Black Katz
4.3/5, 547 reviews
86% recommended
94% lettings valuation accuracy
90% lettings fee satisfaction
We are London's largest lettings-only agent. Our success is due to the simple fact that we treat every landlord and tenant as a person, not a number, each with their own individual needs. show more We are London's largest lettings-only agent. Our success is due to the simple fact that we treat every landlord and tenant as a person, not a number, each with their own individual needs.
Black Katz | Properties to rent in London | Flats to Rent in London

Performance Statistics
Services Valuation Fees Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Lettings 94% 90% £310 £9,000
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
77 3 355 66 0 1 0 0 37 8
Opening Hours
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Advertise on
Members of
NALS TPOS Lettings TPOS SAGEagent
Images & Videos

“One of the best customer services I have ever received ......”

Share on :
Dec 11,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Tom'
Dec 11,2013
3 people found
this helpful
One of the best customer services I have ever received from a state agent. Michal did not waste his time and straightaway started looking for properties that matched my requirements. He was fully able to understand what type of properties I was looking for. I ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Dara has been an absolute angel, restoring myfaith with property ......”

Share on :
Dec 04,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Brinda'
Dec 04,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Dara has been an absolute angel, restoring my faith with property searching. Especially when I was loosing hope after having had bad experiences with many agents; who were uncaring and unhelpful. Dara listened to my needs and made the experience less stressful, she went above ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Black Katz bring a definition to the term "property managers" ......”

Share on :
Dec 03,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Return my deposit'
Dec 03,2013
2 people found
this helpful
Black Katz bring a definition to the term "property managers" during our time has tenants we asked Black Katz a number of simple questions relating to the property which they choose to ignore, simply because they have no idea about the properties they manage. We ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew
Jan 16, 2014
View all comments (1)
I am sorry that you have felt you need to complain, We work very hard at customer service which is why we get so many positive reviews. We have a clear policy on the return of deposits and do all we can to return as quickly as possible. Please provide your property address and I will do all I can to resolve the matter. Again my apologies that you have felt the need to complain. I look forward to hearing from you. Regards, ANDREW BLACK ...

“Fantastic letting agent; really friendly and helpful with everything. Didn't ......”

Share on :
Nov 28,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Sarah Moore'
Nov 28,2013
2 people found
this helpful
Fantastic letting agent; really friendly and helpful with everything. Didn't try and 'sell' me the property and let me make up my own mind, none of the pushiness I had be warned to expect from letting agents! Helped and supported me through the who process ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“The decision of visiting and registering to every estate agent ......”

Share on :
Nov 09,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Carla'
Nov 09,2013
7 people found
this helpful
The decision of visiting and registering to every estate agent branch nearby the place where my husband and I wanted to live seemed convenient. It would have given us the chance to save time and get to see what we really were looking for. Until ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“They helped us through the process and weren't pushy at ......”

Share on :
Nov 05,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Matt'
Nov 05,2013
0 people found
this helpful
They helped us through the process and weren't pushy at all. Jordan even went into work on his day off to help us get the offer through. Cheers guys....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“When we arrived through the dorrs of the Black Katz ......”

Share on :
Oct 31,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Mark'
Oct 31,2013
0 people found
this helpful
When we arrived through the dorrs of the Black Katz office, we had one week to find a house. We had settled on that area of London, but had been consistently let down by poor service from other estate agents in the area, and had ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I was very impressed with the service provided by Alex ......”

Share on :
Oct 24,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'peech'
Oct 24,2013
3 people found
this helpful
I was very impressed with the service provided by Alex and Kim. Their terms were better than other agents and they were both efficient and courteous. I will use them again and would certainly recommend Black Katz to anyone....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Very smooth and transparent letting process. Black katz let the ......”

Share on :
Oct 11,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Will'
Oct 11,2013
2 people found
this helpful
Very smooth and transparent letting process. Black katz let the property on behalf of the landlord and manger. They were happy to explain the letting process in clear terms at every stage and understood and acted on our concerns. Everyone I spoke to at the ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Considering how quickly we needed to move black katz were ......”

