• Rachel Erridge
    Rachel Erridge
  • Emma Gretton
    Emma Gretton
  • Hannah Atkinson
    Hannah Atkinson
  • Reece Gathern
    Reece Gathern
  • claim your profile
    Kate Plows
Harringtons is now becoming one of the only Lettings Agencies in Brighton and Hove who specialize in just doing lettings. Many Companies have now diversified into property management and selling. Harringtons believe that by diversifying many agents have lost focus on what is important to their landlords by no longer specializing in just lettings only.

Lettings has been one of the safest and best performing investments as well as combining the benefits of a monthly income with the potential f
Read full description...

109 Western Road
Hove
Brighton and Hove
BN3 1FA
01273 724000

 
www.harringtonslettings.co.uk Properties for sale
Properties for rent
Dec 09,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Aaron A. Aaronson'
Dec 09,2017
1 people found
this helpful
Rachel herself and the rest of the staff are professional and polite. However, the same cannot be said for the company, as I've found them to be predatory, misleading, and subversive in their apparent efforts to cause myself and my housemates considerable financial stress. This includes, but is not limited to: over ยฃ300 per person for them to do an inadequate job in writing the correct rent payment amount on the official tenancy agreement TWICE, even after correction. It appears that in or...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 14,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Sickofbeingmuggedoff'
Dec 14,2016
2 people found
this helpful
Such a bad company moved out of property we rented from them 3. Months later still waiting for deposit they use a third party both company's keep saying have to get in contact with other one so badly organised never been with a cowboy company as this one it's £1600 we trying to get back because it isn't there money no one really cares was told by many people not to go with them as they are renowned for this but like an idiot I still went for it as liked the property more fool me...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Administration Department
Dec 20, 2016
View all comments (1)
We are sorry to hear this it is not often that a deposit return takes this long. The majority of deposits are returned within two weeks of the vacating date, but there can be delays dependent on the situation. We are not sure who you mean by third party, perhaps the Deposit Protection Service? If it has not yet been resolved then we would more more than happy to discuss further however without knowing what property you are referring to we are limited to what we can advise. ...
Aug 22,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Disgruntled'
Aug 22,2016
3 people found
this helpful
Before even having moved in, I would like to express how displeased I am with service I have received from Harringtons. My housemates and I have been treated with disregard whenever we have had a query or problem. Mistakes made in the contract have meant that we have had to pay more money than originally stated and there has been no explanation or apology over these callous mistakes. Information given is unclear and holding fees are unreasonably high, especially considering the poor quality serv...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 16,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Hannah'
Sep 16,2015
4 people found
this helpful
This company is horrendous to tennants , they attempt to take money off you constantly and when my tenancy finished they tried to take over £300 for a £70 pound cleaning and the rest in extortional fees! Provided false photos of property to make a claim against my deposit but unfortunately for them I had my own photos. After sending false pictures twice ! And submitting false photos to dps deposits they finally admitting sending wrong pictures when confronted with my photos. Fighting...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 23,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Linda'
Jan 23,2015
5 people found
this helpful
Harringtons Lettings are an UNSCRUPULOUS and DOWNRIGHT DISHONEST agent. This is the first forum I have EVER joined - I feel that strongly. I have reported them to Brighton & Hove Trading Standards and am forced to go through the Small Claims Courts. Don't want to bore you, but Watch This Space!! Avoid this company like the plague!!!...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Repaid my money like an honest, reputable company would have done. Would have had the decency to converse me and not have me make several calls a week, leaving messages without a response. Let me loose faith in the word INTEGRITY!
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 19,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'Victor Woolgar'
Jan 19,2015
4 people found
this helpful
Landlords please do not use this agency who are unprofessional, unscrupulous, and dishonest. They wrote to us saying that they would let our houses for "absolutely" no fee, that they were being paid by Brighton University for every tenant they found. Once let, they started charging us a fully managed property fee and said that WE had misunderstood!! We got rid of them by paying a finders fee. We understand we are not alone in this scam...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Agent charged the students more than they intimated so that they could pay themselves the difference
