• upload your photo
    Amelia Risi
  • claim your profile
    Liz Benson
  • upload your photo
    Kerry Drummond
  • claim your profile
    Abbi Foster
  • upload your photo
    Tracy
  • claim your profile
    Abbi
  • claim your profile
    Nathan
  • upload your photo
    Kerri Bailey
  • claim your profile
    Kevin Webb
  • claim your profile
    Paula Matthews
  • claim your profile
    Amelia Risi
  • claim your profile
    Jake
  • claim your profile
    Tom
  • claim your profile
    Thomas Handley-Howard
No description available.
 
Website not available Properties for sale
Properties for rent
Oct 26,2017
Minithumbup
Nathan
By: 'Thorpe'
Oct 26,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Nathan was punctual, important as we travelled from Scarborough, professional and personable! We were efficiently shown around a couple of houses and our queries answered informatively. Nathan took great pride in being as helpful as he could creating an excellent impression of the service offered by Churchills....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 20,2017
Minithumbup
Tom
By: 'RStubbs'
Oct 20,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Our agent was very helpful , always in contact whenever we had questions and worked around both of our work sceduals keeping in touch either by email or phone and when one of the houses we were looking at fell through he quickly found us a new property to move into on the same time scale ....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 20,2017
Minithumbup
Thomas Handley-Howard
By: 'Bethany'
Oct 20,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I would like to thank Thomas for making the whole process as smooth as possible for us. Me and my partner found a lovely apartment that we are now renting thanks to Tom. He showed us around the flat and from the viewing and throughout the weeks he was attentive, reassuring and in contact throughout every step. He made what could have been a very stressful time, as relaxed as possible and could not have been more friendly and professional. Thank you again....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very fair priced fee
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 06,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Lixxi'
Jul 06,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Awful in every way. The fact we have rented with them for a very long time obviously means nothing. Furthermore, there are multiple outstanding maintenence issues (some caused by the contractors they sent). Avoid....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Average
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Kevin Webb MD
Sep 20, 2017
View all comments (1)
I am not sure which property you are currently renting through us. You can contact me directly if you have a complaint at kevin@churchillsyork.com and I will try to look into the matter further for you ...
May 30,2017
Minithumbup
Kerri Bailey
By: 'Gillian'
May 30,2017
0 people found
this helpful
During the sale of our property, we always found Kerry easy to contact, helpful and friendly keeping both us and our buyers happy....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Acceptable
Was this helpful? Yes
May 10,2017
Minithumbup
Kerri Bailey
By: 'SCS'
May 10,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Kerry was always available, helpful and friendly throughout the process of buying our first house. She really helped keep things moving forwards by effectively liaising with the vendor and our solicitors. We are very grateful to Kerry for all of her help....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 04,2017
Minithumbup
Amelia Risi
Jake
By: 'Claire'
May 04,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I am very happy with the level of service I received when buying my house. I viewed a number of properties with Jake before finding my dream house. Amelia contacted me regularly with updates on progress. Would recommend Churchills to anyone buying in York...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
N/A Buyer only
Was this helpful? Yes
May 04,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Mr Dixon'
May 04,2017
1 people found
this helpful
Extremely professional Letting Agency who made my life so much easier. Customer service and efficiency was to the greatest standard. I have recommended two friends and family to use their services with the upmost confidence....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
All agent fees were fair
Was this helpful? Yes
May 03,2017
Minithumbdown
By: 'Frustrated'
May 03,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Worst experience for a first time tenant. No communication. I had people show up in my flat for a viewing with no warning while I was sleeping and then never told I had a. Ew landlord until it came time for renewal. At the end of my tenancy I was out a months rent because I was never informed of the change of protocol with the Landlord/lady. Then threatened with legal action because I was told the wrong date. It's hard enough being a young tenant but this is just ridiculous....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Kevin Webb
May 05, 2017
View all comments (1)
I'm sorry you feel you have had a lack of communication, but I would note we have recorded notes of both phone messages and emails to advise of the few viewings we had on the apartment. You were advised in writing of the new landlord and advised the new landlord was managing the flat herself, indeed you changed the payments into the new landlords account at the end of 2016. As we did not manage the flat your dealings towards the end of the tenancy were directly with the landlord. I can understan ...
