Black Katz
4.3/5, 525 reviews
86% recommended
93% lettings valuation accuracy
91% lettings fee satisfaction
We are London's largest lettings-only agent. Our success is due to the simple fact that we treat every landlord and tenant as a person, not a number, each with their own individual needs. show more We are London's largest lettings-only agent. Our success is due to the simple fact that we treat every landlord and tenant as a person, not a number, each with their own individual needs.
Black Katz | Properties to rent in London | Flats to Rent in London

Performance Statistics
Services Valuation Fees Min Price of property reviewed Max Price of property reviewed
Lettings 93% 91% £310 £9,000
Review statistics
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
75 3 338 64 0 1 0 0 37 7
Opening Hours
Services offered
  • Sales
  • Lettings
  • Block Management
  • Surveys
  • Conveyancing
  • Mortgage Advice
Advertise on
Members of
NAEA ARLA TPOS Lettings TPOS
Latest Properties
Images & Videos

“I'm a landlady living abroad and Black Katz are letting ......”

Share on :
Mar 19,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Alex (Sandra) MacCormick'
Mar 19,2015
3 people found
this helpful
I'm a landlady living abroad and Black Katz are letting agents for my 2 flats. Kim Welcome and her colleague Alex (but especially Kim) have been outstandingly helpful, not only in finding good tenants but also by sorting out last-minute problems such as unexpected cleaning, and ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Is a landlord/lady EVER entirely happy about fees? But I reckon they are probably fair...
Was this helpful? Yes

“We have just rented a flat using Black Katz and ......”

Share on :
Mar 17,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Hannah Buckley'
Mar 17,2015
2 people found
this helpful
We have just rented a flat using Black Katz and found them to be incredibly helpful. Everything has gone very smoothly and any questions or issues have been answered within the day of asking. They have been very accommodating to any needs of ours. We ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I am very satisfied with the service. The team was ......”

Share on :
Mar 17,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Anastassiya'
Mar 17,2015
2 people found
this helpful
I am very satisfied with the service. The team was very helpful, professional and flexible. Thank you very much guys! If I ever need to look for a new property to rent you will definitely be my first choice!...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Roberta was smiley, informative and not too pushy. We felt ......”

Share on :
Mar 13,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'JM'
Mar 13,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Roberta was smiley, informative and not too pushy. We felt like she was consistently on our side and showed us some great properties. She was also very understanding and accommodating when we didn't like a property and was keen to show us more. Roberta was ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We moved out of a property managed by Black Katz ......”

Share on :
Mar 04,2015
Minithumbdown
By: 'derp'
Mar 04,2015
5 people found
this helpful
We moved out of a property managed by Black Katz almost six weeks ago and still don't have our deposit back. The landlord has apparently sent them the info they need to sign off some time ago and we just keep getting fobbed off by ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew
Mar 09, 2015
View all comments (1)
Dear Derp, I am sorry that you have felt the need to complain. We pride ourselves on our high levels of customer serivice which is why we get so many good reviews. Returning deposits to tenants as quickly as possible is a big priority for us; please let me have the property address and we will look into matters urgently. Again we are sorry that you have felt the need to complain. We look forward to hearing from you. Regards, ANDREW BLACK ...

“Caley was very professional and also very frank in his ......”

Share on :
Feb 06,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Fran'
Feb 06,2015
0 people found
this helpful
Caley was very professional and also very frank in his answers about the property, something that is very rare in an estate agent. He was also happy to feedback with additional information that was not provided on the property when we visited it. Although we ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I recently had a chance to work with Black Katz/ ......”

Share on :
Feb 06,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'funda'
Feb 06,2015
0 people found
this helpful
I recently had a chance to work with Black Katz/ Camden branch. Spencer and Lauren have been very helpful and I have always had answer for whatever question I asked. I am delighted to work with them and recommend their service very much...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“No hiccups or hitches in processing application or finalising paperwork ......”

