• claim your profile
    Louise Butcher
  • claim your profile
    Ryen Huntley
  • claim your profile
    John Henderson
  • claim your profile
    Emily Hunt
  • claim your profile
    Louise Greetham
  • claim your profile
    Olivia Brack
No description available.
 
Website not available

Properties for sale
Properties for rent
Dec 07,2016
Minithumbup
By:
Dec 07,2016
0 people found
this helpful
We have used Acorn for the last 2 years and have nothing but praise for their organisation. The house is monitored and maintained to a high standard with regular visits and checks and excellent communication subsequently. Their charges are very reasonable and the monthly statements clear. We have used several rental agents in Newcatle over the past 15 years and Acorn are the best by miles....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Their fees are in line with all the other agents, and bearing in mind the efficiency with which they get things fixed or updated represent excellent value for money
Was this helpful? Yes
Oct 12,2016
Minithumbup
By:
Oct 12,2016
1 people found
this helpful
I am a landlord and have used Acorn Properties for many years. I have always found everyone to be helpful, efficient and professional. As soon as my properties become empty Acorn always have a new tenant ready to move in. Louise has been especially helpful over the years going the extra mile to make sure that the tenancies run smoothly. I would not hesitate to recommend Acorn Properties to any landlord....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
I find the agents fees to be in comparison with all other Letting Agents in the area.
Was this helpful? Yes
Sep 28,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Sep 28,2016
0 people found
this helpful
If I could rate them with no star, I would! Absolutely ridiculous. By far the worst agency in the UK. Staff and managers extremely rude, reluctant to understand tenant's needs and offer a solution. Charging for anything you can imagine, even for providing meter readings. The way we were treated was absolutely disgraceful. We had issues with leaks for 4 months with one of the bedrooms, and Acorn did nothing to resolve this until we had the City Council involved. We had issues with toilet leak...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
They agency charges for everything you can think of. Fees include: Admin fees - we almost paid £500 for a 2 bedroom flat Meter reading fees- they ask for £20 to provide you with the meter readings Check out fees- they asked us for £50 check out and inventory preparation fee Deposit deductions- We had unfair deposit deductions even if the place was professionally cleaned before we moved out. Reasons provided for deposit deduction absolutely ridiculous- unfair and with no grands, but after endless arguments we had to no other option but to accept. Reasons for deposit deduction £50 1) hair found on bed mattresses - I doubt it 2) for not removing already existing air-fresheners fitted on the walls 3) for leaving in the flat machine manuals, cables and lamps which already existed and were stored in a cabinet. they classed that as rubbish. Any attempt for negotiation proves to be useless as they are determined to charge you for anything the can possibly think of and you have no other option but to accept it. Honestly, the absolutely worst agency, agents and managers I have ever dealt with. Absolutely disgusting!
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Louise Greetham
Nov 10, 2016
View all comments (1)
Dear Myrto, We understand that you are not happy with the checkout deductions, but having looked at the check out photos myself, the property was not left in a suitable condition nor was it fit for new tenants to move in without some additional work being carried out. This included some areas of cleaning, rubbish removal and replacement bulbs. When any tenant vacates, we provide you with a detailed letter to help prevent deductions. In one of your emails you state that we ' rob our customers in ....
Sep 07,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Sep 07,2016
0 people found
this helpful
If I could give less than one star I would. Acorn is by far the most unprofessional company I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with. I hope students in the future read this review and decide to go with another letting agency. We signed for a property with Acorn in March and our tenancy was due to start in July. Before signing the tenancy agreement we realised they had slipped in a clause which charged us an extra £50 for a fee we had never heard of and were never warned about. ...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Louise Greetham
Nov 10, 2016
View all comments (1)
Dear Giulia, We are sorry that you feel that your experience with Acorn Properties was not a good one. There is a standard charge in our tenancy agreement which was emailed to all tenants in Feb 2015 when you were completing the first stage of paperwork. It's company policy to send each tenant/ guarantor a copy of the draft tenancy well in advance of the tenancy starting in case you have any questions. We wouldn't Γ’β‚¬Λœslip' a clause into an agreement. As this had been overlooked by you in Feb....
Jul 09,2016
Minithumbdown
By:
Jul 09,2016
0 people found
this helpful
