Purple Frog specialise in letting, management, sales and investments in student property in Birmingham, Bristol and Nottingham.
Purple Frog Property Ltd

Website not available

Properties for Sale
Properties to Rent

Dec 19,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'zhiheng'
Dec 19,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Truly awful company - avoid at all costs! A truly awful and unprofessional company! There are hardly any experienced and dedicated staff working there... Though when you get in contact with them they are friendly, they seriously lack knowledge in experience with dealing issues. I'...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: James Mason
Dec 20, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear Zhiheng We have provided you with photographic proof of why the charges have been applied and discussed the charges with you on multiple occasions. Following our response to your initial dispute, you weren't happy. We escalated your dispute to our Deposits Manager, who investigated your points and replied. As you are clearly still not happy with our response, I suggest you take your dispute to the DPS, as you are entitled to. At the start of your tenancy, we shared the inventory wit ...
Nov 27,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Worst Experience ever'
Nov 27,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Purple frog was the worst letting agency I have ever come across. We had pre-agreed terms prior to moving into our property. Upon moving in, none of the agreements were met. After constant contacting purple frog to deal with this they either “forgot” ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Ashley lizamore
Dec 13, 2017
View all comments (2)
In regards to the start of our tenancy I met with a number of law advisors, who advised us to walk away from the contract at the beginning of our tenancy and that we were completely free and able to do so. Upon trying to tell your staff that, he lied in my face and tried talking to me like I'm a dumb student. I understand you have a lot to deal with however.. I think as a company treating students as adults might be a better way to start. From the beginning and we aren't the only ones who feel t ...
Oct 09,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Unhappy Student'
Oct 09,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Over 3 months ago (It is now October) we left our property which was let by Purple Frog Birmingham. Over that time we have been trying to get our deposit back. Since disputing those charges we received 3 weeks (and still going) of silence from the agents. ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Bad - Unnecessary applications fees, extortionate tenancy agreement and inventory fees for template documents that are inaccurate and bear no weight against the documents they send you in the post.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: James Mason
Oct 10, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear unhappy student Sorry to hear you're having problems with your deposit dispute. Please can you contact me at james.mason@purplefrogproperty.com, as a matter of urgency? Your dispute email should have been acknowledged and a full response received in 5 working days. Did you dispute with us or through the deposit protection agency? Please get in contact so I can investigate. Looking at your comments about our agency fees, I'm a little confused. We don't charge tenants for inventorie ...
Sep 11,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Your typical UoB student'
Sep 11,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I'm very disappointed with PurpleFrog's … I'm very disappointed with PurpleFrog's service. They are very disorganized; a lot of "chasing-up" is required for them to follow through with what they said they would do. Our experiences include: 1) Taking multiple e-mails and two ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Comparatively on the expensive side; a rip-off for the quality of service to be completely honest.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: James Mason
Sep 18, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear Zhiheng Lou You have pasted this review across several sites. Please refer to my original answer which I have pasted below. I also note that, despite my offer to help you, I am still waiting for you to email me about this. Once again, I have reached out on several occasions asking you to email me directly. Please can you email me with the requested information, so I can look into this for you? My first response to you: Dear Zhiheng Lou Sorry to hear that you are disappoint ...
Jun 29,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Selly'
Jun 29,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Purple Frog have been great throughout the tenancy at fixing problems that we have and have generally been friendly throughout. However when it came to getting the deposit back they were charging extortionate rates for very little work that needed doing. They tried to charge ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
The fees were standard at the start of the tenancy but for anything you have to pay to do with the house it is extortionate.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: James Mason
Jun 30, 2017
View all comments (1)
Dear Selly Thanks for your feedback. Its really great to hear that you enjoyed living in the property and we sorted any issues that you had. Im sorry to hear that youre upset about your check out inspection. We try to do these inspections with one of the tenants present, so that you can see why weve added charges. We try to be as transparent as possible. As you can imagine, it is a very busy time of year for us, as we have hundreds of tenancies coming to an end. That said, the pe ...
