• Merle Coldwell
    Merle Coldwell
  • Jade Speake
    Jade Speake
  • Sonam Ahmed
    Sonam Ahmed
Bower and Bower are a highly motivated, independent, residential Sales and Lettings Estate Agency that has been established since 1974. We are a professional, proactive and market leading company aiming to achieve the best results for our clients at all times. As a family business we pride ourselves on our personal service and our ability to think long term. Recommendation and repeat business is an integral part of our company success. We have a strong presence on the internet with our regularly Read full description...

25 Cowick Street
Exeter
Devon
EX4 1AL
01392 346 571

 
Properties for sale
Properties for rent
Jul 04,2017
Minithumbup
Sonam Ahmed
By:
Jul 04,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Me and my partner thought it would take months to find a house we liked in the right area. Sonam helped us to find the right house and negotiate at the right price. The property needed alot of work doing to it, she was very helpful to arrange quotes for us and put us in contact with contractors she knew and also to accommodate us on late viewings. My partner was very nervous through the whole process but sonam always kept us informed via email and also text as we could not always reply. Happily ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 04,2017
Minithumbup
Sonam Ahmed
Merle Coldwell
By:
Jul 04,2017
0 people found
this helpful
The service I received from Bower and Bower was excellent, they listened to my needs and were flexible around what I wanted making the moving process simple and hassle free....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
n/a
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 03,2017
Minithumbup
Jade Speake
By:
Jul 03,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Jade was always proactive in passing on information and timely communication - something I greatly appreciated going through the stress of buying for the first time. She never made me feel like I was asking too many questions and she always responded quickly....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 03,2017
Minithumbup
Jade Speake
By:
Jul 03,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Fantastic service. Jade in particular was always very helpful. Happy to reply to emails and calls straight away and always keen to be useful....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
NA
Was this helpful? Yes
Jun 16,2017
Minithumbdown
By:
Jun 16,2017
1 people found
this helpful
We used Bower & Bower to manage a rental property for us in Exeter for about 15 years. While Mr. & Mrs. Bower senior were looking after things, we had few problems and everything was fine. However things changed in the year Mr. Bower retired and his son * took over. Monthly statements stopped coming and so did the rent. It soon became clear that while the tenant was paying the rent, B & B were not passing it on to us. We are a retired couple living overseas and the rent is part of ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Average
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 06,2017
Minithumbdown
By:
Mar 06,2017
10 people found
this helpful
Bower and bower have been managing the letting of my late mother's home for the past 6 months . I use the term managing losely as they are not a professional company and now owe us 3 months rent ,which despite being promised for several weeks , still has not been paid . The reclusive owner * hides behind his unfortunate office staff . Who have to bear the brunt our displeasure at his financial ineptitude . Watch this space to see if we get paid what is due ... Update 20/03/2017 Appalling eva...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 24,2017
Minithumbup
Sonam Ahmed
Jade Speake
By:
Jan 24,2017
0 people found
this helpful
Having seen a property that interested my wife, I visited the office and was met with a very happy and professional team. I was instantly attracted to the company for reasons of presentation and the teams desire to understand my requirements rather than just throw me a pile of paperwork. I have had the pleasure of dealing with Sonam, Jade and Steve and felt all were a cut above the experiences I had before when buying and selling etc. The property I enquiried about is still in discussion with my...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 24,2017
Minithumbup
Jade Speake
Sonam Ahmed
By:
Jan 24,2017
0 people found
this helpful
I have recently purchased a property through this Agent. I originally contacted Sonam who was very polite and courteous and had great knowledge of the local areas. Jade accompanied me on two separate viewing and then handled a difficult negotiation process really well. She liaised with my Solicitors to keep the purchase on track and I was kept informed through the process to completion. Great service from a really customer focused agent....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 23,2017
Minithumbup
Jade Speake
By:
Jan 23,2017
1 people found
this helpful
I sold my property at the end of 2016 with Bower and Bower and would highly recommed them. Of the 5 estate agents that came to value my property it was Steve who knew the potential value of my property and the benefits of it's location and interior. The other estate agents based their valuations on the wider area I was living in not looking at my property individually, ifI had gone with them I would not have got the price I did nor would I have been able to make the move to my new house. Stev...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 06,2017
Minithumbdown
By:
Jan 06,2017
1 people found
this helpful
Awful people, when my partner and I went to view a flat first they don't turn up wasting our time 2nd time late to meet us, Winston bower was much to eager for us to make a decision there and then promised us we would be able to plumb in our washing machine flatly refused once we had moved in and they were getting our rent the place has a serious damp and mould problem that they had probably hidden from us when we were viewing it, when we asked about it they just told us to keep our windows open...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Jade Speake
Jan 06, 2017
View all comments (1)
Hi, I am sorry that you feel you have received poor service from Bower and Bower. I would like to inform you that Winston Bower has now retired and we have taken over the business with new staff and new policies. If you have any Customer Service queries, please don't hesitate to give us a call directly on 01392 346 571. Thanks. Jade Speake ...
Jan 04,2017
Minithumbdown
By:
Jan 04,2017
1 people found
this helpful
They have been incompetent for years, *They are absolutely awful people, they don't bother with anything unless they make money, don't ever let through/from them!...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Average.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Jade Speake
Jan 06, 2017
View all comments (1)
