• claim your profile
    calum macgregor
  • claim your profile
    Steven Livingstone
  • claim your profile
    Mr Lennie
  • claim your profile
    Dale
  • claim your profile
    Callum McGregor
  • claim your profile
    Calum Mcgregor
  • claim your profile
    Justine
  • claim your profile
    Laura
  • claim your profile
    Mark Hastie
  • claim your profile
    John Rutherford
  • claim your profile
    Rachel Van Der Velde
  • claim your profile
    Chris Simpson
  • claim your profile
    Charles white
  • claim your profile
    Rachel MacDonell
No description for branch.


Areas covered
  • Edinburgh
  • Midlothian
  • East Lothian

 
Aug 13,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Aug 13,2014
1 people found
this helpful
After our tenancy ended Alba Residential ignored requests to return out deposit. When eventually they responded they were able to provide receipts for cleaning and the replacement of items. However, they also witheld money for problems that existed before we moved in. The sums were not large enough to be worth taking them court or to invest our time in reclaiming, but is far from good practice. The deposit had also not been entered into a tenancy deposit scheme. It is for these reasons, the hass...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 24,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Apr 24,2014
1 people found
this helpful
Nothing gets fixed or is working and they take zero responsibility for the property. When paying high rent on a nice property you do want things not working or walls knocked through and not patched....
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Apr 24, 2014
Hi there, I'm sorry you feel this way, our Maintenance Team do their best to resolve enquiries quickly and without delay to our clients, and we truly value your opinions and feedback, so however negative this may appear, rest assured we'll work hard not to let this happen again! Let me know if perhaps I can help by looking into this for you - my email address is mark.hastie@braemore.co.uk, and if you email me I will be delighted to help. Kind regards, Mark.....
Mar 01,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Mar 01,2014
2 people found
this helpful
We rented with ALba for over a year, and in all my years renting I have never had such a bad experience. When dealing with any problems or maintenance issues, they were dealt with a " we\'ll call you back" and then doing nothing. All staff were rude, unhelpful and couldn\'t care less about their tenants. They were a nightmare to get hold of, and to get anything dealt with. When trying to get our deposit back, we had to fight with them to get it processed initially, but then they ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
They could never change our mind about them, they ruined our time in Edinburgh.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Mar 03, 2014
Hi there, I am sorry to hear this. Certainly there was a period of time when we were integrating as a much larger, functioning business where our clients expectations were sadly not met, and for that we really do apologise. It was a regrettable time where we wished we could have done more to keep things plain sailing. Given that you've now moved on, I would presume that your complaint has now been dealt with, however if you are in any way still waiting to hear from us, or if you feel you....
Feb 23,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Feb 23,2014
1 people found
this helpful
I suffered with Alba for several years and eventually left to manage the property myself. Right from the outset they ignored my instructions regarding any works to be done to the property by sending their workmen in and billing me. Once they charged me for a workmen to go in and tell me the washing machine was beyond repair. I went in and it took me ten minutes to fix it. The contract which should have stated I was to be contacted was ammended to allow for this but I have recently realised they...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Feb 24, 2014
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, and obviously I am disappointed to hear your experience was not a more positive one. I would welcome the chance to put things right by you, if you would be willing to accept my help? Thankfully we are improving all the time, and having a large volume of team members, systems and procedures to consolidate and bring together originally, we have admittedly had a considerable challenge on our hands, but I can confidently say we are getting there! I comp....
By: squizzle
Feb 26, 2014
View all comments (5) CC - I've had EXACTLY the same issues with Alba - and after various conversation with Mr Hastie I was no further forward - apparently there were system issues - that they've been having since last year - and I'm the one to pay for that. The tenants had been in 15 months and when they left I was still waiting on the 6 month inspection despite chasing every month. I will NEVER use Alba again, and will ensure that my friends wont either.
By: Mark Hastie
Feb 26, 2014
View all comments (5) Hi there, I'm afraid I don't recall speaking to anyone about a similar situation, perhaps you might be willing to provide me via email your name and / or property address so that I can verify your comment? Kind regards, Mark.
By: metasam
Mar 06, 2014
View all comments (5) I am a new tenant with Alba and from day one and they all are very helpful and professional and respond very quickly to any problem. I haven't seen any problem with Alba so far and everything is handled professionally and I would recommend them. I think reviews are quite unfair because most of them speak about not responding quickly although they respond with me in minutes.
By: Mark Hastie
Mar 06, 2014
View all comments (5) Hi there, Thank you so much for your positive feedback, which is always encouraging to see! If you feel happy enough to rate us using the star method please feel free to do so - we are always pleased to see where we are doing a good job. Thanks again! Kind regards, Mark.
Jan 24,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Jan 24,2014
4 people found
this helpful
As a landlord I have always received first class service from Alba Residential. I started off by having 2 of my properties factored by Alba. The personal service and re-letting speed of my empty flats was so good that I have moved flats from other letting agents to Alba. Having one nominated pointed of contact, mine being Mark Hastie, makes doing business with Alba very straight forward. Mark is always very prompt and effective at dealing with any issues that arise. Another important considera...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 24,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Jan 24,2014