Mar 06,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Shocking!'
Mar 06,2017
2 people found
this helpful
In their naivety, my daughter and her 6 university student friends were cajoled into paying a £59 Admin fee EACH (£413!) without any understanding of what it was they were paying for. The contract that subsequently followed for their property was onerous to say the least ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very Bad
Was this helpful? Yes
By: James Mason
Mar 09, 2017
View all comments (7)
Dear Annie Thank you for taking up my invitation to get in touch. I have actually just sent you a reply to your email. If I have not mentioned this in a previous response, I apologise, but the reason that we thought your group had pulled out because of a change to the group size is as follows: At the time of the events related to the review, none of the group had been in touch to explain that you were dropping out. We only discovered this when we were called by a parent asking for a r ...
Feb 01,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Cesare'
Feb 01,2017
1 people found
this helpful
after 2 years and millions of emails i'm still waiting my deposit! all my emails ignored absolute the worst company...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: James Mason
Mar 06, 2017
View all comments (1)
Hi Cesare Sorry for the delay in getting back to you on AllAgents. However, I notice that on 2nd Feb, you got a reply from my colleague, saying: Hi Cesare Looking over the notes I can see that my colleague Emma-Leigh is the person who has been communicating with you about your deposit return. We are still yet to receive confirmation that your bills and council tax was dealt with for the duration of your tenancy. I have just spoken to the Ops Manager and she has confirmed that we c ...
Nov 25,2016
Minithumbdown
By: '6 unhappy UoB students'
Nov 25,2016
1 people found
this helpful
If I was a comedian this company would be one of my jokes. Please tell me where you train your staff, I want to shut it down immediately. 0/5 should be an option for this business. In fact, Purple Frog is not a business, it is ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: James Mason
Dec 08, 2016
View all comments (1)
Dear Charlie Thompson I'm sorry to hear about your experience. I understand your frustration with the situation. One of the other tenants in your group also brought this to our attention. Unfortunately, the error was caused by human error. We would certainly never deliberately tell you something that was untrue. The member of staff that you spoke to when you were told that you had secured the tenancy made a mistake and we are very sorry that it caused you such aggravation. I am delighted ...
Oct 26,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Tom'
Oct 26,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Hands down one of the most frustrating and unprofessional companies I've ever dealt with. They will blatantly lie to your face in an attempt to prize money from you. A couple of the staff can be helpful at times, but for the most part the ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: James Mason
Oct 13, 2016
View all comments (2)
Hi Tom It's been 3 days since I reached out, but I've not heard back from you. Please can I ask that you contact me as soon as possible so we can sort your deposit situation. I understand that the deposit process might be frustrating. We do have detailed information about deposits on our website. Emma-Leigh, who is one our deposits team wrote a blog about this recently: http://www.purplefrogproperty.com/blog/zen-deposits/ This should explain the deposits process and how we try and keep it as f ...
Oct 22,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'The Balrog of Morgoth'
Oct 22,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Extremely poor service the likes of which I have never experienced before, on arriving at our new house it was full of bags of rubbish and completely filthy. After complaining numerous times to various members of staff it took over a month for the house ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 02,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Pugface'
Dec 02,2015
3 people found
this helpful
Get the feeling that some of the good reviews on here are fakes. Perhaps Purple Frog are good to Landlords but as a tenant I have repeatedly found the customer service to be absolutely terrible. It seems they have been trained to just agree to ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Patrick Garratt
Feb 22, 2016
View all comments (1)
Hi There, I'm not aware of any positive reviews on this site to be fake. I'm sorry you've not been happy with the service you've received. We have recently started making the direct phone numbers available for members of our team so that you can reach an individual directly if they are available. We ask that you provide proof that you have paid your bills and dealt with your council tax at the end of your tenancy before deposits are returned; this is in accordance with the tenancy agreem ...
Oct 12,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'B MZ'
Oct 12,2015
0 people found
this helpful
The staffs are not helpful at all, rather arrogant. The house itself was appallingly dirty and even after requesting for maintenance numerous times, nobody turned up. No, I am not going to recommend this agent to anybody....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Patrick
Oct 24, 2015
View all comments (1)
Hi There I'm sorry to hear that you aren't happy with the service you've received. Please get in touch with me on 07817 793 828 or Patrick@purplefrogproperty.com and I would like to discuss how we can put things right for you. Kind regards Patrick (Co-Founder) ...
Jul 29,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'James'
Jul 29,2015
2 people found
