• Staff picture
    Jill
  • Staff picture
    Graham
  • Staff picture
    Jez
  • Staff picture
    Warren
  • Staff picture
    Nathan
  • Staff picture
    Matthew
  • Staff picture
    Victoria
  • Staff picture
    Carla
  • Staff picture
    Shelby
You'll be perfectly matched at Property Moves... after 25 years of successful trading Property Moves has gained significant respect in the market and a reputation as one of the leading lettings and property management specialists in Brighton, Hove and the surrounding areas.
Property Moves

109 Church Road
Hove,Brighton
Brighton and Hove
BN3 2AF
01273 321333

“Hopelessly ineffective...”

Dec 07,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'K H'
Dec 07,2018
0 people found
this helpful
I rented a house in Hove with Property Moves for 2.5 years and I found the quality of service extremely poor. I have a long litany of complaints which I am too weary to detail here but my main concern was their inability to follow up ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Graham Shipp
Dec 13, 2018
View all comments (1)
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, I am sorry to hear you are disappointed with the service received. I will deal with your points in order. With regards to the bathroom leak, yes this took longer than it should have (According to our records we don't agree it was over 1 year though). In no way am I condoning this but in our defence the landlord was using his own contractor which does sometimes make the situation harder. To clarify in the first instance we will always recommend ...

“Think again......”

Nov 08,2018
Minithumbdown
Jill
By: 'Amanda and Virginia'
Nov 08,2018
3 people found
this helpful
We lived in a flat managed by Property Moves for one year, between September 2017 and September 2018. We loved our flat. It was absolutely beautiful and the location was perfect, but our overall experiences with Property Moves left a lot to be desired. Having read a ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Graham
Nov 21, 2018
View all comments (1)
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, I am sorry to hear you are disappointed with the service received. I will deal with your points in order. 1. With regards to the cleanliness of the property, the flat was newly refurbished throughout (New kitchen/bathroom/carpets/decor) prior to you moving in and unfortunately there will always be an element of dust resettling following extensive works. I have reviewed the inventory and it indicates although the windows were not professionally ...

“Awful Service...”

