Black Katz
4.3/5, 537 reviews
86% recommended
93% lettings valuation accuracy
90% lettings fee satisfaction
We are London's largest lettings-only agent. Our success is due to the simple fact that we treat every landlord and tenant as a person, not a number, each with their own individual needs. show more We are London's largest lettings-only agent. Our success is due to the simple fact that we treat every landlord and tenant as a person, not a number, each with their own individual needs.
Black Katz | Properties to rent in London | Flats to Rent in London

Performance Statistics
Services Valuation Fees Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Lettings 93% 90% £310 £9,000
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
75 3 348 65 0 1 0 0 37 8
Opening Hours
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Advertise on
Members of
NALS TPOS Lettings TPOS SAGEagent
Images & Videos

“I have used Black Katz for the last 10 years. they ......”

Share on :
Sep 12,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'AY'
Sep 12,2014
0 people found
this helpful
I have used Black Katz for the last 10 years. they are professional, courteous and proactive. They keep me updated and their charges are reasonable....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Competitive
Was this helpful? Yes

“I have had an awful experience with Black Katz, and ......”

Share on :
Aug 28,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Emily K'
Aug 28,2014
5 people found
this helpful
I have had an awful experience with Black Katz, and i would definitely not recommend them as they were unprofessional and very rude when dealing with my case. I had chosen to rent a three bedroom flat with two of my friends in Archway, we ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Well firstly the agent should have told me about the skylight window in the third bedroom, as i would not have accepted that flat if i knew i wouldn't have a bedroom window i would have liked to have not felt pressured to make a decision that second and been given time to think, as the agent made me believe that there would be no properties available later and that i have very few options which of course was a lie since properties become increasingly more available throughout the summer! when i made a complaint after moving in i would of liked to have been treated in a polite and professional manner by the agents, instead they were rude and acting as if i did not have rights to make complaints
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
the estate agents charges a total of ‚£450 service fees to all three of us girls (students) which i found to be odd, this fee did not go to our deposit or the rent it was for them showing us one very small apartment and i felt outraged to have paid them for their extremely poor services. I felt if the estate agents were honest and said that more properties would become available at a later date if we weren't too sure about this place, instead of pressurizing us into taking this apartment stating there would be no other properties within our price range and we have to act fast.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew
Sep 24, 2014
View all comments (1)
Emily, We are sorry that you have felt the need to complain; we work very hard at customer service which is why we get so many good reviews. Our comments are: 1. We never pressure any individual into taking a property but we do make them aware how busy the market is and therefore if they are interested in a specific property the sooner they can make a decision the better. This is especially true during the student season when the market is really, really busy. 2. You were not happy with you ...

“I have to say I have a great experience using ......”

Share on :
Aug 25,2014
Minithumbup
Aidan
By: 'C.Dee'
Aug 25,2014
0 people found
this helpful
I have to say I have a great experience using Blackkatz from day one. Aidan, who spent many a late evening showing me various properties around North west London was fantastic.He listened to exactly what I wanted and informed me of all costs and ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
One of the fairest you will find in London
Was this helpful? Yes

“Arrogant, "*" and "*". Three words that perfectly sum up my experience ......”

Share on :
Aug 21,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Hugo'
Aug 21,2014
7 people found
this helpful
Arrogant, "*" and "*". Three words that perfectly sum up my experience with Black Katz. Alarm bells should have been ringing from the start when on our first visit, an estate agent called George had the temerity to say he couldn't be bothered to take us to ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew
Aug 26, 2014
View all comments (1)
Hugo, we are sorry that you have felt the need to complain. We hope that we act at all times in a professional manner and have a great relationship with our tenants. Please provide your property address and we will investigate your allegations. Apologies again that you have felt the need to complain. Regards, ANDREW BLACK ...

“Simply awful estate agents. Arrogant and unprofessional. They charge you ......”

Share on :
Aug 20,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Anonymous'
Aug 20,2014
8 people found
this helpful
Simply awful estate agents. Arrogant and unprofessional. They charge you wherever possible for every piece of admin work. During the last month of my tenancy they started showing people round the flat without ever informing me. Once walking in on me while I was in ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew
Aug 26, 2014
View all comments (1)
We are sorry that you have had reason to complain, we work very hard at customer serivice which is why we get so many good reviews. Any charges we make are always clearly displayed, we always do all we can to arrange viewings through the existing tenants and regarding cleaning all we ask is that the property is left in the same condition for the new tenants as it was when the current tenants moved in and all cleaning charges are very reasonable and NEVER £1000 or any where close. Please provi ...

“They initially told us one fee and then increased it ......”

