North Oxford Property Services
1.5/5, 62 reviews
15% recommended
14% lettings valuation accuracy
18% lettings fee satisfaction
No company information

Performance Statistics
Services Valuation Fees Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Lettings 14% 18% £394 £0
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
2 0 7 47 0 0 0 0 0 6
Areas covered
Address

47 Walton Street
Oxford
Oxfordshire
OX2 6AD
01865 311745

Opening Hours
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Advertise on
Latest Properties

No Properties

“AVOID AT ALL COST...”

Share on :
Aug 07,2019
Minithumbdown
By: 'Vulcania Aubergine'
Aug 07,2019
3 people found
this helpful
After a year of renting with NOPS, there are too many individual instances of frustration for me to fit into this Google Review. The gist is: NOPS exploits the oligopolized structure and lack of accomodation on the Oxford Student letting market by renting out low-quality ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Con Artists...”

Share on :
Dec 11,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'Student tenant'
Dec 11,2018
8 people found
this helpful
These people enjoy the exploitation of ill-informed student tenants, which turns out to be their shiny business model in an oligopoly. They will rinse and charge you extremely disproportionate fees where they can, particularly on insignificant and nuanced issues allowing them to keep students in ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Bad, dispraportionate costs.
Was this helpful? Yes

“NOPS = HELL MONGERS...”

Share on :
Sep 17,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'Down with nops'
Sep 17,2018
12 people found
this helpful
Where to begin. I rented from these con artists for three years, and only stayed with them because I was too poor to afford the fees to put down on another place and was able to transfer my deposit from one flat to another. They ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
All a rip off
Was this helpful? Yes

“Please DO NOT USE NOPs...”

Share on :
Sep 13,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'Claire'
Sep 13,2018
13 people found
this helpful
We used NOPs to rent a property in Jericho last year. They were generally unhelpful, disorganised and unprofessional. When we complained about various maintenance issues, they often would ignore our emails or when they did respond it would take weeks, even months, to get the ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Extortionate
Was this helpful? Yes

“Appalling experience...”

Share on :
Jun 25,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'A tenant'
Jun 25,2018
15 people found
this helpful
Shortly after moving in, we realised that there were RATS in the house (located near Abingdon Road). After one extenuating month the property manager and the landlord finally decided to move some of the kitchen furniture, revealing a large crack in the floor from where ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Nasty contract termination fee
Was this helpful? Yes
By: a tenant
Sep 02, 2018
View all comments (1)
There are rats holes in the flat when I moved in, and I complaint to them for eight times, they do not take any actions to deal with it. ...

“Clean, modern apartment...”

Share on :
Mar 19,2018
Minithumbup
By: 'Sarah'
Mar 19,2018
5 people found
this helpful
We stayed in one of the apartments close to the city centre and were very pleased with accommodation and services. A modern, clean apartment. Pretty good customer service, no better or worse than the other letting agents we've dealt with. While we stayed there was ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Rude, arrogant and condescending rip off merchants. They tried to ......”

Share on :
Jan 03,2018
Minithumbdown
By: 'Got our deposit back'
Jan 03,2018
20 people found
this helpful
Rude, arrogant and condescending rip off merchants. They tried to charge an extremely over inflated cleaning bill from Colleen the cleaner. 23 hours to clean a house. When I questioned the time and asked for a breakdown she said we do move the chairs. We got ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Extortionate
Was this helpful? Yes

“Crooks. Moved into a disgusting house which they dared claim ......”

Share on :
Oct 23,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'student victim'
Oct 23,2017
20 people found
this helpful
Crooks. Moved into a disgusting house which they dared claim had been cleaned. Washing machine was already broken and yet they charged us for it. Make sure you read the tenancy agreement fully and see how shady it is before you sign. For example, if ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Never use this bunch of cowboys - they lie they ......”

Share on :
Oct 12,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'V Mill'
Oct 12,2017
20 people found
this helpful
Never use this bunch of cowboys - they lie they cheat and they do NOT return deposits! They let sub standard property and then have the cheek to demand money for cleaning - £300??? When 3 students had cleaned the property - they are a bunch of ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Do NOT rent a property from them - simple they are cheats and liars.
Was this helpful? Yes

“NOPS has been the least professional and most unethical rental ......”

Share on :
Sep 27,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Cheated in Oxford'
Sep 27,2017
21 people found
this helpful
NOPS has been the least professional and most unethical rental company we have ever interacted with. There with problems while we were in the unit (including unaddressed excessive mold) as well as while trying to get our deposit back. Avoid at all costs....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We have been renting a student property with NOPS for ......”

