Northwood
4.8/5, 6933 reviews
95% recommended
98% sales valuation accuracy
98% sales fee satisfaction
91% lettings valuation accuracy
94% lettings fee satisfaction
Northwood is a growing network of independently owned businesses operating with a common goal; to provide a professional service and take the risks out of being a landlord.Our highly popular Guaranteed Rent service ensures you get the rent even if the tenant fails to pay. What's more we cover ... show more Northwood is a growing network of independently owned businesses operating with a common goal; to provide a professional service and take the risks out of being a landlord.

Our highly popular Guaranteed Rent service ensures you get the rent even if the tenant fails to pay. What's more we cover void periods and any legal issues associated with problem tenants - what's more, there is no commission and no fees.

We also offer traditional lettings and sales services too and have become leaders in buy to let properties. Each office has a local director who is hands on ensuring local knowledge and national strength.

As founding members of SAFEagent, we pride ourselves on complying with every element of legislation & regulation and continue our campaign to improve consumer rights.

...left to get your reviews in for the
2020 Estate & Letting Agent Awards


Performance Statistics
Services Valuation Fees Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Sales 98% 98% £23,700 £3,299,500
Lettings 91% 94% £275 £6,224
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
2214 61 2785 212 849 9 436 6 313 48
Opening Hours
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Advertise on
Members of
NALS
Images & Videos

“It appears that looking through Northwood's reviews they have become ......”

Share on :
Dec 20,2010
Minithumbdown
By: 'Annie'
Dec 20,2010
4 people found
this helpful
It appears that looking through Northwood's reviews they have become steadily worse through 2008-2010, so I have to ask myself, 'are they giving bad service due to the company having financial issues along with the world wide economy?' I have called in to the ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Kelly
May 05, 2011
View all comments (2)
I am very surprised by your comments - i have been with Northwood Southampton for over 7 year's and they have been exceptional in terms of communication and feedback. I have several properties with them and they have always given straightforward and helpful advice. Never any issues with payments as they guarantee my rent and it is always paid when it should be. The tenant's have not always been perfect but and issued have been sorted by the Southampton team and they have kept paying the rent ...

“1 star is too much!! Terrible, Useless, they don't care - ......”

Share on :
Dec 14,2010
Minithumbdown
By: 'jackskellington'
Dec 14,2010
5 people found
this helpful
1 star is too much!! Terrible, Useless, they don't care - they just want your money. They are rude & think that by talking to you in a childlike manner and repeating themselves with declarations such as 'we think we have taken reasonable measures' and 'we have ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Matt Pullinger
Jul 14, 2014
View all comments (1)
Dear Landlord I am sorry to hear your bad experience. We pride ourselves here at Northwood Aberdeen on first class property management and first class customer service. I can only apologize for what seems to have gone wrong here. I have no record of your complaint on file, so please feel free to get in touch should you wish to discuss further and I can investigate further with my team. Again sorry to hear your of your bad experience. Yours sincerely Matt Pullinger ...

“I would like to commend all the staff at Northwood ......”

Share on :
Dec 04,2010
Minithumbup
By: 'Max'
Dec 04,2010
0 people found
this helpful
I would like to commend all the staff at Northwood Wokingham for their courtesy & helpfulness at all times during my dealings with them over the last year. On more than one occasion, they have gone beyond the necessary day to day requirements, in order to ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Authorisde repairs without landlords permission, take the bill out of ......”

Share on :
Nov 26,2010
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jane36'
Nov 26,2010
4 people found
this helpful
Authorisde repairs without landlords permission, take the bill out of your rent and then send you the invoice with a letter stating - further to our recent communication. They never call you. If you ring to complain they pass you round the houses, say they ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Matt Pullinger
Jul 14, 2014
View all comments (1)
Dear Tenant I am sorry to hear your bad experience. I can only assume that your bad experience was with another Northwood office. On our guaranteed rent service there are no charges whatsoever. We pride ourselves here at Northwood Aberdeen on first class property management and always seek the landlord permission to spend their rental income on repairs. I can only apologize for what seems to have gone wrong here. I have no record of your complaint on file, so please feel free to get in tou ...

“We would like to take this opportunity to thank all ......”

Share on :
Nov 17,2010
Minithumbup
By: 'freddybear'
Nov 17,2010
8 people found
this helpful
We would like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff at Northwood Northampton for the first class service and professionalism we received during the 8 years and 8 months that we were tenants. they were always very polite, friendly and most of all helpful. We ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Northwood Northampton
Apr 23, 2015
View all comments (1)
Dear Freddybear, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your complimentary comments. It gives me great pleasure in hearing such positive a review. Keep up with the recommendations. Many Thanks Northwood Northampton ...