Mar 31,2017
Minithumbup
Kerri Bailey
By: 'Isaac Green'
Mar 31,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Always very helpful, quick to respond to any queries! Will definitely use again whether i'lol be buying or selling...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 14,2017
Minithumbup
Kevin Webb
Paula Matthews
By: 'Linda Griffin'
Feb 14,2017
0 people found
this helpful
From the day that Kevin valued the property to completion the service has been outstanding. The property was owned by my mum and sadly she died before completion. At all times Churchills have b even understanding and efficient particularly Paula who has been my main contact throughout this traumatic time. No hesitation in recommending this Company....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Competitive with others
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 05,2017
Minithumbup
Amelia Risi
By: 'Julie & Richard'
Feb 05,2017
0 people found
this helpful
We have recently sold two properties through Churchills estate agents. We found all staff to be friendly, very professional & approachable. They responded very quickly to any concerns or queries we had and both our properties sold very quickly. We would definitely use them again should we decide to move again. Thanks to all....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very reasonable.
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 03,2017
Minithumbup
By: 'Karen'
Feb 03,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Having recently exchanged on a house purchase through Churchills estate agents i am writing to say how impressed i have been with their integrity, communication, administration and friendly service. I have had several moves over the years and this has been the most professional i have experienced. As a buyer i had complete trust in them and for this reason i am using them to sell my current home. Special thanks to Paula and the handsome young man who let me have another viewing while i and a fr...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
n/a
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 31,2017
Minithumbup
Kerri Bailey
By: 'P Bolton'
Jan 31,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Bought a house through Churchills in December 2016. The team were excellent, particularly Kerry who worked tirelessly to push our purchase through before Christmas as we had requested. I was a first time buyer and Churchills' attention to detail and willingness to provide help and advice was invaluable - learnt so much throughout this process. No email goes unanswered and no question is too small! Thanks Kerry and the Churchills team....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 18,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Emilydoodles'
Aug 18,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Very disappointed with this estate agents so far! We called on Saturday morning to arrange a viewing for a property which we were considering letting. As both myself and my partner live away from York, my partner had to take a half day of annual leave off work so that he could attend the viewing, which had been arranged for Thursday early afternoon. On Wednesday late afternoon, he received a call to check we were still interested (which we were), and to inform us that the time we had booked was ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Kevin Webb
Aug 25, 2016
View all comments (1)
Unfortunately we do sometimes have to reorganise appointments, which can be due to a number of things including staff illness, awaiting keys, car issues etc. But we always try to give alternatives as quickly as possible. We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and your partner ...
Jul 26,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'SICK AND TIRED TENNANT !'
Jul 26,2016
1 people found
this helpful
Avoid at all costs I am a tenant ( not by choice they took over the management ) We have had them turn up for inspections unannounced, We have had letters stating a date and they haven't turned up !! We have had their handy man turn up at 8.30 am unannounced. We have had lovely members of staff turn up to inspections who have got things sorted but we then never see them again ( must be costing them too much money !!)I find them very rude on the phone and dread having to deal with them I would mo...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
N/A
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Kevin Webb
Aug 25, 2016
View all comments (1)
Always very disappointing when we hear one of our tenants is not happy. As an ARLA member we strive to provide a high level of service for both landlords and tenants. We always notify before attending visits or sending a tradesman for repairs. I'm not sure which property you are at, but I wonder whether we need an update of your contact details from the ones we have received from your previous agent. Please emails these to our lettings team at lettings@churchillsyork.com ...
Jul 08,2016
Minithumbup
By: 'Annoyed'
Jul 08,2016
0 people found
this helpful
We put an offer on a property 10 days ago that was accepted. We received written confirmation and they even informed our solicitor of this; well I say they did, they have them the wrong figure! They were informed that our house had just gone on the market. Yesterday my partner received an email asking if we were ready to proceed without selling our property to which we responded that we'd at least like a few weeks to try and sell it. Today the property was put back on the market without info...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