Share on :
Oct 10,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Hollybaker'
Oct 10,2013
1 people found
this helpful
Considering how quickly we needed to move black katz were so efficient in making sure everything happened fast! We had the keys to our property within 4 days of viewing! Definitely reccomend to anybody looking to rent in london...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Sanil showed us a few good properties, and really helped ......”

Share on :
Oct 07,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Philiman'
Oct 07,2013
4 people found
this helpful
Sanil showed us a few good properties, and really helped us get a quick turnaround on the flat we chose when time was an issue. Very friendly demeanour - we never felt pressured and as a result are really looking forward to moving into our ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Black Katz are by far one of the most shambolic ......”

Share on :
Oct 03,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'NoName'
Oct 03,2013
6 people found
this helpful
Black Katz are by far one of the most shambolic businesses I have come across. Having rented from them for a year I can safely say to anyone that they should run a mile in the opposite direction before considering renting through them. Myself and ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: AVIOD THE CATZ
Mar 03, 2014
View all comments (2)
Black catz What can i say I am renting a property from them now. We had a roof leak and had no electricity for 4 months and guess what we still do not have electricity. This company shoul d be reviewed as it is terrible A lot of people have not had their deposits back and we are worried to. Black catz will take your money and the owner will spend it no some new tyres on his new porchse Choose foxtons all day If your reading this black catz you should be ashamed of yoursel ...

“I've been a landlady for over 25 years and have known ......”

Share on :
Oct 02,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Christina Bell'
Oct 02,2013
1 people found
this helpful
I've been a landlady for over 25 years and have known and dealt with Black Katz, Crouch End for over 10 years. Each time I have a tenant change they come up trumps and find a great tenant. The team have once again provided a first class ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I have had a good experience dealing with Black Katz. ......”

Share on :
Sep 26,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Kryssie'
Sep 26,2013
0 people found
this helpful
I have had a good experience dealing with Black Katz. Eli was able to arrange a viewing of the property at a time that was convenient. Jennifer was very helpful in the application process and while there was one minor obstacle we managed to sort ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Black Katz are simply the worst estate agents I have ......”

Share on :
Sep 21,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Annoyed'
Sep 21,2013
4 people found
this helpful
Black Katz are simply the worst estate agents I have ever come across. Whilst they were attentive and friendly in showing us properties once the contract was signed we could never get hold of anyone. we had no electricity for 4 days and they wouldnt put ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew.
Sep 23, 2013
View all comments (1)
We are sorry that you have felt the need to complain. We want all our tenants and landlords to be happy with the service they receive and work very hard at this which is why we get so many positive reviews. If you can please forward your property address we will look into matters ASAP. Again, we are sorry that you have felt the need to complain. We look forward to hearing from you. Regards, ANDREW BLACK ...

“I took over a room in a property rented out ......”

Share on :
Sep 19,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'MG'
Sep 19,2013
6 people found
this helpful
I took over a room in a property rented out by Black Katz last year. There was about 2 months left on the contract when I took it over - the previous tenant had told me this but Black Katz never mentioned it. At the time, ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Given me my deposit back!
Attached Filesnbsp;
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew.
Sep 23, 2013
View all comments (1)
MG, I am sorry that you have had reason to complain. We work very hard at customer sevice which is why we get so many positive reviews. Please provide your property adrress and we will look into matters ASAP. Again, my apologies that you felt the need to complain. We look forward to hearing from you. Regards, ANDREW BLACK ...

“We were working to a very tight deadline - we ......”

Share on :
Sep 13,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Fiona'
Sep 13,2013
1 people found
this helpful
We were working to a very tight deadline - we had about a week to find a property - and Dara at Black Katz, Crouch End, was not only understanding of this fact but went out of her way to help us find somewhere that ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We ended up putting our house on with three lettings ......”

Share on :
Sep 13,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Jim Godfrey'
Sep 13,2013
0 people found
this helpful
We ended up putting our house on with three lettings agents, including two of the more fancy 'Crouch End' agencies but to their credit Black Katz were the team that came through and rented our house before we left for the US. They found us ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“This is the second time I have rented through black ......”