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mr Harrignton
Jan 20, 2015
View all comments (1)
Dear Vic, I'm sorry to hear of your bad experience but we were very transparent with our offer, we went through it numerous times with you and we have helped over 20 new landlords achieve higher rents than they were previously on this very same scheme. We started dealing with your business partner who when visited the properties with us was more worried about arguing with the your current students about maintenance issues rather than discuss the deal. When we started dealing with yourself it ...
Sep 17,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'starlitdarkness'
Sep 17,2014
4 people found
this helpful
I honestly think that Basil Fawlty could run a lettings agency in a more professional and organised manner than this thoroughly incompetent company. I am relieved to have finished dealing with them after a year of consistently unprofessional service. This is a company which are all smiles and kindness until they have your money - then the true colours begin to burst forth. Just a few of the joys you can expect as a tenant of one of this company's properties; 1. Being given minimal noti...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Learn some professionalism!
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Harringtons
Oct 27, 2014
View all comments (1)
Hi รขโ‚ฌหœStarlight Darknessรขโ‚ฌโ„ข. Im sorry to hear of your negative review. We have a company policy to give all tenants 24 hoursรขโ‚ฌโ„ข notice, unfortunately we kept finding in your case that every time we called we got voicemails so we just left voicemails 24 hours before. In terms of the phone call regarding the arrears we did have a couple of occasions where the reference we initially gave you was not put on the payment so we take hundreds of rent on the 1st of every month and witho ...
Jun 16,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'unhappy beyond belief'
Jun 16,2014
4 people found
this helpful
this is a very strong warning. do not use this company, everything in the previous posts ( the negatives which you see far outweigh the 'positives' which seem a little false to me everything negative is true and i have experienced my own version of most of these. the trying to weedle cash out of me is becoming tiresome. i have terrible contact with the people who work there ( except for the poor souls who man the front of shop).. they are nice enough but there employers sting. they only ca...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Harringtons
Oct 27, 2014
View all comments (1)
Hi, im sorry to hear of your bad experience. I think we need to be clear, there are no employers above everyone in the front office, and it is all run by a branch manager and administration manager who sit at the front of our office. So if you had a positive experience with them then hopefully it should be okay. Unfortunately you chose who to live with in the house not us and the landlords are responsible for buildings and landlords insurance but all tenants are responsible for contents insura ...
Feb 05,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'BrightonHoveRental'
Feb 05,2014
6 people found
this helpful
Having dealt with numerous letting agents through my time in Brighton & Hove, Harringtons Lettings succeeded in becoming the most unprofessional and incompetent agency I have managed to come across. To begin with, after experiencing numerous problems with the property upon moving in, including rot in the walls, damp, and general uncleanliness, and reporting this to the Lettings Agent, we were informed they would not do anything about it, and the landlord would not pay for any repairs (whic...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 05,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Lawrence Friend'
Feb 05,2014
8 people found
this helpful
Absolutely appalling! We decided to end our tenancy 5 months early due to being fed up of dealing with incompetent staff at Harringtons. As the tenancy agreement had no \'get out\' clause we had to pay £300 for the privilege, to which Harringtons referred to as a \'good will gesture\'. The place was absolutely spotless when we left (I took photos and videos), and in a better condition than when we moved in. Despite this, Harringtons tried to charge us £140 for cleaning and a further ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 16,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Rudie Danso'
Sep 16,2013
3 people found
this helpful
Initially a group of us arranged a house viewing, we wre then taken to a house which wasn\'t in very good condition. It was a 4 bedroom house and we were told by Aston that it would be converted into a 5 bedroom, with the kitchen being changed into the extra bedroom and the lounge area being extended into the garden to create an open plan kitchen/living area. We paid the holding fee on the house and unfortunately one of us dropped out, this was before any tenancy agreements had been sent out, we...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Treated us with respect and not tried to deceive us.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Harry
Dec 12, 2013
View all comments (1)