May 14,2018
Minithumbdown
Matthew
By: 'Tracy'
May 14,2018
1 people found
this helpful
I was deeply disatisfied with the service. I was told whn vieing the property that things which were broken would be fixed. This did not happen and the day of collecting keys I was told that you were just finding tenants and not managing the ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
ridculous for the poor service received.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Graham Shipp
May 17, 2018
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your review, we appreciate feedback whether positive or in this case negative, I will deal with your points in order: A second viewing was conducted by Matthew just prior to you moving in, at this stage he noted down and took pictures of points queried (Faulty lightbulb in bathroom and mezzanine, cleaning and did you have access to the cupboard in the hallway). This information was forwarded onto your landlord straight away requesting they were resolved for your move day 2 days ...
Mar 06,2018
Minithumbdown
Victoria
By: 'Ernesto Battinelli'
Mar 06,2018
1 people found
this helpful
In all honesty, compared to the experience I had with other letting agencies, with Property Moves I had the feeling that the landlord interests always had the absolute priority over ours as tenants. This came to be quite clear during the check out process, where ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Graham Shipp
Mar 06, 2018
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the service received. I do feel the review of 1 star is very harsh in light of how the whole tenancy went as you seem to be solely basing your experience on the deposit return but you are of course entitled to your opinion. To clarify the inventory and checkout process is carried out by an independent third party Proactive Inventories Ltd to ensure no bias towards either tenant or landlord, please note the deposit ded ...
Nov 22,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Chris'
Nov 22,2017
2 people found
this helpful
Even by the standards of the Brighton rentals this agent is extremely unpleasant to deal with. The property had damp issues from the beginning, with the wallpaper coming away from the walls when I moved into the flat (the 'redecoration' involved painting over the top ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Graham Shipp
Dec 07, 2017
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your review, we always welcome feedback whether positive or in this case negative as it helps us improve our service. Reading through your email I would like to explain the experiences you have had from our point of view as agents. As agents we appreciate that we are your first point of reference and potentially the ones you would like to blame for any situations you may have found yourself not wanting to appear to alleviate ourselves from any responsibility but we are not the ...
Aug 21,2017
Minithumbdown
Jill
By: 'Gerald mcgillian'
Aug 21,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Not sure what these people actually do to justify there commission !! They expect the tenant to do there job I'm not impressed with them ....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Bad and unjustified
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Graham Shipp
Aug 24, 2017
View all comments (1)
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we always welcome feedback whether positive or in this negative, please let me deal with your points in order: On review of your particular tenancy I can see that we have chased keys since you moved in as the landlord didn't drop them off when we first let it and on a managed property we always like to hold a set. When the landlord did drop a set off unfortunately there was no communal key which I believe is a security one and harder to ...
Dec 21,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'ERB'
Dec 21,2015
3 people found
this helpful
Property moves were appalling when dealing with maintenance issues. Amongst other issues, it took 4 months to fix my cooker, and after nearly 4 months they had still not addressed a leak in the flat. I had to permanently keep in place a bucket to catch the ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 28,2015
Minithumbdown
Jill
By: 'Extremely Unsatisfied'
Jan 28,2015
7 people found
this helpful
Firstly, I would not trust the other reviews on this website. It is incomprehensible to me that this agent can be ranked first in the "Brighton League Table". Along with three other housemates I rented a student property through Property Moves and it ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Had the basic levels of competency
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 28,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Disappointed'
Jan 28,2015
5 people found
this helpful
With the rent at £1500 for a two bedroom property you would expect a decent standard of property, or at least understanding from the agents when there are issues noted. Issues and agents response: - Main light electrics in living room doesn't work - it ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 29,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'kate'
Sep 29,2014
6 people found
this helpful
So it appears the motto: "People matter at Property Moves" is grossly untrue unless of course if this refers to the immoral staff as it certainly does not refer to tenants or potential clients. I myself have been a tenant and have experienced ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Graham Shipp
Nov 27, 2014
View all comments (1)
Property Moves is an independent company established in 1993, our main aim is to offer the highest level of service in a competitive market place. We are not saying that we don't ever make mistakes, however if one does occur we look to proactively deal with the situation. It maybe obvious to say but a large part of our role being a Residential Lettings and Management company is to deal problems, these are mainly in the area of maintenance and checkouts/deposit refunds where often the landlord a ...
Aug 22,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'GHR'
Aug 22,2014
4 people found
this helpful
Had a very inconsistent service from the start. None of the letting agents who showed us around the house knew any of the answers to our questions and hesitated when we asked them to find out for us, I can't remember the name of the ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Fixing all of the issues above with poor communication and lack of clarity at the beginning, and lack of effort throughout.
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
Overpriced for the service received.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Graham Shipp
Dec 02, 2014
View all comments (1)
Property Moves is an independent company established in 1993, our main aim is to offer the highest level of service in a competitive market place. We are not saying that we don't ever make mistakes, however if one does occur we look to proactively deal with the situation. It maybe obvious to say but a large part of our role being a Residential Lettings and Management company is to deal problems, these are mainly in the area of maintenance and checkouts/deposit refunds where often the landlord a ...
Nov 07,2012
Minithumbdown
By: 'neglected tenant'
Nov 07,2012
3 people found
this helpful
I\'ve moved out of the property for more than 3 months now, after all the deductions.. i am entitled to portion of the deposit. The agent, the middle person for the landlord, assured me multiple times for the return of the deposit. Surely the competency ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Graham Shipp
Feb 20, 2013
View all comments (2)
Quick update, tenant received the deposit cheque within 2 days of matter being brought to my attention, along with a further apology from myself on behalf of the landlord. ...
Sep 26,2012
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jay Gibby'
Sep 26,2012
3 people found
this helpful
I am now an ex-tennent of this property, but did live there for two years along with 3 other house mates. I will start with the benefits of our agreement, they are few. We got a reasonably priced, fairly spacious, 4 bedroom house near the centre of ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Graham Shipp
Dec 08, 2014
View all comments (3)
Jynna, Thank you for posting a comment, please can you contact me direct on this matter so we can discuss it further as I cannot find you on our system - graham@propertymoves.co.uk or on 01273 321333. Please note we use an independent company to carry out our inventories and checkouts to ensure there is no bias towards landlord or tenant. The inventory document is very comprehensive as is in place to protect all parties when it comes to you vacating. Look forward to hearing from you ...
Jul 06,2011
Minithumbdown
By: 'chris'
Jul 06,2011
5 people found
this helpful
an absolute shambles. I urge you not to use this company. I have lived in rented accommodation for over 10 years and have never been treated so badly by the landlord/agency. we ended up having to move out due to a huge leak damaging the ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Graham Shipp MARLA
Jun 26, 2012
View all comments (2)
brightonian that had never had problems with agencies - Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to hear that you are disappointed with our service. Within your comments you do not mention your name or a property address so I am unable to put across Property Moves' perspective on events, however I am keen to resolve these for you so please call me on 01273 321333 option 2 or email further details to graham@propertymoves.co.uk, look forward to hearing from you, Regards Graham Shipp MARLA ...
Mar 21,2011
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jezzzzz'
Mar 21,2011
3 people found
this helpful
Anybody that knows us will know that me and my girlfriend are a house proud professional working couple. This counts for nothing with this agency. If it's too late and you're already signed up to these make sure you take photos of absolutely everything that's ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Graham Shipp MARLA
Feb 13, 2014
View all comments (2)
I would like to advise potential customers that I have never heard from the person who submitted this review despite a request for further information surrounding his issue, this does make me doubt how genuine it is. ...
Areas covered
  • BN1
  • Hove
  • BN2
  • Brighton
  • BN3
  • BN41
  • BN42
  • BN43
  • BN15