Share on :
Sep 20,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'helen parent od student at oxford'
Sep 20,2017
3 people found
this helpful
We have been renting a student property with NOPS for my daughter and her two friends, Hannah George, has always been really helpful and quick to respond to any questions, it's very precieus for Foreigner ....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
it's correct
Was this helpful? Yes

“NOPS is an incredibly scammy company. They have a dodgy ......”

Share on :
Sep 14,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Aidan'
Sep 14,2017
19 people found
this helpful
NOPS is an incredibly scammy company. They have a dodgy connection with a local cleaning company and will try and charge you a £600 'cleaning fee' even after professional cleaning has been done at the end of a tenancy. When reporting a creaky and clearly broken ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“The absolute worst. Some things:- They mistyped four out ......”

Share on :
Sep 13,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Betteredge'
Sep 13,2017
18 people found
this helpful
The absolute worst. Some things: - They mistyped four out of five of our email addresses when sending out the tenancy paperwork, so once we figured this out we had to scramble to get everything ready in the final few days before the tenancy started. (...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Bad. See above: the fee for sending a checkout report to the landlord was subtracted from our deposit.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Mould ridden, damp and electrically unsafe house. NOPS response was ......”

Share on :
Sep 02,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Dr Smith'
Sep 02,2017
17 people found
this helpful
Mould ridden, damp and electrically unsafe house. NOPS response was to blame student lifestyle.....even prior to tenancy. Poor quality standard at huge cost. Constant requests for rectification of issues were poorly dealt with or ignored. A very expensive lesson learned!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“NO STARS IS NOT AN OPTIONNOPS are a Dreadful Company. ......”

Share on :
Aug 15,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Parent of Student'
Aug 15,2017
21 people found
this helpful
NO STARS IS NOT AN OPTION NOPS are a Dreadful Company. Handed over keys to my daughter's shared house with ongoing works and electrical wires sticking out of wall by her bed. They couldn't care less if she had been electrocuted! Fire door had recently ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very expensive
Was this helpful? Yes

“I have been very impressed with the way I have ......”

Share on :
May 24,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Anthony Lamb'
May 24,2017
3 people found
this helpful
I have been very impressed with the way I have been kept informed and updated whilst repairs and restoration work have been done to my property following a plumbing leak from a property above. At all times the staff, particularly Samantha Phipps, have been courteous ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Had I been a tougher negotiator I might have been able to get a better deal for my fees, but I feel I have been getting my money's worth.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Students are vulnerable bunch when it comes to letting, and ......”

Share on :
Mar 20,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'EC'
Mar 20,2017
22 people found
this helpful
Students are vulnerable bunch when it comes to letting, and NOPs takes full and horrifying advantage of that. They have a series of completely illogical rules, such as all tenants moving in must be present when the contract is being signed. Have you ever tried ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Students should not have to pay agents fees
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Georgina
Mar 21, 2017
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your review. All tenants must be present when a change of tenancy takes place, which is clearly stated in your agreement. Many agencies don't have a break clause and you are tied in for the duration of the tenancy, we allow you to leave but there are rules in place to make the process as risk free as possible. Hannah was abiding by these rules and merely relaying them to you and your group. The contract clearly displays that tenants cannot leave without 7 months left on the tenancy ...

“We have been renting a student property with NOPS for ......”

Share on :
Mar 20,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Anonymous'
Mar 20,2017
5 people found
this helpful
We have been renting a student property with NOPS for the past three years in Oxford. The team, in particular Lu Bowler and Samantha Phipps, have always been really helpful and quick to respond to any problems within the property. Maintenance work is always completed ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Quite expensive - rent is high everywhere at the moment, but fees for re-signing (every single year) finding yourself locked out and even checking out of a property are very high!
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Georgina
Mar 21, 2017
View all comments (1)
We thank you for your lovely review, Samantha and Lu have been informed of your nice comments. Unfortunately many rents are dictated by the market (as you have pointed out) or requests from the landlord. Our fees are very competitive, lower than many other agents in Oxford. I will definitely pass these comments onto our Director so that they can be discussed. Kind regards, NOPS ...

“This is the worst agent ever PLEASE KEEP AWAY FROM ......”

Share on :
Mar 01,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'PARENT'
Mar 01,2017
18 people found
this helpful
This is the worst agent ever PLEASE KEEP AWAY FROM THEM AND THEIR TERRIBLE SUBSTANDARD ACCOMMODATION . Do not let your kids rent through them ....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
BAD
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Georgina
Mar 21, 2017
View all comments (1)
We are sorry to see that you have had a bad experience with NOPS. Please can you give more details as to why? It would also help us if we could know which property your child is associated with so that we can investigate the matter. Kind regards, NOPS ...