4 people found
this helpful
As a landlord I was tranferred to Lomond/ Alba when Charles White ceased business. Had six months of dreadful service- delays in payments going into bank and in receiving statements. Had to frequently phone and e mail without responses. Extremely difficult to match which payments corresponded to which properties. Worst service imaginable Fortunately managed to get another business to take on my properties. Lomond charged me 37.5% commission and 20% VAT per property as a severance fee for taking...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Jan 27, 2014
Hi there Roy, We are obviously disappointed at your feedback, but thank you for providing it. It is always disheartening to hear of long-standing clients such as yourself leaving us, but reading your words I can appreciate why you may have felt frustrated. We have certainly improved massively since our integration, and the cause of all the problems you mentioned have long since been resolved I am pleased to say. It is very disappointing that you had to endure anything less than perfect c....
Jan 23,2014
Minithumbup
By:
Jan 23,2014
1 people found
this helpful
I have used several different agents over the last 12 years… and Alba are the best Ive come across, very fair, courteous and professional. I know the many tenants I have met over the years were happy too....
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Jan 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind feedback Mark, it's great to hear! Kind regards, Mark.....
Jan 23,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Jan 23,2014
4 people found
this helpful
Have not moved in yet and we already loathe this company with a vengeance. They are the most pedantic, unhelpful and rigidly bureaucratic firm I have ever encountered in more than 10 years in the private rental sector. They seem to take a joy in putting up successive hurdles, each more ridiculous than the last and appear to be working from a rigidly-defined checklist with no deviation allowed. "Legal requirement" appears to be their default phrasing, even when what is actually meant ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
A little bit of flexibility would be nice, and stop hiding behind the misleading mask of \"legal requirement\"
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Jan 23, 2014
Hi there, I'm not sure which property you are applying for or indeed your name so that I can look into, but in any case I am extremely concerned about your comments above. We do everything possible to champion customer care, so if this is somewhere we have failed you, I would like to do what we can to turn your opinion around. Our procedures are in place to protect both our tenants and our landlords, who we value both equally as our client and work extremely hard to please; therefore it's....
Jan 23,2014
Minithumbdown
By:
Jan 23,2014
0 people found
this helpful
I viewed a property, and after discussions with the letting agents and landlord, a verbal contract had been agreed that a new kitchen was to be put in to the property and that the property was to be painted. On this understanding I secured the property with the holding deposit and completed the tenancy application, with a move-in date to be discussed. I was then informed that despite the verbal agreement, the kitchen would not be replaced. This was, of course, contrary to previous discussio...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Keeping to verbal contracts, and providing accurate information would be a start. Had the staff been helpful enough to ask if they would be able to assist, perhaps I would not have found myself losing out to a property that I had already secured. The deposit has not been returned and this has now been three days.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Jan 23, 2014
Hi there, Thank you for your feedback, I am disappointed about the situation, which I am very aware of. It is frustrating I agree, however I would encourage you to contact me so that we can explain how we could not have done anything more, to prevent this happening, or to rectify the situation to your satisfaction. We returned the money to you same day, bank transfers do take 2 business days and so I would expect this to be in your account very soon. I would be grateful if you could ....
Dec 05,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Dec 05,2013
4 people found
this helpful
We have been with this agency for 3 years. Since the beginning we have problems with communication. People who work there, are unprofessionals! They don\'t respect their customers! We pay £650 monthly and we expect to be treated seriously!Everytime we have problems with our flat there are hassles with solving them. They don\'t answer phonecalls and when we are lucky to speak to somebody, they never get back to us even though they reassure they will! On few occassions, there were no records ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Dec 05, 2013
Hi there Jud, Thank you for your comments, and I am sorry you feel the service received has been less than satisfactory. We would like to help resolve things so that we can restore your faith in us, and certainly all our clients should expect to receive nothing less than excellent service from us at all times. Please would you email me at mark@albaresidential.co.uk, or call me on 0131 560 1102, so that we can help set things straight. I hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards, Mar....
Nov 20,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Nov 20,2013
1 people found
this helpful
Having rented for the best part of 12 years, alba residential is by far the worst letting agent I have dealt with. Incompetent to an outstanding level avoid, avoid, avoid. Examples of incompetence include, emailing/calling them about snow coming in through our sky light. No response. Roofers turning up without notice, inspections happening without our knowledge. Even when we moved out, took an unbelievable around of time to get our deposit back, people didn\'t respond to emails, no one ever told...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