“I have been a tenant with Northwood Edinburgh for the ......”

Share on :
Nov 15,2010
Minithumbup
By: 'Brooke'
Nov 15,2010
1 people found
this helpful
I have been a tenant with Northwood Edinburgh for the past two years and have found the service to be outstanding. Having had some bad rental experiences in the past I was unsure about renting again. From the moment I viewed my flat with Northwood ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We have had our house rented through Northwoods, Wokingham for ......”

Share on :
Nov 11,2010
Minithumbup
By: 'Barbara'
Nov 11,2010
0 people found
this helpful
We have had our house rented through Northwoods, Wokingham for more than 2 years and have been more than satisfied with the service. It has been well worth the difference that we might have managed to earn if we'd rented our property ourselves, for peace of ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“They simply won't maintain the property. It took over 6 months ......”

Share on :
Oct 31,2010
Minithumbdown
By: 'abcabc'
Oct 31,2010
4 people found
this helpful
They simply won't maintain the property. It took over 6 months to get the heating working, another 3 months to take the radiators away. They blame the workmen all the time, then blame you - saying you weren't in (when you know you were). We have had ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Matt Pullinger
Jul 14, 2014
View all comments (1)
Dear Landlord I am sorry to hear your bad experience. I can only assume that your experience was with another office. Here at Northwood Aberdeen we do not charge to renew a contract. Inspections as per prior agreement with the landlord are conducted periodically and are increased should an issue arise. In addition our fully trained property managers conduct a full property inspection at the end of each tenancy and will make recommendations to ensure the property is maintained to the highest l ...

“The branch in Wrexham moved someone in 1/2 a month before ......”

Share on :
Oct 19,2010
Minithumbdown
By: 'David'
Oct 19,2010
1 people found
this helpful
The branch in Wrexham moved someone in 1/2 a month before I had finished the tenancy, claiming it would save me money, then tried to charge me...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I was surprised when I read reviews about other Northwood ......”

Share on :
Sep 02,2010
Minithumbup
By: 'Martin'
Sep 02,2010
0 people found
this helpful
I was surprised when I read reviews about other Northwood branches. Service levels seems to differ vastly depending on which branch you use.. The Wokingham branch were excellent. A breath of fresh air. Vastly better than my previous experience of rental agencies. In fact, if ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Easily the worst rental agency I've ever dealt with. They ......”

Share on :
Sep 01,2010
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jimmy'
Sep 01,2010
4 people found
this helpful
Easily the worst rental agency I've ever dealt with. They take ages authorising any repairs, they never do anything unless you constantly chase them up. They charge you through the nose. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I rented a property via the Wokingham branch. The team ......”

Share on :
Aug 19,2010
Minithumbup
By: 'Nicola'
Aug 19,2010
0 people found
this helpful
I rented a property via the Wokingham branch. The team were consistently friendly, efficient and always very helpful. Northwood were extremely professional and deliver a very high standard of service which benefits the tenant and also the Landlord (I would assume)....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Rude. Take ages to send incompetent tradesmen round to bodge ......”

Share on :
Aug 04,2010
Minithumbdown
By: 'Unhappy'
Aug 04,2010
7 people found
this helpful
Rude. Take ages to send incompetent tradesmen round to bodge maintenance jobs. Avoid avoid avoid....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“These guys are an absolute joke. Will never deal with ......”

Share on :
Jul 30,2010
Minithumbdown
By: 'Burn'
Jul 30,2010
1 people found
this helpful
These guys are an absolute joke. Will never deal with them again! They constantly need reminding of things you've asked, they're always passing the buck. If there's a problem with our rental property they send the landlady out to try and sort it. I mean ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We have terminated contract 2 months ago, and still waiting deposit ......”

Share on :
Jul 28,2010
Minithumbdown
By: 'Sdikli'
Jul 28,2010
4 people found
this helpful
We have terminated contract 2 months ago, and still waiting deposit back. We always call them and they never return back. Finally they said they will send cheque but still nothing come true (10 days past)....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Matt Pullinger
Jul 14, 2014
View all comments (1)
Dear Landlord I am sorry to hear your bad experience. I can only assume that your experience was with another office. Here at Northwood Aberdeen we do not charge to renew a contract. Inspections as per prior agreement with the landlord are conducted periodically and are increased should an issue arise. In addition our fully trained property managers conduct a full property inspection at the end of each tenancy and will make recommendations to ensure the property is maintained to the highest l ...

“Maintenance a joke - 2 weeks minimum before anything is sorted, ......”

