agreed the deductions made from your deposit against the clear photographs of the urine damage caused to the carpets by your dog, and despite being advised you could appeal to the independent TDS adjudication service, you chose to not appeal. We are sorr ...

“Deposit scammers - agent for landlord not tenant...”

Share on :
Jun 18,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Zayk'
Jun 18,2019
0 people found
this helpful
They will try their best to eat your deposit, whatever it takes them they will make up things. You touch the wall in their house and that's £100 gone their. They work for landlord and not for tenants. Remember they charge you the rent to the ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Extremely higher
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Matthew Lester
Jun 19, 2019
View all comments (3)
Hi Jamie. I am sorry you feel this way. I am not sure who you are so I can't check the history to understand what happened and respond properly. I would be pleased to have a conversation with you so I can respond properly. I hope you get in touch. Matthew ...

“Maxine Lester Residential Lettings have managed our properties for over 5 ......”

Share on :
Jul 31,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Amanda'
Jul 31,2017
2 people found
this helpful
Maxine Lester Residential Lettings have managed our properties for over 5 years and we are extremely happy with the service. All the staff are polite, helpful and efficient. Compared to other agents we have used, they are first class and I would highly recommend them....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
The management fees are very competitive and good value for the service provided.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Matthew Lester
Aug 01, 2017
View all comments (1)
Hi Amanda. Thanks for such a lovely review. We know you are disappointed with the agents you use elsewhere - we are truly sorry we do not work in those towns! Matthew ...

“Couldn't be happier with Maxine and Lester, the stuff is ......”

Share on :
Jul 07,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Jo'
Jul 07,2017
2 people found
this helpful
Couldn't be happier with Maxine and Lester, the stuff is very helpful and professional at all times, any problems get solved promptly and they always happy to help....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Good
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Matthew Lester
Jul 08, 2017
View all comments (1)
Thanks for the feedback Jo - were delighted you feel weve done our job properly! Matthew ...

“Having spent the last 3 years with Maxine Lester as my ......”

Share on :
Jun 23,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'KC'
Jun 23,2017
4 people found
this helpful
Having spent the last 3 years with Maxine Lester as my letting agent, I would definitely recommend these guys. Maxine Lester and all the staff have always provided a first class service and the odd times I needed assistance with issues they were sure to act ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Good
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Matthew Lester
Jun 27, 2017
View all comments (1)
Hi KC - thanks for the great feedback - great to know we sustained the service throughout the 3 years! Matthew ...

“Absolutely first class service. Throughout my long association with Maxine ......”

Share on :
May 26,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'AR'
May 26,2017
5 people found
this helpful
Absolutely first class service. Throughout my long association with Maxine Lester, everyone I have dealt with has been friendly, professional and polite. Their customer service ethic, both to tenants and landlords, is second to none and they are extremely good value for money. Highly recommended! :...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Excellent value for money.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Matthew Lester
Jul 29, 2017
View all comments (1)
Thanks for the great feedback. We are delighted to know you are happy! Matthew ...

“The cottage I rented was lovely and the staff at ......”

Share on :
May 26,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'DC'
May 26,2017
5 people found
this helpful
The cottage I rented was lovely and the staff at Maxine's were both professional and personable. Problems and issues were solved promptly. Check in was efficient as was check out. All in all a good service....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Fees were competitive.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Matthew Lester
Jul 29, 2017
View all comments (1)
Hi Dc - thanks for your kind comment - the whole team work to ensure tenants are treated as customers. It sounds like they succeeded with you. thanks. Matthew ...

“Second Property just Let very promptly. Maxine Lester's team are; ......”

Share on :
May 16,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Charity'
May 16,2017
8 people found
this helpful
Second Property just Let very promptly. Maxine Lester's team are; constructive, polite and unfailingly professional in finding Tenants and looking after properties. We have found the Business to be well known and respected in the area, has excellent Trades working in support. We were lucky ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Sensible level of Fees, proactive in reducing our costs.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Matthew Lester
May 17, 2017
View all comments (1)
Hi Charity. Thanks so much for your review. We try to serve our landlords and tenants well, it is lovely to hear when the team have hit the spot. Thanks. Matthew ...

“Horrendous Experience. Lied to by the letting agent prior to ......”