No idea, but I wouldn't pay them a penny as a vendor if I knew how bad they were.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Kevin Webb
Jul 10, 2016
View all comments (1)
we are disappointed with your comments. We keep file notes of each telephone conversation. On making your offer you advised you did not have to sell your house. Having seen your property go up for sale we spoke to you in two occasions. Eventually asking you to confirm in writing you did not need to sell your house to proceed. You advised you wanted 'a few weeks' to try and sell your house. The vendors decision was to remarket the home and you were advised accordingly. The owner has never been ad ...
Apr 04,2016
Minithumbdown
By: 'Paul'
Apr 04,2016
0 people found
this helpful
In December 2015 I made an offer on a property being sold by Churchills. The offer was accepted, and I received a letter from Churchills confirming this. However, in the following weeks I had to make numerous phone calls to Churchills regarding the progression of the sale. In fairness, the vendor was having difficulty in finding another property. However, I did expect Churchills to keep me regularly updated, which they failed to do. Most of my phone calls to Churchills were met with promises to ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
As a buyer, the fees are not applicable to me. However, based on my experience as a potential buyer I can't help wondering what Churchills do to earn their fee.
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
As a buyer, the fees are not applicable to me. However, based on my experience as a potential buyer I can't help wondering what Churchills do to earn their fee.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Kevin Webb
Apr 12, 2016
View all comments (1)
We can understand this buyers frustration. The owner of this property unfortunately had personal circumstances as to why the sale to this buyer was put on hold. We were instructed late on the Friday afternoon by the vendor to put the property back for sale at a higher price. The negotiator who dealt with the sale was away from the office on Friday and Saturday. On returning to the office on Monday morning rang the buyer to advise what was happening and to see if they were interested at the highe ...
Sep 15,2015
Minithumbup
Tracy
By: 'Elly'
Sep 15,2015
0 people found
this helpful
My dealings with Churchills in the purchase of my property were nothing but positive. Tracy dealt with me and she was always extremely helpful and professional. She did everything she said she was going to do and in a timely manner. Tracy helped to make what can be a very stressful process a lot easier. Thank you....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 28,2015
Minithumbup
Liz Benson
By: 'Sue & Es'
Aug 28,2015
0 people found
this helpful
We would like to thank you for your professionalism and discretion throughout the rental process. You were approachable and reachable at all times and acted swiftly and correctly. We will certainly consider using your letting services again in the near future. With our very best wishes...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 04,2015
Minithumbup
Abbi Foster
By: 'Jon Rosser'
Aug 04,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Recently sold a house through Churchills and cant rate them highly enough, Very competitive fee for a very comprehensive service. Abbi in particular was great to deal with, always dealt with my queries promptly and professionally and I always felt she really was working hard for me as a seller. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Churchills to anybody....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jun 23,2015
Minithumbup
Liz Benson
Kerry Drummond
By: 'Graham'
Jun 23,2015
0 people found
this helpful
I needed to rent out a property but with as little hassle as possible - I achieved that with Churchills. If anything needed doing, I was given an estimate and could make an informed decision; when we took the property off the rental market it was in as good a state as when we first started. There were no problems...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jun 03,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Trudi'
Jun 03,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Excellent customer service from Abbi from day one through to collecting the keys, keeping us informed at all times what was happening with all parties concerned....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
May 21,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Caroline'
May 21,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Excellent service from Churchills, they arrived quickly to take photos of the property, set realistic goals and gave sound advice and the property was offered within six days. We have been delighted with Chuchills, great service, good fee and excellent communication. Highly recommended....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
1%
Was this helpful? Yes
May 08,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Mortimer'
May 08,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Churchills Estate Agents made the sale of my property a smooth process from start to finish. I felt they gave a fair valuation at the beginning and I chose them for location of their premises. I was kept informed of progress on a regular basis and the sale proceeded with no problems. The staff in the branch were proactive and efficient. I am happy to recommend Churchills to other sellers/buyers....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 21,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'laura ramshaw'