UKALA TPOS NLA My deposits scheme


Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
586 4 521 23 0 0 0 0 52 0

Fees

Our tenant fees explained...

Tenancy setup fees
£220 Inc VAT per person, this amount covers us finding you a property, referencing, Drawing up of the tenancy agreement, Inventory and Check in. If a Guarantor is required the cost is £30 inc VAT

Tenancy extension
£60 Inc VAT per person to extend after the initial fixed term.

Additional Fees
Tenants requiring reference £30 inc VAT, £36 Inc VAT for a copy of the tenancy agreement or if you require a reference for a mortgage company or future landlord/letting agent. A copy of the inventory is £60 inc VAT, Checkout charge £120 inc VAT.
Our landlord fees explained...
Introduction of tenants - 2 weeks rent plus VAT (2.4 weeks rent)
Rent collection - 8% plus VAT (9.6%)
Full management - 10% plus VAT (12%)
Administration fee (Tenancy agreement/inventory) - £100 plus VAT (£120)
Tenancy deposit scheme setup - £35 plus VAT (£42)
Tenancy extension - £50 plus VAT (£60)

arrange a free market appraisal...

If you would like our Valuation manager to visit your property, please either call us on 01273 321333 option 2 or alternatively email us at enquiries@propertymoves.co.uk and we will contact you to arrange a convenient appointment.
Last updated at 04/04/2018, 5:09 PM by allAgents

Complaints Procedure

Complaints procedure

If at anytime you are unhappy with your experience with Property Moves we have the following procedure in place.

Please outline your complaint in writing to one of the Directors for it to be reviewed and a response will be given within 10 working days. Following this response if you still feel your complaint has not been dealt with to your satisfaction please advise further thoughts in writing and a follow up will be forwarded within 10 working days.

If you feel the complaint is still not resolved we are members of the Property Ombudsman and they can independently deal with the matter.
Last updated at 5:09 PM 04/04/2018 by allAgents
Staff picture Jill
(586)

Staff picture Graham
(161)

Staff picture Jez
(266)

Staff picture Warren
(77)

Staff picture Nathan
(82)

Staff picture Matthew
(50)

Staff picture Victoria
(47)

Staff picture Carla
(34)

Staff picture Shelby
(77)

Opening hours





As Seen On

Book FREE Valuation

Agent logo