Hi Rudie, Thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not have the greatest experience, I think there was a severe lack of communication between everyone including us and we were speaking to everyone individually trying to get to the bottom of the situation. We had to wait 3 weeks to get a move-in date from your guys which changed regularly and because we didn't manage the property we could only tell you what works the landlord have told us were being done. I do apologise for this as mayb ...
Aug 15,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Agent Reviewer'
Aug 15,2013
7 people found
this helpful
Harringtons appear to have a problem in dealing with both tenants and landlords: they are no longer customers but simple cash providers. If you are aware of this, you will avoid surprises, upset stomachs and possibly even headaches. But you would be a rare person. I found them to be economical with the truth ( they did not contact the landlord about various requests), unnecessarily unhelpful (2.5% charge added to a debit card for deposit and first month) and just well, mean about repairs and so ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Take a course in customer service
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 08,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Unhappy tenant'
Aug 08,2013
4 people found
this helpful
Harringtons Lettings agents are truly the worst lettings agent imaginable. Why? -On moving into the property, we find it dirty, smelly and damp. The bathroom walls/ceiling ย were covered in mold, the wall so sodden that the tiles were falling off. The carpets were covered in brown stains that forunately could be removed with a little carpet cleaner and elbow grease (why wasn\'t this done?), dusty walls, greasy cupboards, untidy garden..you get the picture. -After being in the property 3 month...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: unknown
Dec 12, 2013
View all comments (1)
Its great to see that you got your deposit back after having such a bad experience, but reading this I think its important that a few things are pointed out: 1) The stains surely would have been there when you looked at the flat.... so why take it? Or why didnt you make a request for the landlord to get them done before you moved in. That goes for any agent you use. 2) external building work doesn't reflect on how the agents treated you, its not their responsibility to ask all your neighbo ...
Jun 13,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Angry Tenant'
Jun 13,2013
4 people found
this helpful
I have never bothered to write a review for an estate agent before - but I felt strongly compelled to so that I could express my disappointment, dissatisfaction and general dislike of this god awful estate agent. Harringtons are, in my view, an embarrassment to the profession and an embodiment of the stereotypical estate agency that everyone hates. Essentially - they either lied to us about the essential terms of our agreement or simply didn\'t know them, incorrectly drafted our paperwork - ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
The list of things would be longer than this box allows but essentially - not lied when agreeing the tenancy, admitted their error, provide compensation for our losses due to THEIR error, better more efficient staff instead of a girl who appeared to be fresh out of school and completely incompetent, answered our letters, not harrassed us from the minute we moved in.... the list is endless.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Harringtons Lettings
Jun 20, 2013
View all comments (1)
Dear Angry Tenant Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you have had a negative experience with Harringtons Lettings. As for your comment about adding new terms to our contract this is not the case. Our contract has been approved by the Trading Standards and cannot be amended in any way. As for spelling your names wrong, we do apologise, it was not done intentionally. We take negative comments extremely seriously and therefore we would like to ask you to contact the adminis ...
May 04,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'kgf'
May 04,2013
5 people found
this helpful
Harringtons are terrible, I\'m really not surprised with any of these comments, only the positive ones, which I am at a lose to understand anyone who would give them a good review. I\'ve dealt with them for several years and they have always been terrible each and every time. Their attitude is money, money, money: they don\'t care one but about tenants, even long standing ones, and the general attitude of staff is rudecand aggressive. I doubt any of them sleep well at night. Their customer servi...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Kim Dixon
May 07, 2013
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your comments and sorry to read that you are unhappy with our service. It is very difficult to deal wtih any issues if we do not know who you are. Please feel free to contact us directly discuss any issues that you may have. ...
Apr 27,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Matilda'
Apr 27,2013
5 people found
this helpful