Share on :
Feb 02,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Kelly'
Feb 02,2015
1 people found
this helpful
No hiccups or hitches in processing application or finalising paperwork etc. Everything was done really quickly, easily and efficiently. Whether it was a Wednesday afternoon or close of business on a Friday!...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Normal fees in my experience.
Was this helpful? Yes

“From being shown around the flat to being put through ......”

Share on :
Jan 30,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Katie'
Jan 30,2015
0 people found
this helpful
From being shown around the flat to being put through the letting process everyone at Black Katz was very helpful and keen to answer my (many) questions. I was looking for myself and my other half and I was by myself for most of the ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
I think if there are two people sharing one payment I'm not sure two background check fees are needed at ‚£150 each. But saying that they helped the whole way with questions and making sure our demands were met (where they could help it), so I guess this is what we pay for.
Was this helpful? Yes

“The best experience my sister and I have had so ......”

Share on :
Jan 11,2015
Minithumbup
By: 'Chantal'
Jan 11,2015
1 people found
this helpful
The best experience my sister and I have had so far in London with a lettings agent. Michal was absolutely amazing. We approached him on a Monday and by Wednesday night we had had a viewing and secured the property. He took everything we asked ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Just a quick note to thank black Katz with their ......”

Share on :
Dec 15,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Marc Smith'
Dec 15,2014
0 people found
this helpful
Just a quick note to thank black Katz with their helpin finding a property. Special thanks to Gatis who was very helpful in our search. Great service and we were in the property within 10 days of the 1st viewing. Thanks Marc Smith...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We received a very good service from Black Katz. We ......”

Share on :
Dec 05,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Pierre'
Dec 05,2014
0 people found
this helpful
We received a very good service from Black Katz. We initially had some issues regarding the cleaning service and the conditions of the flat at the moment of moving in, but the agents dealt with them very efficiently and we received a great support from ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“My experience with Blackkatz was very pleasant. They did their ......”

Share on :
Dec 01,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Veronika'
Dec 01,2014
0 people found
this helpful
My experience with Blackkatz was very pleasant. They did their best to find me a flat and were quite flexible with price negotiations. Dara Madden was very helpful and answered all my questions promptly. Overall, I was very happy with their services and would recommend ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“The team at Black Katz, headed by Cristina Quinteiroand Paul ......”

Share on :
Nov 02,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Mrs Gudmundsson'
Nov 02,2014
0 people found
this helpful
The team at Black Katz, headed by Cristina Quinteiroand Paul Crook, go out of their way to ensure that we receive a careful and thoughtful service. We have been with them for over ten years and they have never let us down. They go the ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
In line with other agents and sometimes better than other offers
Was this helpful? Yes

“Just an awful experience! Continuously talking to us in a ......”

Share on :
Oct 14,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Poppy'
Oct 14,2014
3 people found
this helpful
Just an awful experience! Continuously talking to us in a raised voice dismissing everything we said, talking over us and very very bad manners - how do people like this get jobs? I'd be embarrassed as an employer! Zero customer service! Quite frankly she didn't ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
1. Polite 2. Listened 3. Not shouted at us down the phone 4. Refrained from being rude 5. Basic customer service would have been sufficient
Attached Filesnbsp;
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew
Oct 27, 2014
View all comments (1)
Poppy, We are really sorry that you have felt the need to complain. We work very hard at customer service which is why we get so many good reviews. Please can you supply us with more information so that we can fully investigate your complaint. Again our apologies. We look forward to hearing from you. Regards, ANDREW BLACK ...

“I was very pleased with the service offered by Black ......”

Share on :
Oct 03,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Anna'
Oct 03,2014
3 people found
this helpful
I was very pleased with the service offered by Black Katz. They provided quick responses to all of my enquiries and made the process very easy for me being abroad....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We went with Black Katz when we rented a property ......”