this helpful
I have been using Purplefrog as a Let-Only letting agent for 5 years. In this time the team has been highly professional and personable. They maintain good levels of communication throughout the letting experience. I feel that the team really care about letting out my properties ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 23,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Hayley Miller'
Jul 23,2015
2 people found
this helpful
Our dealings with Purple Frog as three students starting their first year this September, has been absolutely fantastic! Sam has been a superstar and we can't thank her enough for all she's done for us. We have now managed to find a lovely house in ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 21,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Jess'
Jul 21,2015
0 people found
this helpful
I've been a tenant with Purple Frog for three years now and the service has always been great. They are fast to respond to queries and their staff are very friendly and approachable. They have made renting a house really easy and hassle free - ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jun 29,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Simon.'
Jun 29,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Excellent service, deal with all queries in a fast, professional and efficient way. I recommend Purple Frog to all my friends and business associates. Advice always excellent and freely given. Can't recommend highly enough....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Good value for money
Was this helpful? Yes
Jun 28,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Alan'
Jun 28,2015
2 people found
this helpful
Sabrina (Ops Manager) was AWESOME with listening to my needs as a tenant and providing good customer service. She met two of my requests regarding monthly Direct Debit and move in date with no problems and actually exceeded my expectations in the end to be ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 08,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'CLM'
May 08,2015
3 people found
this helpful
I have found Jo Whyley extremely helpful and professional in recent communications regarding lettings. She replies very promptly and has made good suggestions, as well as adjustments at my request. I have found other employees to be very slow at responding and not as innovative ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 05,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'amy'
Mar 05,2015
0 people found
this helpful
The staff were really friendly and welcoming as soon as you walk into the branch, they helped us find a house that suited our needs very quickly, would recommend to other students looking for housing in Nottingham....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 04,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'sellyoak'
Mar 04,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Nice branding, young staff, seem really friendly. Got a maintenance problem though? Tough. Again, they're very nice about it, but haven't resolved issues that were reported at the beginning of the tenancy (6 months on!) and have actually lied to us about the reasons for this. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Patrick Garratt
Mar 22, 2015
View all comments (1)
I'm sorry to hear that you've not been happy with the service you've received. We take all complaints very seriously and have a complaints procedure in place to make sure that any issues are resolved. Please contact me directly (Patrick@purplefrogproperty.com) so I can discuss these issues with you further. Unfortunately we can't guarantee that prospective tenants actually turn up to viewings that they have arranged, we understand that it can be frustrating though, you have our apologies for ...
Feb 19,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Lucie'
Feb 19,2015
3 people found
this helpful
As soon as I walked into the office the staff we're very friendly and welcoming. We were a group of 4 looking for a house close to the University and we needed to find one quickly as we were all going on our year abroads. All ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 18,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Tsunge'
Feb 18,2015
1 people found
this helpful
Great and quick service and responses, We didnt take a property with them - unfortunately someone else beat us to it but they had the best service of all the agencies we dealt with...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 10,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Nad'
Feb 10,2015
4 people found
this helpful
Purple frog Made it really easy for me when looking for accommodation and the signing up process was quick and easy. Although I did have some trouble with damp in my house it was dealt with as a serious matter.. Would definitely rent with them ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 09,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Holly'
Feb 09,2015
3 people found
this helpful
Comparing the stressful process organising my halls of residence, using Purple Frog was really refreshing! The first house I saw I now live in! The office has a really relaxed atmosphere and the fact that it is staffed by students is really nice because they ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
I\'m happy to pay for good service!
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 30,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'HappyTenant'
Jan 30,2015
3 people found
this helpful
Purple Frog helped me out when I was panicking about having to find an affordable place to live at short notice. I'd not done this before and their whole process was quick, easy and not pushy as I have found with other property agents. The ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 08,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Tasneema A Amanee'