The main way they could have helped us was to respond to emails and phone calls and know what they were talking about. It seemed they didn\'t write anything down so every conversation was a new one. We always spoke to different people, and unless we called and harassed they would ignore contacts.
Was this helpful? Yes
Nov 15,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Nov 15,2013
1 people found
this helpful
If it was possible to give a negative star rating of this agency I would. My property was previously let by a smaller company which was taken over by Alba Residential. Since the take over I have found it impossible to speak to anyone in relation to my property (far too many departments), I have yet to have any contact from my property manager (who never answers or returns calls) and have found them to be very poor in transferring money into my account. Word of advise landlords: Give Alba Re...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Nov 15, 2013
Hi there, thank you for your review, but I would ask that we have a chance to try and restore your faith in us, if you could give us that opportunity? Please can you contact me at your earliest opportunity on mark@albaresidential.co.uk, with more details so that we can look into things for you? Kind regards, Mark.....
Oct 31,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Oct 31,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Since the beginning of our agreement i found problems in my property. They ask me to pay 6 months in advance plus deposit to me the property and since i move inside i have had problems with the water in the toilet ,( toilet blocked) , and other issues in the property. I ask them to solve this problems and their reply was always "you have to call..you have to do..." so not help at all. Today i was in my room and the roof fall down over me!!! i couldnt report it cause it was 21:00 .I fi...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
try to help and be fair .
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Nov 01, 2013
Hi there Ste, I'm sorry you've had cause to complain, every one of our tenants should expect excellent service from us, and I am genuinely disappointed to hear you feel you've received less than that. That said, you do need to report things to us in order for us to repair them and our Maintenance answerphone is 24 hours, so you should always try phoning this. If you still have any outstanding issues please can you report them directly to me, at mark@albaresidential.co.uk, and I will overs....
Oct 15,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Oct 15,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Agree totally with earlier review from another landlord. Alba are appalling. If you are looking for a responsible property management company to look after your best interests as a landlord, safeguard your investment, and provide you with an efficient, competent and responsible service then avoid this shower like the plague. My suspicions were aroused after experiencing the operations of their property maintenance departments on a number of occasions - extremely poor quality in house repairs s...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Oct 16, 2013
Hi there Thank you for your feedback, please can you get in touch so that we might try and resolve your issues in a positive manner? We are keen to get back to everyone in order to try and restore their faith where they feel we have let them down, but we are unable to deal with these on an online environment. Kind regards, Mark.....
By: Mark Hastie
Oct 16, 2013
View all comments (2) Hi there We'd like to restore your opinion of us to a positive one however we do need to look at factual information such as the property address, and your name. Please can you get back to me at mark@albaresidential.co.uk, and we can take things from there? Kind regards, Mark.
Oct 15,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Oct 15,2013
0 people found
this helpful
Good originally when letting and managing the property In july the tenant vacated. They let them go with rent outstanding and the place a mess They have not yet, almost three months later, sorted out taking the outstanding rent from the deposit and refunding the costincurred on cleaning They do not return our calls or emails. We are considering legal action to recover the money they owe us....
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Give us the money they owe us Return our phone calls and emails and let us know what is happening.
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Oct 16, 2013
Hi there, Thank you for your comments, please can you get in touch with me with more information regarding your property and name etc, and I can look into this for you? Keen to help you resolve it. Please email at mark@albaresidential.co.uk Kind regards, Mark.....
Oct 04,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Oct 04,2013
1 people found
this helpful
If I could give them no stars, that would be more accurate... Sure, when we set up viewings with them they were brilliant, wonderflly helpful and able to provide a wealth of information. When we signed the lease they were professional and helpful at every stage, they even arranged for the landlord to make a few adjstments to the property which we had asked for. We were delighted, FINALLY a letting agency who were professional and helpful... or so we thought. On the day we were due to move ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Alba is disorganised, and unprofessional, you report urgent safety maintenance issues to them as they happen and it takes them over a month to organise a contractor to come to the property, a contractor who then fails to show up at the agreed time. I don\'t think there is anything Alba could do to make me change my mind, short of closing down and reopening with a completely new staff completement and new approach to being a letting agency.
Was this helpful? Yes
Aug 27,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Aug 27,2013
8 people found
this helpful
One of these brands was a very good agent, however since they have all been taken over by Lomond Lettings and cut backs made, staffing levels reduced etc they have all fallen foul of becoming jointly one of the worst agents going and even the amount of staff they are going through really tells you something about the company. Not only do they not care about Landlords with single figure portfolios they also don\'t look after there larger clients with any real respect or professionalism. Sadly ...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Sep 05, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam, I am very sorry to hear your comments, but I want to let you know that we take your views extremely seriously and I will look into this for you. We do not have reduced staff, our workforce has actually increased since we became part of the Lomond Lettings property group, so I am interested to know how you have come to this misconception? Furthermore, we contact all of our clients to advise when works are booked in, and the quoted cost they can expect to come from thei....