Share on :
Sep 21,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'anna'
Sep 21,2014
0 people found
this helpful
We went with Black Katz when we rented a property in North London, and I'd definitely go with them again. The process was pretty straightforward, and it was easy to get hold of somebody if we had any questions. Also, any problems in the flat ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Professional performance in a somewhat less active marketplaceDealt with paperwork ......”

Share on :
Sep 12,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'leon magar'
Sep 12,2014
0 people found
this helpful
Professional performance in a somewhat less active marketplace Dealt with paperwork with usual efficiency Good quality and reliable tenants always achieved...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“I have used Black Katz for the last 10 years. they ......”

Share on :
Sep 12,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'AY'
Sep 12,2014
0 people found
this helpful
I have used Black Katz for the last 10 years. they are professional, courteous and proactive. They keep me updated and their charges are reasonable....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Competitive
Was this helpful? Yes

“I have had an awful experience with Black Katz, and ......”

Share on :
Aug 28,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Emily K'
Aug 28,2014
5 people found
this helpful
I have had an awful experience with Black Katz, and i would definitely not recommend them as they were unprofessional and very rude when dealing with my case. I had chosen to rent a three bedroom flat with two of my friends in Archway, we ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Well firstly the agent should have told me about the skylight window in the third bedroom, as i would not have accepted that flat if i knew i wouldn't have a bedroom window i would have liked to have not felt pressured to make a decision that second and been given time to think, as the agent made me believe that there would be no properties available later and that i have very few options which of course was a lie since properties become increasingly more available throughout the summer! when i made a complaint after moving in i would of liked to have been treated in a polite and professional manner by the agents, instead they were rude and acting as if i did not have rights to make complaints
Attached Filesnbsp;
Comment on agent fees
the estate agents charges a total of ‚£450 service fees to all three of us girls (students) which i found to be odd, this fee did not go to our deposit or the rent it was for them showing us one very small apartment and i felt outraged to have paid them for their extremely poor services. I felt if the estate agents were honest and said that more properties would become available at a later date if we weren't too sure about this place, instead of pressurizing us into taking this apartment stating there would be no other properties within our price range and we have to act fast.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew
Sep 24, 2014
View all comments (1)
Emily, We are sorry that you have felt the need to complain; we work very hard at customer service which is why we get so many good reviews. Our comments are: 1. We never pressure any individual into taking a property but we do make them aware how busy the market is and therefore if they are interested in a specific property the sooner they can make a decision the better. This is especially true during the student season when the market is really, really busy. 2. You were not happy with you ...

“I have to say I have a great experience using ......”

Share on :
Aug 25,2014
Minithumbup
Aidan
By: 'C.Dee'
Aug 25,2014
0 people found
this helpful
I have to say I have a great experience using Blackkatz from day one. Aidan, who spent many a late evening showing me various properties around North west London was fantastic.He listened to exactly what I wanted and informed me of all costs and ...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
One of the fairest you will find in London
Was this helpful? Yes

“Arrogant, "*" and "*". Three words that perfectly sum up my experience ......”

Share on :
Aug 21,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Hugo'
Aug 21,2014
7 people found
this helpful
Arrogant, "*" and "*". Three words that perfectly sum up my experience with Black Katz. Alarm bells should have been ringing from the start when on our first visit, an estate agent called George had the temerity to say he couldn't be bothered to take us to ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew
Aug 26, 2014
View all comments (1)
Hugo, we are sorry that you have felt the need to complain. We hope that we act at all times in a professional manner and have a great relationship with our tenants. Please provide your property address and we will investigate your allegations. Apologies again that you have felt the need to complain. Regards, ANDREW BLACK ...

“Simply awful estate agents. Arrogant and unprofessional. They charge you ......”

Share on :
Aug 20,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Anonymous'
Aug 20,2014
8 people found
this helpful
Simply awful estate agents. Arrogant and unprofessional. They charge you wherever possible for every piece of admin work. During the last month of my tenancy they started showing people round the flat without ever informing me. Once walking in on me while I was in ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew
Aug 26, 2014
View all comments (1)
We are sorry that you have had reason to complain, we work very hard at customer serivice which is why we get so many good reviews. Any charges we make are always clearly displayed, we always do all we can to arrange viewings through the existing tenants and regarding cleaning all we ask is that the property is left in the same condition for the new tenants as it was when the current tenants moved in and all cleaning charges are very reasonable and NEVER £1000 or any where close. Please provi ...