Share on :
Jul 07,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'bob'
Jul 07,2014
7 people found
this helpful
They initially told us one fee and then increased it just before the signing. They did not tell the truth to our tenants. I will never ever use them again...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
They never tell you the truth and change fees. They have also misled our tenants. I will never use them again
Was this helpful? Yes
By: andrew
Jul 31, 2014
View all comments (1)
I am sorry that you have felt the need to complain. We work very hard at providing good customer service which is why we get so many good reviews. We are very, very clear on all our fees and NEVER lie to tenants. These are very serious allegations, please provide the property address and further details and we will urgently carry out a full investigation and come back to you. We look forward to hearing from you. ANDREW BLACK ...

“I found this agent terrible. When I extended my contract ......”

Share on :
Jun 26,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Unhappy'
Jun 26,2014
5 people found
this helpful
I found this agent terrible. When I extended my contract they did not inform me that I had to pay an administration fee and then charged me a late payment charge. When I moved out they disregarded the inventory and tried to charge me for ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew
Jun 30, 2014
View all comments (1)
I am sorry that you felt the need to complain. We work very hard at providing a good service which is why we get so many good reviews. Please let us know the property you were renting and we will look into as a matter of urgency and come back to you. Apologies again that you felt the need to complain. Look forward to hearing from you. Regards, ANDREW BLACK ...

“We found our experience with Black Katz very easy. Although ......”

Share on :
Jun 26,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'David'
Jun 26,2014
0 people found
this helpful
We found our experience with Black Katz very easy. Although we only viewed a small number of properties, Jack was very clued up on the different areas and made sure we knew what council tax bracket each one fell into. Once the deal had been ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We had a very positive experience with Black Katz on ......”

Share on :
Jun 12,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Josh Sanders'
Jun 12,2014
3 people found
this helpful
We had a very positive experience with Black Katz on Borough High Street. Mike, our agent, rang us early on and suggested appropriate and well priced properties. We arranged a viewing on our house and signed on it immediately. Everything was very professional and speedy, ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Absolutely fantastic communication, always keeping me up to date with ......”

Share on :
May 15,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Thomas Pedley'
May 15,2014
6 people found
this helpful
Absolutely fantastic communication, always keeping me up to date with how the rent agreement was progressing. Staff was always available to help, even on short notice and offered advice beyond the normal call of duty. There were no delays from Black Katz throughout the renting ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We got a very good first impression of Blackkatz and ......”

Share on :
May 08,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Nick'
May 08,2014
7 people found
this helpful
We got a very good first impression of Blackkatz and without a doubt we did pay the first deposit, After that the hell on earth started, the price went up, we where given a contract that did included fees we never been told, The administration ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Michelle was incredibly helpful and dealt with all of our ......”

Share on :
Apr 30,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Hannah'
Apr 30,2014
4 people found
this helpful
Michelle was incredibly helpful and dealt with all of our queries in a quick and efficient manner. She sent through all our information in plenty of time and was always available when we needed to ask anything. I would definitely use Black Katz again....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Blackkatz are TERRIBLE, avoid them at all costs. They are ......”

Share on :
Apr 22,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'katiek'
Apr 22,2014
6 people found
this helpful
Blackkatz are TERRIBLE, avoid them at all costs. They are very unhelpful, unfair and totally unprofessional. Save yourself and avoid using blackkatz. There raised our rent 2 weeks before we moved back in in september (after being away in summer) meaning that we had no time ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We lived in a property where Black Katz handled the ......”

Share on :
Apr 18,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Matthew'
Apr 18,2014
3 people found
this helpful
We lived in a property where Black Katz handled the lettings for six years (they didn't manage the property). For the first 3 or 4 years our contact at Black Katz wasn't particularly impressive - nothing awful, just not proactive or responsive. Then Kim took over our ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We lived in a property where Black Katz handled the ......”

Share on :
Apr 18,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Matthew'
Apr 18,2014
1 people found
this helpful
We lived in a property where Black Katz handled the lettings for six years (they didn't manage the property). For the first 3 or 4 years our contact at Black Katz wasn't particularly impressive - nothing awful, just not proactive or responsive. Then Kim took over our ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Wil did not try to push properties which were not ......”

Share on :
Apr 04,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Dev'
Apr 04,2014
2 people found
this helpful
Wil did not try to push properties which were not relevant or properties which would have just wasted time, but instead focussed on my needs and contacted me when a property which suited me came up. Wil, Jennifer and Chris were all efficient, professional and ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Dealing with BlackKatz was a pleasure, I was looking for ......”