Jan 08,2015
4 people found
this helpful
A bunch of fraud is operating this company whose main purpose is to rob the international students. I was an international student in University of Birmingham and took a room in rent from them and my contract ended in last June. Still to date, they ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Patrick Garratt
Mar 30, 2015
View all comments (1)
This is a completely incorrect review which has been reported to the company maintaining this website many times for being false. The person who wrote the review has even asked them to take it down. We rented a property to an company who help international tenants find accommodation in the UK we had a contract with that company only. That company sublet the room to this individual. The company had financial difficulties and weren't able to pay the rent so the landlord held onto the deposit u ...
Dec 01,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'pete'
Dec 01,2014
1 people found
this helpful
Purple frog are one of the most devious thieving con artists u will find out their do not go any where near them if you want deposit stolen and nothing fixed when broken and the boss is an arrogant peice of work all in all ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Greg - Purple Frog
Jan 26, 2015
View all comments (1)
Hi Pete. We have recently come across your review online and wanted to address it in further detail with you. Having looked at the information you have supplied, we do not have a property in BS26, the rent figure of £600pcm for a house/flat of 5 cannot be correct either, so we have having a lot of difficulty working out who you are. I also cross checked all the Peter or Pete's on our database for the 13-14 tenancy period cannot also identify you that way. The Government implemented Deposit Pr ...
Nov 09,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Helen'
Nov 09,2014
0 people found
this helpful
We drove 600 miles from Northern Scotland to Purple Frog, Birmingham having let a flat for our daughter at start of university. We were then left for TWO and HALF HOURS standing on the street waiting for keys to arrive. Eventually the keys did arrive but ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Nothing they are a disorganised disgraceful rip off. They should have a monitoring system to check if flats have been cleaned after vacating them.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Patrick - Purple Frog
Jan 28, 2015
View all comments (1)
Hi Helen, I've been investigating the issues you and your daughter have experienced. We took over the block your daughter moved into from another agency and unfortunately things didn't go as smoothly as we would have liked. We will be contacting your daughter directly this week to see if we can make amends. ...
Oct 20,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'his & hers'
Oct 20,2014
3 people found
this helpful
This companies attitude to problems is to ignore them,, ignore you or refuse to take your calls and never return a call. Use a different phone and/or name or say you are enquiring about renting a property and miraculously you get through to someone, ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Stick to contract Take calls Return calls Reply to emails Do not lie or manipulate the truth to suit your own ends. Provide reasonable assistance to problems, take problems seriously, address problems directly and with maturity. Understand the terms of your own agreement . Provide property of reasonable standard by inspecting properties prior to acting on behalf of a landlords, ie improve stand of properties on books and thereby improve your own reputation. Have a complaints procedure that is fast and efficient, not one that takes an entire academic year! Once owners purple frog or it\'s employee\'s word is given not to back track but turn up on time and get works done as arranged on time. Rethink and start again! s So many students are complaining about your company it has the worst reputation on campus, unless you alter your attitude you may cease to have a viable company, students attitudes and expectations have altered so keep up with present attitudes.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 14,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'simi20113'
Nov 14,2013
1 people found
this helpful
The agency is very nice at the beginning and tend to respond to queries via e-mail quickly. However with the actual maintenance there were some delays. This particular property had poor materials used in the bathroom, especially the bathroom panel. We were promised a refurbished ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Nothappy2014
Sep 10, 2014
View all comments (1)
Purple Frog are the worst agency I have ever come across. They have no idea about how to run a business, let alone assist people with letting and maintaining properties. They only answer phone calls if you are enquiring about a house, and once they have received your money they don't want to know, They won't answer or return calls, and very rarely respond to emails. Their idea of a 'refurbished' property is not quite the same as any tenant would expect, and their customer service is appalli ...

DPS


Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
3 0 8 16 0 0 0 0 1 2

Agent Fees

No fees set.
Last updated at 1:16 PM 25/11/2016 by James Mason

Complaints Procedure

No procedure set.
Last updated at 1:16 PM 25/11/2016 by James Mason

Awards won by Purple Frog Property Ltd

Individual Branch Awards

Birmingham, B29


Firm Widgets

My widgets

Birmingham
189 Dawlish Road, Birmingham B29 7AW
(23)
Clifton
134 Whiteladies Road, Bristol BS8 2RS
(2)
Lenton
363 Derby Road, Nottingham NG7 2DZ
(4)


.

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home