“They initially told us one fee and then increased it ......”

Share on :
Jul 07,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'bob'
Jul 07,2014
7 people found
this helpful
They initially told us one fee and then increased it just before the signing. They did not tell the truth to our tenants. I will never ever use them again...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
They never tell you the truth and change fees. They have also misled our tenants. I will never use them again
Was this helpful? Yes
By: andrew
Jul 31, 2014
View all comments (1)
I am sorry that you have felt the need to complain. We work very hard at providing good customer service which is why we get so many good reviews. We are very, very clear on all our fees and NEVER lie to tenants. These are very serious allegations, please provide the property address and further details and we will urgently carry out a full investigation and come back to you. We look forward to hearing from you. ANDREW BLACK ...

“I found this agent terrible. When I extended my contract ......”

Share on :
Jun 26,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Unhappy'
Jun 26,2014
5 people found
this helpful
I found this agent terrible. When I extended my contract they did not inform me that I had to pay an administration fee and then charged me a late payment charge. When I moved out they disregarded the inventory and tried to charge me for ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Andrew
Jun 30, 2014
View all comments (1)
I am sorry that you felt the need to complain. We work very hard at providing a good service which is why we get so many good reviews. Please let us know the property you were renting and we will look into as a matter of urgency and come back to you. Apologies again that you felt the need to complain. Look forward to hearing from you. Regards, ANDREW BLACK ...

“We found our experience with Black Katz very easy. Although ......”

Share on :
Jun 26,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'David'
Jun 26,2014
0 people found
this helpful
We found our experience with Black Katz very easy. Although we only viewed a small number of properties, Jack was very clued up on the different areas and made sure we knew what council tax bracket each one fell into. Once the deal had been ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We had a very positive experience with Black Katz on ......”

Share on :
Jun 12,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Josh Sanders'
Jun 12,2014
3 people found
this helpful
We had a very positive experience with Black Katz on Borough High Street. Mike, our agent, rang us early on and suggested appropriate and well priced properties. We arranged a viewing on our house and signed on it immediately. Everything was very professional and speedy, ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Absolutely fantastic communication, always keeping me up to date with ......”

Share on :
May 15,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Thomas Pedley'
May 15,2014
6 people found
this helpful
Absolutely fantastic communication, always keeping me up to date with how the rent agreement was progressing. Staff was always available to help, even on short notice and offered advice beyond the normal call of duty. There were no delays from Black Katz throughout the renting ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“We got a very good first impression of Blackkatz and ......”

Share on :
May 08,2014
Minithumbdown
By: 'Nick'
May 08,2014
7 people found
this helpful
We got a very good first impression of Blackkatz and without a doubt we did pay the first deposit, After that the hell on earth started, the price went up, we where given a contract that did included fees we never been told, The administration ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes

“Michelle was incredibly helpful and dealt with all of our ......”

Share on :
Apr 30,2014
Minithumbup
By: 'Hannah'
Apr 30,2014
4 people found
this helpful
Michelle was incredibly helpful and dealt with all of our queries in a quick and efficient manner. She sent through all our information in plenty of time and was always available when we needed to ask anything. I would definitely use Black Katz again....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
No fees information available
Kindly note that legally, letting agents need to publish information about their tenancy fees, government-approved redress schemes and client money protection schemes on their website and on third party websites (on which agents are listed). For properties to lease/rent in England, agents need to keep this information up to date and precise on allAgents or specify within the property description.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure set.
Last updated at 4:15 PM 25/07/2016 by allAgents

Awards won by Black Katz

Individual Branch Awards

London, N8


As Seen On

Get in touch with

Black Katz