“Firstly, when I phoned NOPS to arrange the house viewings, ......”

Share on :
Feb 16,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Jennifer'
Feb 16,2017
16 people found
this helpful
Firstly, when I phoned NOPS to arrange the house viewings, they were incredibly rude and unhelpful. When we actually viewed the properties, they were disgusting, cold and dark and didn't look anything like the photos on the website. The estate agent who showed us around ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Bad
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Georgina
Mar 21, 2017
View all comments (2)
We are sorry to hear that your viewing was unsuccessful. We value all tenants equally and we are surprised to hear this. We apologise that the employee showing you the properties wasn't able to fully answer your queries. Sometimes we rely on other departments to conduct viewings, this may have been the case in your situation. Please can you elaborate on who conducted the viewings and where you visited? This will help us improve for future viewings. Kind regards, NOPS ...

“Terrible. Miscommunication, or a lack of even trying to communicate ......”

Share on :
Jan 27,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'ForShame'
Jan 27,2017
17 people found
this helpful
Terrible. Miscommunication, or a lack of even trying to communicate properly. We had a lot of situations where the head tenant was told different things than the rest of us, which led to many frustrating moments. We were told we were fine to move in, ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
We only had to do the admin fees. I'd avoid putting any money into anything they do. I'm genuinely sad that they continue to exist.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: ForShame
Jul 22, 2017
View all comments (2)
NOPS responded to this review within days of failing to do a very similar thing to another group of students. Luckily, they mentioned my case and NOPS dropped it because they know they wouldn't be able to get away with it. If you would like help on improving things, you can work on your lack of information and misinformation, inefficient procedural process, lack of / ineffective communication, untimely communication (unreasonable notice), attitude problem and poor, unhelpful customer service. ...

“This agency is awful, a complete waste of time! The ......”

Share on :
Jan 27,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Mariana Conceicao'
Jan 27,2017
11 people found
this helpful
This agency is awful, a complete waste of time! The person that dealt with with us was not professional at all and wasted our time with incomplete information about the house renting status. I do not recommend this agency to someone that wants to find ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Georgina
Mar 21, 2017
View all comments (1)
We are sorry to see that your viewings were unsuccessful. We strive on having a professional attitude towards potential tenants. Please can you elaborate on which properties you viewed and who it was with? We are always happy to hear how we can improve. Please accept my apology, as we sometimes are short staffed and require other departments to help with the viewings. Kind regards, NOPS ...

“The property I rented from them was in a terrible ......”

Share on :
Dec 23,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'AliasName'
Dec 23,2016
12 people found
this helpful
The property I rented from them was in a terrible condition (rising damp), to the point that it was unsafe and unhealthy to live there. Over the course of the 18 months that I lived there, I sent scores of emails, made lots of phonecalls, and ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
The contract is full of hidden fees
Attachments

Was this helpful? Yes
By: Georgina
Mar 21, 2017
View all comments (1)
We are sorry that you had a bad experience with NOPS. Your review states that the council were involved, please can you elaborate on their comments on the property? We work on behalf of the landlord as well as you, but we are unable to action works without their prior consent. I understand that this must have been frustrating and we apologise that issues weren't resolved sooner. Please can you give details on which property you are referring to so that we investigate further. Kind regards, ...

“After letting my property in Oxford since 1994,living abroad,I ......”

Share on :
Nov 27,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'Jason Milocco'
Nov 27,2016
2 people found
this helpful
After letting my property in Oxford since 1994,living abroad,I can say I found in NOPS great professionist and peace of mind....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Good
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Georgina
Mar 21, 2017
View all comments (1)
We thank you for your positive review. We strive to have a great relationship with all of our landlords and allowing them to trust us with their properties whilst overseas. We hope you continue to have a good experience with NOPS. ...

“In my experience this agency represents substandard properties and landlords ......”

Share on :
Oct 25,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Curtis'
Oct 25,2016
14 people found
this helpful
In my experience this agency represents substandard properties and landlords who try to take advantage of students. I would recommend using this service to anyone who likes to waste their time and money...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
My property was worth not worth the rent I paid. I had a tiny room which wasn't properly furnished
Was this helpful? Yes

“If you don't want to loose your money please don't ......”

Share on :
Oct 15,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Bill'
Oct 15,2016
11 people found
this helpful
If you don't want to loose your money please don't go to this agents. They are looking for any reason to keep your deposit. Additionally there have a bunch of hidden fees. Rudest agents ever. WORST EXPERIENCE EVER....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
THE WORST
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Georgina
Mar 21, 2017
View all comments (1)
We are sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience with NOPS. Our fees are not hidden in our tenancy agreement as we have a whole page dedicated to them. We have the head tenant initial and date every page so that we know that it has been read thoroughly. We have all tenants sign a page to say they have specifically read the fees, please can you inform us of what fees you believe were hidden or that you were unaware of? This will help NOPS improve for future tenants. The deductions mad ...

