“Absolutely horrendous from start to finish. Our entry date was ......”

Feb 25,2015
By: 'Deeply Dismayed'
Feb 25,2015
5 people found
this helpful
Absolutely horrendous from start to finish. Our entry date was delayed and delayed and delayed, only when I went into the office in tears were we allowed to move in while works were still being carried out, the flat had never been cleaned from the previous tenants or the building works, and never was. A man walked into my bedroom while I was asleep to take an inventory on which he then included many of my belongings which 6 months later is still in dispute. We had endless problems trying to get anyone to speak to us or complete repairs. We were met with rude replies when eventually someone did respond. We were charged council tax for time we were not in the property because the council take their word over a lease in black and white. At the checkout I was asked to explain why I'd taken my own belongings with me even after months of dispute over the incorrect inventory. After all the hassle and stress they now want to take ‚£240 from our deposit for a few small marks on a wall, but they won't charge us for cleaning..... as though that's a favour, it wasn't cleaned when we moved in and we cleaned it on our way out, cleaning wasn't even mentioned at the checkout. I'm not sure how to convey in a short message just how absolutely horrendous the whole experience has been and still is proving to be. Over a decade of renting experience of many properties in Edinburgh and I've never experienced anything like this.
What agent could do to change your mind?
Dealt with our various problems as they arose instead of dragging them on for months on end. Arrived with at least the latest updated inventory (although this still wasn't correct) instead of the original one. Not felt it necessary to charge for painting an entire room over a few tiny marks, especially given the absolutely horrendous experience we'd had throughout the tenancy.
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
We weren't even told about fees before we paid our deposit, then all of a sudden there was a ‚£35 charge for a credit search which can be done for ‚£2.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: tiredofthieves
May 11, 2015
They did the same to us. They sent the inventory 2 weeks after we moved in. With our furniture in place we could not check the inventory. When we complained the person who did the inventory said that it was very difficult to do an inventory with a kid and a dog around while the owners were moving out. Ridiculously unprofessional. The house was not cleaned. There were balls of dog hair everywhere and they charged us a cleaning fee.
By: Kevin
Feb 27, 2015
We are extremely sorry that your tenancy got off to a bad start and that there were issues that should have been addressed and handled better from our perspective. We obviously regret that you have not had as good an experience in your dealings with us during this tenancy. At the time we tried our best to resolve the matters for you but we can only apologise if our handling of these issues was not to your satisfaction.

As an agent we have an obligation to furnish our landlord with the details of dilapidations found at the final check out inspection of the property. We have advised that both bedroom walls were badly marked as a result of you using blue tak on the walls. Having just spent several thousand pounds on the redecoration of the property in August 2014 the landlord wants us to make a claim on the deposit to re-instate the rooms.

The Tenant Deposit Scheme will ultimately look at the evidence provided and make a decision on whether the claim is reasonable or not, it is not our decision to make, we merely provide the evidence and information on the landlords behalf. You have a right to appeal the claim and submit your own evidence to the scheme so that they can make an impartial decision on the case to resolve it. The problems you encountered at the beginning of the tenancy cannot and should not be used to justify the damage that has been caused to the bedroom walls. While it is regrettable that we have to make a claim against your deposit, we would not have to do so had you not damaged the property during your tenancy.

Regarding your comment about the reference checks, you did not pay us for this service, this was paid directly to the company we recommend to our tenants to check their credit worthiness. There was an option for you to make an advanced payment of rent if you had preferred. All costs associated with renting through our company are outlined at the beginning of negotiations and a tenancy is agreed on the basis of this information.

Kind regards


Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.

Note: Your comment will not be activated until you click on the link in an email sent to your address as submitted in the form above. By clicking on Submit Comment you agree to receive an activation email from allAgents.

DJ Alexander Lettings

1 Wemyss Place Edinburgh


0131 558 3000

Opening hours

As Seen On

Book FREE Valuation

Branch - Edinburgh, EH3

Branch logo