“Very bad customer service! They do not care about the ......”

Jul 21,2014
By: 'Bad service'
Jul 21,2014
1 people found
this helpful
Very bad customer service! They do not care about the tenant, I was left with no extractor fan in my kitchen for 5 months which resulted in damp walls and food in cupboards getting wet. Did not help when I saw a mouse in the kitchen. This resulted in me leaving the property 2 months early and still paying full rent at £550 a month. And paying for my own pest control at £40. Staff seem very rude when answering the phone. A member of staff got angry when I was driving around ringing them for directions to find their office to pick up a fob for the gates. Even manager was unhelpful.
Comment on agent fees
Ridiculous to ask for a further ‚£20 for a reference
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Adam Jackson
May 02, 2015
We have now received the response form the Property Ombudsman and we are happy to report the Ombudsman has not upheld any of the complaints made by the tenant. We have included a copy of the response.

Adam Jackson
North East Letting

By: Adam Jackson
Jul 31, 2014
We are very sorry you feel you have not received a satisfactory service when using our agency. We received a complaint letter from you on 23/06/2014 and replied to you as per our complaints procedure on 08/07/2014. We also sent you a follow up response on 16/07/2014 to which we have not received a reply. To summarise your complaint - We were fully aware of the issue with your extractor fan and were awaiting authorisation from your landlord to install a replacement unit. During your tenancy the landlord did not respond to our requests which you were aware of as we did keep you updated. We fully appreciate this is frustrating for any tenant, however we did do everything within our power to arrange the replacement as quickly as possible which was completed and a new unit was installed. When a tenant reports an issue with rodents they are expected to deal with the issue themselves initially as in most cases the issue is caused by the occupiers, however it was explained to you to contact us if the problem persisted, which you did. As you live in an apartment the issue must be passed to the building management company (we do not manage the building) which we explained to you and we believe the service you received from them was slow, unfortunately we cannot be held responsible for the service provided by a third party. The building management company informed our agency that they had made all residents in the development aware of the issue. We can also confirm that the building management company resolved the issue for you. It is regrettable that you have chosen to leave the property early and entirely your choice, however there were no issues in the property which would have resulted in you needing to vacate the property. We have no records that you were unhappy with service you received when collecting a key fob as this was not included in the two complaint letters you have sent to us and we have not been made aware of this prior to you posting the review on the website. We would be very happy to discuss this further and would ask you to contact us with further details so this can be investigated for you. We do charge a small fee of £16.67+VAT (£20) to complete a reference for you at the end of tenancy (if you have asked us to do so) and this is explained at the outset of the tenancy and is detailed in the agreement as we ensure all our fees and charges are fully transparent for tenants and landlord, as a business we do need to charge to carryout administration which is not part of our standard management service to the landlord. We are very sorry once again that you have not received a satisfactory service.

Agent Response / Add a Comment

You can use this form to reply to the above review or a displayed comment on the above review.

Note: Your comment will not be activated until you click on the link in an email sent to your address as submitted in the form above. By clicking on Submit Comment you agree to receive an activation email from allAgents.

North East Letting / Jackson Estates

26 Kingsway House, Kingsway, Team Valley  , Gateshead
Tyne & Wear
NE11 0HW

0191 215 4570

Opening hours

As Seen On

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home