Aug 07,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Aug 07,2013
3 people found
this helpful
This company has gradually become worse over the last few months. I would not recommend them to anyone. They also don\'t like answering phones and judging by the comments left by an employee on here it seems that the tenants/ex tenants are being unfair in their reviews? One thing about being a company and open to reviews is you have to take the good with the bad. It would seem this company can\'t do that and turn nasty/aggressive! Their out of hours service is a joke as are the cowboys they...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Was this helpful? Yes
Jun 22,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Jun 22,2013
5 people found
this helpful
Having arranged a viewing of a property for the end of the week, I was told to phone back to confirm I was still interested the day before the viewing. I did so and asked about the exact procedure from viewing to securing the property, which was outlined over the phone and involved going from the viewing to the offices, where the first person there would secure the property. I was one of three viewing, finished the viewing, jumped in a taxi and went straight to the office. I walked in only to...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Followed their own procedure, made their own mistakes right and treated me like a human being and not a walking pound sign.
Was this helpful? Yes
Jun 19,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Jun 19,2013
6 people found
this helpful
There are many letting agencies in edinburgh. Don´t let with this one! They will take money from you, one way or another. I was very worry about my deposit because I found a dirty and disgusting flat when I moved in. They didn´t clean or change the damage things, they said they couldn´t force the landlord to change the furniture. Their welcome pack is a fiction book, very funny reading. I was lucky and I got my deposit back. But. I had to pay for the first 6 months all together. I was v...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Was this helpful? Yes
May 10,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
May 10,2013
8 people found
this helpful
WELL WELL,I havent rented from ALBA for quite some time, this is because they were ATROCIOUS at most things, they did enter the property without prior notice, and despite having spent and entire sunday cleaning the place fixture and fitting top to bottom, made a total mess, i found this out after moving as they made me pay rent for 12 extra days on a property because they dont have a letterbox! SO my notice didnt arrive and i had to call to query why. then had to revisit my old flat for mail, an...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
They are total cowboys, all for profit, not for the landlord or tenant, milk milk milk the deposit witheld scheme they dont tell you they run, it took weeks to get my money back, they are just BAD!
Was this helpful? Yes
Apr 09,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Apr 09,2013
8 people found
this helpful
Refusal to return deposit after more than 2 months, keep telling me shortly? I\'m a single mum and left £1000 down yet had to find another property and deposit when owner wanted property back. The director is aggressive and unhelpful, avoid these cowboys I\'m not the first nor will I be the last! They also entered the property without my permission to do checks etc, I explicitly confirmed this was not to happen. I\'m now with new agents and its like night and day, utter cowboys!...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 15,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Mar 15,2013
8 people found
this helpful
Even though they have been a reasonable agent during our tenancy for over 4 and half years, the extremely disappointing treatment at the end, made us believe that their effort is just another trick to save their business, they have no respect for their customers, and very unprofessional. When we first moved into their flat, it was date and all items were old and used. There were many faults in the flat like broken floors, broken doors, faulty electrics, and very dirty items (mop and bucket, toot...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Was this helpful? Yes
Mar 09,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Mar 09,2013
8 people found
this helpful
This agency does not deserve to have decent tenants. Avoid it by all means! I really liked one of the flats Alba advertised online so I have arranged a viewing. Being asked for a contact number I gave them my mobile so I could be notified if any changes occur. Waited for the agent (Justine) to arrive for 30! minutes. He or anyone else have not called to say they will be late or anything. I have called the 3 times only to be told they\'re on their way. Well 30 minutes is MORE than enough so I l...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Was this helpful? Yes
Feb 25,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Feb 25,2013
4 people found
this helpful
The service is terrible beyond believe! I called to arrange vieving for the property they advertised and they at first made an appointment to see the property, in half an hour after that i received a call saying that landlord renovating it at the moment and they will call me back to arrange another viewing time. I really liked the property so was calling them nearly every day to find out if the viewing is available. Last time i spoke to them on Friday, Now calling them on Monday and the property...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Nothing can be done unless they arrange viewing and let me rent it if i like the property.
Was this helpful? Yes
Jan 22,2013
Minithumbup
By:
Jan 22,2013
1 people found
this helpful
I rented through Alba up until Dec 2012. I was a tenant for 4 years with them and I had a positive experience throughout. I shared the property with 1 friend and we were treated very well by all the members of the team we dealt with. I was new to the city and renting when I came to Edinburgh and the girls in the office were great at explaining the process of renting. We did have an issue with a washing machine on 2 occasions and alba dealt with efficiently on both occasions and kept us updated a...