Share on :
Jul 26,2010
Minithumbdown
By: 'Catherine'
Jul 26,2010
4 people found
this helpful
Maintenance a joke - 2 weeks minimum before anything is sorted, including washing machines, showers etc. Maintenance is outsourced and so they have no control over timings etc and the maintence staff lie about phoning tenants etc. They blame the house owner for slow communication...not ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Matt Pullinger
Jul 14, 2014
View all comments (1)
Dear Landlord I am sorry to hear your bad experience. I can only assume that your experience was with another office. Here at Northwood Aberdeen we do not charge to renew a contract. Inspections as per prior agreement with the landlord are conducted periodically and are increased should an issue arise. In addition our fully trained property managers conduct a full property inspection at the end of each tenancy and will make recommendations to ensure the property is maintained to the highest l ...

“It took them 2 months to fix a leaking bath, from ......”

Share on :
Jul 20,2010
Minithumbdown
By: 'Veda'
Jul 20,2010
4 people found
this helpful
It took them 2 months to fix a leaking bath, from me giving the go ahead to the bath being replaced. In this time the tenant couldn't use it without flooding the flat below. The workmanship was terrible, and it took me a further 7 months to ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Matt Pullinger
Jul 14, 2014
View all comments (1)
Dear Landlord I am sorry to hear your bad experience. I can only assume that your experience was with another office. Here at Northwood Aberdeen we do not charge to renew a contract. Inspections as per prior agreement with the landlord are conducted periodically and are increased should an issue arise. In addition our fully trained property managers conduct a full property inspection at the end of each tenancy and will make recommendations to ensure the property is maintained to the highest l ...

“Brilliant customer service. Treated with respect and problems dealt with ......”

Share on :
May 27,2010
Minithumbup
By: 'Tom and Hettie'
May 27,2010
0 people found
this helpful
Brilliant customer service. Treated with respect and problems dealt with efficiently. Staci O' Connor especially was outstanding!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful i would ......”

Share on :
May 05,2010
Minithumbup
By: 'kelly'
May 05,2010
0 people found
this helpful
The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful i would recommend them to anyone looking to rent somewhere. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We have rented a house managed by Northwood Wokingham for 3 ......”

Share on :
Mar 29,2010
Minithumbup
By: 'Robert'
Mar 29,2010
0 people found
this helpful
We have rented a house managed by Northwood Wokingham for 3 years and I am extremely happy with their service. They have been very efficient and fair in looking after the interests of both us and the landlords and have been more than accommodating in ensuring ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“The guys at Southampton have always been brilliant to us, ......”

Share on :
Feb 17,2010
Minithumbup
By: 'PeevedSouthampton'
Feb 17,2010
0 people found
this helpful
The guys at Southampton have always been brilliant to us, the only reason I can't give 5 stars is a quibble over the notice period....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I have rented from Northwood for about a year and ......”

Share on :
Jan 28,2010
Minithumbup
By: 'Craig'
Jan 28,2010
1 people found
this helpful
I have rented from Northwood for about a year and they have been great. From initial viewing of the property that I took to the application process to getting the flat, moving in and a few small pieces of works that needed done everyone in ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Myself and my business partners have used Northwood, West-derby for ......”

Share on :
Jan 27,2010
Minithumbup
Ruth
By: 'Shaun'
Jan 27,2010
0 people found
this helpful
Myself and my business partners have used Northwood, West-derby for letting numerous properties and for the sale of properties over many years. I have to say that they have always provided a first class service on both sides (ie sales & lettings). I have particular high ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Northwood Liverpool are one of the best letting agents I've ......”

Share on :
Jan 20,2010
Minithumbup
By: 'mr cross'
Jan 20,2010
0 people found
this helpful
Northwood Liverpool are one of the best letting agents I've used in the Merseyside area. Leanne and the team are totally commited to customer satifaction, I've been with them for a few years now (Platinum sceme) and they are always polite, cheerful and professional in ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Offers a very good service to landlords and tenants....”

Share on :
Jan 18,2010
Minithumbup
By: 'G. T.'
Jan 18,2010
0 people found
this helpful
Offers a very good service to landlords and tenants....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Despite some initial problems with securing a property, dealing with ......”

Share on :
Jan 12,2010
Minithumbup
By: 'aj'
Jan 12,2010
0 people found
this helpful
Despite some initial problems with securing a property, dealing with the Northwood team was a pleasure, very professional and true to their word with very good communication via phone or email. All problems and queries were dealt with quickly....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“One star is too good. Where shall I start, hidden ......”