Possibly the worst lettings company in the UK. They completely disrespected students, charged abdominal prices and further charged upon everything possible for example to change a light bulb a call out cost of £30 plus the lightbulb on top EACH - WITH 7 TENANTS. Their end of year check out inventory included a full professional clean of which was £60 per tenant and the threat of not having the house done professionally was hotel costs for the next tenants and money being taken from t...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Extortionate
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Louise Greetham
Nov 10, 2016
View all comments (1)
Dear JL, The review you have written is about a Landlord not Acorn Properties as Rita Stobbs does not and has never worked for Acorn. The fees you have been charged are between you and the landlord as they manage the property themselves. Acorn has no awareness or involvement in a tenant find check in or check out. We would appreciate that you confirm the facts prior to writing a review which could be detrimental to our reputation. If you still require some advice, please let us know, Regard....
Dec 05,2015
Minithumbdown
By:
Dec 05,2015
0 people found
this helpful
I used this company to find a tenant. They found one but got the paperwork so wrong that they told the tenant to pay the rent into someone else's account. Acorn also paid the deposit into the same wrong account. They denied any liability for five and a half years despite the correspondence confirming their error. I had to sue them in Court. Even though their error was so obvious and conformed in correspondence, they used a Solicitor against me. They turned up to Court with a Barrister even t...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Louise Greetham
Nov 10, 2016
View all comments (1)
Dear Mr Vogel, As this is still an ongoing legal matter and involves your business partner/ ex girlfriend, we cannot comment further. Acorn Properties....
Apr 10,2015
Minithumbdown
By:
Apr 10,2015
1 people found
this helpful
Thought I'd leave a review on here so people know what to expect from Acorn, I've been with Acorn for two years now, the only reason being one of the excellent landladies they represent. I've been through most of the review sites (Google/Facebook/AllAgents) to get an idea of what people are saying. I have to say, the generally poor reviews for Acorn across the web genuinely do reflect the quality of service you get. I'm not normally one to review anything, be it restaurants or anything else, bu...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Reflective of Newcastle properties
Comment on agent fees
Reflective of Newcastle properties
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Louise Greetham
Nov 10, 2016
View all comments (1)
Dear Reviewer, apologies for not replying to your review until now, however we were not alerted to it until today. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a good one and I would still after this time like to understand who and what happened to you. Did we manage the property you lived in? Where we receive a negative or positive review, we will always try to reply. As it is with many companies, reviews are not always reflective of the situation and many written do not portray ....
Feb 24,2015
Minithumbdown
By:
Feb 24,2015
1 people found
this helpful
Acorn Properties are the most unprofessional company I have ever had to deal with. Initially numerous things in our contract were incorrect, when we renewed the contract with them they simply crossed items out in pen instead of re-writing. The cost of renewing the contract was upwards of £600, for them to scribble things out in biro. The staff were extremely rude and abhorrent. Initially on viewing properties we were treated with disrespect as the estate agent unlocked a house and then r...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
The agents were paid extortionate amounts for the inadequate job that they did on administration forms, like the letting contract and agreement to rent.
Comment on agent fees
The agents were paid extortionate amounts for the inadequate job that they did on administration forms, like the letting contract and agreement to rent.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Tricia
Feb 24, 2015
View all comments (1)
Sascar, Please can you contact us urgently to discuss this issue? Without any mention of address or a property reference we are unable to comment or reply thoroughly. However after reading your review I can state that generally do not use paper contracts so your comment about amends being made in pen are confusing. Also our contracts are emailed out for electronic signature to all tenants and their guarantors prior to tenancy commencement and again once signed so you should all have had a copy?....
Aug 08,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Aug 08,2014
0 people found
this helpful
My family has used Acorn Properties for the last 15 years managing various properties that we have in an around the Newcastle area and have always have a very strong professional and personal relationship with John, Louise and their team. My latest contact with Acorn came in the form of one of my clients wishing to rent out his property. As a matter of course, I went direct to Acorn to manage this. My primary contacts were Louise and John. The level of service they provided was second-to-non...
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Initial fee was what we expected and was the same as other firms in the area.