Share on :
Feb 14,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'RJ'
Feb 14,2017
26 people found
this helpful
Horrendous Experience. Lied to by the letting agent prior to move in, when we challenged on what was told to us at our initial viewing the letting agent rang me (at work) crying saying we'd clearly misunderstood. Had several occasions in which the Washer (provided ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: RJ
Mar 09, 2017
View all comments (2)
I feel it important to highlight my reasons for not wanting to meet rather than it being made to look like I've refused outright. In order for transparency I made the choice to communicate via email to ensure a record is maintained and no denials can be made as I've experienced when using telephone as means of communication with you. ...

“Another poor review... I'd give zero if I could. From ......”

Share on :
Jan 13,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'AS'
Jan 13,2017
35 people found
this helpful
Another poor review... I'd give zero if I could. From the off, I wasn't satisfied with the conduct. I'll list my issues as its easier to write. 1) Sales tactics purely to put you under pressure to sign - its first come first served policy... common ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Overpriced, unnecessary and not value for money.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Another dissatisfied tenant.Like all other previous reviews, this is ......”

Share on :
Jul 27,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jamie'
Jul 27,2016
42 people found
this helpful
Another dissatisfied tenant. Like all other previous reviews, this is going to be another negative one. Property on our arrival had no hot water and no gas which wasn't fixed for a few days. When asked how this could happen Maxine Lester advised that they ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Horrendously bad. ‚£80 check out fees and ‚£50 mid-tenancy fee. For what? who knows. Plus the crazy financial background check fees...
Was this helpful? Yes

“Worst letting agents I have ever had the mis-pleasure of ......”

Share on :
Feb 19,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Dissatisfied tenant'
Feb 19,2016
40 people found
this helpful
Worst letting agents I have ever had the mis-pleasure of dealing with. Utterly incompetent in dealing with any kind of query, issue or complaint and very antagonising and aggressive when the blame falls at their feet as the landlords realise they are in the wrong. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“The most horrible letting egancy ever. On the first day ......”

Share on :
Mar 19,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Dino'
Mar 19,2015
44 people found
this helpful
The most horrible letting egancy ever. On the first day walked in dirty home. In the house there were various things wrong. Phoned them up to complain was told to contact landlord. Went to citizens advice Beuro after many phone calls, emails massages and recorded ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Maxine lester
Mar 20, 2015
View all comments (1)
Dear Dino Thank you very very much for you feed back even though it is for what we have not done. However I would appreciate it if you would give me your contact details and the property you live / lived in as we have no records of your name ( I understand this may be a nick name) . Given the severity of your feelings I am concerned that your issue is not one that the team or myself are awre of . My direct email is Maxine.lester@maxinelester.co.uk Kind regards Maxine Lester ...

“Property stunk on arrival, nothing was clean, carpets had not ......”

Share on :
Jan 08,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Ricky Fox'
Jan 08,2015
42 people found
this helpful
Property stunk on arrival, nothing was clean, carpets had not been cleaned, although told it was by maxine lester, once they get your deposit and contract signed they don't give a crap about any problems or anything, Mold in bedrooms and windows don't shut in ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Get your money then don't give too hoots about the property after!!!!
Attached Filesnbsp;
Was this helpful? Yes

“Maxine Lester are useless, not helpful, staff turnover is high, ......”

Share on :
Nov 20,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Muggins'
Nov 20,2013
43 people found
this helpful
Maxine Lester are useless, not helpful, staff turnover is high, staff and management are rude. Avoid this place as unless u have it in writing they will try by any means to screw you over. They give your keys to workmen without asking permission. Downright ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“If I could give zero stars I would.... I have ......”

Share on :
May 29,2012
Minithumbdown
By: 'Grafne'
May 29,2012
44 people found
this helpful
If I could give zero stars I would.... I have been with them for 18 months and had nothing but problems. I have rented for over 15 years and never had a problem and always get on well with agents/landlords. From day 1 I have had issues ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Absolutely not!!!!! would rather make myself homeless and live in a tent than rent from this bunch of jokers!!! you have been warned stay well clear!!!
Attached Filesnbsp;
Was this helpful? Yes
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

https://www.maxinelester.co.uk/complaints-what-if-things-go-wrong
Last updated at 2:38 PM 03/06/2019 by Matthew Lester

Awards won by Maxine Lester Residential Lettings, St Ives PE27 5BH


As Seen On

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home