Share on :
Jan 08,2010
Minithumbdown
By: 'dingledoodle'
Jan 08,2010
4 people found
this helpful
One star is too good. Where shall I start, hidden charges which you're not told about before signing the contract like renewal fees and even fees if you don't sign and return paperwork within seven days. Maintenance is terrible, two weeks without a washing machine ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Matt Pullinger
Jul 14, 2014
View all comments (2)
Dear Landlord I am sorry to hear your bad experience. I can only assume that your experience was with another office. Here at Northwood Aberdeen we do not charge to renew a contract. Inspections as per prior agreement with the landlord are conducted periodically and are increased should an issue arise. In addition our fully trained property managers conduct a full property inspection at the end of each tenancy and will make recommendations to ensure the property is maintained to the highest l ...

“As a landlord I can say the team at Northwood ......”

Share on :
Dec 24,2009
Minithumbup
By: 'dabarry'
Dec 24,2009
0 people found
this helpful
As a landlord I can say the team at Northwood Wokingham work hard, are professional and would recommend them to both tenants and landlords alike....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“They charge you for anything and everything they can, they ......”

Share on :
Nov 25,2009
Minithumbdown
By: 'Ali'
Nov 25,2009
3 people found
this helpful
They charge you for anything and everything they can, they even charge you for renewing your contract every six months. They are constantly inspecting the property which feels like a real invasion of privacy. Our property is run down and obviously has been neglected whilst ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Matt Pullinger
Jul 14, 2014
View all comments (1)
Dear Landlord I am sorry to hear your bad experience. I can only assume that your experience was with another office. Here at Northwood Aberdeen we do not charge to renew a contract. Inspections as per prior agreement with the landlord are conducted periodically and are increased should an issue arise. In addition our fully trained property managers conduct a full property inspection at the end of each tenancy and will make recommendations to ensure the property is maintained to the highest l ...
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

Northwood aims to run a high calibre lettings and estate agency business. Whilst we do our best to operate in a professional way and to the highest standards, it is possible that you may be unhappy about how we have dealt with a particular situation.

We have a standard procedure for handling complaints which is as follows:

1. Making an initial complaint

Each office is independently owned and operated and has a local Director who will be, in part or in whole, an owner of the branch. In the first instance your complaint should be directed in writing to the local Director. He or she has an honest and sincere desire to resolve your complaint as soon as possible and should respond within ten working days.

2. Making a formal complaint

If for whatever reason you remain dissatisfied then please contact us. At this point we will send you a complaint form to enable you to provide full written details of your complaint and copies of any supporting evidence. The Complaints Officer appointed will investigate and provide an independent review of your complaint.

Write to us

FAO The Complaints Officer
Northwood GB Limited
The Main Barn, Cams Hall Estate
Fareham, Hampshire
PO16 8UT

E-mail us

customerservice@northwooduk.com

3. Receiving your complaint

We will acknowledge the receipt of your written complaint within three working days and explain our process for resolving it. Due to the independent nature of the investigation we regret that we can only respond in writing.

4. Resolving your complaint

We will then investigate your written complaint as soon as possible and write to you as soon as we have completed our investigation. This process should take 15 working days. In our letter (the final viewpoint letter) we will explain:
?The outcome of our investigation
?What we will do to put things right if we have made a mistake


5. Property Ombudsman Review

If you are still unhappy at this stage, you have the option to take your complaint to the Property Ombudsman within six months of the date of the final viewpoint letter. The Property Ombudsman will not investigate any complaint that has not followed the in-house complaints process. Further details of the Property Ombudsman are available at tpos.co.uk
Last updated at 9:06 AM 07/03/2019 by Peter Allison

Awards won by Northwood

Individual Branch Awards

York, YO1

Worcester, WR1

Warrington, WA1

Ashford, TN24

Maidenhead, SL6

Portsmouth, PO6

Northampton, NN1

Newcastle upon Tyne, NE5

Leeds, LS7

Leicester, LE2

Liverpool, L12

High Wycombe, HP13

Cheltenham, GL52

Doncaster, DN8

Doncaster, DN2

Derby, DE1

Crewe, CW11

Wirral, CH60

Carlisle, CA1

Bristol, BS3

Bromley, BR1

Warminster, BA12

Birmingham, B5

St Albans, AL1

Watford, WD24

Southport, PR8

Peterborough, PE1

Milton Keynes, MK16

Beverley, HU17

Retford, DN22

Aberdeen, AB25

Wigan, WN1

London, SE27

Nottingham, NG5

Chester, CH2

Cardiff, CF14

Bournemouth, BH9

Tamworth, B79

Southampton, SO15

Luton, LU1

Coventry, CV1

Sheffield, S6

Preston, PR1

Waterlooville, PO7

Lincoln, LN2

Exeter, EX1


As Seen On

Get in touch with

Northwood