“Absolutely bloody awful service. This business should be closed down. ......”

Share on :
Sep 13,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Robbed'
Sep 13,2016
10 people found
this helpful
Absolutely bloody awful service. This business should be closed down. False promises, bad service, money grabbing, liars, cheats and incompetence to the max. Do yourself a favour and rent elsewhere. Total *!...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Bad
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Georgina
Mar 21, 2017
View all comments (1)
We are sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience with NOPS. Please can you give details regarding which property you were in and what issues happened during your tenancy? This will help us improve for future tenants. Kind regards, NOPS ...

“Terrible, terrible, terrible. What a bunch of crooks. They will ......”

Share on :
May 05,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Chris'
May 05,2016
11 people found
this helpful
Terrible, terrible, terrible. What a bunch of crooks. They will come up with any excuse to keep your deposit. They charge an unbelievable amount of hidden fees. Please do not use them....
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Many hidden fees.
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
Many hidden fees.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Georgina
Mar 21, 2017
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you feel there are many hidden fees, to eradicate any confusion regarding fees we have redeveloped our tenancy agreement to highlight the charges more clearly. They have always been present in our agreement but we have now dedicated a whole page to them. Please can you inform me of which property you were residing in, so that we can investigate the amount deducted from your deposit. Kind regards, NOPS ...

“What a bunch of dishonest, inept crooks! We were unfortunate ......”

Share on :
Aug 05,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'wontgetfooledagain'
Aug 05,2015
17 people found
this helpful
What a bunch of dishonest, inept crooks! We were unfortunate enough to be lumped with NOPS when our old letting agent sold his portfolio to them. The decrease in service level was noticeable immediately. They couldn't multiply or divide by 365, 12, or 7 - we had to ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Exorbitant fees charged for drawing up of contracts (doing a mail merge of house & tenant details into their boilerplate contract, then pressing print. Reading of references, possibly sending an email or two. Reading the responses), then more fees charged for contract renewals (same as before but with no references. Want to move out early? That'll be ‚£300 please, never mind that you've already found a replacement tenant for the room. Also very tricky with penalty fees - if you do get close to having one, which probably won't be your fault due to aforementioned mathematical ineptitudes, they will give you a few hour's warning at best.
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
Exorbitant fees charged for drawing up of contracts (doing a mail merge of house & tenant details into their boilerplate contract, then pressing print. Reading of references, possibly sending an email or two. Reading the responses), then more fees charged for contract renewals (same as before but with no references. Want to move out early? That'll be ‚£300 please, never mind that you've already found a replacement tenant for the room. Also very tricky with penalty fees - if you do get close to having one, which probably won't be your fault due to aforementioned mathematical ineptitudes, they will give you a few hour's warning at best.
Was this helpful? Yes

“Having rented in Oxford for 2 years, this is the absolute ......”

Share on :
Feb 04,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Monkey'
Feb 04,2015
14 people found
this helpful
Having rented in Oxford for 2 years, this is the absolute worst agency and staff I have ever come across. Their staff are extremely rude and actually put the phone down when you are trying to complain in a fair and respectable manner! They are very ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Extortionate sign up fees and if you need to leave your contract during the contractual dates they charge ‚£300 per person, whilst doing the least amount of work possible and they make the whole process extrememly difficult (as much as they possibly can), whilst trying to make you feel that you're the one in the wrong for having to change your circumstances!!!
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
Extortionate sign up fees and if you need to leave your contract during the contractual dates they charge ‚£300 per person, whilst doing the least amount of work possible and they make the whole process extrememly difficult (as much as they possibly can), whilst trying to make you feel that you're the one in the wrong for having to change your circumstances!!!
Was this helpful? Yes

Tenant Fees

Holding Deposit (per tenancy)

1 weeks rent

Last updated on 04/06/2019, 2:49 PM by Buddy Swailes

Tenancy Deposit

5 Weeks Rent

Last updated on 04/06/2019, 2:55 PM by Buddy Swailes

Lost Keys

Lost Key Replacement or Change of Lock or Locks

Last updated on 04/06/2019, 2:56 PM by Buddy Swailes

Early Termination

Early Termination Charge For Vacating Tenant £50.00 inc VAT

Last updated on 04/06/2019, 2:54 PM by Buddy Swailes

Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure available.

Awards won by North Oxford Property Services

Individual Branch Awards


.
As Seen On

Find the Best Agent to
Sell or Rent Your Home