Nov 21,2014
2 people found
this helpful
When I entered the property it stank of dog and cats. The place was disgustingly filthy and it took my 5 days to get the grime and filth out of the property, despite being told it had been professionally cleaned, as had the carpets. If that wasn't bad enough there was also a prepayment meter on the gas and electric that we werent told about. They gave us ten pounds to cover the debt, but after putting in 30 pounds into the gas meter and only receiving 2 pounds of that to use for gas, they obvio...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Had the house in a normal, reasonable condition upon entry Not avoided fixing things
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
I think the fees would have been reasonable had they organised the cleaning and organised the debt on the property. As it stands i have no idea what they are getting paid for at all, and i only wish i could deal with the owner himself, as i think he\'s been represented poorly by his decision to use this company as his letting agent
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 09,2013
Minithumbdown
Amelia Risi
By: 'Sarah Metcalfe'
Jul 09,2013
4 people found
this helpful
If you thinking of buying a property with this estate agents don\'t touch them with a barge poll. Managing Directors manner was extremely condescending and unhelpful. Every time I tried to explain and make a point he would not let me finish my sentence to the point where I was becoming increasingly harassed and frustrated by calls. I advised him that it was good customer service for a manager to let the customer finish their sentence. He quite forcefully said to me on the phone ยขรขโ€šยฌร…โ€œ I...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Give accurate information and be customer focused. Management also need to get the poker out of their backside and a personality transplant
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
By: ChurchillMD
Jun 12, 2014
View all comments (1)
With regards to this review as with many surveys on older properties the report this client had was an in depth report that brought up a problem that could not be seen from an initial inspection. We do not carry out surveys on properties before marketing. The client was distressed when they spoke to us after initially receiving the report and we apologise if they thought our response was not professional. During the week after the report we tried to organise a satisfactory outcome with both ...
Jun 25,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'frustratedtenant'
Jun 25,2013
3 people found
this helpful
The handyman never fixes anything. He turns up and says he will, but doesn\'t. It\'s been over 6 weeks now and nothing has been done so have given up and are having to resort to doing repairs ourselves (which we will no doubt be charged for when we leave). I think as long as they are getting the full rent then the tenants are irrelevent, as we don\'t pay as much fees to them as the landlords. The problem with York is there is so much demand for housing that standards of housing and repair are...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 18,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Therese Raquin'
Jan 18,2013
3 people found
this helpful
Appalling. Illegal. Unhelpful. Patronising. Lax with the truth. Evasive. Obtuse. Offensive. If I could give Churchills Lettings no stars I would. I have never come across such offensive and horrible letting agents and I have been a tenant for 15 years across the country. They lied on a number of occasions, have left me without heat and hot water for 14 days and counting, they are sloppy, use cheap labour who don\'t know what they are doing, refuse to acknowledge emails, or address specif...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Sarah Metcalfe
Jul 08, 2013
View all comments (4)
I believe you Therese I have just had much dealings with Kevin. He is extremely offensive and ony concerned about profit and ripping people off. Email me on sm546@york.ac.uk. We with others will go to trading standards and the relevant bodies because it's about time rouge agents like this were stopped. Good luck Therese I hope you manage to get a better landlord next time and Kevin I don't know how you sleep at night. ...
Feb 06,2012
Minithumbdown
By: 'A.R'
Feb 06,2012
4 people found
this helpful
I let a property off churchils for 3 years, they did not repair anything, on a gas service on the fire they sent out someone that did service the fire, but left a gas leak, which when we did contact the company (gas service repaires), they said was a leak me and my family are lucky to be alive and the house to be still standing. The contractors that worked for churchils said they put work off due to not being payed. i moved out thankfully from the property after having proffessionals cleaned al...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes



Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
2 1 3 7 7 0 8 0 1 3

Job vacancies

Please see a list of jobs available

Agent Fees

No fees set.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure available.

Awards won by Churchills Estate Agents & Valuers (York)

Individual Branch Awards

York, YO23 1NA


Firm Widgets

My widgets

Acomb
21 Front Street, York YO24 3BJ
(3)
Bishopthorpe
Anglia House, 3a Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 1NA
(14)
City Centre York
2 Gillygate City Centre, York YO30 7EQ
(14)


Find the Best Agent to
Buy, Sell or Rent Property