read full review
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Jan 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback - it it always encouraging to hear of happy tenants with good reports to make about our services! We do aim high on delivering customer service, and I'd like to thank you again for your kind words which pleased us greatly. If you can get in touch via email with your name and address you rented in, it would be much appreciated as we take all comments, positive and negative, very seriously. Kind regards, Mark.....
Jan 20,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Jan 20,2013
8 people found
this helpful
Appalling service. On the coldest weekend of the winter, I have been left with no heating or hot water and I have a 9 week old baby in the house and 8 year old daughter! I am livid!! Will be looking to get away from the clutches of this company very soon! I have also found that going direct to the homeowner gets things done quickly! 18 months ago I would have recommended this company but not now! The attitude of their staff is also appalling!...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Jan 23, 2013
Hi there, I am sorry to hear you were left without heating over a weekend. According to our records, you rang the office on Saturday afternoon, and I'm afraid the office closes at 4pm. We did contact our emergency plumber immediately for you, and we've spoken to them about not having temporary heaters available for you, he certainly should have done. The part was not available to repair your boiler but it was repaired the very next working day (Monday 21st Jan). I think it's a little unfair ....
Jan 05,2013
Minithumbdown
By:
Jan 05,2013
9 people found
this helpful
That was like night mare for me to be tenant of Alba residential by this I mean never ever trust this property because they change their word and lie easily after signing contract. When I visited the flat they persuade me that flat and carpet will be clean and also all old and disgusting stuff such as very old and full of stain sofa and kitchen stuff will be transferred but unfortunately, when I got the flat, I was shock any thing was not clean and changed even carpet , I paid by own to wash ca...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
NEVER EVER EVEN I COULD NOT FIND ANY SHELTER TO LIVE UNDER
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Jan 11, 2013
Hi Amir, I'm sorry to hear this feedback, certainly it's not the service we aim to provide! I am looking to help resolve any negative complaints our clients have, and would welcome more information so that I can look into your case in more detail. A very high percentage of our customer satisfaction surveys (something like 90%) come back with an excellent result and so when we hear from clients with an opinion such as this, it is disheartening. I would welcome the chance to change ....
By: Anonymous
Mar 05, 2013
View all comments (2) It's no surprise that your customer satisfaction surveys come back with an excellent result - they are in no way anonymous. Why would a tenant leave negative feedback about Alba if the branch causing the problems gets to read the feedback? This would just sour relationships between all concerned and probably reduce the quality of service even more.
Dec 20,2012
Minithumbdown
By:
Dec 20,2012
6 people found
this helpful
I rented a flat from Alba Residental for 14 months. In those 14 months, the toilet flooded 3 times. Rather than replacing the shredder system they kept sending out plumbers who kept saying that there was nothing they could do to prevent any future blockages. When I moved in the flat was disgusting and nothing had been cleaned. Alba sent two cleaners who surface cleaned the flat. I ended up cleaning the entire flat myself after that. When I moved out, I left the place spotless. Alba came up...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
They could have not charged me for wear and tear. Also, they should have given me back the £96 I was charged in \"agency fees.\"
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Jan 23, 2013
Very interesting reading - thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear you've had a less than perfect tenancy with us. I would like the opportunity to look into all of this for you, however I will need you to email me with your name and address, otherwise I will be unable to help you. We do give you cleaning guidelines 2 months before moving out, which we ask you to follow to the letter, or advise us in advance if there is any reason you cannot, so that we can give you back your full depo....
By: KJ
Feb 18, 2013
View all comments (2) Hi Mark, I have had extensive correspondence on this matter with Callum McGregor who, in his last e-mail on the deposit return told me (this is a direct quote): "Your emails so far have been immature and not very helpful." I have lost all hope of getting the money that was taken from me back. I am now in the process of reclaiming the agency fees you charged me. Callum has not responded to any of my e-mails over the past couple of months so I am doubtful I will get anything back with
Nov 19,2012
Minithumbdown
By:
Nov 19,2012
6 people found
this helpful
I stayed in a flat let by Alba for a very brief period at the start of the year. One week into our lease a storm badly damaged the roof and our living, dining and utility area were flooded badly. We came home to a bomb site, unable to have lights or heating on as water was streaming over the fixtures. We could not get hold of anyone from alba and were left for the night. First thing next day we contacted them but they failed to do ANYTHING as they couldn\'t get hold of the landlord for the whole...
read full review
What agent could do to change your mind?
Was this helpful? Yes
By: Mark Hastie
Nov 29, 2012
Hi there Oselle, I believe I remember dealing with you both at the time, and I know specifically which property you were in. I do appreciate what happened to you was very unfortunate (and extremely rare!) but I think you are apportioning a great deal of the blame to us as the agent, for what happened to you. Firstly we have a 24 hour maintenance answerphone service, however you will find it very difficult to get someone to attend to a roof leak out of office hours. We are limited in what we c....