Share on :
Sep 11,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Peter Summers'
Sep 11,2013
0 people found
this helpful
This is the second time I have rented through black Katz, Chris was manager of the branch both times. I have found him and his team to be a very friendly and helpful bunch. I wouldn't use any other agency, they are communicative and trustworthy, ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I Found Black Katz very helpful and professional in my ......”

Share on :
Sep 11,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Stuart Moore'
Sep 11,2013
0 people found
this helpful
I Found Black Katz very helpful and professional in my dealings...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Black Katz showed us our property as a last minute ......”

Share on :
Sep 09,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'LS'
Sep 09,2013
1 people found
this helpful
Black Katz showed us our property as a last minute viewing on a Friday evening and the property was perfect. They knew exactly what we wanted and the house had only been on the market a few hours - that I cannot fault. However, we ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Far better customer service. We felt as though we shouldn't be asking questions, that they didn't want to speak to us and we were a hassle they couldn't be bothered to deal with/didn't want to deal with.
Attached Filesnbsp;
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew
Sep 30, 2013
View all comments (3)
Nic, Thanks for your email but to look into matters we really need the property adreess. Look forward to hearing from you. Regards, ANDREW BLACK ...

“I recently rented a flat from Black Katz, and I ......”

Share on :
Sep 03,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'JC'
Sep 03,2013
2 people found
this helpful
I recently rented a flat from Black Katz, and I must say that the agent was awesome, George was attentive, helpful and a credit to the organisation. Once everything was signed however and I was handed over to the management team the problems started. The ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We were looking for a place to stay in London. ......”

Share on :
Aug 27,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Tim'
Aug 27,2013
2 people found
this helpful
We were looking for a place to stay in London. Since we were moving from Germany to UK, everything was pretty new to us, especially the high turnover rates of London lettings market. Black Katz selected a nice collecting of properties and the agent made ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Excellent estate agents that have a wide variety of properties ......”

Share on :
Aug 24,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'tailyour'
Aug 24,2013
3 people found
this helpful
Excellent estate agents that have a wide variety of properties across central locations in central London. A very convenient way to bypass the behemoths like Foxtons and their extortionate agency fees. BlackKatz require a security deposit (equivalent to two weeks rent) up front when you ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“The service provided by both Michael and Michelle was excellent. ......”

Share on :
Aug 24,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Ellie Shepherd'
Aug 24,2013
1 people found
this helpful
The service provided by both Michael and Michelle was excellent. Michael took time to understand what we wanted as tenants and took the time to show us a wide variety of properties within our budget. As there was a short time between the offer being ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Christopher has always provided us with excellent tenants, well suited ......”

Share on :
Aug 16,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Mrs Gammalleri'
Aug 16,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Christopher has always provided us with excellent tenants, well suited to the property that we let, without any problems arising during the tenancy. I would fully recommend their services....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“BlackKatz were very organized and efficient. The agents really helped ......”

Share on :
Aug 16,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Eva Abbott'
Aug 16,2013
1 people found
this helpful
BlackKatz were very organized and efficient. The agents really helped us, as students, and explained each step of the way (costs, procedures, etc). Franck was especially great...friendly and honest, and helpful. Thank you!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“As a student looking for accommodation in London it's great ......”

Share on :
Aug 09,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Raeman27'
Aug 09,2013
0 people found
this helpful
As a student looking for accommodation in London it's great to meet staff at a letting agent who can keeps things professional whilst also making you feel comfortable and not under pressure in the slightest. I met Sonia when I was viewing the property which ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Few months ago me and my partner started looking for ......”

Share on :
Aug 05,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Lubena & Troy'
Aug 05,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Few months ago me and my partner started looking for a place.First thing we did is to register with as many agencies as we could so we could find the perfect place we could call home.After being let down and extremely disappointed by ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Estate Agents on a whole often have a poor reputation ......”

Share on :
Jul 22,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Leanne'
Jul 22,2013
1 people found
this helpful
Estate Agents on a whole often have a poor reputation however these guys certainly could teach the rest a thing or too. It was a pleasure dealing with them. Would highly recommend....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure set.
Last updated at 4:15 PM 25/07/2016 by allAgents

Awards won by Black Katz

Individual Branch Awards


As Seen On

Get in touch with

Black Katz