I am sorry that you feel you have received poor service from Bower and Bower consistently over the years. I would like to inform you that Bower and Bower have now been taken over with new staff and new policies. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly with any Customer Service issues you may have. Thanks. Jade Speake ...
Jan 03,2017
Minithumbup
Sonam Ahmed
By:
Jan 03,2017
2 people found
this helpful
Sonam was very good to deal with during my property search, she was quick to get in touch when something came to the market. When the right one came up she was very helpful to secure it for me also achieving the price the vendor was happy to accept.She was very helpful during the buying process. If I were to sell/purchase again I would be very happy to have Sonam as my agent....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Sonam was very good to deal with during my property search, she was quick to get in touch when something came to the market. When the right one came up she was very helpful to secure it for me also achieving the price the vendor was happy to accept.She was very helpful during the buying process. If I were to sell/purchase again I would be very happy to have Sonam as my agent.
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 29,2016
Minithumbup
Jade Speake
By:
Dec 29,2016
0 people found
this helpful
I recently purchased a property B&B had on their books. From viewing to completion, I couldn't be happier with the service they provided. Any queries were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Buying property always seems unnecessarily complex and stressful but this time, it really couldn't have been smoother. Loving my new home, thanks to Jade and the B&B team...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
N/a
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 24,2016
Minithumbup
By:
Dec 24,2016
0 people found
this helpful
I've taken the time to write this review as I have recently finished a smooth and efficient transaction with the team at Bower and Bower. They have recently been taken over with a new team employed, and I can honestly say that I wouldn't hesitate in recommending their services to anyone. Give the new team at Bower and Bower a chance and you won't regret it - keep up the good work!...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Reasonable for the market
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 30,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Oct 30,2016
1 people found
this helpful
Liars cheats and * is the best I can say about these two, they have owed me money for two years and admit by phone that they owe me yet will not pay or put it in writing, I am in contact with the property ombudsman but they just lie to them and avoid paying. I have taken all my properties away from them and am now having problems getting the deposits from them. KEEP AWAY from these two at all cost....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
over charges and gives nothing in return
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Merle Coldwell
Nov 24, 2016
View all comments (1)
Dear Sir/Madam As you may know Bower and Bower have gone through a significant period of change in ownership, management and structure and we are committed to resolving any issues inherited from the previous administration if at all possible. If you would like to contact me directly to see if we can come to a resolution that is agreeable to you please contact me on 01392 346571. ...
Apr 24,2015
Minithumbdown
By:
Apr 24,2015
5 people found
this helpful
Bower & Bower tried to manage a property of mine in Exeter for about 18 months before I switched to another provider. I had to threaten legal action just to get the boss, Winston Bower, to reply to emails. At the time of writing this email, money is still owed by him. Their administration is extremely poor. For over six months, I received no statements. On one occasion, I was billed for work that wasn't even completed at the property. At the time, I put this down to an admin error - now I'm ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Respond to emails, deal honestly with clients, keep promises, treat other people like you would wish to be treated yourself.
Attached Files
Comment on agent fees
He promised to reduce the monthly fees as a result of the problems he had caused us. Then, he turned his back on these promises and charged the full amount. Another promise broken.
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 30,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Apr 30,2014
6 people found
this helpful
Cowboys! Stay away! They are cheap but they don't care about anyone but themselves. They have walked into me and my girlfriends place many times unannounced. I know a lot of people that have had dealings with them (6). Before we moved in they promised a lot, it never happened! We had to wait a week until our shower was sorted out, I could go on but quite frankly there is no need. All you need to know is STAY AWAY! I'm only writing this so that other people don\'t go through this hell!...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Everything.
Attached Files
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 06,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Apr 06,2014
6 people found
this helpful
I rented from Bower and Bower for 4 years. I will never use them again. Shortly after Christmas 2013 my ceiling developed a leak. My landlord\'s response to this was to try to put the rent up. When I left, after giving due notice, on 12 March 2014 they had still not fixed the leak thus I spent 2 1/2 months with water coming through my ceiling. Now, 4 April, despite phoning and emailing, they have not returned my deposit despite assurances that this process would take 7-10 days. Please do not us...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Inspected the property with me when I left, contacted me about procedures for handing over the keys. Oh, and paid back my money, preferably with some extra for the overdraft charges that I am incurring.
Attached Files
Attachments
Was this helpful? Yes
Dec 13,2007
Minithumbdown
By:
Dec 13,2007
0 people found
this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes
Areas covered
  • EX1
  • EX11
  • EX2
  • EX12
  • EX3
  • EX13
  • EX4
  • EX5
  • EX6
  • EX7
  • EX8
  • EX9
  • EX10

TDS


Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
0 4 0 4 2 0 7 0 1 1

Job vacancies

Please see a list of jobs available

Agent Fees

No fees set.
Last updated at 2:45 PM 21/12/2016 by Jade Speake

Complaints Procedure

No procedure set.
Last updated at 2:45 PM 21/12/2016 by Jade Speake

Awards won by Bower & Bower

Individual Branch Awards

Merle Coldwell Merle Coldwell
Lettings Manager
1 reviews

About Merle No description set View full profile
Jade Speake Jade Speake
Sales Negotiator
6 reviews

About Jade No description set View full profile
Sonam Ahmed Sonam Ahmed
Administrator and Sales Negotiator
5 reviews

About Sonam No description set View full profile


Opening hours



Make an Enquiry