I have rarely written a review but Harringtons lettings deserves every piece of criticism it receives as it is simply the worst estate agent I have ever dealt with in my living in the UK for almost 8 years. They are truly horrible in every imaginable way: unhelpful, unreliable, rude, condescending, unprofessional and incompetent. It is the sort of establishment that makes you wish there was somebody enforcing SOME kind of standards on the industry as these guys would have to be among the first t...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
They should shut down immediately.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Kim Dixon
May 07, 2013
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your comments and sorry to read that you are unhappy with our service, however, we do not have any tenants called Matilda and is it therefore difficult to resolve any issues if we do not know who you are. It sounds as though the Landlord has not done the works you requested and is now trying to avoid blame. We have a form which is filled in with tenants when they initially put down a holding fee. On this form is a box where tenants can put down any works that they have requested. O ...
Mar 22,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'KF'
Mar 22,2013
7 people found
this helpful
Worst service we have ever received! When we first moved into the property it was flooded, full of damp and filthy! When we complained, we were told by Kim "We have your deposit now, so we dont have to do anything to help you". Truely disgusting. We forever complained about the faulty front door (we got locked in or out on more then 10 occasions!), and the damp bathroom, nothing was ever done in the 2 years we lived there. We recently moved out, we painted and cleaned and left the fl...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: KF
Jun 10, 2013
View all comments (3)
We were informed of no such thing before we moved in! All lies, as normal. Yes we complained, it took weeks to get you do the repairs, weeks and weeks of us complaing, and living in the flat, so yet again, LIES. You continue to say the property was left in shocking condition when vacated, I have photoographs and a signed statement from our removal company to say the extreme opposite, so yet again, LIES. It seems to me that your company continues to rip off your tenants, time and time ag ...
Mar 22,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Harringtons Customer'
Mar 22,2013
6 people found
this helpful
They frequently accessed the property without permission or warning, despite being instructed in writing that I required 24 hours notice. This is standard practice for them as they originally showed me around the flat without letting the then tenants know, I\'m sorry to say. Despite being a perfect tenant in all respects and vacating the property in vastly superior state of repair and cleanliness than when I moved in - thanks to my own efforts and expense - they withheld the deposit without expl...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
If they had acted at all times within the law, not fabricated lies and attempted to cheat me out of money at every turn, and spoken to me as if they weren\'t a 10 year old schoolyard bully with a sub-normal IQ, then I wouldn\'t have had a problem with them.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: KF
Mar 22, 2013
View all comments (1)
Have just had the exact same experience! This company needs shutting down, just seem to rip tenants off and treat them very poorly! Avoid this company, you will save yourself ALOT of grief! ...
Mar 12,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Yours'
Mar 12,2013
5 people found
this helpful
I found this letting agency extremely rude and unprofessional. Treated me and my partner very poorly and i would not recommend them to anyone. The woman in admin is very aggressive and rude, and i\'m not surprised to see i\'m the only one who thinks that. It\'s obvious that there is a communication problem with those who work there when one person says one thing and you get a very different story from the other! I feel sorry for anyone who gets stuck with this sorry excuse of a letting agency!...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Learn some professional people skills!
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Kim dixon
Apr 12, 2013
View all comments (1)
Thank you for your review and sorry to read that you are unhappy with out service. It is very difficult to respond and deal with your issues if you do not put your details down. We have many happy tenants and landlords at Harringtons Lettings and are a finalist in the Estate and Lettings Agent Awards as voted for by our customers. If you would like to contact us directly we would be happy to deal with your problem. ...
Feb 05,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'KH'
Feb 05,2013
5 people found
this helpful
Never ever use this letting agent! The worst agent by far that I have ever come across. As a landlord they may offer a cheap price but that is because they are incompetent. They lost a set of house keys, didn\'t do all that was asked of them such as the EPC until pestered and didn\'t fill in the appropriate paperwork for deposits etc. leaving a legal battle. As a tenant they will charge you over the odds and not deliver on an appropriate service. Do not choose them! It will not be worth yo...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Areas covered
  • BN1
  • BN2
  • BN3
  • BN42
  • BN43
  • BN10
  • BN9
  • BN14