About us



Review statistics

From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers Other
2 5 3 18 0 0 0 0 0 6

Job vacancies

Please see a list of jobs available

Review Statistics for Foxtons

Valuation and Fee Performance
71 % customers were satisfied with agent's fees 87 % accuracy of agent's valuations

Sales and lettings value statistics
Price range of properties sold by the agent Price range of properties rented by the agent
 
Minimum:83000 Minimum:275
Maximum:2370000 Maximum:12013

Review Summary

 
Total Reviews:764
Total Ratings:770
First Review:24/04/2007
Latest Review:30/04/2015
Overall Review Performance
 
Recommend:518
Disapprove:252
Satisfaction:68 %

 

Individual Services Review Performance
 
From Landlords From Tenants From Vendors From Buyers
 
Recommend:45 Recommend:166 Recommend:190 Recommend:78
Disapprove:38 Disapprove:137 Disapprove:14 Disapprove:5
Satisfaction:55 % Satisfaction:55 % Satisfaction:94 % Satisfaction:94 %

 
Surveys Conveyancing Lettings (Prospect) Sales (Prospect)
 
Recommend:0 Recommend:0 Recommend:21 Recommend:13
Disapprove:0 Disapprove:1 Disapprove:23 Disapprove:30
Satisfaction:- Satisfaction:0 % Satisfaction:48 % Satisfaction:31 %

 
They manage our building They are our factor They manage our estate
 
Recommend:0 Recommend:0 Recommend:0
Disapprove:2 Disapprove:0 Disapprove:0
Satisfaction:0 % Satisfaction:- Satisfaction:-

Agent Fees

Please enquire.
Created at 10:11 AM 15/04/2014. Last updated at 10:11 AM 15/04/2014 by Mark Hastie


Complaints Procedure

Our complaints procedure can be found on our website
Created at 8:34 PM 14/04/2014. Last updated at 10:11 AM 15/04/2014 by Mark Hastie

Awards won by Alba Residential

allAgents gold medal
allAgents gold medal
allAgents gold medal

Individual Branch Awards

Edinburgh, EH10 4BE

.

Edinburgh
21-23 Church Hill Place, Edinburgh EH10 4BE
(34)

Opening hours