Share on :
Mar 04,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'HappyAna'
Mar 04,2014
0 people found
this helpful
Dealing with BlackKatz was a pleasure, I was looking for a place to rent for weeks and when I called them they showed me one flat and... bingo! The agent (Marc) had real knowledge of the Camden area, he drove me around and gave me ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I telephoned Black Katz on the Monday morning; I had ......”

Share on :
Feb 14,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Joe'
Feb 14,2014
3 people found
this helpful
I telephoned Black Katz on the Monday morning; I had a viewing organised that afternoon for the following day on a property which matched closely to my specification. I made a negotiated offer (which Black Katz advised on), which matched closely to separate research I ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Friendly, helpful, efficient and a joy to deal with. Dara ......”

Share on :
Dec 23,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Tiernan'
Dec 23,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Friendly, helpful, efficient and a joy to deal with. Dara and Cristina made finding a lovely new flat and moving very easy and not at all stressful as previous moves have been. Highly recommend....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“One of the best customer services I have ever received ......”

Share on :
Dec 11,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Tom'
Dec 11,2013
3 people found
this helpful
One of the best customer services I have ever received from a state agent. Michal did not waste his time and straightaway started looking for properties that matched my requirements. He was fully able to understand what type of properties I was looking for. I ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Dara has been an absolute angel, restoring myfaith with property ......”

Share on :
Dec 04,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Brinda'
Dec 04,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Dara has been an absolute angel, restoring my faith with property searching. Especially when I was loosing hope after having had bad experiences with many agents; who were uncaring and unhelpful. Dara listened to my needs and made the experience less stressful, she went above ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Black Katz bring a definition to the term "property managers" ......”

Share on :
Dec 03,2013
Minithumbdown
By: 'Return my deposit'
Dec 03,2013
2 people found
this helpful
Black Katz bring a definition to the term "property managers" during our time has tenants we asked Black Katz a number of simple questions relating to the property which they choose to ignore, simply because they have no idea about the properties they manage. We ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew
Jan 16, 2014
View all comments (1)
I am sorry that you have felt you need to complain, We work very hard at customer service which is why we get so many positive reviews. We have a clear policy on the return of deposits and do all we can to return as quickly as possible. Please provide your property address and I will do all I can to resolve the matter. Again my apologies that you have felt the need to complain. I look forward to hearing from you. Regards, ANDREW BLACK ...

“Fantastic letting agent; really friendly and helpful with everything. Didn't ......”

Share on :
Nov 28,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Sarah Moore'
Nov 28,2013
2 people found
this helpful
Fantastic letting agent; really friendly and helpful with everything. Didn't try and 'sell' me the property and let me make up my own mind, none of the pushiness I had be warned to expect from letting agents! Helped and supported me through the who process ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“The decision of visiting and registering to every estate agent ......”

Share on :
Nov 09,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Carla'
Nov 09,2013
7 people found
this helpful
The decision of visiting and registering to every estate agent branch nearby the place where my husband and I wanted to live seemed convenient. It would have given us the chance to save time and get to see what we really were looking for. Until ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“They helped us through the process and weren't pushy at ......”

Share on :
Nov 05,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Matt'
Nov 05,2013
0 people found
this helpful
They helped us through the process and weren't pushy at all. Jordan even went into work on his day off to help us get the offer through. Cheers guys....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“When we arrived through the dorrs of the Black Katz ......”

Share on :
Oct 31,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Mark'
Oct 31,2013
0 people found
this helpful
When we arrived through the dorrs of the Black Katz office, we had one week to find a house. We had settled on that area of London, but had been consistently let down by poor service from other estate agents in the area, and had ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I was very impressed with the service provided by Alex ......”

Share on :
Oct 24,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'peech'
Oct 24,2013
3 people found
this helpful
I was very impressed with the service provided by Alex and Kim. Their terms were better than other agents and they were both efficient and courteous. I will use them again and would certainly recommend Black Katz to anyone....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Very smooth and transparent letting process. Black katz let the ......”

Share on :
Oct 11,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Will'
Oct 11,2013
2 people found
this helpful
Very smooth and transparent letting process. Black katz let the property on behalf of the landlord and manger. They were happy to explain the letting process in clear terms at every stage and understood and acted on our concerns. Everyone I spoke to at the ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Considering how quickly we needed to move black katz were ......”

Share on :
Oct 10,2013
Minithumbup
By: 'Hollybaker'
Oct 10,2013
1 people found
this helpful
Considering how quickly we needed to move black katz were so efficient in making sure everything happened fast! We had the keys to our property within 4 days of viewing! Definitely reccomend to anybody looking to rent in london...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure set.
Last updated at 4:15 PM 25/07/2016 by allAgents

Awards won by Black Katz

Individual Branch Awards

London, N8


As Seen On

Get in touch with

Black Katz