TPOS DPS


Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
47 3 151 20 0 0 0 0 1 2

Job vacancies

Please see a list of jobs available

Agent Fees

Important information about our fees:
Holding/admin fee - ยฃ240 per person
There will no other fees before moving in. For more information please see our website.
All tenants must be able to provide a UK homeowner guarantor.

Students:
To secure this property we require a holding fee of ยฃ360 per person. There will be no other fees due.
Each tenant must provide a UK home owner guarantor, failing this we accept Housing Hand. For students paying rent in advance we only accept payments for the full term of the contract.
Last updated at 9:43 AM 21/12/2016 by allAgents

Complaints Procedure

OUR COMPLAINTS PROCEDURE

Stage 1

In most cases we try to resolve your complaint immediately. Where it is possible to resolve your complaint within five working days, we will let you know what we can do by communicating with you by way of email or in writing. If it is not possible to resolve your complaint within five working days we will automatically escalate the complaint to stage 2.

If you are not happy with the way we have dealt with your complaint at Stage 1, you have ten working days to request that we progress the matter to stage 2 of our complaints procedure. You will need to tell us what you are unhappy about and why what we have done has not solved the problem. This request has to be in writing.

Stage 2

Once your complaint has progressed to stage 2, you will receive an acknowledgement within three working days of us receiving the complaint. We may contact you to make sure that we have all the facts so that we can fully investigate the problem.

A team leader will fully investigate your complaint and will reply to you within ten working days. If we are unable to complete this investigation within ten working days we will write to you and tell you why and set a final date for completing our investigation.

Stage 3

Once you have received a reply, if you feel that we have not dealt with your complaint satisfactorily, you need to tell us within ten working days. You will need to tell us why you remain dissatisfied and what further action you would like us to take. We will consider this information and escalate your complaint if appropriate.

A Branch Manager from Harringtons will then review your case. You will receive an acknowledgement within five working days of us receiving your complaint. A full reply will be sent to you within fifteen working days. If we are unable to complete this investigation within the fifteen working days we will write to you and tell you why and set a final date for completing our investigation.

Stage 4 รขย€ย“ The Appeal

If you are unhappy with the way your complaint has been dealt with by the Branch Manager, you can ask for the complaint to be referred to Mark Harrington the owner of Harringtons Lettings. You should do this within ten working days of receiving the response from our Branch Manager. You will need to tell him why you remain dissatisfied and what further action you would like him to take. Your complaint will then be referred to Mark Harrington.

When your case is considered, you will be entitled to make all representations in writing to include all facts. You will then receive a final decision within ten working days. If you are still unhappy with the decision made by Mark Harrington then you are entitled to refer the matter to the Property Redress Scheme. Their details can be found at www.theprs.co.uk.

Please note our email is as follows:-

Administration รขย€ย“ admin@harringtonslettings.co.uk
Branch Manager รขย€ย“ aston@harringtonslettings.co.uk
Last updated at 9:43 AM 21/12/2016 by allAgents

Awards won by Harringtons Lettings

Individual Branch Awards

Hove, BN3 1FA

Rachel Erridge Rachel Erridge
Senior Administrator
101 reviews

About Rachel Rachel is the senior administrative assistant of Harrington's Lettings and deals with the day to day management of all of our properties. She has years of administration experience having previously w View full profile
Emma Gretton Emma Gretton
Lettings Manager
47 reviews

About Emma Emma has been an integral part of Harrington's and has been quickly promoted through the ranks to the manager of the business. Emma is consistently trained by the owner Mark Harrington on a day by day View full profile
Hannah Atkinson Hannah Atkinson
Administration Assistant
10 reviews

About Hannah Hannah has a history of administration and is now becoming an important part of Harrington's team. She previously worked for a Property Management Company and is now supporting the Administration Dep View full profile
Reece Gathern Reece Gathern
Lettings Negotiator
10 reviews

About Reece Reece has recently joined us and is already proving to be a vital member of our team! With previous lettings experience Reece has a wealth of knowledge of the property industry and shows a keen passio View full profile
Kate Plows Kate Plows
Property Manager
8 reviews

About Kate Kate joined the Admin team at Harringtons in 2017 after working in an independent estate agents in Eastbourne as a Property Manager. Before this she worked in retail and customer care for 10 years. Ka View full profile

Opening hours




Make an Enquiry