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 24,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Jul 24,2014
0 people found
this helpful
I source apartments for staff at the company where I work. I have repeatedly had excellent experiences with Acorn Properties. The staff are helpful and very knowledgable and know how to provide a great service. I would most definitely recommend them to anyone looking to rent a property....
read full review
Comment on agent fees
Very reasonable, especially for the excellent level of service provided.
Was this helpful? Yes
Jul 10,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Jul 10,2014
1 people found
this helpful
My daughter is in this process of renting a flat with her friends. They were given little or no advice or even asked when their old tenancy expires and ended up with an overlap. Acorn issue contracts that contain irrelevant clauses or clauses that don't make sense. They include charges they say they don't levy but those charges are still in the contract. You get a different story depending upon who you speak to. Louise Butcher made much of the fact that she was a Director but didn't know what wa...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Got it right in the first place - it\'s not hard
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Acorn Properties Ltd
Jul 12, 2014
View all comments (2)
Dear Mr Walker, We are very sorry that you have felt it necessarily to voice your concerns via a review site rather than go through our official complaints procedure. However, I will try and answer your points. When your daughters group registered with Acorn Properties in March 2014 (it was your daughterÒ€ℒs friend who registered for the group), they asked to view several properties all with varying start dates. On our electronic data capture form (can be screen printed and emailed)....
Jan 08,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Jan 08,2014
1 people found
this helpful
Refused to do repair. More for landlord than tenants. Neglected tenants and left in poor state. Handyman also very rude and angry to lady alone in property....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Acorn Properties (Jesmond) Ltd
Jul 11, 2014
View all comments (1)
Dear jharriis, I have noticed that the branch you're referring to is Market Street and the post code is NR12, we do not have an office in this location and are based in Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne. Is this Acorn Properties (Jesmond) Ltd you are referring to or a different Acorn Properties? If you'd like to contact me about the property in question, I can find out if it's our company and then if so address the points raised. Many thanks Louise....
Dec 09,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Dec 09,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Appalling student letting company. Had to email multiple times to receive receipt of a down payment. Forgot to give out individual room keys when they gave the property keys. Brought people round for house viewings without any prior warning and their apology on the matter was insincere at best....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Acorn Properties (Jesmond) Ltd
Jul 10, 2014
View all comments (1)
Dear vbuchanan7678 As mentioned to another reviewer we were not aware of this site and have not responded as we didn't know about your review until today. This is an anonymous site, therefore we have no way of knowing which property this relates to and the circumstances surrounding it. We do take any negative comments very seriously, so if you'd like to contact me directly my email address is louise@acornproperties.co.uk and I am very happy to investigate this further. Kind regards ....
Jul 27,2012
Minithumbdown
By:
Jul 27,2012
0 people found
this helpful
As a tenant of a \'furnished\' property managed by Acorn I have been consistently let down. When we moved into the house the property was barely habitable and had been left in an absolute tip; the hoover was full of plaster, the grill pan had been left outside and was disgusting, chunks out of the wallpaper had been painted over, a recent budget redecoration had left paint marks and filth all over the house, there were no tools with which to keep the garden in check, the bathroom had been cov...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Louise Greetham
Jul 10, 2014
View all comments (3)
Dear Reviewers, Firstly, we were not aware of this site and have not responded as we didn't know about either review until today, we apologise for the non-response. Secondly, as this is an anonymous site, we have no way of knowing if the properties are in fact managed or tenant find until we know the addresses of the properties in question. We work with many landlords all with different service level agreements. We do have an official complaints procedure and although both reviews are ....



Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
1 1 1 9 0 0 0 0 2 0

Job vacancies

Please see a list of jobs available

Agent Fees

No fees set.

Complaints Procedure

No procedure available.

Awards won by Acorn Properties

Individual Branch Awards

Firm rankings



Office 1
29-30 Market Place, North Walsham NR28 9BS
(1)
Office 2
2930 Market Place, North Walsham NR28 9BS
(0)
Office 3
59 St Georges Terrace, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2SX
(12)

Find the Best Agent to
Buy, Sell or Rent Property




.